Matt64
Top 50 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    111
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    23 February 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    42
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    18 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 >>>
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not worth teh extra
Posted23 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased for a friend who was flatting a lot. Seemed to stop punctures, but after a very short while the valves were filled with goop."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The award winning Aero Race short has been developed and refined over 5 years of Pro Tour testing. This version of the shorts features Castelli's wordmark logo on the back panel and smaller logo on the side panels and with coloured leg grippers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfy bibs
Posted22 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"True to size chart for me. 180cm tall/75 kg and large is a good firm fit.
Heat transferred scorpion logo on the leg will no doubt crack and fall apart but usually that is a good indicator to me that the crackle region is getting anti-social and it is time for a new set."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: scorpion logo cracks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Born to succeed in the harshness of high competition. The lightness, stability and comfort make the Arqus perfect to deal with the effort.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not the ugliest glasses I have worn
Posted22 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Glasses come with three lenses. Darkest is quite passable in the West Australian summer.
There are a couple of little vents along the top edge of the lens. I guess these are to reduce fogging. Can't comment on the effectiveness but it looks like a good idea."
Pros: Comfortable, Rugged, Good Fit, multiple elnses
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A great cycling glove for everyday riding. Stylish and available in three colours, it features a Clarino palm with gel padding and a cool mesh back of hand with added reflective piping.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
More Castelli goodness
Posted18 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"True to size chart but nicely form fitting. These gloves have a nice bit of stretch but fit very snuggly. Comfortable padding in all the right places. Soft microfiber nose wipe.
The only negative point is the use of the iron on type scorpion logo which I am sure will crack and peel off as with similar Castelli logos on bibs and the like."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The cannibal is designed to devour your bottle just as it's namesake used to devour his opponents. The huge entry point allows very easy insertion, especially in race situations when you need to get your bottle stowed quickly.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Firm grip on bidon
Posted01 February 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Purchased these to replace some slightly tired looking Elite Custom Race bottle cages. At first look they appear as if they won't hold the bottle firmly. Using camelback bottles I find they are held very firmly and there is no way they will fall out.
The only quibble is that, because most of the gripping is done in the lower half of the bottle, you can find the bidon becomes slightly tilted over to one side and brushes on your calf from time to time. Only a problem on the seat tube and I may replace with my older cage here."
Pros: Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The TK375 Chain Drop Catcher helps to prevent chains falling from double road Cranksets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy fit for dummies like me
Posted18 January 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to install and does the job as intended. Available in all colours of the rainbow."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keep air on the inside
Posted18 January 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Does exactly what an inner tube should do. Neither better nor worse than others."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not as waterproof as expected
Posted18 January 2015
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very comfy. Nice and warm for our extreme Western Australian winters, but not as waterproof as I expected. Keeps road spray and showers at bay for a while but not great in heavy weather."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Right box, wrong filling
Posted15 October 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ordered L/XL which is what the boxed was marked as. Contents were tagged XXL and were clearly too big for me. Made a great gift to one of my fat buddies so nothing lost there. I was surprised by this quality control failure from Mr. Castelli though.
Having had this bit of kit previously I do recommend it though. It works exactly as required and is good for amusing your mates if you ever get seen without your jersey on top. It only ever looks good if it is just the scorpion badge poking out of a part unzipped jersey.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, can make you look like a weirdo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The name alone indicates how significant this new tyre is for Schwalbe. It is the fastest and at the same time most reliable competition tyre they have ever made thanks to their new OneStar compound with the added protection of V-Guard under the tread.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy rolling rubber
Posted15 October 2014
Matt64
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Finally our summer weather has arrived and it is time to fit summer rubber and put the Schwalbe Duranos that have been mounted over winter away.
Appearances:
- The basic black version is very understated unlike the Ultremos that I have previously run.
- The lack of tread pattern of any sort confuses the uninitiated but looks the business too.
Fit:
- very supple and easy to push onto my Racing Zero rims.
- easy to take off again when I managed to pinch the latex tube
Performance:
- rolling resistance appears much the same as the Ultremos in this regard. No discernible difference to me.
- first run was +130kms over some pretty ordinary roads with plenty of glass. Not a nick but that may be good luck rather than any change in performance.
- comfort much the same as Ultremos.
- some signs of wear are already apparent on the front tyre already which is not something I have noticed previously so perhaps the compound is a little softer.
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
Matt64 has not submitted any questions.
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
2 weeks, 1 day ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Nope
2 weeks, 1 day ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
2 weeks, 1 day ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
5 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd. Also new, is the mega-drive hub flange and a great new graphics makeover.
 

are these 11 speed

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The short carbon fibre body construction offers low weight, is super stiff and offers efficient power transfer. The PD-6800 features many of the same technologies as the flagship Dura Ace pedals with the PD-6800 only weighing 8g more.
 

Are the cleats included with this pedal?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Come with the yellow cleats
7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Race level road cycling shoes built on Shimano Dynalast Technology for improved energy transfer and efficiency over long distances. The R170 features a hollow channel carbon sole for stiffness and lightness and a supple, ventilated syntheic/mesh upper.
 

I'm not sure what is the sole made of

The info about the shoe shows two different informations:
- In the features of the shoe: "Lightweight carbon fiber sole construction for excellent stiffness to weight ratio incorporating adjustable cleat mounts"

- But if you read the materials you see:
Sole Material: FG Concept - Nylon/Fiber Glass

So what is the sole made of?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The soles on mine say "Carbon Fiber Composite"
7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth