Matt64
Top 25 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    183
  • Helpfulness Votes
    44
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    03 March 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 >>>
 
 LifeLine Derailleur Hanger Alignment Tool
LifeLine Derailleur Hanger Alignment Tool
The LifeLine Derailleur Hanger Alignment tool is used to correct numerous rear derailleur/mech shifting issues that occur with indexed gear systems. Essential for bike workshops and mechanics.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap and effective as expected
Posted03 March 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cheap and easy to use. A quick way to check an easily damaged but overlooked component."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Unyielding performance and powerful braking are the hallmarks of the Racer kit. Designed specifically for road bikes the Racer kit will provide consistent & smooth shifting and amazingly powerful braking.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Complete cable kit
Posted03 March 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Has everything apart from a top notch mechanic to fit it. Cable ends designed for both Shimano and Campag - just remember to cut the right one off. Casing not a great fit into my Jagwire inline adjusters, but overall very happy with fit and performance."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Endura's BaaBaa Merino Socks designed for silky, itch free comfort with a high warmth to weight ratio.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Double pack of warmth
Posted03 March 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Warm but not too thick. Ideal for cool mornings but able to handle the day as it warms up."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Swissstop Flash Evo brake pad, featuring the Black Prince compound, is designed for carbon rims and provides superior power, control and braking modulation. This means braking distances are significantly reduced in all conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Stop Fast.
Posted25 January 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Soft and aggressive brake compound. Stop you quickly and wear at an equally swift rate. Recommended for those with deep pockets who like to stop when required."
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hydration made easy
Posted25 January 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got both the grapefruit and the cherry/orange flavours. Both pretty palatable and not as salty as some.
A small note of caution: the tube does recommend a maximum of three tablets per day. This is in very small print. The main ingredient is Sodium Bicarbonate. This is a fairly powerful laxative. No more on the subject needs to be said.
"
Pros: Great Value, tastes good
Cons: max daily dosage not clearly marked, potential laxative effects
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Like the standard Bodyline short but amplified to 11. These are competition grade shorts with a high quality proprietary pad and an advanced single piece, single seam construction. Fit and forget for total riding comfort.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Larger sizing than Castelli
Posted25 January 2017
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased the medium. My waist is 82cm so on upper end of medium per size chart. The bibs are a lot slacker than comparable Castelli items. Virtually no compression in the legs and plenty of room in the front. Unfortunately this does tend to put your junk on display off the bike so best not have that coffee stop.
Legs are also quite long. Come down to the tops of my knees and there is a little bunching at back of knee when first on but easily sorted. On the plus side they do not ride up. I rate myself as average height at 1.8m so found the leg length surprising. In retrospect I think I could have got into a small with little bother.
Otherwise they are comfortable to wear and the pad is decent for 2-4 hour rides with no problems. The all black version is quite a classic look with a very discrete motif on the right hand leg gripper.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: large sizing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Stolen Goat Intergalactic Bodyline Short Sleeve Jersey
Stolen Goat Intergalactic Bodyline Short Sleeve Jersey
Stolen Goat's Intergalactic Bodyline Short Sleeve Jersey is incredibly stylish yet does not compromise on performance. Featuring a four way stretch fabric that is breathable and fast drying.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great design
Posted13 December 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased orange version in medium size. Despite being touted as close fitting this is not as snug as similarly sized euro brands. 96cm chest and I have plenty of room to spare if I wanted a full aero fit. That said, there isn't any noticeable flapping or billowing and I am happy with the fit.
The design is attractive and different to most other kit out there. The waterproof pocket is able to swallow an iPhone 5 no problem and it is not covered in sweat by end of the ride which is nice. Other pockets are accessible without being a contortionist (Morvelo being a problem for me with pockets half way up my back). Pocket size is generous - I measure their ability to hold my sandwich in the centre pocket and am able to fit lunch in without having to unzip first.
Zipper garage is a nice touch, but not sure it adds anything. I found it a little awkward to unzip on the go but no big deal.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Great looking Fi'zi:k handlebar tape that’s available in a glossy black finish to compliment any finishing kit. It will scrub up time and again to ensure your bike looks as good as new.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bar tape that works
Posted15 November 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Few things beat heading out on a bike with clean bar tape. Easy to install and easy to keep clean even when using the white version. Can wrap and unwrap several times with little loss of adhesion.
Fizik finishing labels not the best for durability but that is what electrical tape is for.
"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
100% CNC machined aluminium CO2 inflator. The Control Valve head slips directly onto Presta and Schrader valves and puts the rider in complete control over how much CO2 they discharge at a time.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Usual Lezyne feel
Posted15 November 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to use. Looks great. A lot less bulky than some other similar units. Comes with sleeve for CO2 cylinder."
Pros: Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Mini Torque Wrench
LifeLine Essential Mini Torque Wrench
A compact and convenient 5Nm torque wrench for the most common bike adjustment applications. The LifeLine Essential Mini Torque Wrench is ideal for setting the correct tension on stem clamps, seat posts and lever clamps etc.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy to use torque wrench
Posted15 November 2016
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Quick and easy to use as expected. Tested against bolts previously torqued with more expensive and traditional item and it appears reasonably accurate.
Recommended."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The bottom bracket bearings for use with the HollowTech II FC9000 chainset, which is the ultimate chainset for stiffness whilst keeping weight low for performance riding and racing.
 

What's the difference between Italian thread and English thread

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Your frame may accept one or the other but they are not interchangeable. Check the existing BB on your bike and if it is marked with 36 x 24 road then get the Italian version.
There are many other BB standards out there now though, so check what is fitted currently before ordering.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Nope
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth