Matt64
Top 25 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    202
  • Helpfulness Votes
    47
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    09 October 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    20 June 2017
  • Last Question
    20 June 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 >>>
 
Light, smooth, and long lasting the Record headset is available in the traditional one inch threaded headset version.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Shiny Classic Italian Stuff
Posted09 October 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Looks the part on my retro build and does the job as intended."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A real favorite in the Castelli gloves range the Rosso Corsa Pave gloves are designed for maximum comfort, particularly over rougher roads or even over cobbles. Gel padding and a silicone grip print ensures you're always in control.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable Mitts
Posted09 October 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very comfy gloves. My hand measures 22cm so right at the upper end of medium size. Normally I have upsized and used large in Castelli gloves but this tends to make them a little baggy around my thumb. Chose Medium this time and the fit is very snug, although you would not want to be in a hurry to take them on or off. The wrist opening looks far too small to accept your fist but with a bit of coaxing you slide into place."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This handlebar from Ritchey follows the timeless "Classic" Neoclassic and features the traditional round drops that many riders (Pro's and amatures alike) prefer. It has been recently updated displaying a shorter reach and shallower drop.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Classic looks and comfort
Posted09 October 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"More shiny bits for a retro looking build. Could be improved if the bars incorporated some grooves to recess the cables but this is a minor issue."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A fully open mesh base layer to keep you cool and dry in warm conditions, with a dash of colour for top to toe kit coordination. The dhb Blok Lightweight Mesh Sleeveless Baselayer's knit construction allows for permanent moisture wicking performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good base layer
Posted09 October 2017
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not quite as soft a feel as some others (Morvelo) but a nice thin extra layer under a warm long sleeve top for cool mornings to date. Similar product to plain DHB baselayer and should be good in warmer conditions in early summer. Once over 30C I find base layers ineffective regardless of make.
Size wise pretty well spot on with size chart. 75kg/181cm tall and a small fits quite snuggly allowing a tight fitting top layer with no excess and wrinkles.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight Silver 11 speed chain featuring the Double-X Durability and X-Bridge technology. The chain is compatible with all 11 speed road and MTB systems and is also NON-directional in design.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good replacement for OEM equipment
Posted09 October 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased when could not get my normal DuraAce or Ultegra chains. Fitting was just as easy using a normal chain pin. Come with quick link but I didn't have the quick link pliers. Durability appears on par with DuraAce and no issues to note so far."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A light 6061 alloy seat post with an easily adjustable 2 bolt head. An ideal upgrade or custom build component in a pristine matt silver finish. Previous version where polished silver.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Shiny alloy seatpost
Posted09 October 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Nice looking seatpost. Deda logo rubs off quite easily which is no fault as looks better without it.
Easy to adjust seat position/angle.
Clamps saddle well with no need to retighten in first 500kms since fitting.
"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Park's comfortable P-handle with a star-shaped T25 for the fittings for bolt heads found on many disc brake calipers and rotors.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Basic Torx wrench
Posted27 August 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Nothing special but fits a need which isn't included in most Allen wrench sets."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano Ultegra 6800 SS 11 speed Rear Derailleur is made with wide link design, giving quick accurate shifts and excellent drivetrain efficiency.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long cage allows use of larger cassettte
Posted27 August 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Long cage version allows use of 32 tooth cassette - vital for noodle legged cyclists attempting steep climbs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Thermoflex Arm Warmers
Castelli Thermoflex Arm Warmers
Anatomic cut arm warmers for a close fit that does not constrict you when riding. Castelli stuck with the basics of great fabric & functional construction by using their outstanding stretchy & warm Thermoflex fabric in a minimal way to eliminate seams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just the ticket
Posted27 August 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Keep arms warm in the bitter depths of a West Australian winter where temperatures close to zero make news headlines."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Microfibre bar tape features minimises road buzz with adhesive gel backing, anti-shock foam and a microfiber cloth surface. It transmits road feel without harshness and doesn’t get squishy or slippery like traditional gel tape.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy to apply. Not so easy to keep clean
Posted27 August 2017
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great tape to apply and more comfortable than my usual Fizik stuff which was out of stock. The soft nature of the material quickly absorbs grime and may never come clean if using lighter colours whereas the more glossy tapes generally clean up OK.
Grip in wet is very good.
Nice and stretchy when applying and conforms to bends well.
Adhesive holds tape well and allows multiple goes at applying if you are as adept at taping as I am.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
The Powerbox combines trusted FSA Chainset Technology with Power2Max power functionality to give you all the data you need.
 

What bottom bracket to replace Shimano Italian thread BB?

What replacement bottom bracket or adapter is required to run this in a frame with Italian threaded bottom bracket?
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Bottom Bracket Cups
Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Bottom Bracket Cups
The Shimano Dura-Ace 9000 Bottom Bracket features smaller lightweight bearings and an advanced seal construction for smoother rotation and increased durability.
 

What's the difference between Italian thread and English thread

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Your frame may accept one or the other but they are not interchangeable. Check the existing BB on your bike and if it is marked with 36 x 24 road then get the Italian version.
There are many other BB standards out there now though, so check what is fitted currently before ordering.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Nope
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Matt64
Perth