Matt64
Top 50 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    116
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    01 April 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    44
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    21 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 >>>
 
The Ass saver Extended is perfect for Road cyclists. The pro peloton (Lotto-Belisol, Belkin), continental teams, and development teams have all adopted and used Ass Savers in recent years for training and racing.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great idea but won't fit my bike
Posted01 April 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Handy little bit of kit sadly passed on to a mate. Did not fit Dogma with Antares saddle"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy fit
Posted21 March 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to fit and places Garmin in slightly better position for me. Note that you will need a Torx tool to fit this item and that might not be a standard item in every tool box.."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: need torx tool to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Stop well
Posted21 March 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy fit. Direct replacement for 105/Ultegra pads. Work very well in dry and wet conditions - far better than standard Shimano pads"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new CN-10 Cable and Housing Cutter is a shop quality cutter designed specifically for use on all bicycle cables and housing, including hard-to-cut index housing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality cuts every time
Posted21 March 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cuts cables as designed. Needs little clean up after."
Pros: Durable, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good transition lenses
Posted21 March 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Lenses transition pretty quickly. Dark enough for Western Australia"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not worth teh extra
Posted23 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased for a friend who was flatting a lot. Seemed to stop punctures, but after a very short while the valves were filled with goop."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The award winning Aero Race short has been developed and refined over 5 years of Pro Tour testing. This version of the shorts features Castelli's wordmark logo on the back panel and smaller logo on the side panels and with coloured leg grippers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfy bibs
Posted22 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"True to size chart for me. 180cm tall/75 kg and large is a good firm fit.
Heat transferred scorpion logo on the leg will no doubt crack and fall apart but usually that is a good indicator to me that the crackle region is getting anti-social and it is time for a new set."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: scorpion logo cracks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Born to succeed in the harshness of high competition. The lightness, stability and comfort make the Arqus perfect to deal with the effort.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not the ugliest glasses I have worn
Posted22 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Glasses come with three lenses. Darkest is quite passable in the West Australian summer.
There are a couple of little vents along the top edge of the lens. I guess these are to reduce fogging. Can't comment on the effectiveness but it looks like a good idea."
Pros: Comfortable, Rugged, Good Fit, multiple elnses
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A great cycling glove for everyday riding. Stylish and available in three colours, it features a Clarino palm with gel padding and a cool mesh back of hand with added reflective piping.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
More Castelli goodness
Posted18 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"True to size chart but nicely form fitting. These gloves have a nice bit of stretch but fit very snuggly. Comfortable padding in all the right places. Soft microfiber nose wipe.
The only negative point is the use of the iron on type scorpion logo which I am sure will crack and peel off as with similar Castelli logos on bibs and the like."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The cannibal is designed to devour your bottle just as it's namesake used to devour his opponents. The huge entry point allows very easy insertion, especially in race situations when you need to get your bottle stowed quickly.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Firm grip on bidon
Posted01 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased these to replace some slightly tired looking Elite Custom Race bottle cages. At first look they appear as if they won't hold the bottle firmly. Using camelback bottles I find they are held very firmly and there is no way they will fall out.
The only quibble is that, because most of the gripping is done in the lower half of the bottle, you can find the bidon becomes slightly tilted over to one side and brushes on your calf from time to time. Only a problem on the seat tube and I may replace with my older cage here."
Pros: Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
1 week, 4 days ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
1 week, 4 days ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Nope
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd. Also new, is the mega-drive hub flange and a great new graphics makeover.
 

are these 11 speed

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes
6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth