MartynK
Share MartynK's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MartynK's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    06 July 2012
  • Last Review
    08 April 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    06 July 2012
  • Last Answer
    06 December 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
MartynK's Reviews
 
The Zonda wheelset has been strengthened thanks to MEGA G3. The Zonda raises the performance level, boasting greater performance and more aggressiveness. A great wheelset for racing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love cycling, love Campag
Posted08 April 2013
MartynK
fromHampshire, UK
"Having ridden through the winter on the stock Fulcrum 7's i decided that i needed some summer wheels. I will openly admit that i pick products as much for their looks as their functionality so Campag was the obvious starting point of my search. Just look how good the G3 rear spoke arrangement looks.
I settled on the Zonda as i could not justify spending much more on a wheelset for my needs. I am a competitive club rider although i do not race so there is no point in spending upwards of £500.
For the money these wheels are very light, the Campag quality shines through and the ride is fantastic. I have wrapped mine with Conti GP 4000s tyres and have been chewing up the miles and the climbs in comfort with them."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
 
SRAM delivers an uncomplicated computer mount that‘s easy to install, lightweight, and above all, vibration and slip-free. At only 20 grams, with a single torx T25 bolt, and flexible mounting clasp, it installs quickly, simply and securely.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
No more neck ache
Posted08 April 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MartynK
fromHampshire, UK
"I could not bring myself to pay for the K-edge or the Garmin branded mount so opted for the SRAM. After having to wait an age for the product to come in to stock i finally have it fitted to the bike.
It places the Garmin in a much more natural position that means less tilting your head down to look at your stats. From a safety aspect it is much better too as the road ahead stays in your vision when glancing at your Garmin.
It is easy to mount on the bike and the Garmin slots in with a reassuring stiff twist."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Cartridge Cross - CO2 Cartridge Holder
Cartridge Cross - CO2 Cartridge Holder
An extremely efficient way to carry up to 4 cartridges, the durable die cast alloy Cartridge Cross fits neatly under your bottle cage and has an integral Anti-Reverse feature, ensuring your cartridges stay in place.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Functional and tidy.
Posted26 December 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
MartynK
fromHampshire, UK
"If like me you don't like riding with a saddle bag but need to carry quite a bit on winter rides then this is a useful little thing. It's functional and tidy, relieving some of the pressure on those bulging rear pockets.
I have fitted mine underneath the downtube bottle cage which keeps the gas canisters within easy reach for the puncture repair."
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A dirty drivetrain causes poor shifting and unnecessary wear to expensive parts. The ChainGang contains everything needed to quickly and easily clean the chain, freewheel cogs, and chainrings. The ChainGang includes a CM-5 Cyclone: Chain Scrubber, a GSC-1 GearClean Brush, and an 8 oz. (237 ml) bottl...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
Posted06 November 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MartynK
"Having been on a few rides now when the weather is wet quite a bit of road grim had been collected on the chain and cassette.
The kit is a useful way to try this product out as you get all that you need. The brush is good for getting general dust build up out the the cassette, i opted to do this before cleaning the chain.
The actual chain cleaner was good too although it takes a litte practice getting the angle of attack right. Try not to 'pedal' too fast at the start as your chain will be pulling a bit through the brushes. This is obviously the dirt on the chain, after a dozen or so spins the removal of grime makes the chain smoother through the brushes.
All in all a good product.
A good tip is to buy two of these. One for cleaning and the other to put chain lube in. You can then run the clean chain through and lubricate it easier."
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An all-Italian road helmet made with Kask's signature styling and workmanship. The Mojito offers the superb Up & Down fitting system and unique synthetic leather chin strap for absolute comfort out on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Style and Substance
Posted11 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MartynK
"I've only been into road cycling for about 4 months having come from MTB background. I made do with my old MTB helmet for that time but thought it was about time to upgrade to a stylish road helmet.
At first i was looking at the Team Sky coloured version of this but talked myself round to the black and white one as it will match more of my cycle clothing. Knowing that this helmet is good enough for the pro's though certainly removes any worries of making the right purchase.
I have been on several rides wearing this now and can not fault it. Once locked on your bonce it does not feel like its going anywhere. It's lightweight and airy providing plenty of ventilation on the downhills after working hard to get to the summit. Once you get used to the fitting system it becomes second nature to throw on the helmet and tighten as required."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
All you will ever need
Posted29 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MartynK
"I first used an Edge 500 at a sportive as Garmin were providing free rental. I knew after that sportive that i had to have one.
I could have saved money by getting the Edge 500 alone but opted for the bundle (cadence and HR strap), One of the reasons was the black and red colouring as it matched my bike but i knew that i would want the extra features that the bundled sensors provided.
Setting up the Edge 500 and the extra sensors is easy, the fitting intructions are simple. Take time to configure the screens to display exactly what you want them to as this will assist you when out riding.
The Edge 500 display is very clear and will assist you to achieve your goals while out on the road. Using Garmin Connect to upload your ride data will also help you to plan how to improve on your next ride.
I'm sure i'm not using all of the features available just yet, but it is so user friendly that i can introduce features when i want.
To put it simply, get one and you will not look back!"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Hiplok is the worlds first bicycle lock developed specifically to be worn on the body. It’s a seriously strong piece of kit with a hardened steel chain at its core and a Sold Secure accreditation. All Hiploks are fully adjustable: one size fits all.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job intended
Posted19 July 2012
MartynK
"Great product. I use this everyday and can't write anything bad about it. It is a heavy weight bit of kit but once around your waist you forget it is even there. Obviously being heavy weight it is a big visual deterrent.
Get one if you value your ride.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Shorts
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Shorts
Our Pace Roubaix Bib Shorts are made from the finest brushed Italian 235g lycra and offer the highest level of comfort afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good product, great price
Posted06 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MartynK
"These are my first bib shorts so i have nothing to compare them to. First i have to echo what others have said about bib shorts being the only way to ride, i will never wear waist shorts again!!
The dhb Roubaix are very comfortable and stay put on my rides, even on the 100 mile jaunts. If you want to stand out on your bike then the plain black will not be for you, but at the price you can't go wrong."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MartynK's Questions
 
MartynK has not submitted any questions.
 
MartynK's Answers
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Can batteries be replaced in sensors by me? Can cadence and heart rate be displayed simultaneously?

Yes and Yes.

A simple spin lock battery cover needs to be removed and then a battery/ calculator size battery is needed. I have not yet needed to replace mine after nearly 6 months of use.

The display can be tailored to however you want. My default front screen shows total distance, average speed, current speed, cadence and heart rate. For me they are the fields i need on my training rides.

Obviously if you require different fields then you can easily change them in the menu system.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
MartynK
Hampshire, UK
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

What does the Garmin Edge give that an iPhone app doesn't?

Just wondering what would one of these devices give that many of the iPhone apps available not give?
Things like mapping rides, average speed, distance etc. all are available on the many apps?
In one word. Accuracy.

I too used the iphone app before buying a Garmin device so can compare the performance of both. I would quite often find my route straying off the roads and even gaps in the data when using the app. I also did not think that the elevation data was very accurate.

As a member of a cycle club i would also compare my Garmin data to that of app users and other Garmin users after competing the same ride. While the Garmin users were all very close with the data some of the apps were way off.

The final thing to think about is battery use. Get a Garmin and save the battery in your phone for emergency use. One day you may well be miles from home with a mechanical issue and need to make that rescue phone call.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
MartynK
Hampshire, UK
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

The product description mentions the product contains a heart rate monitor. Does it include the strap for the monitor?

The product description mentions the product contains a heart rate monitor. Does it include the strap for the monitor?
Yes. The bundle includes the fully adjustable strap and the heart rate monitor that 'buttons' on to it.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
MartynK
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Can the hrm be used while running?

Is there a compatible wrist monitor?
Best answer
Yes it can, but remember that you will need to have the main unit with you for the data to be recorded.

That is the main issue. Where to put the main unit? Obviously if you have pockets in your kit then put it in there, but you could also put it in a MP3 player pouch. Remember to change the activity type to running.

As for the wrist monitor, i would check the web for ANT+ sensors and see what is on the market.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
MartynK
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Shorts
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Shorts
Our Pace Roubaix Bib Shorts are made from the finest brushed Italian 235g lycra and offer the highest level of comfort afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 

Is it more important to have a better fit on waist than chest?

Im unsure whther to go for a medium or large! waist is medium but have a bigger chest
A difficult question.
Personally i would probably go for the slightly larger round the waist fit.
If the chest size was smaller on bib shorts then there is a chance that the braces over the shoulder would be too tight and cut in.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
MartynK