Matt64
Top 25 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    172
  • Helpfulness Votes
    40
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    15 September 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 >>>
 
A precision tool for safely removing headset cups from steel, alloy and titanium frames. An essential piece of your workshop tool kit for bike rebuilds and upgrades.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Exactly as described
Posted15 September 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Does exactly what it should do. No more and no less. Good value if you need one and no need to pay more for the small number of times the average maintainer will use it."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With the release of the Jawbreaker, Oakley have taken ultimate performance eyewear to the next level!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great glasses
Posted15 September 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Never in my life did I imagine I would pay this much for eye wear.
BUT
Vision clarity is fantastic, they fit my face really well with little to no turbulence in my eyes even when descending at 70+kph and they let you get down and chew the stem without obstructing the vision at the top of your eyes.
I am not sure that they enhance my looks and would not consider wearing them off the bike but they do exactly what I want when I am on the bike.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A handy pencil sketch diagram labelling bicycle parts and what should be packed in your saddlebag and where to lube your chain. Printed on a dark coloured tee shirt that won't show oil and grease when you wipe your grotty hands.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does not actually do any maintenance for you
Posted15 September 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Gave to a mate who gets the LBS to maintain his bike. Looks great but hasn't seen him ride more or maintain anything to date so obviously doesn't work as described. Should have returned I guess."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP pump design that brings floor pump function and power along for the ride. The aluminum barrel, shaft, base, and T-handle are custom CNC-machined for durability, ergonomics and reduced weight. Supplied with inline gauge.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Light weight travel pump
Posted15 September 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased as part of my travelling tool kit. Very compact and just pure class from a looks perspective. Easy enough to get 23mm tyres up to 110psi.
Only downside is the gauge is hard to read but this is a function of my eyes more than anything else. The gauge is a linear arrangement rather than a dial and I have wrapped a strip of tape around at the required pressure which works well for me.
Comes with the usual array of options - ball inflator, mattress inflator and a speed chuck. Main adaptor is a switchable Presta/Schraeder unit. I like the screw on Presta arrangement as since using I have never had a tube fail around the valve. Others may have a different opinion obviously, and on the whole my mates always reckoned they didn't want to use my floor pumps as it was a PITA to screw on rather than the plunger type arrangements they have."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: poor guage markings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
They may not be the most glamorous part of your cycling wardrobe but socks are vitally important for ride comfort and keep your kit game tight. Morvelo use Skin-life and Coolmax fabrics to ensure your feet remain fresh and comfortable as you ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sock Statement
Posted15 September 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very bold and bright dayglo yellow colour. Look great. Fit wise they are quite narrow across the foot (LG/XL size only 70mm wide before wearing) but have sufficient stretch to fit my size 44 pads quite comfortably.
Construction is quite light weight and similar to socks from Castelli and other Italian brands.
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Swissstop Flash Pro brake pad, featuring the Black Prince compound, is designed for carbon rims and provides superior power, control and braking modulation. This means braking distances are significantly reduced in all conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Super soft and fast wearing
Posted26 August 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very fast wearing brake pads. Fitted last weekend and racked up about 350kms of dry and pretty flat riding but already showing about 50% wear on front pads running Cosmic C40 wheels. After the first 20kms there was already a wedge of worn material sitting out the front of the pad which looked odd to me then. They do stop you well though; had a truck pull in front of me on a roundabout and pulled up very quickly with no fuss.
I have had much better durability from the yellow pads with no real drop in braking power noticed.
"
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This device clamps into the rear stay (drive side) and keeps the chain in place making it easy and less messy for you when you are transporting your bike to and from the car or if hanging on the wall in the shed/home.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cheap and very effective
Posted25 August 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Previously used a Pedros Chain Keeper. This is much better as it sits away from your frame allowing a full clean without any scratches. Given the Pedros one to my enemy."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Lezyne Strip Drive Pro Rear Light Y9 is capable of kicking out 100 lumens and with nine lighting modes it's one of the most versatile rear lights on the market. It can even be fitted to aero seatposts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great rear light
Posted03 August 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to mount and plenty bright enough for most circumstances I can think of. Fits reasonably well to an aero seat post but can slip around to the side a little bit.
For charging the whole unit and mount strap are removed from the bike and the end cap removed. The light then just plugs into a USB port like a memory stick. As long as you get it the correct way around then charging is a doddle. Get it upside down and charging might take a while!
Waterproofing appears solid as there is really no point for water to enter the unit. Have used it in several downpours and never missed a beat."
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Vittoria Zip bag is a useful bag to keep an emergency repair kit i.e. Pit stop, inner tube, tyre levers, CO2 cartridge or personal items like keys, mobile phone, money etc. Will fit in a jersey rear pocket or bottle cage.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tidy storage solution
Posted03 August 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Neat solution to carrying your essential spares. Has several pros over the more normal saddle bag:
- unzips and opens up flat so you can easily see what is where and remove only what you need. No need to take everything out looking for the $5 in coins for coffee.
- doesn't rub on the seat post and erode the clear coat or swing around like the dog's proverbial.
- no Velcro bits to catch on your super expensive lycra lingerie.
On the down side it obviously takes up one of your bidon cages so you need to find an alternate solution on long rides. I recommend that you get your butler to drive behind with more drinks, but if this option isn't available then you can put the contents into your jersey pocket easily enough.
The bag is a nice tight fit in most cages. No hint of moving over any sort of road surface to date. There is plenty of room for two tubes, two CO2 canisters and discharge unit, multitool, house keys and all the coffee money you might need. Could probably fit my phone in also if needed."
Pros: Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The new Lezyne Power Drive 900XL Front Light Y9 delivers the holy grail of High Power with Low Weight. With six lighting modes, it is as versatile as it is powerful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Like your own portable sunbeam
Posted03 August 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Super bright light in full power mode.
Easy to fit to aero shaped bars. Slight downside is the need to remove the whole unit and mount for recharging (unless you have a convenient USB outlet I guess). I suspect that this may see the mounting strap fail before the light.
Mounting is reasonably solid even if only a rubber strap. It does allow the ability to point light down easily whilst on the move if required so as not to dazzle on-coming riders. Not sure why I do this as they never reciprocate!
Quoted charging time of 3 hours appears optimistic when using my laptops docking station. Might be quicker using another outlet but this is not really an issue for me.
Run time on highest setting is about 2 hours in 5-15 degree C temperature. Haven't tried the other settings for long enough to drain battery.
Waterproofing appears a step up over my other similar lights. Very solid plug over the charging port is quite snug fit and harder to remove than others. Charging cable is a neat fit and shows no signs of dropping out.
Overall very happy with this unit."
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The bottom bracket bearings for use with the HollowTech II FC9000 chainset, which is the ultimate chainset for stiffness whilst keeping weight low for performance riding and racing.
 

What's the difference between Italian thread and English thread

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Your frame may accept one or the other but they are not interchangeable. Check the existing BB on your bike and if it is marked with 36 x 24 road then get the Italian version.
There are many other BB standards out there now though, so check what is fitted currently before ordering.
8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Nope
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth