Matt64
Top 25 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    162
  • Helpfulness Votes
    37
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    04 July 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 >>>
 
The Ass Saver Original is the third generation foldable mudguard. Proven and tested in the field, it's a simple solution to the annoying brown stripe down the back of your pants.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, cheap and effective
Posted04 July 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As light weight as you could possibly want. Works adequately to keep your butt dry, but won't keep spray off following riders.
Easy to fit, but can fall out if not correctly done. Lost my first one on the first outing, but found someone else's on a damp morning and that has worked like a charm. I just make sure that it is firmly in place every time I stop.
"
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TheRonhill Trail L/S Zip Tee is the perfect cover up for chilly morning and evening runs.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Short sleeves
Posted30 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not a good fit for my body shape. 181 cm tall and found sleeves on medium quite short. Otherwise a good but relaxed fit on skinny 75kg / 96cm chest cyclist's body."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Be Visable, Be Safe! Re-designed for 2015 the H2O overshoes improve on previous editions to give you a warm and protective barrier against the elements as well as keeping you visible.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Make your shoes look like a Kiss accessory
Posted30 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great reflectivity. Really stands out in the dark once headlight hit them. When dry these will keep feet nice and warm down to around 5 degrees and possibly lower - hard to judge that here in Perth. Waterproofness questionable like all similar products I have tried. On wet roads only with no rain I was dry for about 30kms. Suspect water came in through hole in sole of shoe rather than covers.
Good instructions for putting on - just follow them and they should last a good while.
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Genuine Shimano part for use with 11 Speed Dura-Ace and XTR Groupsets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Transfers power to rear cog
Posted30 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great innovation for transferring rotational energy from chain wheel to sprockets. Does exactly what you expect from a chain. Looks grubby after a couple of rides but a quick clean and it looks shiny and new. If kept clean will last well over 3,00kms for my feeble power output. Your mileage may vary."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perform as described
Posted30 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ideal replacement for that pin you dropped on the garage floor and can't find because you have the eyes of a 50 year old not a hawk."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm stretchy full finger gloves with a Thermoflex back panel and a Clarino synthetic leather palm for feel and durability on cool weather road rides. Ideal for fighting the chill in Autumn and early Winter conditions with no loss of feel and control.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Usual Castelli kit
Posted16 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Quality gloves that are true to size chart. No Velcro to catch. Nice long cuffs ensure there are no gaps between gloves and arm warmers."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Cycology Cognitive Therapy T-Shirt: Time spent on the bike clears the head, solves problems and is beneficial to mental & physical health. Downtime that gets you up! Here's just a few cycling mantras.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Busy graphics, but very cool
Posted16 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Sizing was spot on, quality is good and graphics are busy but great. A gamut of cycling clichés which draw a smile or two."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed to be the cornerstone of Morvelo's 'layering' system ThermoActive jerseys can be used to suit a wide variety of riding conditions, combined with base layers and outer shells. Don't let bad weather keep you from riding your bike!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice kit but larger than expected
Posted16 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Quality manufacture with some nice touches. Graphically outstanding, being a little brighter than the picture but not garishly so.
Size wise this is quite a lot larger than say Castelli. Using size chart I was a medium, same as I am in Castelli. The jersey is actually far looser than a Catelli large. Certainly not a "race fit", but fine for a more casual day out. The extra room is particularly noticeable when over the bars and not too bad when standing up. Perhaps ideal for a unicyclist?
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SockGuy Maze Wool Crew 6" Socks in TurboWOOL, a superior blend of Merino wool and polypropylene. This is 5 times the strength and durability of Merino alone, keeps your feet drier and provides excellent insulation in all weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice socks
Posted12 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Lovely and warm with a bold pattern not offered by too many other wool based socks. Size L fitted Euro 44 well as per size chart."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With similar attention to detail of a hand-crafted bicycle frame, the Cyclismo® Wool socks elevates the modern cycling sock to new heights.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm and comfortable
Posted12 June 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"True to size chart for me. 44 euro = large.
Not overly bulky for a great warm sock
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The bottom bracket bearings for use with the HollowTech II FC9000 chainset, which is the ultimate chainset for stiffness whilst keeping weight low for performance riding and racing.
 

What's the difference between Italian thread and English thread

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Your frame may accept one or the other but they are not interchangeable. Check the existing BB on your bike and if it is marked with 36 x 24 road then get the Italian version.
There are many other BB standards out there now though, so check what is fitted currently before ordering.
6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Nope
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth