Matt64
Top 25 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    207
  • Helpfulness Votes
    48
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    1 May 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    20 June 2017
  • Last Question
    3 December 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
<<< 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21
 
Great looking Fizik handlebar tape that is available in a wide range of colours and compliments any finishing kit. It will scrub up time and again to ensure your bike looks as good as new.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Looks smart
Posted4 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
" Bought the white Fizik marked tape. this changed teh look of my bike and drew compliments immediately.
The tape has stayed firmly in place over about 3,000kms of use without any pulling or gaps forming which was happening with the factory fitted tape - perhaps I was more careful when applying it than the manufacturer.
Only downside is that the white does stain a little with my winter gloves but that is a fault with teh gloves not the tape.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The GatorSkin Folding is the UK's favourite training tyre (formerly known as Ultra GatorSkin). With its DuraSkin™-anti-cut fabric and PolyX Breaker® also makes it suitable for commuting through to sportives as well as training.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
tough everyday tyre
Posted4 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
" Have run Gatorskins for commuting for three years. In over 10,000kms have not had one flat using these. I pick glass out of the tread every weekend but nothing seems to penetrate. "
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
They have strived relentlessly to increase its speed and installed the ZX with HD Speed and RaceStar Triple Compound. Both components are perfectly tuned to the requirements of an outstanding competition tyre.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great performance with reasonable durability
Posted4 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
" Bought these for a charity event and intended to take them off straight after. I enjoyed riding on them and left them on the bike for training and commuting. No flats until over 1,700kms. Have just fitted a second set after 1,800kms. Wear was quite good and I could have possibly got another 700-800kms from them but there were a number of large glass cuts and I was getting set for a 500km trek so decided to fit the new ones. "
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Free Aero Race Bib Short SS14
Castelli Free Aero Race Bib Short SS14
The award winning Aero Race short has been developed and refined over 5 years of Pro Tour testing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best bibs I have used
Posted2 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
" These bibs are the best of the five pairs that I own. Whilst the pad appears on the thin side it is very comfortable over four hour ride. Fit is excellent as long as you follow the size guide rather than just assume all manufacturers use the same specification (which obviously would be a good thing).
Leg grippers don't ride up but don't constrict either - just right.
The open chest design is meant to increase performance but I didn't notice that myself.
As an added plus these are also the best looking bit of kit in my wardrobe in my opinion.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Cyrano Carbon Seat Post
Cyrano Carbon Seat Post
Super light carbon seat post with ultra low-profile upper clamp designed to compliment the most stylish Fizik's saddles. The seat post offers greater fore to aft adjustment than other seat posts, easier installation and one-finger adjuster wheel.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Looks sharp
Posted2 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
" Easy to adjust seat angle with the single adjusting knob, but you do have to make a small allowance for unexpected movement as you tighten the clamping grub screw. Once I noticed this it was very easy to get the angle I wanted. "
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Antares Carbon Saddle &amp; Carbon Braided Rails 2012
Antares Carbon Saddle & Carbon Braided Rails 2012
A new design that is exceptionally comfortable, flexible and light.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Looks great, feels great, isn't really great
Posted2 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
" This saddle is beautifully crafted, light as a feather, fits my butt like a glove and looks a million dollars. Unfortunately the shape of it leaves the inside of my thighs chaffing against the edges of the mount and I have managed to wreck three bibs in teh first 500kms of use. I now have a little bit of gaffer tape stuck over the seatpost mount which appears to have fixed the problem to a degree. "
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Foska Beanz Road Cycling Jersey
Foska Beanz Road Cycling Jersey
A light and breathable cycling jersey with an all-over printed design of one of Britain's best loved brands. The classic Heinz graphic is instantly recognisable in a crowd; a perfect touch of humour for your cycling season.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Stands out in a crowd
Posted28 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
" Great product which everyone loves especially my grandkids. Comfortable fit and plenty of pockets including a zip pocket for not to be lost items. "
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
The Powerbox combines trusted FSA Chainset Technology with Power2Max power functionality to give you all the data you need.
 

Possible to use Rotor bottom bracket cups?

Is it possible to use Rotor BB cups:
- http://www.wiggle.com.au/rotor-bottom-bracket-cups-ceramic/
- http://www.wiggle.com.au/rotor-bottom-bracket-cups-steel/
to adapt this to Italian or English threaded frames?
9 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The Powerbox combines trusted FSA Chainset Technology with Power2Max power functionality to give you all the data you need.
 

What bottom bracket to replace Shimano Italian thread BB?

What replacement bottom bracket or adapter is required to run this in a frame with Italian threaded bottom bracket?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Bottom Bracket Cups
Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Bottom Bracket Cups
The Shimano Dura-Ace 9000 Bottom Bracket features smaller lightweight bearings and an advanced seal construction for smoother rotation and increased durability.
 

What's the difference between Italian thread and English thread

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Your frame may accept one or the other but they are not interchangeable. Check the existing BB on your bike and if it is marked with 36 x 24 road then get the Italian version.
There are many other BB standards out there now though, so check what is fitted currently before ordering.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 SRAM QuickView Garmin Computer Mount
SRAM QuickView Garmin Computer Mount
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Nope
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth