SBird
Top 1000 Contributor
Share SBird's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
SBird's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    16 January 2012
  • Last Review
    16 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    22 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    10 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
SBird's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
XForm Active use and recovery. Powerful and breathable compression garments featuring the added benefit of graduated engineering for extra support, comfort and more efficient delivery of oxygenated blood to fatigued muscles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love these tights
Posted16 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these tights because my previous compression tights from another brand were fraying at the seams in the crotch area and it was annoying me.
So far these tights have met every expectation I had of them. I use them mainly for recovery, but am not afraid to try them on my cycling or running routes I do.
Compression is tight but not restrictive. They look awesome on, and I feel energized the next day when I sleep in them.
Definitely the best compression wear on the market."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Moon Shield 60 Rechargeable Rear Light
Moon Shield 60 Rechargeable Rear Light
The Shield 60 provides up to 60 lumens of light output. The high output rear light is fully rechargeable via USB connection to either Mac or PC.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
A great light let down by its mounting bracket
Posted10 November 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this light due to the recharge-ability aspect. I had no issues with this. The only problem I had was with the mounting. I usually mounted this light on my saddle bag but found out that the clasp on the back of it was quite loose in fitment and the light jumped off and broke the clasp at the back rendering the light non-mountable to the mount or the bag again. I am unsure if it was the quality of the clasp or the roads I ride.
If you like your rear light to be attached to your saddle bag, I suggest extra tape or additional means of security to the light as it will jump off on undulated surfaces if it is not placed securely in its supplied mount.
Another word of warning is there are no replacement clasps for these lights that I have found, which has rendered this light redundant."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, mount bracket is good
Cons: Poor Fit, clasp is weak
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
perfect for cold rides
Posted10 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These were bought for a friend.
Overall they look great, fit well, and definitely keep you warm in temperatures below 10deg."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit, perfect for cold rides
Cons: Unadjustable, Limited Color Choices, not ideal for rides over 15deg
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for cold winter rides
Posted10 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These were bought for a friend. The comments about them were that they were super warm and perfect for weather in freezing temperatures under 10deg or less. In weather warmer than this, the fingerless gloves are better due to the amount of sweat you may get."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Good Fit, perfect for winter rides
Cons: too warm in over 10deg
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place either your Garmin Edge 200, 500, 510, 800 or 810 infront of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best mount to handle your Garmin bike computer
Posted08 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"When I read the brand Garmin, I instantly think quality.
I looked at other brands that would fit the Garmin Edge 500 I have and while some were cheaper, I knew it would be a bit risky to buy in case there would be fitment issues on the handle bars or with the garmin computer. This unit came with additional rubber packers for multiple handle bar thicknesses. I knew it was going to suit not just my road bike but also my other bikes which had thinner handle bars. It was an obvious choice.
Fitting was simple and the unit came with the allen key so you were scratching around trying to work out how to screw the unit on. I chose to read the instructions to make sure there wasn't any weird things I needed to watch for when installing the unit.
But this is a fast easy fit for anyone and it was installed within minutes and I was taking my time. Just make sure you do not over tighten the unit in case you break the thread as it is made from plastic. Nip it up, but dont over torque the thread.
The unit itself felt light and ever though its made of plastic, at no time did I feel that the unit was flimsy and wanting to break while in use. Its quite solid and when riding does not bounce around.
As far as the visibility of the garmin computer was concerned, I found it to be excellent and a much improved position compared to having it on the head stem. I no longer have to move my head down to view the unit, I only need to drop my eyes for a split second which in my opinion is still faster than interrupting your concentration looking down at the head stem.
It maybe splitting hairs but to me, the viewing angle of where my bike computer sits is way safer and in my opinion reduces the risk of accidents with more time concentrating on what you are doing.
Ultimately this unit does the job it was designed for."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, care required for fitment
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Techfit Preparation Long Sleeve Tee - SS13
Techfit Preparation Long Sleeve Tee - SS13
Provides medium support for the body, reduces muscle vibration, improves the body posture
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great for those cooler days
Posted08 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The intention of purchasing this was to get something that was able to keep my arms warm and still keep body temp stable in cooler days without arm warmers.
I tried this out for the first time the other day. On initial inspection, the look of the garment was pretty high tech, great use of logo's, not over the top in design and very sporty.
The feel of the fabric was nice to the touch, not super silky but not rough. It felt good in the hands. Also the thickness of the material wasn't thick. It felt quite thin and initially I was worried it may not be warm enough. The material is also see through, so if you get white, be prepared on wet days.
The fit was true to the size chart in the chest mainly. I am normally a medium and this fit nicely. But, I am also short in the torso, and I found the top to be quite long with excess material bunching up below the waist area. Great if you have a long body, not the best if you are smaller from the neck to the waist like me. So you will need to think about what to do with the additional material and where to put it.
The sleeves with the pull through thumb holes is a nifty idea and it solves dilemma's I get when riding my bike and the sleeve cuffs wanting to ride up the arms. At no time did the sleeves ride up and expose skin on my wrists. This is a perfect way to hold the sleeves in position and wasn't uncomfortable. I just put my gloves on over the top and everything stayed in place. A great alternative to arm warmers falling down and in need of constant adjustment.
As far as keeping warm was concerned, I was quite surprised, and I found the top to be excellent under a short sleeve jersey. I was very snug on a cool day of riding, but I also didnt feel like I was over heating too like you get when you have arm warmers on. I felt my core body temp was quite stable. A big relief.
Removal of the top is fairly easy too. I sometimes have issue with removing tops like compression garments after a ride due to sweat or fatigue, but the material was such that it wasn't too clingy to remove but there is 'some' cling which is just the nature of the material.
Value wise its slightly on the pricey side, but well worth the extra outlay for a quality built garment from Adidas. You do get what you pay for.
Definitely recommend this for those in between days where its too warm for a jacket, but too cold for just a short sleeve top, and you find arm warmers annoying."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The ColdGear Compression Tight features UA compression technology to increase your power, aid faster recover and keep you light and dry.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great for the price
Posted08 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am writing on behalf of the person I bought these for.
Her basic comments were that they were great for the price paid. Fit is very snug and held everything in well and are true to size if compression is the key reason to buy these.
These are to be worn on cooler days/nights as they do get warm when you work out in them. The material is thick to help with keeping joints and muscles warm.
The design is plain but that is the way she likes them. No big logos.
Definitely a positive recommendation from a mid 20's female."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit, quite a tight fit
Cons: gets very warm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great jacket for a great price
Posted02 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this jacket for cold winter rides. I haven't had the need to use it just yet, but I am looking forward to the colder rides now so I can test it out.
Just trying it on you can tell its well made. I am a medium in a jersey so I wanted to make sure I had enough room around the mid section, so I went a Large. The Large was spot on around the mid section. Firm yet comfortable. The arms however were a cm or so too long and ever so lightly baggy due to it being a large. but I can live with that.
As for warmth, when trying it on for a few minutes I was starting to perspire and it was a cold evening. So I believe it will certainly do the job well. Just how well is yet to be seen, and Im hoping it breathes good too.
If you are normally a M in jerseys and like your jerseys more snug, then go for an L to be safe, that way you can wear a base layer underneath the jacket with ease and not feel too warm or cold."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged
Cons: Bulky, Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Stretch Polyester Roubaix (fleece) glove with Silicone print detail on the palm helps to keep you warm and maintains excellent dexterity.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for in between temperatures
Posted02 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these gloves mainly due to not being able to choose between the fingerless or full fingered wool gloves on mornings where its cold but heating up later in the day.
These gloves are a great in between option. Warm enough to keep the chill out but not so warm that it makes your hands sweat.
These can also be used as an extra base layer for your hands on freezing mornings for added comfort and wind protection.
Well worth the price and a great feel to the hand.
Totally recommend these"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sugoi Evolution Short Finger Gloves
Sugoi Evolution Short Finger Gloves
Lightweight road cycling gloves with strategically placed V-Control padding on the palm for cushioning and pressure relief on long summer road rides. The Evolution glove features a low bulk cuff closure and an elite aerodynamic fit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
The most comfortable pair of gloves yet
Posted22 April 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SBird
fromAdelaide, South Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I love these gloves, but only wore them on 3 rides and material on the palm has split exposing the padding and my hand. The strap around the wrist is excellent.
Great comfort, and fits perfectly on the hand. No numbness on the palm after long rides. But poorly constructed and I am disappointed these failed so prematurely.
Sadly I threw out my receipt after the first ride so I cannot get replacements."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SBird's Questions
 
SBird has not submitted any questions.
 
SBird's Answers
 
 Moon Shield 60 Rechargeable Rear Light
Moon Shield 60 Rechargeable Rear Light
The Shield 60 provides up to 60 lumens of light output. The high output rear light is fully rechargeable via USB connection to either Mac or PC.
 

Can this light be fitted to a seat stay - I have no room under my seat?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes I have used this light on the seat stay. Just be aware that the clasp for the light is weak and there is a possibility of it breaking due to vibration and undulated surfaces.
8 months ago
by
SBird
Adelaide, South Australia
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Is this wind/and or water resistant?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Wind resistant yes, not water proof. Will keep you warm in the coldest of rides.
8 months ago
by
SBird
Adelaide, South Australia
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Flappy ankles?

Hello,
The only thing that's holding me back from ordering these tights is the lack of a foot stirrup. I have skinny ankles, and am concerned by the loose ankle fit, as mentioned in the Cycling Weekly review on the listing. Has anyone else experienced this, and consider it an issue?
Thank you!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The ankle zips do a good job of holding the tights in place. I have yet to experience these tights to ride up.
8 months ago
by
SBird
Adelaide, South Australia
 
 R315 Custom Fit Road Race Shoes
R315 Custom Fit Road Race Shoes
Pro level road race shoes with a thermo-forming upper for a perfect custom fit. The R315 features an ultra Lightweight hollow channel, rigid, weaved carbon fibre sole for exceptional power transfer and efficiency on sprints and hard efforts.
 

DO these come supplied with the vacuum bag etc to carry out the heat moulding process as described by Shimano?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no, you will need to find an LBS with the approved Shimano vacuum/heat system to mold the shoes to your feet.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
SBird
Adelaide, South Australia
 
 R315 Custom Fit Road Race Shoes
R315 Custom Fit Road Race Shoes
Pro level road race shoes with a thermo-forming upper for a perfect custom fit. The R315 features an ultra Lightweight hollow channel, rigid, weaved carbon fibre sole for exceptional power transfer and efficiency on sprints and hard efforts.
 

are they wide or narrow fit?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
They suit wide feet nicely. I normally have a pair of Louis Garneau terra grip MTB shoes in size 44 due to my wide feet. I chose a 44 in the R315 road shoes and they fit perfectly. A tad snug to start with when brand new but not uncomfortable, but the material stretched after the first ride fine.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
SBird
Adelaide, South Australia
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
The anatomic dhb Vaeon Arm Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 

Are these sold as a pair or singularly?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
always as a pair
1 year, 11 months ago
by
SBird
Adelaide, South Australia
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 

DHB Pro Triple Lens Sunglasses

How do I change the lenses on these glasses???
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
To change the lenses:
1.with one hand, hold onto the frames center where the bridge of the nose is (not the lens).
2.With the other hand pull and slide the lens by the center bridge of the lens out away from the frame. This should act like a pivot point to the ends of the ends. It might be a little firm, but should come apart.
3. Gently bend the lens ends out of the designated areas in the frame where they are held. The lens should easily come out.
4. Be sure that the rubber nose adjuster is kept on the frame as this will protect the lens from accidental scratches from the frames when removing the lens.
5. To replace the lens, do the above in reverse.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
SBird
Adelaide, South Australia
 
 Fatigue Baggy Shorts
Fatigue Baggy Shorts
Casual look cargo shorts, great on or off the bike.
 

Do these shorts have any padding?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No these shorts DO NOT have padding. These shorts are just a regular pair of cargo's. Buyer beware.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
SBird
Adelaide, South Australia
 
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 

What is the sizing Ike

Hi , I am new to the bib style cycling shorts , what Is the quality like on these ?
Also what is the the sizing like , I am a 36 waist and 5ft 8

Thanks
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The quality is very good considering what you are paying. You will be very happy with the quality and fit of these bibs.

Going by your measurements, I would expect you to fit into a M. Your sizing is similar to mine. I am 35 waist and 5:7".
2 years, 6 months ago
by
SBird
Adeliade, South Australia