pauldog
Share pauldog's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
pauldog's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    30 October 2012
  • Last Review
    16 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    30 October 2012
  • Last Answer
    16 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
pauldog's Reviews
 
A great value introduction to the Shimano mountain bike shoe range. The XC30 features a PVC coated synthetic/mesh upper, a simple 3 strap velcro closure and a stiff, reinforced sole for grip and power transfer. Ideal for the ambitious trail rider.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good shoe when broken in
Posted16 October 2014
pauldog
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This shoe took 3-4 weeks to break in. But now its very comfortable.
Stiff enough to ride hard. Also day to walk in.
A good around shoes
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great all road tyre
Posted26 June 2014
pauldog
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a great product
Fast rolling
good in the wet or dry.
Easy fit and puncture resistant
always the tyre of choice"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best commute tyres
Posted17 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
pauldog
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Yes these are heavy but they are a great Tyre for commuting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Chain Cleaner is an active cleaner/degreaser suitable for the chain and drivetrain components. This degreaser is used by several professional teams.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
this is a great product
Posted02 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
pauldog
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Does what it should do.
Keeps the chain and running gear clean after a long ride. I use this on a weekly basis. Go buy it
"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Bib shorts
Posted02 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
pauldog
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are a great set of 3/4 length bib shorts.
The fit is perfect and the pad is great quality
The only fault I have with then is that they are a little thin for more colder runs. This is not a fault as I have now ordered the full length tights
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ride like a Pro
Posted19 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
pauldog
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The Edge 500 is a great product.
Giving you ALL the data you need.
Easy to fit and set up, although I am having some cadence senor which I think is down to me.
Its perfect with linked to Strava or other online services
Buy it if you want to progress in cycling and like to look at data.
Its also good as your basic trip meter.
Very recommended indeed
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great jacket at bargain price
Posted30 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
pauldog
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This jacket is great
I have used in on cold days (2c) and heavy rain and its held up to the challenge.
Its a great fit especially the arms.
overall a accentual item of clothing
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
pauldog's Questions
 
pauldog has not submitted any questions.
 
pauldog's Answers
 
A great value introduction to the Shimano mountain bike shoe range. The XC30 features a PVC coated synthetic/mesh upper, a simple 3 strap velcro closure and a stiff, reinforced sole for grip and power transfer. Ideal for the ambitious trail rider.
 

Will these shoes be suitable for the Look Keo pedals?

NO.
these are SPD (2 holes shoes)
you need road shoes (3 holes)
1 week, 1 day ago
by
pauldog
London, UK
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 

WILL THE marathon original tyre in size 700x25 fit on my trek 1.1

Yes This Tyre will fit
8 months ago
by
pauldog
London, UK
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Does the sizing compare with othe DHB jackets?

I bought a lightweight dhb jacket from Wiggle before. It is a medium size. I can wear a jersey and base layer under it without any problem.

Woudl this be similar if I chose medium?

I'm 5 ft 10 and about 12 stone.
Medium will be fine
1 year ago
by
pauldog
London, UK
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Does the jacket have a mesh inner lining?

Yes
1 year, 10 months ago
by
pauldog
London, UK
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Washing instructions...?

I can't find any specific washing instructions for this jacket. What is dhb's advice?

For example can it be washed with non- bio powder? Should only a technical wash be used? If so, which one?

How is waterproofing retained - should it be tumble dried/ironed to get the waterproof membrane active? should it be treated with a technical waterproofed after washing? If so, which one?
I use the non Bio (Ecover) on a cold wash.
Never ironed or tumbled it and never would.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
pauldog
London, UK
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Cadence and speed sensors - both wireless and does speed work on rear wheel?

Both work via ATI+ (which is wireless)
Speed via a magnet from the back wheel
Cadence via a magnet on the crank arm
1 year, 10 months ago
by
pauldog
London, UK
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Sizing Advice

There is mixed feedback about the sizing of this garment.
I'm 5'9, my waist is 31". Im a slim/medium build.

I have looked at the sizing guide which would put me in a Small... but everyone says buy a size up, should I go for Medium?
I am also 5.9
I have just received the medium and it fits perfectly, especially on the arms
1 year, 11 months ago
by
pauldog
London, UK