NorthWalesCommuter
Share NorthWalesCommuter's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
NorthWalesCommuter's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    29 January 2012
  • Last Review
    10 February 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    05 November 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    05 November 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    10 July 2012
  • Last Answer
    06 September 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
NorthWalesCommuter's Reviews
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good padding, fitting on the small side.
Posted10 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
NorthWalesCommuter
fromDenbigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought these tights to replace some (bought elsewhere) that saw good service before having to be cut off after a fairly catastrophic accident.
Based on my previous experience of DHB clothing I opted for these. I have been impressed with the fairly accurate sizing of DHB in the past and the quality of materials compares favourably against their value for money. You get reasonably priced quality overall.
The quality of these tights is up to their expected standard and I am impressed with the performance and comfort of the pad particularly.
Fit is a different matter this time though. I am Mr Average when it comes to fitting of clothes - 183cm (6ft) tall, 82cm (32 inch) waist, 82cm inside leg, 112cm (44 inch) chest - I can never get suits in the sales as they are never available in my size!
These bib tights as are a bit spare in terms of fit. According to the size guide I fall between two stools and can choose medium or large. Previously I have been more than happy with medium but this time, whilst the medium size fits I wish I had bought the large as the medium feels like full compression rather than the claimed 'snugger form fit' in the description.
That said I would still buy DHB gear but would read the description carefully and ere on the side of larger for comfort."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Caveats and falls
Posted03 November 2012
NorthWalesCommuter
fromDenbigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these pedals to replace the combination pedals I had on the bike, mainly because I almost exclusively wear the cycling shoes and have found it a hassle finding the clips on the old pedals when setting off from lights/junctions etc.
They are great pedals for the money and do the job in terms of clipping in but... I have found that it is difficult to disengage from them despite adjusting them and have fallen twice since fitting them. I am no expert in these things and will probable have to seek some assistance to improve matters. I will admit that I didn't swap the cleats on the shoes and this will be the next step, using the ones that came with the pedals.
I will report back once I have done this."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Autumn arrives with a bang!
Posted30 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
NorthWalesCommuter
fromDenbigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having already bought dhb bib shorts and short sleeved summer jersey and finding them excellent I turned to dhb again in preparation for autumn and winter on the bike and not before time. Pretty much as soon as I received the Momentum jersey the rain and wind blew in with a vengeance!
Work and various other reasons meant that I wore the new jersey for the first time yesterday (29 Sept), a fine but cold and windy Saturday. I took off for a 'lets see where I end up' ride. Pretty much from the start I had a cross wind veering round to a head wind depending on the twists and turns of the road. I had a thin gym vest and bib tights (neither dhb) underneath as I didn't think it would be too cold.
Once I got into the hills and up on the tops the wind was quite strong and cutting. The jersey performed very well, keeping me warm and resisting the wind. The neck and waist are tight enough to keep all but a hurricane out and the lining is very comfortable and does not get wet with sweat, even on climbs. It performed very well for the just shy of 48km I rode (thankfully with a tail wind on the way home).
Fit and styling are very good and detail like the waterproof centre pocket with an internal hole for headphone wire is a clever touch. Sizing is accurate - I bought the large size which fits snuggly (I am 183cm, 79kg with 81.5cm waist).
The only reason I mark quality down a bit is that there are some minor niggles with finish - loose threads and untidy stitching. These are cosmetic and don't affect the functional quality at all.
Overall I'm really pleased with the jersey and have confidence in facing the winter commute."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Lunar 35 Lux Front and 1/2 Watt Rear Light Set
Lunar 35 Lux Front and 1/2 Watt Rear Light Set
A great light set ideal for those commutes to work and back.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Compact and bright
Posted06 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
NorthWalesCommuter
fromDenbigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these to replace a set that I thought I had lost. The 'lost' set was bought with the bike elsewhere and had performed very well including survival in a crash. The old front light was the 25 lux version and without a comparison I can only assume the new one is brighter. The rear lights are the same.
These lights are compact and bright. This makes them easy to remove from the bike and drop in a bag or pocket. The fixings for the bike are adjustable and give the owner a number of options for attachment to the bike. The rear light can also be hooked onto clothes or a bag/back pack.
My only minor criticism is that the switch for the new rear light is not as good as the old one and is more fiddly to operate. I could switch the old light of wearing gloves. Not so sure with the new one.
Back to the lost set. A week after receiving the new set I found the old set - in an inside pocket of the back pack where I had put them!
As Homer Simpson would say - Doh!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: fiddly switch
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb 2 pack - Light Weight Cycling Sock 14cm
dhb 2 pack - Light Weight Cycling Sock 14cm
Get fully kitted out with the summer dhb 2 pack unisex cycling sock offer. Chose from either the Blue/Black option, featuring a blue-white pair and a black-white pair, or the Red/White option, a red-white pair and a white-black pair.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Socks
Posted10 July 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
NorthWalesCommuter
fromDenbigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Not much to say really. These are good value socks. They fit well and stay up."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Close fitting and cool to wear
Posted10 July 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
NorthWalesCommuter
fromDenbigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I chose this as a summer jersey for the commute and to go with the dhb bib shorts.
It does the job very well and keeps me cooler than the cheap jersey. It looks better too!
The fit is snug to say the least (described as form fit). I bought the large size and could have had a more relaxed fit with the extra large or with the alternative Clip jersey which is slim fitting.
That said the fabric stretches and allows the jersey to fit well, almost like a second skin. It doesn't interfere with breathing or movement. All in all a great product."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solution to a problem
Posted13 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
NorthWalesCommuter
fromDenbigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought these based on the price and other reviews. I commute intermittently 20 miles each way through North Wales countryside and coast. This is a great ride however I had a cheap pair of shorts and found myself saddle sore at the end of the day.
These shorts have virtually eliminated the problem and along with the chamois cream I no longer suffer in the evening.
Altogether an excellent buy!"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Essential for severe weather conditions, the SealSkins Beanie is waterproof and windproof and features a highly breathable membrane. Keep your head extremely and comfortable when the air temperature is cold.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I've got a Special Hat!
Posted29 January 2012
NorthWalesCommuter
fromDenbigh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As Professor Elemental says at the beginning of his song 'Splendid', "I've got a special hat" and that is how I would rate this hat - Splendid!
I was given the orange one as a Christmas present and it has proved itself as a great product since then. I have worn it in the rain and cold out on the bike and it keeps my head and ears warm and dry. It fits snuggly under the helmet and covers my ears well. It even helps keep the iPod earplugs in place and the fabric does not let the cycling glasses slip.
A great product that I would recommend to others."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit, bright
 
Products related to my review
SealSkinz Waterproof Winter Cycle Gloves
4 out of 5(136)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
NorthWalesCommuter's Questions
 
NorthWalesCommuter has not submitted any questions.
 
NorthWalesCommuter's Answers
 
 Lunar 35 Lux Front and 1/2 Watt Rear Light Set
Lunar 35 Lux Front and 1/2 Watt Rear Light Set
A great light set ideal for those commutes to work and back.
 

How big is this front light?

This 35 Lux front light looks the same shape as the other lunar series front lights (the lunar 7, 15, 25) are these the same size though? I currently own a lunar 7 and wouldn't want anything much bigger.
Thanks
All the Lunar lights are the same size and fit on the same brackets.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
NorthWalesCommuter
Denbigh
 
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 

Matching bib shorts?

liking the colour scheme, are there any matching bib shorts from dhb or others out there?
I bought the dhb Aeron Pro Cycling bibs. They match.
 
Products from my answer
 
2 years, 3 months ago
by
NorthWalesCommuter
Denbigh
 
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 

Does this jersel have a zipped pocket

No it doesn't. The three pockets are elasticated
2 years, 3 months ago
by
NorthWalesCommuter
Denbigh