Nick427M
Share Nick427M's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Nick427M's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    29 January 2012
  • Last Review
    08 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    29 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    08 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Nick427M's Reviews
 
The new SRAM RED Front Derailleur changes everything. Instead of simply moving back and forth, the derailleur cage actually rotates to maintain a consistent angular relationship with the chain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Improves Sram shifting
Posted08 August 2013
Nick427M
fromNorway
Age : 25-34
Gender : Male
"I was upgrading from a SRAM Force FD and the difference is marked. I am using it with a SRAM red 2011 52/36t chainset and upshifts are now perfect. You still can't do full power shifts, I think only DI2 allows this. You still get some chain rub on small / small but large/large has no rub. Setup is easy, just follow youtube video.
As mentioned in previous reviews, it is a bit annoying that the clamp is not included.
Overall, excellent upgrade, that works perfectly well with previous generations of sram.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value, well made
Posted08 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nick427M
fromNorway
Age : 25-34
Gender : Male
"Good tool. I bought it for bb30 bearing installation because the park equivalent is too pricey in my mind, and the tool was fine for this. You need to buy the bushings separately, which are cheap. Not tried it as a headset press."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new generation of Assos S5 insert bib tights from the campionissimo line. Designed for cold climate riding conditions, ideally suited for early winter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best Bibs out there if you can get over the cost.
Posted27 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nick427M
fromScotland, UK
Age : 25-34
Gender : Male
"I ordered these with 40OFF wiggle deal which reduced the hit on the wallet some what. Size wise, I'm 186cm, 40" Chest, 32" waist and the Large fit me perfectly.
The chamois pad is the most effective I've tried yet. I really have nothing negative to say about these except for the extortionate price. Oh, and the wash bag/net supplied is too small but that is being pedantic.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value when on sale.
Posted29 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nick427M
fromScotland, UK
"Good value, easy to install. I am using this with Force Groupo and it works perfectly now. Initially, when changing to the small ring (11T) the chain would contact the ring above, even with the RD fully slack and adjusted. To solve this fit a 1 or 2 mm washer when installing the RD on the hanger. This allows the RD to move out enough under its own spring tension."
Pros: Great Value
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Park Tools Master Link Pliers are designed to help remove and replace master links in modern chain systems, although not needed when new they are invaluable on a used chain which can become 'stubborn' when attempting to separate the joining link
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent tool
Posted29 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nick427M
fromScotland, UK
"Essential tool for removing KMC or SRAM power links, especially if you are reusing the KMC ones."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 RideOn Professional Derailleur System
RideOn Professional Derailleur System
New cable set for use with road bikes and developed with Pro-Team input. The choice of the top six finishers at this years Tour de France (2009).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good upgrade to improve shift quality.
Posted08 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nick427M
fromScotland, UK
"My bike has internal cable routing which tends to cause friction, not allowing the gear cable to fully release when changing to the smallest cog on the rear cassette. My groupset is Sram Force and I had read that Gore ride-on cables would solve this. SRAM supply them with the Red groupset which is also telling.
Installation is pretty simple. The key is (with internal routing anyway) to slide the supplied Gore sheath over the existing gear cable, then remove the old cable and slide in the new Gore cable.
Since installing the Gore ride-ons, the shift has improved noticeably. Also being completely sealed, I imagine the cable should stay friction free even during the winter months.
Cons: They could supply more gromits for fitting inline barrel adjusters. I just used my old Jagwire ones. Installation instructions are limited, but just look on youtube and/or google.
Price is quite steep but still worth it.
"
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Boardman SLR 9.2
Posted29 January 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nick427M
"The 9.2 is a great bike. The main points to note are that it is light and also very stiff, whilst remaining comfortable. With regards to spec, the cassette is actually the Sram PG1070 not CS5600 as quoted on the website, which is a bonus.
The gears require setting up, as expected and also, it is essential to check the rear hanger alignment.
Saddle wise, I changed mine out for a Specialized Romin Evo pro. Bare in mind that if you have 7x9.6mm rails you'll need to order separate seat clamp (£10).
As for size, I'm 187cm, 86cm leg, +1cm ape ratio and the Large frame is perfect.
Overall, you can't beat Boardman for value, especially if you use the wiggle 25% off code. Nothing else comes close for the money."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
 
Nick427M's Questions
 
Nick427M has not submitted any questions.
 
Nick427M's Answers
 
The new SRAM RED Front Derailleur changes everything. Instead of simply moving back and forth, the derailleur cage actually rotates to maintain a consistent angular relationship with the chain.
 

i have the old sram red groupset

i have the old sram red groupset (2011 BB30) can i use this front derailleur and will it work properly
Do i need to replace anything else to make it work
Yes works fine, not as good as with the new chainset but still much better then the SRAM 2011 red FD. You don't need anything extra
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Nick427M
Norway
 
The new SRAM RED Front Derailleur changes everything. Instead of simply moving back and forth, the derailleur cage actually rotates to maintain a consistent angular relationship with the chain.
 

Is the new Red front derailleur compatible with SRAM RIVAL shifters?

Yes, I use it with SRAM FORCE 2010 shifters and it is fine. Trim function becomes redundant.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Nick427M
Norway
 
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

Hi i would like to ask if this cassette is compatible with sram red front and rear derailleurs. Do i have any problem changing the gears;

Yes it is compatible with Sram red RD
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Nick427M
Norway
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 

Can this be used to install BB30 bottom bracket bearings

Yes it can be used to install BB30 bearings as long as you have the installation bushings.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Nick427M
Scotland, UK
 
 

Can the Boardman SLR 9.2 be purchased with different cassette and / or chainring ratios

My came with a SRAM PG1070 12-25T Cassette. I'm sure if you email/phone Wiggle they would fit a different one. Not sure about chainring though.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Nick427M
Scotland, UK