Matt64
Top 50 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    106
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    18 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    39
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    18 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 >>>
 
The TK375 Chain Drop Catcher helps to prevent chains falling from double road Cranksets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy fit for dummies like me
Posted18 January 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to install and does the job as intended. Available in all colours of the rainbow."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keep air on the inside
Posted18 January 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Does exactly what an inner tube should do. Neither better nor worse than others."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not as waterproof as expected
Posted18 January 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very comfy. Nice and warm for our extreme Western Australian winters, but not as waterproof as I expected. Keeps road spray and showers at bay for a while but not great in heavy weather."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Right box, wrong filling
Posted15 October 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ordered L/XL which is what the boxed was marked as. Contents were tagged XXL and were clearly too big for me. Made a great gift to one of my fat buddies so nothing lost there. I was surprised by this quality control failure from Mr. Castelli though.
Having had this bit of kit previously I do recommend it though. It works exactly as required and is good for amusing your mates if you ever get seen without your jersey on top. It only ever looks good if it is just the scorpion badge poking out of a part unzipped jersey.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, can make you look like a weirdo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The name alone indicates how significant this new tyre is for Schwalbe. It is the fastest and at the same time most reliable competition tyre they have ever made thanks to their new OneStar compound with the added protection of V-Guard under the tread.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy rolling rubber
Posted15 October 2014
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Finally our summer weather has arrived and it is time to fit summer rubber and put the Schwalbe Duranos that have been mounted over winter away.
Appearances:
- The basic black version is very understated unlike the Ultremos that I have previously run.
- The lack of tread pattern of any sort confuses the uninitiated but looks the business too.
Fit:
- very supple and easy to push onto my Racing Zero rims.
- easy to take off again when I managed to pinch the latex tube
Performance:
- rolling resistance appears much the same as the Ultremos in this regard. No discernible difference to me.
- first run was +130kms over some pretty ordinary roads with plenty of glass. Not a nick but that may be good luck rather than any change in performance.
- comfort much the same as Ultremos.
- some signs of wear are already apparent on the front tyre already which is not something I have noticed previously so perhaps the compound is a little softer.
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano compatible freehub body for the Fulcrum Racing 3, Racing 1, Racing Zero, Racing Speed, Racing Light and Red Wind XLR only; 17mm axles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple replacement for original
Posted14 September 2014
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cheaper to buy a whole new unit rather than replacement bearings for the old hub, not to mention that it is just about impossible to get the old bearings out successfully anyway.
Simple to fit and restores the wheel to just about original conditions.
"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Diluvio Winter Cycling Gloves
Castelli Diluvio Winter Cycling Gloves
Light, weatherproof cycling gloves with a 3mm Neoprene construction and thermo welded seams to seal out the wind and rain. When your training plan pitches you against torrential rain and freezing cold, Diluvio (Flood) gloves keep you dry and in control.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Too sweaty for Australia
Posted06 August 2014
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are probably suited to cooler climates than western Australia. In the rain they allow plenty of water in and then act like a wet suit to keep your hands warm which is probably as intended. If it is not raining they get uncomfortably sweaty but not very warm even with a thin liner glove -this was on a morning where the temperature nudged zero which is about as cold as I have to put up with.
Fit was per the sizing.
Design was nice and bold."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: sweaty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The short carbon fibre body construction offers low weight, is super stiff and offers efficient power transfer. The PD-6800 features many of the same technologies as the flagship Dura Ace pedals with the PD-6800 only weighing 8g more.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Light and effective
Posted10 July 2014
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These pedals feel far lighter out of the box than my old 105 pedals. Nice wide platform which should transmit the power effectively, but I am yet to see any increase in power or speed myself....
Easy to fit using just an Allen key followed by torque wrench - no need for a pedal spanner with these which sadly means the shiny Lezyne pedal spanner I bought at the same time has been used to remove the old 105 pedals and then hung on the peg board probably never to be used again.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Traditional puncture repair kit
Posted10 July 2014
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Everything required to repair tubes:
8 patches and enough glue to use all of them, a cheese-grater type sander to scuff the tube and even a tyre boot.
Other comments about patches being too large must be for very skinny tubes. They are a perfect match to the latex tubes I run.
Many riders appear to throw away tubes when the flat but I collect my tubes and batch them up for a repair session doing three or so at once. Sometimes I even grab other peoples old ones and fix those too and these then can be given back to your mates when they run out on a ride - a good way to earn a recovery ale or two.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A set of 9 precision Hex Wrenches, ideal for professional mechanics and enthusiasts alike. Lifeline Wrenches are made of stainless steel with a Hi-Polished finish for longevity. Ideal for bike building and servicing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality Allen Keys
Posted08 July 2014
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"High quality workshop tools are a blessing and these tick all the boxes. Every size required for your bike is included. Each wrench has a ball end for those awkward to reach spots and also longer arms than many cheaper units which allow you to get a decent amount of torque if required, noting that you really should use a torque wrench when tightening items."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
1 week, 1 day ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
1 week, 1 day ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd. Also new, is the mega-drive hub flange and a great new graphics makeover.
 

are these 11 speed

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The short carbon fibre body construction offers low weight, is super stiff and offers efficient power transfer. The PD-6800 features many of the same technologies as the flagship Dura Ace pedals with the PD-6800 only weighing 8g more.
 

Are the cleats included with this pedal?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Come with the yellow cleats
6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Race level road cycling shoes built on Shimano Dynalast Technology for improved energy transfer and efficiency over long distances. The R170 features a hollow channel carbon sole for stiffness and lightness and a supple, ventilated syntheic/mesh upper.
 

I'm not sure what is the sole made of

The info about the shoe shows two different informations:
- In the features of the shoe: "Lightweight carbon fiber sole construction for excellent stiffness to weight ratio incorporating adjustable cleat mounts"

- But if you read the materials you see:
Sole Material: FG Concept - Nylon/Fiber Glass

So what is the sole made of?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The soles on mine say "Carbon Fiber Composite"
6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 

graphics

Hhi, are the surface graphics printed on or stuck on (ie. potentially able to be peeled off)?

Thanks,
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Painted/printed on. You would have to try hard to get them off.
7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The HollowTech II 10-speed Ultegra chainset offers an ideal balance of light weight and stiffness, making it the perfect choice for both enthusiast and competitive riders.
 

Compatability

Hi so will these cranks fit with my 6600 running gear (105 Front mech) ?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Will work fine.
7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The HollowTech II 10-speed Ultegra chainset offers an ideal balance of light weight and stiffness, making it the perfect choice for both enthusiast and competitive riders.
 

does this come with a bottom bracket?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Nope.
7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth