Burnrubber
Share Burnrubber's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Burnrubber's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    21
  • First Review
    16 July 2012
  • Last Review
    04 July 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    05 November 2014
  • Last Question
    23 August 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    16 July 2012
  • Last Answer
    16 August 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    6
 
 
Burnrubber's Reviews
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
At last a competitor to Garmin.
Posted04 July 2016
Burnrubber
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having used Garmins and Mio Cyclos in the past, i can honestly say the Elemnt is in a different league. OK, it does all the Garmin Edge 1000 can do, but it just does it so much easier and clearer. Before this i had used a Mio Cyclo 305 and overall its been good but it lacked certain features like Power, however it did have mapping. The biggest problem with it was the software support side of things, like Garmin, updates too forever to be sorted and it would often crash because of it and i would lose all ride data. So it was time for a new one. I looked at the Garmin 520 but i really need maps with turn-by-turn directions so i waited for Wahoo to update the Elemnt and im glad i waited. What swung it for me was the software support Wahoo were giving the Elemnt, its superb with constant updates and bug fixes.
As others have said, setting up was flawless, using an Android smartphone it was done in minutes. It updated itself after connecting to my network and it all links seemlessly to the mobile via Bluetooth.
I took it for a 30 mile spin this past weekend and i love how easy it is to use. Screen is crystal clear even in bright sunlight, If youre having doubts about it only being black and white then dont, it simply works and on a ride your eyes arent having to process colours looking at it.
Buttons are easy to press and pages are easy to scroll through. The Elemnt map page can have up to 6 data fields on display at the same time which is very handy. If you want turn by turn then currently you have to create maps in RidewithGPS and not Strava, due to the naming links. I tried this and it followed the route perfectly with clear turn instructions. What you cant do is set a postcode mid-ride and aim for it, it doesnt work like a car GPS but no doubt Wahoo might end up implementing this at a later date. But other than that they work just fine and could easily be used to navigate your way back even if not following a route.
Battery wise i havent tested it long enough but having set out at 100% by the time i got home after a couple of hours and a quick 15 teastop the battery was down to 82%. Wahoo claim its 17hrs or thereabouts, but i would think its probably more like 12hrs, still, enough for most people.
Every metric you can think of is in there, probably far too many for most!
Syncing to Ant+ and my Shimano Di2 sensors was easy, as long as they are activated before you search for them in the mobile app you shouldnt have a problem finding them. Just a quick note, i didnt realise that when you do link into sensors you can then click on them to set them up. So for example the speed/cadence sensors can have wheel circumference set and the Shimano Di2 wireless dongle will allow you set up your gearing options. On my first ride out i hadnt done this so my numbers were a bit out but that was my fault and not the Elemnts.
Overall you wont go wrong with this computer. Its just as good as an Edge 1000 and cheaper. Also ive found it will fit in a Garmin mount with a bit of twisting.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not as good as i was expecting.
Posted04 April 2016
Burnrubber
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Ive had loads of different tyres over the years, and after reading many reviews on these tyres (mainly positive) i took the plunge and bought a set.
Initially, I was pleased with these, they ran smooth, felt good and I would say they were at the same level at the Schwalbe Ones I had previously (although i would say the Schwalbes are stickier and a tad faster in the summer).
However, initial enthusiasm quickly turned to disappointment. Just 750 miles of use and the sidewalls were badly split in several places around the rear tyre, along with quite a few splits. The front tyre had 2 split where I could see the inner tube about to poke through. In terms of durability I was expecting a lot more than 750 miles out of them. I ride in Essex, so the roads are generally good and its not exactly hilly, so you're not putting tons of regular effort through the rubber in that sense.
Overall im a bit fed up, these aren't cheap and the reviews always say they are the best tyres but in my experience i can't agree with that and I've since seen a few other people complaining about the sidewall issue and splits. Also the puncture protection isn't as good as i was expecting despite the tyres claims. I would say its about as good as the Schwalbe Ones but they are thin race rubber and not built like the Contis which are meant to have a bit more protection.
Im torn towards recommending these. If you only tend to use them between June and September then they would be fine. When they work they work well and do just as the reviews have said.
However, given the durability and the so few miles I got out of a set I can't recommend them. Maybe I just got a dingy batch? but it is what it is.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Unique product, a great way to get protein in.
Posted26 January 2016
Burnrubber
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I often take protein powder into work but they can often get messy or a pain to sort out so i was looking for a quick protein hit that had very low carbs. Most of the protein bars you can buy have high carbs which kind of defeats the object to me.
These SiS protein gels are superb, the perfect blend of easy to digest, easy to carry, quick to consume and low in carbs (1.8g carbs - 20g protein). I use half a pack mid morning with a banana and the other half mid-afternoon with an apple. That way i get natural carbs and some protein.
Taste wise i would say the lemon is more palatable than the strawberry. The strawberry one is a bit too artificial and you can't really taste the strawberry that well. But the lemon is lemon and not too sickly, so i would buy those in the future. The consistency of the gel, the best i can describe it, is somewhere in the middle between toothpaste and PVA glue!
Easily used after a ride, sportive or race or even carried with you on a long ride to replenish some protein you don't get from energy gels and bars.
I think some people are missing the point of these, they are just a very simple and easy way to get lean protein into you without the high sugars of bars and the mess of powders. Perfect.
"
Pros: High Quality, Versatile
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Active Padded Bib Tight
dhb Active Padded Bib Tight
The dhb Active Padded Bib Tight has a comfortable, anatomical fit, breathable fabric and single density thermoformed pad suited to shorter ride lengths of 1-2 hours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Review of sizing-big lad
Posted25 November 2014
Burnrubber
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I ordered these wondering if the size would fit and for the price it was worth the risk before i bought a more expensive pair.
Im 6ft 2, 128kg with a chest of 50", waist of 39" and thighs of 28". Complete rugby player build so ordered the XXL and took the punt.
Tried them on and bingo! fit like a charm. Lovely fit, just right and nothing pulling anywhere.
Garment wise it is what it is, a nice bib tight, nice padding but not thick like the top of the range garments. But for turbo sessions and early spring/autumn rides these shorts are perfect. If you want something warmer then go for the Roubaix versions, but I'm just happy with the fit more than anything.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Adidas Response Bib Short
Adidas Response Bib Short
Made with "italian ingredients" like a TMF multi-level seatpad and exclusive Carvico italian materials that offer high UV protection (UPF 50+), fast drying, and great body fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb bibshorts that look the business.
Posted21 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Burnrubber
fromBurnrubber
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Forget the review below, these shorts simply come up bigger than most, so all you have to do is buy a size smaller than you do. Its not rocket science and why is it any different than sizing up because clothing is too small??
Great shorts these, lovely design, well made and good paddding at a great price. If you are a properly built guy and not a stick insect then these shorts go right up to big sizes. I ordered the XL and have a 42 inch waist, fitted no problem. Its about time clothing producers made cycling products for everyday, normal sizes.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Ten Headband
Ten Headband
The Adidas Tennis Headband is a tennis court companion in absorbent terry fabric with an embroidered logo. An antimicrobial finish helps keep the headband fresh all through your game.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
These work!
Posted09 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Burnrubber
fromBurnrubber
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"If like me your head drips like a shower on the turbo trainer then you need one of these. Stops sweat dead and really soaks it up. For the price they are great.
The only downside if any, is looking like an 80's tennis player but if you train at home who cares?! Thoroughly recommend.
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it says on the tin
Posted09 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Burnrubber
fromBurnrubber
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great product, if you have Speedplay Zeros and like the odd coffee stop then these are a must. Simply pushes on and protects the cleat completely. Being metal the Speedplay cleats can roughen up in no time so these prolong the life of them."
Pros: Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Adidas Supernova Short Sleeve Jersey AW13
Adidas Supernova Short Sleeve Jersey AW13
Made for sportive riders spending long days training in the saddle, with an emphasis on light weight, comfort and reflectivity. Mesh inserts under the armpit, the collar and the back give added breathability. Includes a full front zipper.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lovely design, great top
Posted30 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Burnrubber
fromBurnrubber
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fits great, well made and looks the business. Great jersey for the money."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Response Short Sleeve Jersey
Response Short Sleeve Jersey
This functional cycling jersey is the ideal piece for everyday riding, touring, commuting. The lightweight Adidas climalite material elevates cyclists’ comfort while riding and its slim fit wears well even on casual outings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb top, dont listen to the moaners
Posted30 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Burnrubber
fromBurnrubber
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Its about time that a cycle clothing manufacturer recognised that not all cyclists are built like Bradley Wiggins.
This top is lovely, well made, great design, and the sizes are generous which is great for the bigger guys out there. Oh and theres a simple solution to sizing, whatever you normally buy SIZE DOWN!
Afterall, when a tight fitting top is recommended its ok for the skinnys to say 'size up'. its not rocket science.
Well done Adidas, your products in the Response and Supernova range have been superb.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
 
 I-Clic 2 Pedals
I-Clic 2 Pedals
Composite body and steel axle with flexible carbon blade.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
As good as they get
Posted16 July 2012
Burnrubber
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've tried various clipless pedals and if like me some of them 'just didn't feel right' then you're not alone. Originally i used the small mtb cleats on my road bike just to get used to clipping in. These are easy enough but dont put nearly enough power down as bigger clipped in pedals. So i went to Shimano 105 pedals.
Shimano 105 get good reviews, on this basis i bought them. After a month i found they are indeed a really good pedal, smooth action and stable, but my biggest problem with them was that i often found myself searching for the pedal. The clip wouldn't engage and no matter how many times i went out to give them 'the benefit of the doubt' i never actually got on with them. I found them a lot harder to use than all the reviews were stating about them, maybe it was just me but again, it still doesn't change the fact.
So onto these, again after a few reviews and deciding to buy them i went and did it and went out for a ride. Instantly, no more searching, the clip goes in every time, im not fumbling about at the traffic lights on the verge of falling over like i did with the 105's, i can push on and within a second my other foot is in and the power is being transfered. A superb pedal and clipless system
Dont be swayed by the Shimano bandwagon, they arent always suited regardless how good their products are (and this isn't a Shimano bash here) but i would recommend these pedals to riders who are on the verge of giving up with clipless or know their current pedals 'just arent right'. These work and are extremely easy to use and ive only used them twice since buying them, they are that much better!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
Burnrubber's Questions
 
 Adidas Cycling British Cycling Long Sleeve Jersey
Adidas Cycling British Cycling Long Sleeve Jersey
This performance jersey is made for serious cyclists, but also for the everyday commuter. The functional material elevates your comfort while riding and fits well when you're in the saddle - either racing, training or commuting.
 

Sizing

I notice you do a XXXL in this top but realistically what size chest would it fit?
I know the size guide says a XXL should fit a 48-52" inch chest and that Adidas clothing tends to come up a bit bigger than most, but i also know in the past that their British Cycling gear is smaller cut. Is that the case with this top? Is the XXXL really a XL, if you know what i mean. Cheers
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Burnrubber
London, UK
 
 

Chain length of 112 links?

Im looking at using this chain with a 52/36 front and a 11-32 rear cassette. Will 112 links be enough for this configuration?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Burnrubber
London, UK
 
Burnrubber's Answers
 
 

does it have a built in GPS or do you have to carry your phone with you as well and it some how pairs with that?

Its built in. Both GPS and GLONASS.

No need to take your phone and connect it if you don't want to. Unless of course you want MS and Call alerts.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Burnrubber
London, UK
 
 

Navigation

I understand that Wahoo can upgrade the software on the ELEMENT. Are there any plans to give it the capability to guide you to a chosen destination with turn by turn directions if you are lost when out on a ride?

Thank-you.
Best answer
This has already happened. Wahoo updated the Elemnt last month (July 2016) so it could give you turn-by-turn directions. You have to download a route made in RideWithGPS to the Elemnt for this to work though, as at the moment, routes made in other apps, like Strava for example, won't show turn-by-turn as they don't contain the markers that the Elemnt picks up to notify of turns.
Ive downloaded several routes to the Elemnt from RWGPS and they all worked flawlessly, so not a problem. RWGPS is free to use and create routes. All you have to do is Sync the Elemnt to it and it will download the routes for you over Wifi.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Burnrubber
London, UK
 
 

What satellites GNSS does it use?

What satellite GNSS does this unit use? I.e the Garmin 810 uses the American GPS while the Garmin 520 uses GPS as well as GLONASS for a more accurate and quicker fix.
Best answer
The Elemnt used GPS and GLONASS. GPS pick up is very quick and always spot on. Never had a problem with mine at all.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Burnrubber
London, UK
 
 

Are the Garmin Sensors compatible with Elemnt?

Do you know if the Gamin HR, Cadence, and Speed sensors are compatible with ELEMNT?

Thanks
Yes they are compatible. I have used Garmin and Mio Ant+ sensors and they work fine. Both speed, cadence and heart rate straps.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Burnrubber
London, UK
 
 

Can you upload GPX files to Elemnt?

I'm looking for a cycling computer which I can upload GPX routes to and follow them. Is this possible with the Elemnt GPS? If so, does it give turn by turn directions? Or does it simply display the route on a map, showing your current location?
Best answer
Yes you can upload GPX routes to the Elemnt and follow them. If you want turn-by-turn, you have to upload routes from RideWithGPS, because that is, currently, the only 3rd party site that supports turn by turn embedded in the code that the Elemnt can read.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Burnrubber
London, UK
 
 Mio Cyclo 505 GPS Cycle Computer with UK Maps
Mio Cyclo 505 GPS Cycle Computer with UK Maps
Meet the Mio Cyclo™ 505: the lightweight, easy-to-use bicycle navigation device, designed with a stylish flat screen and built-in WIFI. With bicycle and road maps pre-installed, you are able to get started right out of the box.
 

Display navigation, heart rate, cadence and speed?

In the main navigation screen is it possible to display current heart rate, cadence and speed or do you have to switch screens?
Best answer
When you have the Map screen displayed you are able to have 2 other pieces of data on the screen as well. These can be any pieces of data you want.

When the map screen isn't on, you can have up to 8 data fields per page.
10 months ago
by
Burnrubber
London, UK
 
 Mio Cyclo 505 GPS Cycle Computer with UK Maps
Mio Cyclo 505 GPS Cycle Computer with UK Maps
Meet the Mio Cyclo™ 505: the lightweight, easy-to-use bicycle navigation device, designed with a stylish flat screen and built-in WIFI. With bicycle and road maps pre-installed, you are able to get started right out of the box.
 

will this device pick up power through ant+

Best answer
Yes it does pick up Ant+ power. The previous answer is wrong.
10 months ago
by
Burnrubber
London, UK
 
 

Connectivity to iPad retina display

One of the reviews talked about being able to connect to an iPad. I can't find an ANT dongle that connects to the new iPad which has a different input to previous models? Is there one that fits?
Best answer
The dongle that you need is a Wahoo Key dongle with is about £45. This is Ant+. Its a 30 pin connection as with the usual iPad 1, 2 connectors and not the current iPad which has the smaller
Lightening connector.
What you need to do is buy the Apple pin converter, which fits the new Lightening port but then provides a 30 pin connector. Once you do that you can then connect the 30 pin Wahoo Ant+ key dongle.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Burnrubber
Burnrubber
 
 I-Clic 2 Pedals
I-Clic 2 Pedals
Composite body and steel axle with flexible carbon blade.
 

Do the iClic 2 pedals which I am about to order come with cleats?

Yes they do
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Burnrubber
Burnrubber