BigOlPapaBear
Share BigOlPapaBear's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BigOlPapaBear's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    16
  • First Review
    26 May 2012
  • Last Review
    15 January 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    29 December 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    29 December 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    15 January 2014
  • Last Answer
    15 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
BigOlPapaBear's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Park Tools puncture kit includes glueless patch kit and 3 plastic tyre levers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Two great items at a good price
Posted15 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BigOlPapaBear
"Such a good combination of items that I've bought it again after losing my last set-up in a saddlebag mishap somewhere on a 70km ride!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Maru Mesh Bag - AW13
Maru Mesh Bag - AW13
Manufactured from heavy duty nylon mesh, the Maru Mesh Bag offers a simple storage alternative for all of your swimwear and accessories. Features a drawcord and shoulder strap. Easy to drain and maintain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just what you expect
Posted15 January 2014
BigOlPapaBear
"A bag, made of mesh.
It keeps your swim kit in, lets the water fall out, and seems robust enough to last a long time."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zoggs character swimming caps feature bright characters that'll help your little ones to enjoy their swimming sessions. The caps are made from tear resistant silicone and offers superb comfort and fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A swim hat that my 3 year old wants to wear
Posted28 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BigOlPapaBear
"I got swim hats for both my boys to prevent their hair getting tangled and pulled in their goggles straps when swimming.
The blue shark looks really good and is a good thick silicon hat.
My 3 year old agreed to wear it without an argument, which is a massive endorsement!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, stroppy 3 year old compatiable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Aqua Sphere Seal Kids Mask with Clear Lens AW13
Aqua Sphere Seal Kids Mask with Clear Lens AW13
Revolutionary eye protection designed especially for children! The Seal Kid's flexible frame and leak proof skirt keeps water out of sensitive young eyes and is so comfortable that children keep it on for all their pool fun.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Much better than goggles
Posted20 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BigOlPapaBear
"I bought these for my 5 year old as an upgrade from his goggles.
He loves them and thinks they're more comfortable and give better vision.
They also come in an Aquasphere hard case just like their adult goggles, so that should keep them scratch-free and in good condition for a good time to come.
Thoroughly recommended."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A learn to swim mask with great all round visibility and comfort. This mask offers fantastic visibility and comfort, whilst being quick and easy to get on and adjust.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Much better than goggles
Posted20 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BigOlPapaBear
"I bought these for my 3 year-old and they're a real hit. They're easier to put on & take off than normal goggles, and he's more comfortable in them so he keeps them on longer.
Thoroughly recommended."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Vista is the latest addition to the line of innovative swimming goggles from Aqua Sphere featuring a comfortable, leak resistant skirt and a contoured, stylized frame.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice goggles, but not for me
Posted21 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
BigOlPapaBear
"I really wanted to like these - they're really comfortable with a good clear field of vision.
Unfortunately on me the water seal is inconsistent - they're prone to letting in water which when lake swimming in contact lenses is a big problem.
Going to try switching to Eagles with prescription lenses."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shiny Object Co2 Inflator
Shiny Object Co2 Inflator
The shiny object Co2 inflator is made of indestructible oh-so-shiny alloy and fits on both presta and schrader valves. Its control knob regulates how fast the Co2 is released.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very shiny!
Posted01 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BigOlPapaBear
"A really nice well made quality object. The dial allows really precise control of the gas going in so you don't waste it or have a mishap if the tube and tire aren't seated properly.
Threaded cartridges screw in tightly and positively. I haven't tried it with unthreaded cartriges yet."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I hate punctures!
Posted06 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BigOlPapaBear
"After an epidemic of rear punctures with continental ultra sport tyres, I upgraded to one of these for the rear.
It's only 10g heavier, and there's no noticeable difference when riding (other than that it runs at the 110psi I put in from my track pump, rather than the somethingsomething psi that I manage with my frame pump into a replacement tube).
No punctures since I put it on 200km ago, so far so good..."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Lanesprint Aquashort is ideal for swim fitness
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A very snug fit!
Posted06 May 2013
BigOlPapaBear
"When these arrived I wasn't sure - the material feels quite rough and hardly stretches at all. As such they are a very snug fit that leaves nothing to the imagination - you need a certain amount of self confidence to be happy wearing these!
Swimming in them is great though; comfortable and no perceptible drag.
I got them in the sale, not sure I would have been willing to pay full price for them."
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Ultra Sport Road Tyre
Ultra Sport Road Tyre
The UltraSport adds a new dimension to Conti's road tyre range, offering their usual high quality make up yet at this entry level price.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not durable enough for winter training
Posted14 April 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BigOlPapaBear
"I bought these to replace the branded tires that my TCR 1 came with.
They go on easily and seem to roll well, but durability is a real problem.
Granted, the roads are in really poor shape at the moment with lots of debris and damage but I've had about 4 flats in a dozen rides, all in the rear tire which now has a lot of small nicks and cuts through it.
I'm just upgrading my rear tire to a GatorHardShell to see if that keep my tubes inflated for a bit longer!"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
BigOlPapaBear's Questions
 
BigOlPapaBear has not submitted any questions.
 
BigOlPapaBear's Answers
 
The Park Tools puncture kit includes glueless patch kit and 3 plastic tyre levers.
 

Packaging

Hi this is for a present can you describe the packaging please. eg are they loose or in a blister pack? thanks
Blister packed
6 months ago
by
BigOlPapaBear