Matt64
Top 25 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    146
  • Helpfulness Votes
    31
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    04 February 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 >>>
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cheap but essential
Posted04 February 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Stops fraying cables. Not much more to be said really."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tension your gear and brake cables with ease. The LifeLine Inner cable puller grips the inner cable and allows you to set the tension and lock it in place with just one hand. Essential for gear indexing and brake tuning.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Looks like an Insturment of Torture
Posted21 January 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Works like a charm. Simple and effective way to get sufficient cable tension without calling a mate. Ideal for the less sociable mechanic like me."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: lacks instructions but not hard to work out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Accurately measure the amount of wear on your chain. The LifeLine chain wear tool helps you determine how much your chain has stretched, allowing you to replace a worn chain before it causes damage to the cassette and chainrings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cheap and Simple like my mates
Posted20 January 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cheap and easy to use. Indicates whether the chain is worn out or not with no interpretation needed.
If it was made by Lezyne it would incorporate a bottle opener and cost five times as much but this is more than adequate. You don't deserve a beer every time you check the chain!
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The bottom bracket bearings for use with the HollowTech II FC9000 chainset, which is the ultimate chainset for stiffness whilst keeping weight low for performance riding and racing.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Affordable Dura Ace Bit
Posted20 January 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Lash out on top end quality from Shimano. OK, it costs half as much again as Ultegra which is no surprise but at less than $40 it is still pretty affordable. Lasts many miles but I tend to replace the BB at about yearly intervals whether required or not which ensures reliability."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With extra-lightweight fabrics and minimal construction techniques, this glove will feel like a second skin. Light padding and simple easy on / off pull tab make this your most comfortable glove.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Look Like CasTiny. Fit like Caselli
Posted20 January 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great looking gloves that appear tiny at first glance. Don't be fooled; it is possible to get your hand inside and then they fit beautifully. My hand measurement is just outside the medium size at 22.3cm so got the large. there is enough room to wriggle another finger in alongside my hand once on so can easily accept larger so doubt you need to size up really.
The black version is very subtle in a bold change from the usual for Castelli gloves. Logos are almost invisible.
"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A super narrow and lightweight 11 speed chain designed for use with Shimano's Dura Ace groupset. The chain provides smooth shifts and offers maximum durability plus featuring the SIL-TEC surface treatment.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Quality chain
Posted28 December 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"durable and easy to fit. Comes with two connector pins. Works well on Ultegra chains rings and cassettes too."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Swissstop Flash Evo BXP the latest aluminium rim compound. The Non sticky predictable linear feel provides improved modulation, power and braking in all conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Just theh job to stop you going anywhere fast
Posted28 December 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to fit
Come in full 4 pack with grub screws
Stop you well - far better than standard Shimano pads in my opinion.
No squeaks or groans under light or heavy applications
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Triple function cap with soft rubber push-pull nozzle is easy on the mouth and delivers fluid fast. Don't let bugs in your bottle spoil your next trip.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice - But too big for my frame
Posted28 December 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"OK fit in the normal downtube bottle cage but can't get into the seat tube cage. Made a nice gift for the grandkids sports anyway."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Hybrid CO2 mini pump combines a manual pump with a CO2 inflator for fast convenient tyre inflation and emergency protection. With a compact design and durable alloy body, the hybrid mini pump is essential on extended tours and remote routes.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
small pump and CO2 inflator nozzle
Posted20 November 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"enough puff to put a little air in the tube on fitting combined with CO2 adaptor. Small and neat. Works adequately."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Compact and lightweight tyre levers with a snap-together shape for fitting into your saddlebag or back pocket. Featuring a unique thin-lip for prying and dual grove design to hook into your spokes. Strong enough to remove even the most stubborn tyres.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tyre levers - very cheap
Posted20 November 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"3 bits of black plastic designed to assist getting tyres off and possibly on if you have wimpy fingers."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The bottom bracket bearings for use with the HollowTech II FC9000 chainset, which is the ultimate chainset for stiffness whilst keeping weight low for performance riding and racing.
 

What's the difference between Italian thread and English thread

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Your frame may accept one or the other but they are not interchangeable. Check the existing BB on your bike and if it is marked with 36 x 24 road then get the Italian version.
There are many other BB standards out there now though, so check what is fitted currently before ordering.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
10 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
10 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
11 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Nope
11 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
11 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
1 year ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
1 year ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth