Matt64
Top 25 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    165
  • Helpfulness Votes
    39
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    03 August 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great rear light
Posted03 August 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to mount and plenty bright enough for most circumstances I can think of. Fits reasonably well to an aero seat post but can slip around to the side a little bit.
For charging the whole unit and mount strap are removed from the bike and the end cap removed. The light then just plugs into a USB port like a memory stick. As long as you get it the correct way around then charging is a doddle. Get it upside down and charging might take a while!
Waterproofing appears solid as there is really no point for water to enter the unit. Have used it in several downpours and never missed a beat."
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tidy storage solution
Posted03 August 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Neat solution to carrying your essential spares. Has several pros over the more normal saddle bag:
- unzips and opens up flat so you can easily see what is where and remove only what you need. No need to take everything out looking for the $5 in coins for coffee.
- doesn't rub on the seat post and erode the clear coat or swing around like the dog's proverbial.
- no Velcro bits to catch on your super expensive lycra lingerie.
On the down side it obviously takes up one of your bidon cages so you need to find an alternate solution on long rides. I recommend that you get your butler to drive behind with more drinks, but if this option isn't available then you can put the contents into your jersey pocket easily enough.
The bag is a nice tight fit in most cages. No hint of moving over any sort of road surface to date. There is plenty of room for two tubes, two CO2 canisters and discharge unit, multitool, house keys and all the coffee money you might need. Could probably fit my phone in also if needed."
Pros: Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Like your own portable sunbeam
Posted03 August 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Super bright light in full power mode.
Easy to fit to aero shaped bars. Slight downside is the need to remove the whole unit and mount for recharging (unless you have a convenient USB outlet I guess). I suspect that this may see the mounting strap fail before the light.
Mounting is reasonably solid even if only a rubber strap. It does allow the ability to point light down easily whilst on the move if required so as not to dazzle on-coming riders. Not sure why I do this as they never reciprocate!
Quoted charging time of 3 hours appears optimistic when using my laptops docking station. Might be quicker using another outlet but this is not really an issue for me.
Run time on highest setting is about 2 hours in 5-15 degree C temperature. Haven't tried the other settings for long enough to drain battery.
Waterproofing appears a step up over my other similar lights. Very solid plug over the charging port is quite snug fit and harder to remove than others. Charging cable is a neat fit and shows no signs of dropping out.
Overall very happy with this unit."
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, cheap and effective
Posted04 July 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As light weight as you could possibly want. Works adequately to keep your butt dry, but won't keep spray off following riders.
Easy to fit, but can fall out if not correctly done. Lost my first one on the first outing, but found someone else's on a damp morning and that has worked like a charm. I just make sure that it is firmly in place every time I stop.
"
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Short sleeves
Posted30 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not a good fit for my body shape. 181 cm tall and found sleeves on medium quite short. Otherwise a good but relaxed fit on skinny 75kg / 96cm chest cyclist's body."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Make your shoes look like a Kiss accessory
Posted30 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great reflectivity. Really stands out in the dark once headlight hit them. When dry these will keep feet nice and warm down to around 5 degrees and possibly lower - hard to judge that here in Perth. Waterproofness questionable like all similar products I have tried. On wet roads only with no rain I was dry for about 30kms. Suspect water came in through hole in sole of shoe rather than covers.
Good instructions for putting on - just follow them and they should last a good while.
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Transfers power to rear cog
Posted30 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great innovation for transferring rotational energy from chain wheel to sprockets. Does exactly what you expect from a chain. Looks grubby after a couple of rides but a quick clean and it looks shiny and new. If kept clean will last well over 3,00kms for my feeble power output. Your mileage may vary."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perform as described
Posted30 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ideal replacement for that pin you dropped on the garage floor and can't find because you have the eyes of a 50 year old not a hawk."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Usual Castelli kit
Posted16 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Quality gloves that are true to size chart. No Velcro to catch. Nice long cuffs ensure there are no gaps between gloves and arm warmers."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Busy graphics, but very cool
Posted16 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Sizing was spot on, quality is good and graphics are busy but great. A gamut of cycling clichés which draw a smile or two."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 

What's the difference between Italian thread and English thread

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Your frame may accept one or the other but they are not interchangeable. Check the existing BB on your bike and if it is marked with 36 x 24 road then get the Italian version.
There are many other BB standards out there now though, so check what is fitted currently before ordering.
7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Nope
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth