poatesy
Top 1000 Contributor
Share poatesy's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
poatesy's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    14 July 2012
  • Last Review
    29 June 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    14 July 2012
  • Last Answer
    29 June 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
poatesy's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
A super-stretch, thermal knee warmer for extra insulation and support. A pre-contoured construction and dual-face silicon elastic grippers ensure a secure and comfortable fit between your knee, knee warmer and cycling shorts. Perfect for colder seasons.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Warm as...
Posted29 June 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These warmers do exactly what it says on the ti. They are warm and comfy. Goof neoprene strip on both sides to keep them in position
Usual dhb quality
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good solid cleat
Posted29 June 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have ridden with these cleats since I started riding and they provide a solid platform on and off the bike. Reasonable price and top quality"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Seems OK so far
Posted29 June 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A small lightweight emergency pump to back up the CO2 cannisters. Bracket fits OK but the Velcro strap is too long and does not hold the pump. A small complaint cos the pump has enough power and the t bar handle works a treat"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The PC-951 is our most economical PowerChain while still maintaining our high standards of quality. Like all Power Chain II chains, the PC-951 uses Chrome Hardened rivet pins for increased durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great 9 speed chain
Posted13 June 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This chain has been the one I ended up wit after a number of different chain trials. The powerlink was superb. Easy to fit and take apart for cleaning. Much better than the pressed links and never had an issue with a failure"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes. Easy to open, easy to swallow and easy to digest with natural fruit flavours that taste fantastic.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good price, great taste
Posted13 June 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These gels are not too sickly and seem to work in conjunction with water. Good process for the boxes of 20 too."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These shoe covers are extremely tough and will keep your foot insulated and your shoes protected from adverse weather. The industrial strength full length zipper won't let you down and the reflective detailing will help you stay visible at night.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good overshoes at a reasonable price
Posted13 June 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These overshoes have been used in all weathers and have kept my feet warm. Not waterproof but warm. Really bright in dark conditions and the reflective stripes are very good I have been told. Velcro understrap and zipper work well. Size as stated was OK for me and I am UK 10"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Small sizes beware and upsize
Posted25 March 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These shorts are great value especially when on sale. Good quality bib short. A bit on the tight side.
I am 6'2" and 80kg and the L was too small.
XL would be better.
Chamois also seems a little on the small side but I think will be fine for shorter rides
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Classic Bib Shorts
dhb Classic Bib Shorts
A slick, form fitting cycling bib short which features an Italian Action 205 Lycra fabric construction and high performance Cytech Endurance Chamois. Ideal as a core bib short for your cycling wardrobe.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Look good and fit well, go a size up though
Posted25 March 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These shorts are great value especially when on sale. Good quality bib short. A bit on the tight side. I am 6'2" and 80kg and the XL was OK a bit snug.
Chamois also seems a little on the small side but I think will be fine for shorter rides
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality at a low low price
Posted25 March 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These bottle cages hold any size of bottle tight and are lightweight and look great"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The short carbon fibre body construction offers low weight, is super stiff and offers efficient power transfer. The PD-6800 features many of the same technologies as the flagship Dura Ace pedals with the PD-6800 only weighing 8g more.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pedal at a great price
Posted25 March 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A set of light high quality pedals, these are a great addition to any bike. Usual Shimano standard.. Well worth purchasing"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
poatesy's Questions
 
poatesy has not submitted any questions.
 
poatesy's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
A super-stretch, thermal knee warmer for extra insulation and support. A pre-contoured construction and dual-face silicon elastic grippers ensure a secure and comfortable fit between your knee, knee warmer and cycling shorts. Perfect for colder seasons.
 

sizing

hi there

there are 3 sizes. i dont know how to get right one.
im 192 cm and about 80 kg. thin long legs.

thanks for your help!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I am 188cm and 80kg tall and thin. I went for Large and they are perfect
6 days ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Sizing

Im 5" 8 in height with a waist of 33 inch which would be the best size?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Large.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Female equivalent

I noticed that there is not a femal equivalent of the 3/4 roubaix. Any reason these would not be suitable for a female? I'm around 5'7 and 62kg.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
M should do you. Bib should clear your cleavage as the cut is quit low
3 months, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Another sizing question

Hi,
I am a large in the DHB Aeron Bib Shorts. I am quite short 165cm, but have a large chest and small waist. The large for the shorts fit me great. I was wondering if the sizing would correlate to this or because of the length of the legs should I drop back to a Medium size for this product?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Stay large. They are quite a small fit
3 months, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

sizing again..sorry

Im 6ft 1 35/36 inch waist .. 41.5 inch chest and 22.5 inch thighs what size is best.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
XL or XXL
I a 6'2 and 80kg and L was too small
3 months, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Female equivalent

I noticed that there is not a femal equivalent of the 3/4 roubaix. Any reason these would not be suitable for a female? I'm around 5'7 and 62kg.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I think they would be OK for you. The cut on the bib is quite low so should clear your front
At 5'7 and 62kg I would go for a M
3 months, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts and holders for use with Road bike caliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/SRAM brakes and Campagnolo systems. LifeLine brake pads are manufactured for us by Ashima.
 

Would these brake pads fit Dura-Ace BR-7200?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes I think they will
6 months ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts and holders for use with Road bike caliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/SRAM brakes and Campagnolo systems. LifeLine brake pads are manufactured for us by Ashima.
 

Colour of brake block

Is the aluminium brake block frame silver as pictured or silver/grey?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Silver
6 months ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
This Wiggle bundle means when you buy 1 box of 20 gels (mixed flavours), you will recieve another box of the same for free. EnergyGels are Race proven in the World's toughest events & each sacket delivers fast energy & real fruit flavour.
 

do you have to take these with water?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I usually take water after but they can be taken without
1 year, 4 months ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
The dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Leg Warmers.)
 

Sizing

My husband is 180cm tall and weighs 85kilos, with 79cm inside leg but the top of his thigh is 61cm round.
Ex rugby player not a true cyclist!
What size should I get him?
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Medium, sounds similar build to me. Medium were fine for me
2 years, 8 months ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand