Matt64
Top 100 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    70
  • Helpfulness Votes
    15
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    01 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    24
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    02 April 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solid and dependable
Posted01 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very solid feeling floor pump that ought to last several generations.
The chuck can be removed and turned around to suit Presta or Schraeder valves. The chuck is designed to screw onto your valve ensuring a positive fit. If using Presta there is also a "speed chuck" which allows you to press the chuck onto the valve without screwing it on."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Race level road cycling shoes built on Shimano Dynalast Technology for improved energy transfer and efficiency over long distances. The R170 features a hollow channel carbon sole for stiffness and lightness and a supple, ventilated syntheic/mesh upper.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfy and light
Posted01 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Comfy, light and very stiff. Provide a really firm platform for pedalling.
Main parts of the outers are very shiny and wipe clean pretty easily. Large vented areas should keep toes cool in summer - and very cool in winter without some overshoes/toe thingies.
The fit is pretty well true - 44 here, 44 everywhere else."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes. Easy to open, easy to swallow and easy to digest with natural fruit flavours that taste fantastic.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
At last a gel I can handle
Posted20 March 2014
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very liquid gel which is actually easy to swallow and does not make me gag or grab for the drink bottle. Package is a little larger than other gels but no so much as to make them unmanageable. No fuss fitting into standard jersey pockets.
Got the orange flavour which actually tastes of orange."
Pros: tasty ok
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Supreme cooling for high altitude conditions, without losing out on aerodynamic ability. The Castelli Climbers jersey will keep you cool, moving sweat away to maintain the jerseys low weight, giving you less to haul up those steep gradients.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
more great kit
Posted20 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As described elsewhere this is a touch on the see through side with the main panels being very well ventilated. More of a mesh than plain fabric.
The fluoro colour is very yellow rather than the limey colour in the photos.
Wore this for a 170km ride with a mesh base layer underneath in 28C temperatures. The combination wicked moisture away nicely and I never felt sweaty whilst on the bike even though the kit was wringing wet by the time I finished.
Size wise I am 77kg and 102 chest or XL on the size guide. The chest and shoulder area is quite snug standing but relaxes as it should once on the bike. Surprisingly there is a bit of saggyness in the jersey around my guts with the culprit being the shirt not my excess blubber.
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium racing gloves with a blend of cutting edge technology and classic style. The Rosso Corsa Classic Glove features a gel padded palm, a micro suede wipe and a snug stretch fit; all you need for protection and comfort on endurance summer road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great gloves
Posted05 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Comfy snug fitting gloves with no velcro to snag on any other bits of clothing either when being worn or in the washing."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Reflex II Gilet is designed for maximum visibility with large reflective logos that wrap around from front to back - giving other road users no excuses for not seeing you.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Smart and wind proof
Posted25 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Any one who rides in cool and changeable weather needs something along these lines. Small enough to pack in your pocket, warm enough to take the chill off and waterproof enough to protect you from light rain and road spray."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The award winning Aero Race short has been developed and refined over 4 years of Pro Tour testing. This version is the current team bib short and features a red leg gripper and Castelli wordmark on the side panels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Measure yourself, check size chart, purchase
Posted25 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The best bib shorts I own without a doubt.
Yes, they are a snug fit, especially when you are not on the bike. But if you follow the simple process above to select the correct size then you will have a quality garment that will serve you well for a long time.
The pad is very comfortable and has seen me through several 150km days with no undue pain. Leg grippers look very stylish and work well without cutting in or riding up.
The open chest apparently helps keep you cool, but I am dubious about that aspect. Nothing makes much difference when you are riding on 38˚C plus days.
My only gripe is that the Castelli scorpion logo tends to crack and flake off over time. First the one on your butt after about 6 months use and then the ones on the legs at about 9 months. I suspect that the order they fail in is related to the higher tension as the fabric stretches across my more ample nether regions.
My only solution to this is to buy another pair which is what I am about to do. Highly recommended."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
simple replacement for old unit
Posted17 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"purchased to replace old unit that failed to survive the hot wash / high spin cycle. Easy to sync with Garmin Edge unit."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A must for FFWD wheels
Posted10 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought to replace some very tatty originals which had been used for racing and on the indoor trainer. When the wheels look that good why wouldn't you spend a few extra dollars to maintain the image?"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The compound has a much lower internal resistance so making it particularly suitable for roller training.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Stand out indoor tyre
Posted10 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"No chance of mixing these up with my road tyres.
This appeared to wear very quickly at first but has settled down and now provides a quiet and smooth ride without any great wear recently."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
The award winning Aero Race short has been developed and refined over 5 years of Pro Tour testing.
 

Sizing for a very skinny tall person

I am 6 ft 3 inches and have a 28 inch waist. I know these usually come up small but my waist says buy an extra small and legs say buy an extra large. Would a medium be right or is better to go at the larger end for my legs?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I think you will find that the shoulder straps on the smaller sizes might be quite tight at your height. I am about 6' nothing and take a large which is a very snug fit for me in that regard.
1 week, 6 days ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does the speed chunk require pressure to be applied when pumping?

i.e one hand required to pump, the other to hold the chunk? Like most disc wheel adapters?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes. It will not just sit there whilst you pump without someone holding it on. Easier as a two person operation.
1 week, 6 days ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Supreme cooling for high altitude conditions, without losing out on aerodynamic ability. The Castelli Climbers jersey will keep you cool, moving sweat away to maintain the jerseys low weight, giving you less to haul up those steep gradients.
 

180cm 65kg what size?

I am 180cm height , weight 65kg , 36”chest, 34”waist, you can image i am very slim figure. what size i should pick? Thank you very much.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I am 181cms, 77kg, 86cm waist (34") and 102cm chest (40") and got XL. It is a bit loose around the waist but nice and snug in the chest/shoulder area. Suggest you will be looking for medium or large
3 weeks, 5 days ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Ultegra rear derailleur with wide link design gives quick accurate shifts and excellent drivetrain efficiency.
 

105 STI shifters compatable

I have ultegra cassette and chain but 105 STI levers, just need to check this mech will work together with these levers
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
This combination will be fine - I run the same on my bike. 105 shifter/Ultegra FD/ ultegra RD/ either 105 or Ultegra cassette and ultegra chainwheel.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 

Does this come with a frame fitting?

I have noticed that on the bikes that this comes with it has a metal fitting on the bike itself so that it can be fitted on the bike and mine does not have this. Does it come with a fitting to put it on or is there one that i could buy?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You need the Band On FD instead.
http://www.wiggle.com.au/cycle/front-derailleurs/?ea=4294789843
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 

Can I wear this in the water?

I have a garmin 910xt and I know it won't tell me my heart rate while in the water, but if I am doing a triathlon can I wear the HR strap in the water so its ready for the bike and run sections? Or will I need to unclip the battery bit and attach it when I get out of the water? Thanks :)
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It is pretty water proof. The instructions suggest it is water resistant to 30m.

My first one went through the woolens and gentle wash cycle several times but failed on the first hot wash.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 

Does the monitor have a 2p coin slot to change the battery?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No - you need a micro screw driver.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The Vulcanizing Patch Kit includes six thin and flexible patches with tapered edges to blend perfectly with the profile of the inner tube
 

Are these patches suitable for latex tubes?

I run latex tubes do they require a special patch or will any standard patch do?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I have used these on latex with no problems
2 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
A pair of thin, lightweight socks with a breathable polyester/nylon fabric construction that are ideal for both runners and cyclists.
 

are the stripes horizontal or vertical?

pictures show both ways.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Horizontal on the ones I have but see your point!
2 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The compound has a much lower internal resistance so making it particularly suitable for roller training.
 

Do you require an inner tube for this tyre?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes
2 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth