Matt64
Top 25 Contributor
Share Matt64's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Matt64's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    207
  • Helpfulness Votes
    48
  • First Review
    28 January 2013
  • Last Review
    1 May 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    20 June 2017
  • Last Question
    3 December 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    10 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
Matt64's Reviews
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 >>>
 
The most aero jersey Castelli have ever made evolves still further saving an extra 2 watts compared to the previous edition. Not only is this jersey aero it's also lightweight and very comfortable making it perfect for both racing and training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lightweight and aero
Posted21 June 2017
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Usual Castelli quality. Nice combination of minimalist fabrics offering various levels of stretch and ventilation. Quite see through so fairer skinned users may need to resort to sunblock under the jersey in summer. The weave on the back and tops of the arms is quite a bit denser than the chest, sides, shoulders and inner arm panels.
Knowing the cut is pretty racey and my riding volume is about 50% down on previous years I opted for large and expect to fill it a little more over next 12 months. The fit is still pretty snug on 96cm chest/ 75kg/ 180cm physique.
"
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No more guess work
Posted21 June 2017
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" A better bet for tightening fittings on a carbon frame than guesswork. My mate recommended simply tightening the seat post clamp until it started to creak a little. I bought this instead.
Good selection of torx and hex heads. There is probably no fastener on a typical road bike that this won't fit.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Understated
Posted21 June 2017
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Great price for a good quality item. Snug aero fit. Sharply laser cut sleeves. Classy design.
Medium size a good fit for my puny 96cm chest and 180cm / 75kg frame. "
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra fine mid weight merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece to see you into winter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So good she asked for a second one
Posted8 June 2017
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Purchased first one for my wife before we went for a trip in the Victorian high country. So good that she wanted a second one. "
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The X-Tools Pro Gear Hanger Alignment Tool is used to correct numerous rear derailleur/mech shifting issues that occur with indexed gear systems. Essential for bike workshops and mechanics.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap and effective as expected
Posted3 March 2017
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Cheap and easy to use. A quick way to check an easily damaged but overlooked component. "
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Jagwire Road Pro Complete Gear and Cable Kit
Jagwire Road Pro Complete Gear and Cable Kit
Unyielding performance and powerful braking are the hallmarks of the Racer kit. Designed specifically for road bikes the Racer kit will provide consistent & smooth shifting and amazingly powerful braking.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Complete cable kit
Posted3 March 2017
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Has everything apart from a top notch mechanic to fit it. Cable ends designed for both Shimano and Campag - just remember to cut the right one off. Casing not a great fit into my Jagwire inline adjusters, but overall very happy with fit and performance. "
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Endura BaaBaa Merino Socks (2 Pack)
Endura BaaBaa Merino Socks (2 Pack)
Endura's BaaBaa Merino Socks designed for silky, itch free comfort with a high warmth to weight ratio.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Double pack of warmth
Posted3 March 2017
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Warm but not too thick. Ideal for cool mornings but able to handle the day as it warms up. "
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Swissstop Flash Evo brake pad, featuring the Black Prince compound, is designed for carbon rims and provides superior power, control and braking modulation. This means braking distances are significantly reduced in all conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Stop Fast.
Posted25 January 2017
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Soft and aggressive brake compound. Stop you quickly and wear at an equally swift rate. Recommended for those with deep pockets who like to stop when required. "
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the UK's leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hydration made easy
Posted25 January 2017
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Got both the grapefruit and the cherry/orange flavours. Both pretty palatable and not as salty as some.
A small note of caution: the tube does recommend a maximum of three tablets per day. This is in very small print. The main ingredient is Sodium Bicarbonate. This is a fairly powerful laxative. No more on the subject needs to be said.
"
Pros: Great Value, tastes good
Cons: max daily dosage not clearly marked, potential laxative effects
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The stolen goat Bodyline ONE Bib Shorts are competition grade bib shorts with a high-quality proprietary pad and an advanced single piece, single seam construction. Fit and forget for total riding comfort
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Larger sizing than Castelli
Posted25 January 2017
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Purchased the medium. My waist is 82cm so on upper end of medium per size chart. The bibs are a lot slacker than comparable Castelli items. Virtually no compression in the legs and plenty of room in the front. Unfortunately this does tend to put your junk on display off the bike so best not have that coffee stop.
Legs are also quite long. Come down to the tops of my knees and there is a little bunching at back of knee when first on but easily sorted. On the plus side they do not ride up. I rate myself as average height at 1.8m so found the leg length surprising. In retrospect I think I could have got into a small with little bother.
Otherwise they are comfortable to wear and the pad is decent for 2-4 hour rides with no problems. The all black version is quite a classic look with a very discrete motif on the right hand leg gripper.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: large sizing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Matt64's Questions
 
The Powerbox combines trusted FSA Chainset Technology with Power2Max power functionality to give you all the data you need.
 

Possible to use Rotor bottom bracket cups?

Is it possible to use Rotor BB cups:
- http://www.wiggle.com.au/rotor-bottom-bracket-cups-ceramic/
- http://www.wiggle.com.au/rotor-bottom-bracket-cups-steel/
to adapt this to Italian or English threaded frames?
1 year ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The Powerbox combines trusted FSA Chainset Technology with Power2Max power functionality to give you all the data you need.
 

What bottom bracket to replace Shimano Italian thread BB?

What replacement bottom bracket or adapter is required to run this in a frame with Italian threaded bottom bracket?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Matt64's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Bottom Bracket Cups
Shimano Dura Ace 9000 Bottom Bracket Cups
The Shimano Dura-Ace 9000 Bottom Bracket features smaller lightweight bearings and an advanced seal construction for smoother rotation and increased durability.
 

What's the difference between Italian thread and English thread

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Your frame may accept one or the other but they are not interchangeable. Check the existing BB on your bike and if it is marked with 36 x 24 road then get the Italian version.
There are many other BB standards out there now though, so check what is fitted currently before ordering.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 SRAM QuickView Garmin Computer Mount
SRAM QuickView Garmin Computer Mount
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

How to mount it on your bars?

From the photo I can see there is only one screw attachment. Does that mean that in order to install it I will have to take off my bar tape and shifters, slide the mount onto the bars and then put everything back on again? Or does it bend somehow?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Fits fine without taking everything off your bars. You will need a Torx key though.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 BBB Winner PH Sport Sunglasses
BBB Winner PH Sport Sunglasses
Lightweight and minimal cycling glasses with a Grilamid Half-Rim frame and interchangeable polycarbonate lenses. Featuring an adjustable silicon nose piece and Soft Touch Temples Tips, BBB winners provide protection and coverage for all conditions.
 

lenses

are these suitable for night time?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Work fine
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Floor Pumps

Can I use Lezyne floor pump to pump air into these tubes? The only threaded part is where you screw the plastic cover.

So can the Flip-Thread Chuck work here? Can't visualise it.

Thanks.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck will screw onto the thread
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do these inner tubes have a removable core?

If so, what valve extender will I need to run on my ZIPP 808's?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Nope
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
The Ultegra 6700 cassette comes with an alloy carrier and advanced Hyperglide sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Can I use this with Di2

Hi, I was wondering if I can use this cassette with my ultegra Di2 10 speed, thanks, Greg
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes. Works with di2 and mechanical groupsets equally
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
Lezyne Steel Floor Drive ABS Track Pump
A precision high-pressure floor pump made with a steel barrel and piston, varnished wood handle, and aluminum base and connectors.
 

Does this pump push the valve into the tyre before locking the chuck?

I'm currently using a Genuine Innovations Pro floor pump which works well for valves that have the little nut at the base that you can tighten against the rim (ie. tubes inside clinchers) but if you use tubulars (which I have now started doing) or a tube without the nut then this pump just pushes the valve into the tyre and is impossible to lock the chuck in place. A little bit of air already inside the tube helps, but inflating from flat or near flat is too hard. I'll cut to the chase....does this Lezyne pump have a chuck that easily slips over the valve and locks or do you need to apply a lot of pressure onto the chuck to get it to go over the valve?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The chuck screws onto the end of the valve. No pressure required on the chuck in that instance
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 

Do these actually work? What are they like over 4/5 hours in solid rain? Still waterproof?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I have not found them to be very waterproof other than showers and road spray.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
 Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Castelli Core Mesh Sleeveless Base Layer
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Correct size?

Hi, I am 75kg and 5'11 (around 38inch chest).. I would normally be a medium in almost all things i buy, but for this top i think the small/medium would be too tight (especially after some washes). What would be the best size to go for pls? Is there usually medium/large but it is just out of stock please?

Many thanks,
Joe
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I am similar size/weight and L/XL works great with a bit of room left over. There is plenty of stretch in the material though so an M (which the size chart suggests you should fit) will certainly fit if you want something a little snugger.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Matt64
Perth
 
Fi'zi:k Superlight handlebar tape is super tough, stretch resistant and very breathable. A great edition to the front end for hand comfort and grip as-well-as matching your Fi'zi:k saddle. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 

Will the word "Fizik" fade off when I use for soem time?

I got a fizik tape before but afte some time, the words were starting to fade off, is that normal??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The words might fade or wear, but after that amount of time and usage it is probably time to spruce up your bike with new tape anyway.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Matt64
Perth