Matt64
Top 25 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    123
  • Helpfulness Votes
    24
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    11 June 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    44
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    21 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 >>>
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Just a basic hub
Posted11 June 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased for a wheel building experiment. Did it's job in letting me understand what I was doing."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The HG70 11-speed chain is part of the Hyperglide series and provides smooth and reliable shifting performance. The chain is also coated with SIL-TEC surface treatment which increases durability. Suitable for use with all Shimano 11 speed systems.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
As described on box
Posted11 June 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Chain to suit 11 speed Shimano drive train. Does that and no complaints so far. Easy to fit. Comes with spare pin if you need to take it off for some reason."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
For those who want to protect their frame but also want to still be able to see their paint jobs, durable in the extreme but stealthy to boot.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Protect your frame
Posted11 June 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Do what they are meant to do. The logo does show up but it is not a big deal."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Evoluzione bibshort caters for riders wanting comfort and performance at a great value price. With it's 8 panels, Kiss3 seatpad, and ProDry 2Strati fabric, which gives excellent moisture management, it's a short that performs mile after mile.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfy bibs in black
Posted11 June 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great to have Castelli comfort in plain black. Chamois has been good for 1-2 hour rides to date."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A complete top-of-the-range gear cable set designed to suit Dura-Ace 7900 and Ultegra 6700 gears. Fitting new gears or completely overhauling your gear cabling couldn't be easier - everything you need in one pack.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Connects shift lever to derailleur
Posted10 April 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Just the ticket for joining the gear system together and hard to do without unless riding single speed.
Easy to fit, easy to cut with the correct cable tool and function exactly as designed. Operate smoothly even with quite tight bends.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Complete road brake cable set designed using stainless steel inner wires for increased service life.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Essential connection between lever and caliper
Posted10 April 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Does the job it was designed for with minimal fuss."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Given 9/10 by What Mountain Bike. This lock is roughly the same size as a mobile phone and weighs a few grams only. Compact, convenient security solution for low risk applications.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Convenient deterrent
Posted10 April 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Light enough to carry easily. Easy to set up combination and easy to use. Should be just enough deterrent to get your mate's bike nicked rather than yours."
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Ass saver Extended is perfect for Road cyclists. The pro peloton (Lotto-Belisol, Belkin), continental teams, and development teams have all adopted and used Ass Savers in recent years for training and racing.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great idea but won't fit my bike
Posted01 April 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Handy little bit of kit sadly passed on to a mate. Did not fit Dogma with Antares saddle"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy fit
Posted21 March 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to fit and places Garmin in slightly better position for me. Note that you will need a Torx tool to fit this item and that might not be a standard item in every tool box.."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: need torx tool to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These high performance brake pads are dark green in colour and feature their GHP2 brake compound. They are designed for alloy rims only and offer excellent stopping power even in the wet.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Stop well
Posted21 March 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy fit. Direct replacement for 105/Ultegra pads. Work very well in dry and wet conditions - far better than standard Shimano pads"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Nope
6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
10 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
10 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Fulcrum Racing Zero Clincher Wheelset 2014
Fulcrum Racing Zero Clincher Wheelset 2014
The Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd. Also new, is the mega-drive hub flange and a great new graphics makeover.
 

are these 11 speed

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes
11 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth