DrChrissy
Share DrChrissy's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DrChrissy's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    04 December 2012
  • Last Review
    19 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    23 September 2013
  • Last Question
    23 September 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    04 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    15 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
DrChrissy's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Gel padded gloves with a mesh back for cooling airflow. The short fingers allow maximum dexterity while a soft, absorbent wipe helps keep you dry and comfortable on climbs and hard efforts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value comfortable glove
Posted19 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These mitts are good quality and comfortable. I would recommend them.
The only possible drawback is that the label in one of the gloves is huge and sometimes pokes through the fingerhole - it causes no discomfort and I do not want to cut it off incase the edge left behind rubs. It just seems a little silly!
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Reliable innertubes with a butyl rubber compound for lasting pressure retention. Schwalbe innertubes undergo a rigorous testing process to ensure consistently high performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Reliable, hold pressure well.
Posted09 March 2014
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Standard inner tubes, they are reliable and hold pressure well (as well as continental inners and Michelin A1's in my experience.)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
With temperature regulating features and a super soft fleece fabric, the Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey is ideal for road cycling sessions through the colder seasonal months. A wardrobe essential for all levels of performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm jersey great for cold dry days
Posted09 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This jersey is comfortable and warm, it is great for cold days when combined with a baselayer. I have worn it on several ascents of the South Wales mountains in temperatures from 0-10 C and it has performed well. I am 5' 8" and 85 kg and the large is a perfect fit."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Waterproof Helmet Cover
Altura Waterproof Helmet Cover
A fully waterproof and breathable helmet cover designed to fit a variety of helmets. Featuring highly reflective trim for additional visibility, ideal for commuting in wet winter weather.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keeps your head dry, but you will not look good!
Posted15 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This helmet cover does what it says, it wraps over your helmet and keeps your head (and helmet) dry. However it is not in the least bit stylish and will make your head look like a fluorescent mushroom! Whilst this is good for visibility it probably draws attention to you for the wrong reasons! So if you are like me and you value a dry head over looking good, go for it! If however you want to look good whilst riding, it is not for you!"
Pros: Lightweight, waterproof
Cons: Unattractive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Buy one box and get one box FREE. An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value energy gel
Posted15 September 2013
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have tried many energy gels, High5, Torq, SIS, Zipvit and Lucozade Sport. By far the worst were Lucozade Sport (very poor energy delivery), but I have found all of the others to be very similar, what places the High5 gels above the others is the price about 50 p per gel here, whereas the others are about £1. The energy delivery is quick and the flavours are ok, though I think the mojito is probably an acquired taste! i like that the flavours are from juice and not as synthetic as some of the others. Packets are easily opened on the move and the gel is easy to suck out.."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
3mm stretch Neoprene, taped-seam overshoe protects feet from cold, wet, mid Winter weather.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value overshoe
Posted13 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got these shoes after the zip jammed on my Endura overshoes. They seem good, the fit is ok, if perhaps a little tight on the calf, though I do have large calfs. Waterproofing is good, they wont stop your feet getting wet when the rain is heavy, but, they will keep them warm!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Recharge Energy Legging
Recharge Energy Legging
Recharge:Athlete-tested and proven: Worn for 24 hours after a hard-core workout. The Recharge energy legging delivers clear results.Less pain, more gain: Quickens post-workout relief and increases power return, resulting in athletes demonstrating 50% less soreness and 30% more power.Promote muscle r...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for recovery
Posted15 April 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have used these leggings after extended rides (60-80 miles), wearing them for 24 hrs after riding as per the instructions. They do seem to improve recovery, I feel better the morning after, also they enable me to keep going if I have done the ride in the morning and need to do things in the afternoon. They are reasonably comfortable depending on what you wear on top of them - baggy shorts are good, jeans are not so good! Be careful putting them on, as they are very tight it is best to inch them on slowly to avoid putting too much strain on the stitching!"
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A good value waterproof jacket
Posted14 February 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have worn this jacket on a couple of long rides now and it has performed well. It keeps the rain out and keeps heat in - though this can be a disadvantage on a long ascent! it is very visible and is washable - which is great!
One small disadvantage is that the zip can get caught on the inner lining when zipping up - but this is easily avoidable with a little care."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ritchey Pro Road Bar Tape
Ritchey Pro Road Bar Tape
A great feel and grippy bar tape.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good bar tape
Posted15 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"This bar tape is good, it is quite thick and easy to put on. The locking bar end is a good idea and appears to be keeping the tape firmly in place. I have given a 3 for appearance, as I opted for the blue tape which looked really good when it first went on, but it has got very grubby quickly, I am not sure if this is a common problem with coloured bar tapes (I suspect so). next time I will go for black.
The tape is comfortable.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable
Cons: the blue tape gets grubby easily
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
High pressure 16mm wide rim tape ideal for 700c road rims
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good rim tape
Posted15 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
DrChrissy
fromWales, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Put this tape on a set of Cane Creek Strados wheels, the tape went on esily and does not appear to slip once on. I have probably done 200 miles so far on the wheels and have had no problems so far."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
DrChrissy's Questions
 
 dhb Core S Jersey
dhb Core S Jersey
A competitively priced Roubaix jersey for cyclists who are starting out in winter.
 

When will the large be coming back into stock?

this question applies to all the dhb long sleeve jerseys.
10 months ago
by
DrChrissy
Wales, UK
 
DrChrissy's Answers
 
Buy one box and get one box FREE. An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes.
 

If I buy 3 boxes get 6 boxes?

Yes
10 months ago
by
DrChrissy
Wales, UK
 
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

best size for me?

Hi i was after some advice on sizing please......
Im 6 ft 2 with a chest of 42 inches and waist of 33 inches not sure on what size is best.
Hi, I am 5 ft 8 and have a 35 inch waist with a 42-44 inch chest. I bought the large and it is a close fit. also it is just about the right length so I suspect it would be too short for you...so i guess you should try the XL?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
DrChrissy
Wales, UK
 
This Shimano compatible MTB brake kit was developed in order to optimise the operation of your Shimano equipment.
 

Only one casing?

There are two cables but only one outer casing, does that mean one cable has to go uncovered? Seems a bit strange...
Hi, it is one length of outer casing which can be cut to the lengths required so the one length should be enough cable to cover front and back cables where they need covering.

Use a proper pair of cable cutters to do this job - if the plastic pushes into the barrel of the cable, feeding a length of inner cable through should be sufficient to clear it.

Hope this helps.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
DrChrissy
Wales, UK