chickenboy
Share chickenboy's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
chickenboy's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    22 May 2012
  • Last Review
    21 June 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    22 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    21 June 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
chickenboy's Reviews
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Zero Electrolyte Drink
Posted21 June 2013
chickenboy
fromLeeds
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Perfect drink to have after the cycle home - cheap for 20 tabs / 20 drinks so you can't go wrong really."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
19 function multitool weighing a mere 175g (without tool flask).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Crank Brothers multitool
Posted15 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
chickenboy
fromLeeds
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not a great deal you can say about this, it's a multi-tool - it does what it says on the tin. Simply bought this one cos' it got good reviews both here and elsewhere and for the price it had everything I need in one tool. It's not the lightest but what do you expect, it has a nifty little case it goes in. And so far does all I need in case of emergency repairs."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Waterproof glove with critically positioned Night Vision reflective trim. Designed specifically to fit in the riding position.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Night Vision Waterproof Gloves
Posted15 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
chickenboy
fromLeeds
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great pair of gloves for the colder weather, opted for the waterproof version as thought this would be most useful. Very bright, nice fit and kept my hands warm enough on several cold rides out already. Not the cheapest but certainly not the most expensive either!!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
Posted07 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
chickenboy
fromLeeds
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Wanted some narrower tyres for my mountain bike instead of the off road tyres I had and these do the job very well. They were cheap, a lot narrower than my existing tyres with an almost smooth centre so there's a lot less traction on the road. They also can be pumped to 60Psi which again aids rolling resistence.
One thing to watch out for is they provide almost no traction on muddy surfaces so beware - nearly come off a few times.
As my journey to work is 95% on the road I would definitely get these again."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dhb Signal Jacket 2011
Posted22 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
chickenboy
fromLeeds
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Excellent value for money jacket, read all the reviews, looked at more expensive alternatives but this came recommended so gave it a go and not disappointed on the whole.
My only criticism is that I would have liked the arms to be a little longer so that I could tuck the sleeves over my gloves and not have them ride up over my wrists. But this is a minor irritation.
I'm 5'10" and a slim build and the medium is just right. Plenty of pockets and zips for ventilation, well impressed."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
chickenboy's Questions
 
chickenboy has not submitted any questions.
 
chickenboy's Answers
 
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 

Tyre Direction

I have just recieved a pair of Continental Double Fighter tyres and I am really pleased with them!
Just one thing when fitting the tyres I presume the front tyre has the front directional arrow facing to the front of the bike!
With the rear does the front arrow face the front or the rear arrow face the front??
Both need to face forwards.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
chickenboy
Leeds
 
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 

What would be a suitable inner tube?

I'm new to mountain biking and have had these tyres recommended to me as a good road tyre which will also suit some light off roading.

Could anyone recommend a suitable inner tube for this tyre or does it not matter that much?

Cheers!
Can't see it makes much of a difference tbh. Hasn't with mine.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
chickenboy
Leeds
 
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 

Rims are 26" / 559x16 - what tyre size should I be going for?

Am particularly interested in the Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre, but need to know what tyre size to get for my rims.
If your rims are 26" then 26" tyres, I got the 26 x 1.95 version of this tyre. Inflates up to 65psi which is great on the road or cycle path but totally useless on the muddy stuff - so avoid. Less resistance than mountain bike tyres makes for less effort on the cycle to work!
1 year, 5 months ago
by
chickenboy
Leeds
 
Waterproof glove with critically positioned Night Vision reflective trim. Designed specifically to fit in the riding position.
 

Whats the difference between these and the Night Vision gloves that are £23.75?

The cheaper ones are probably not waterproof.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
chickenboy
Leeds
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

what is the weight please ?

Medium weighs 332 grams.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
chickenboy
Leeds