Muddywheels76
Share Muddywheels76's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Muddywheels76's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    23 June 2013
  • Last Review
    19 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    23 June 2013
  • Last Answer
    19 April 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Muddywheels76's Reviews
 
Wide link design Deore M590 MTB front derailleur has a wide pivot link design for greater torsional rigidity improving shifting response and service life.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic
Posted19 April 2014
Muddywheels76
fromHampshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"well built, hard wearing, fantastic value for money"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Complete set of jockey wheels. Two options available.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
ok
Posted14 March 2014
Muddywheels76
fromHampshire, UK
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Replaced shimano bushed jockey wheels with these bearing ones, work ok, but not the best fit and quite tricky to line everthing up with shims."
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value
Posted14 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Muddywheels76
fromHampshire, UK
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fantastic, cheap to buy, lasts forever, reasonably light"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The PC-951 is our most economical PowerChain while still maintaining our high standards of quality. Like all Power Chain II chains, the PC-951 uses Chrome Hardened rivet pins for increased durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great
Posted23 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Muddywheels76
fromHampshire, UK
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Sram chain better than shimano equivalent, strong, well built, lasts forever, good value for money, reasonably light."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Close ratio Mega-9 HG50 cassette, ideal for road and touring use in combination with compact chainsets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great
Posted23 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Muddywheels76
fromHampshire, UK
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Shimano Deore, strong, well built, lasts forever, good value for money, reasonably light."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great
Posted23 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Muddywheels76
fromHampshire, UK
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Shimano Deore, strong, well built, lasts forever, good value for money, reasonably light."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Muddywheels76's Questions
 
Muddywheels76 has not submitted any questions.
 
Muddywheels76's Answers
 
Close ratio Mega-9 HG50 cassette, ideal for road and touring use in combination with compact chainsets.
 

which length of chain

Hi,

looking to replace cassette and chain. Will a shimano cn- hg93 9speed 114 L be compatable with a CS-Hg50 9 speed or will I need a longer chain, say a 116L or a 118L
Thanks sandy
Yes it will fit, but do yourself a favour and switch to SRAM chain far better than shimano comes complete with the joining power link PC951 is equivalent to deore
11 months ago
by
Muddywheels76
Hampshire, UK
 
The PC-951 is our most economical PowerChain while still maintaining our high standards of quality. Like all Power Chain II chains, the PC-951 uses Chrome Hardened rivet pins for increased durability.
 

can i use it for shimano XT M771 and XT M 770 Components

Kann ich die Kette auch für Shimano Komponenten nutzen.
Vorne M771 48/36/24 und hinten 9-fach M770.
Danke
Yes it will fit, no problems, but buy a quality chain breaker, SRAM chain is better than shimano
11 months ago
by
Muddywheels76
Hampshire, UK
 
Wide link design Deore M590 MTB front derailleur has a wide pivot link design for greater torsional rigidity improving shifting response and service life.
 

Would this Derailleur be compatible replace the Shimano FD-M510 Derailleur currently on my 2005 Scott Tampico?

Bike details:

http://www.bikepedia.com/quickbike/BikeSpecs.aspx?year=2005&brand=Scott&model=Tampico#.Up47QSeqbFw
Best answer
Yes it is compatible, I just swapped deore 510 front to deore 590 front, but kept the 510 shifters, no problems just use the supplied adapters for your seat tube
11 months ago
by
Muddywheels76
Hampshire, UK
 
Wide link design Deore M590 MTB front derailleur has a wide pivot link design for greater torsional rigidity improving shifting response and service life.
 

CLAMP SIZE

Hi is this a 31mm or 34.9mm clamp size ?
Yes it should fit it comes a selection of different clamps
11 months ago
by
Muddywheels76
Hampshire, UK
 
Wide link design Deore M590 MTB front derailleur has a wide pivot link design for greater torsional rigidity improving shifting response and service life.
 

Is it compatible with 8-speed?

I want to change my Shimano C050 (in a 8-speed) and I want to know if I can do with this M590
Yes it will fit, as long as you swap like for like (old deore for new deore with a deore tripple crankset shifter) the 8 speed section you refer to is only the back cassette this fits the 3 chain rings at the crank end
11 months ago
by
Muddywheels76
Hampshire, UK
 
Wide link design Deore M590 MTB front derailleur has a wide pivot link design for greater torsional rigidity improving shifting response and service life.
 

Will this fit a Raleigh Platinum Mountain Sport with a 48 tooth largest ring?

The bike has a 7 speed rear. Your photo of this model makes it look shorter than the one that came with the bike, but it is shattered so I don't have a model number. Thanks
No it won,t fit unless you swap to a smaller chain ring
11 months ago
by
Muddywheels76
Hampshire, UK
 
Wide link design Deore M590 MTB front derailleur has a wide pivot link design for greater torsional rigidity improving shifting response and service life.
 

Will this clamp to a 28.6 diameter down tube with the cable comming from under the bottom bracket?

Yes it will fit, has a selection of different clamps I have a bottom pull cable works fine with my set up 2004 Shimano deore/LX, if you are of average ability with the spanners no problems
11 months ago
by
Muddywheels76
Hampshire, UK
 

compatible with SRAM crank

I want to replace the middle ring on a SRAM crank for a carrera mtb.

I know the size is 104mm, 4bolt
8speed.

Will that fit?
yes it will fit
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Muddywheels76
Hampshire, UK
 

Specialized MTB Rockhopper FS (mid to late 1990s) drive train replacement

Current fit is cassette 11-32, chainrings triple 22/32/42. Can I replace these with, HG50 or CS HG 50 cassette, shimano-64-pcd-deore-m510-4-arm-inner-chainring (T22), shimano-104-pcd-deore-m510-4-arm-middle-chainring (T32), shimano-fc-m510-deore-silver-48t-chainring OR shimano-fc-m540-deore-black-44t-chainring and shimano-hg53-9-speed-chain??
I have a 2004 Specialized Rockhopper, Shimano 510/530 chainrings, HG50 rear cassette, it all bolts straight on. I prefer the Sram 951 chain lasts longer than the Shimano has a quick link making it easier to fit/remove.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Muddywheels76
Hampshire, UK