LoditCyclist
Share LoditCyclist's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LoditCyclist's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review
    27 May 2012
  • Last Review
    25 July 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    28 May 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    22 January 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    16 June 2012
  • Last Question
    16 June 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    27 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    05 July 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
LoditCyclist's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Lifeventure Stainless Steel Basic Cutlery Set
Lifeventure Stainless Steel Basic Cutlery Set
A simple set of stainless steel cutlery. Great for camping or for travel. Having cutlery with you when you travel is a good idea ? especially when a large number of gastric illnesses can be contracted from unclean utensils.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Doesn't come with ring
Posted25 July 2013
LoditCyclist
fromMelbourne, Australia
"Good product, however my only gripe is that it doesn't come with the ring as pictured."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Crank Brothers 17 Function Multi Tool
Crank Brothers 17 Function Multi Tool
The Multi 17 is a fully featured tool with 17 tools weighing in at 168g. The chain tool is cast stainless steel, and when removed is an easy to use spoke key. The Torx key is useful for tightening disc brake rotors.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Everything you need
Posted05 July 2012
LoditCyclist
"Can't go wrong with this tool. Has everything most people would need including chain breaker. Compact and fits easily in your saddle bag."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Transfil Shimano Road Brake Cable Inner
Transfil Shimano Road Brake Cable Inner
Transfil is situated in the heart of France, at the base of the volcanoes where nature thrives in splendor. This region is also a genuine ground for innovation and know-how.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
WHy pay more?
Posted05 July 2012
LoditCyclist
"Simple cable that does the job required.
Recently replaced an old frayed cable with this one and no problems!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Custom Race Bottle Cage - 2014
Elite Custom Race Bottle Cage - 2014
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light and cheap
Posted05 July 2012
LoditCyclist
"Does the job for a cheap price.
Happy with the product without having to go CARBON! :P"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
These thermo-lined overshoes are great for thermal protection in cool conditions. The stretch fabric provides a close fit with a semi lock zip for additional security.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Pay extra for windproof version
Posted05 July 2012
LoditCyclist
"These aren't windproof or waterproof so they only really cut a bit of wind and water. It is better than nothing if your feet get cold but I would pay a bit extra to get the windproof version.
Also, no reinforcement so make sure it does not contact anything else aside from your shoe (ie, don't walk on it!)
Alternatively for something warmer for winter, I recommend the BBB Hardwear Overshoes."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great commute jacket - not jersey packable
Posted05 July 2012
LoditCyclist
"This is a great medium weight waterproof and windproof jacket. I use it on my daily commute in winter.. Gets a little warm in Spring/Autumn though.
This is too bulky for long weekend rides if you want to pack it. I have managed to cram it into my jersey pocket but it is too bulky so I have another lightweight jacket for this (Craft Performance Rain).
But in any case, it is a great value jacket and fit for purpose for general commuting. Nice and bright with hi-vis as well!
I am 175cm/62kg and I got a medium and am happy with that."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 MT10 Minimus (D Width) Shoes AW12
MT10 Minimus (D Width) Shoes AW12
An entirely different approach to trail running, the MT10 Minimus Trail takes the proven versatile durability of a Vibram® outsole and combines it with a fitted, minimalist upper that's comfortable with or without socks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great shoe, but runs small
Posted05 July 2012
LoditCyclist
"Love these shoes but had to get another pair as they RUN SMALL. Get 1/2 size up to your normal shoe size."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Full Windsor QuickFix Rear Mudguards
Full Windsor QuickFix Rear Mudguards
The QuickFix mudguards require no tools, they use their origami form and your bicycles frame to give them their rigid structural strength. They fold flat and are easily stored in your bag.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Does not fit on some compact frames
Posted05 July 2012
LoditCyclist
"I have a Giant TCR2 and there is no way this will fit as the space is way too small. Make sure you check this before purchasing."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
The ultra popular Strada Wireless is now available with an extra 9th function - Cadence.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but light interferes with wireless
Posted05 July 2012
LoditCyclist
"My 300 lumen light interferes with this computer as it uses radio frequency
Good computer otherwise. I have switched to a Garmin computer as it uses ANT+ protocol."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Lenses don't fit well
Posted05 July 2012
LoditCyclist
"The lenses that come with this product don't fit into the frame very well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
LoditCyclist's Questions
 
 Tacx Turbo Trainer Quick Release Rear Skewer
Tacx Turbo Trainer Quick Release Rear Skewer
For use with Tacx turbo trainers.
 

Is this compatible with Minoura Trainers? (MAG 500 in particular)

2 years, 6 months ago
by
LoditCyclist
 
LoditCyclist's Answers
 
 BBB HardWear Shoe Covers
BBB HardWear Shoe Covers
Designed to protect your feet against cold and wet conditions, HardWear overshoes feature a Neoskin waterproof layer on top of 3mm neoprene which offers the best protection against the cold and rain.
 

Suitable temperature range?

I've got a pair of new Shimano MT71 shoes which have a Gore-Tex liner, however as I recently found out cycling home in heavy rain, this liner does nothing to stop water coming in through the top of your shoes and soaking your socks.

I really need something that is durable and water proof that will stop water coming into the shoe from where my ankles are. Reflectivity is also a big bonus for those stormy, dark commutes home.

I am mainly cycling in temperatures around 8-14 degrees C during Winter when rain is more likely and I'll need the protection. I read some comments that these trap a lot of heat in, which is great if you are in frosty conditions, but considering these shoes are quite warm already due to the waterproof liner I am worried that this lack of ventilation will result in extremely warm and sweaty feet. What's the verdict? Go or no?

I've considered waterproof pants, however it seems that they are generally too stuffy and hot which results in sweat issues. There's a few out there that are 3/4 length to address this issue but this still exposes the top of my shoes to water getting in!
Best answer
I think these are too thick for 8-14 degrees. I wore them on a cold morning in Melbourne (around 7 degrees) and even then my feet were getting a bit sweaty - my feet don't really sweat that much though so I am still happy with the product.

At those temperatures I think you are better off with something like the Altura Night Vision City overshoes. That is less insulating but fully waterproof.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
LoditCyclist
 
 Night Vision City Overshoe - 2010
Night Vision City Overshoe - 2010
Waterproof overshoe designed to fit a wide variety of footwear. Rubber toereinforcing, minimal sole contact area and highly adjustable fit make this a greatall-rounder.
 

Do these overshoes run true to size? I want to use them with regular trainers and I take size 5.5UK. Will small be okay or should I go for M?

Go for Small. I am 8.5UK and I got M and that is a good fit
2 years, 5 months ago
by
LoditCyclist
 
 BBB HardWear Shoe Covers
BBB HardWear Shoe Covers
Designed to protect your feet against cold and wet conditions, HardWear overshoes feature a Neoskin waterproof layer on top of 3mm neoprene which offers the best protection against the cold and rain.
 

I have shoe size EU44 do I need to choose a larger size overshoes to fit these?

These are true to size
2 years, 5 months ago
by
LoditCyclist
 
 Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
These thermo-lined overshoes are great for thermal protection in cool conditions. The stretch fabric provides a close fit with a semi lock zip for additional security.
 

Are these overshoes waterproof?

I bought them under the assumption that all Gore products are but it doesn't state this.
No
2 years, 5 months ago
by
LoditCyclist
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Which size should I get? I'm 5'11" with a 104cm chest but a 34" waist- will a large be too baggy on me? Thx.

i am 5'9 and 93cm chest.. 30" waist and I wear the medium if that is any indication.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
LoditCyclist
 
 Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
The ultra popular Strada Wireless is now available with an extra 9th function - Cadence.
 

with the cateye strada double wireless if there is interference will you drop the speed & cadence at the same time or do they function separate?

They both drop.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
LoditCyclist
 
 Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
The ultra popular Strada Wireless is now available with an extra 9th function - Cadence.
 

Cadence magnet

I've misplaced my cadence magnet. Are there spare parts we can purchase for this?
Yes
2 years, 5 months ago
by
LoditCyclist
 
 Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
The ultra popular Strada Wireless is now available with an extra 9th function - Cadence.
 

is it only the back wheel it needs to be mounted too, to be able to use on a turbo trainer?

Yes, you can only mount this to the rear stay in any case.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
LoditCyclist
 
 Windslam Gilet AW11
Windslam Gilet AW11
This snug-fitting, softshell gilet provides warmth and comfort like you've never had it.
 

How warm is this gilet?

Is it too warm for a cool (8-12 degree) April/May morning?
No, it is fine.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
LoditCyclist