Fatlad1
Share Fatlad1's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Fatlad1's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    31 October 2012
  • Last Review
    22 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    31 October 2012
  • Last Answer
    22 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Fatlad1's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A breathable short sleeve base layer with a moisture wicking, 4-way stretch polyester fabric construction. Featuring perforated mesh under arms for additional breathability and flat seams for comfort. Ideal for mild/cool weather rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really good product
Posted22 October 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I cant recommend these tops enough based on my experience of them!
Really good base layer for wicking sweat away from the body plus it seems to keep me warm on the descents even when i know it is wet and my other tops would make me cold.
Look good as well and work really well wearing this under a winter jacket.
They are a lot of money, but as is often the case, you get what you pay for in life.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice pedal set
Posted22 October 2014
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Good pedal set that looks the part on my old school fixie!
Sealed bearings so should last a while with really good toe strap adjustment and easy to use leather strap.
Excellent price from Wiggle as usual :-)
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Grippy winter tyre :-)
Posted23 September 2014
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Awesome grippy winter tyre, gives really good confidence inspiring feel on damp/wet or slippery road surfaces, they seem to have about the same rolling resistance as my GP4000's so all is good there!
Only down side was they were really hard to get on the rim, so i would advice people to put the tyre then take it off the rim 2-3 times without the inner tube, as i found this seemed to stretch them enough to make them easier to go on the rim without damaging the inner tube!
Look awesome as well :-)
Got them at the summer discounted price as well, which make them a really good buy.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Velocissimo GT bib shorts offer exceptional fit and comfort thanks to the 10 panel construction, Kiss3 seatpad, Giro3 leg grippers and the Affinity Lycra. An everyday short that stands up against competition way above its cost.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Expensive, but well worth it!
Posted19 July 2014
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I was a bit reluctant to spend this much on bib shorts, after buying DHB ones, which are excellent, but after my first ride i was completely happy that i did.
Im 5'10 and 13.5 st so i went for the xxl which fit absolutely perfectly, they feel a bit snug when stood or walking around, but when riding they came into there own. My second ride in them was the 152 mile Flat out in the Fens sportive, which left me with no sores or aches from the saddle, padding is so good it doesn't feel like there is any, would recommend over and over again, i will be buying Castelli shorts again, exspecially at Wiggle prices.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre Twin Pack
Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre Twin Pack
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So Smooth
Posted12 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I cannot believe the difference these tyre have made, i have been a fan of the conti Gatorskins for an age now, and cannot fault them, but since riding on these GP4000s's i dont think ill go back.
The ride is a lot less crashy as the gp's seem to soak up the bumps and basic rubbish english roads. The compound is a lot stickier to the touch and gives a lot more confidence in the corners. Im not sure on the puncture resistance as yet, as i dont believe ive ridden enough miles on them to give a fair comment, but if they are 80% as good as the Gator's id be more than happy.
Easier to get on the rim than the Gator and look ok once on too!
Only time will tell about how long they last and the anti-puncture performance to see if they as good value as the Gators.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The K-EDGE chain catcher is a precision component that enhances the overall function of your drive train while protecting your valuable frame.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excel frame saver
Posted01 September 2013
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Although this is an expensive item, it has now paid for its self ten fold. I have over the summer over various sportive saved my carbon frame on the few times the chain has either sucked or jumped off!
I always thought that these catchers actually stopped the chain from coming off, but it doesn't (unless i have set it up wrong?)
It was a doddle to fit and also looks nice in the anodized finish.
Would highly recommend if you value your carbon frame, plus it weighs almost nothing :-)
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Water-resistant, superslim, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Low Battery warning indicator. Visible up to 600 metres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted24 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"For the money this light is tops. Haven't had any trouble with it turning on or off as some reviews, and its been out in the rain a good amount of the time. Battery last a long time on flash, but not too long on solid glow!
I've have always sprayed silicone on it to clean it and for extra protection, don't know if that has helped it's functionality in the wet at all.
All round good rear light that makes drivers notice you even in daylight.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place either your Garmin Edge 200, 500, 510, 800 or 810 infront of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better!
Posted02 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Thought i would try this, as i had got fed up with never being able to view my Garmin fully, as you would need to bend your head down to see it on the stem, as you do this, sweat would drip onto the screen, and air would rush into my eyes.
With this fitted, you don't even have to move your head, just look down, its in the right place just to glance at, and i never drip sweat onto now!
Expensive, but well worth it, doesn't rattle or vibrate at all, which is real good considering its plastic.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Kask K50 Road Helmet 2013
Kask K50 Road Helmet 2013
An all-Italian road helmet made with Kask's signature styling and workmanship. The K50 offers the superb Up & Down fitting system, excellent ventilation and sleek good looks for comfort and performance on every ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent helmet
Posted27 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Age : 35-44
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Straight from the box this helmet ticked all the right boxes! It fits so good and is really light, for its price range, you hardly notice you have it on. Adjustability is spot on, and it can accommodate various snoods or head caps with its easy turn adjuster.
I realise everybody's fit will differ slightly, but I certainly will be buying this brand again.
Only thing, found i notice the wind/air rushing more with this helmet from my other makes, but that hasn't swayed me!
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 F5 105 2012
F5 105 2012
The Felt F5 is at heart a racer's bike. Built for riders with a passion for speed but with a specification and price that don't require a sponsor's backing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted08 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fatlad1
fromEngland, UK
Age : 35-44
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Bike delivered in one week, and i have got to say it is awesome considering the price. Finish is excellent and the ride is power inspiring, makes you want to go further every ride. As per other reviews the wheels feel a bit heavy/boggy if that makes sense, but is such an easy upgrade with some excellent wheel packages on offer from wiggle. Carbon frame feels very rigid when riding, even when pushing out of the saddle. Only flaw, if you can call it that, is its a bit blingy, lots and lots of decals.
Would recommend Felt and Wiggle time and time again.
:-)
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Fatlad1's Questions
 
Fatlad1 has not submitted any questions.
 
Fatlad1's Answers
 

Are these clips suitable for a disabled person on an excercise bike?

The current straps on the pedals do not allow proper support to allow my feet to remain within the pedals as I try to use the bike to strengthen my legs.
In all honesty maybe you should try a cheap set of clip in shoes and pedals as these would hold your feet more securely whilst you train.
Hope this helps :-)
20 hours ago
by
Fatlad1
England, UK
 
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection.
 

Do these tyres have a direction of rotation?

Do these tyres have a required direction of rotation and is it marked on them or is it obvious? I've examined them carefully and can't see any indicative marks, unlike my Conti 4000s, which have an arrow on them.
no, it doesn't seem to matter on these tyres.
4 weeks, 1 day ago
by
Fatlad1
England, UK
 
The K-EDGE chain catcher is a precision component that enhances the overall function of your drive train while protecting your valuable frame.
 

Chain catcher on Veloce?

Hi. I have a Colnago fitted with Veloce group set. I'd like to fit a chain catcher but the front mech is secured by a bolt with a captive washer. Can these be separated so I can the chain catcher in between?
Cheers, J
The chain catchers come with a new longer bolt and captive washer, so all you do is take the existing bolt and washer off and replace with the new supplied ones. hope this helps :-)
3 months ago
by
Fatlad1
England, UK
 
 Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre Twin Pack
Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre Twin Pack
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

Need tubes with tyres?

Hi - Before purchasing the Continental GP 4000S Tyre twin pack - wanted to find out this comes with tubes as well

If not - I will need a "matching" set of tubes, or if I can reuse my existing set of tubes (same tyre size of course).

Thanks
Hi, i have just purchased the 'set' and no, they didn't come with tubes, but you can use you existing ones. If you can spare another few quid i would buy new continental tubes as well, as wiggle are selling them at a great price, plus you never know if you might damage the old ones when changing the tyres over.
Hope this helps.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Fatlad1
England, UK
 
 F5 105 2012
F5 105 2012
The Felt F5 is at heart a racer's bike. Built for riders with a passion for speed but with a specification and price that don't require a sponsor's backing.
 

Does F5 come with the pedals?

Yes it does, but only cheap chunky ones, you would need to buy some better suited ones.
Hope that helps
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Fatlad1
England, UK
 
 F5 105 2012
F5 105 2012
The Felt F5 is at heart a racer's bike. Built for riders with a passion for speed but with a specification and price that don't require a sponsor's backing.
 

Caught between 2 sizes

Hi

My important measurements for the bike size are my height which is 182cmm, inside leg 84cm. This puts me smack in the middle of a 56cm and 58cm. Thoughts anyone?

Thank you.
Hi, my advise would be to go for the 56, as in my opinion its better to have a slightly smaller fit as you can always raise the bars and saddle, opposed to running out of adjustment on the bigger fitting frame.
Hope that helps
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Fatlad1
England, UK
 
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 

Is this product adjustable?

The description says it is, the reviews say it isn't. Thanks.
No its not adjustable, but it is supposed to be one size fits all.
It does stretch a fair bit well putting on your head.
Hope this helps.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Fatlad1
England, UK
 
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a very competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric and refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling short without compromise.
 

Are these shorts suitable for use for a triathlon?

I'm concerned that the chamois may get soaked in the swimming leg and then prove uncomfortable in the running leg.
I wouldn't recommend these shorts for a triathlon as the chamois is too big, and would be very uncomfortable when running.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Fatlad1
England, UK