poatesy
Share poatesy's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
poatesy's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    14 July 2012
  • Last Review
    25 March 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    14 July 2012
  • Last Answer
    25 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
poatesy's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Small sizes beware and upsize
Posted25 March 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These shorts are great value especially when on sale. Good quality bib short. A bit on the tight side.
I am 6'2" and 80kg and the L was too small.
XL would be better.
Chamois also seems a little on the small side but I think will be fine for shorter rides
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Classic Bib Shorts
dhb Classic Bib Shorts
A slick, form fitting cycling bib short which features an Italian Action 205 Lycra fabric construction and high performance Cytech Endurance Chamois. Ideal as a core bib short for your cycling wardrobe.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Look good and fit well, go a size up though
Posted25 March 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These shorts are great value especially when on sale. Good quality bib short. A bit on the tight side. I am 6'2" and 80kg and the XL was OK a bit snug.
Chamois also seems a little on the small side but I think will be fine for shorter rides
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality at a low low price
Posted25 March 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These bottle cages hold any size of bottle tight and are lightweight and look great"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The short carbon fibre body construction offers low weight, is super stiff and offers efficient power transfer. The PD-6800 features many of the same technologies as the flagship Dura Ace pedals with the PD-6800 only weighing 8g more.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pedal at a great price
Posted25 March 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A set of light high quality pedals, these are a great addition to any bike. Usual Shimano standard.. Well worth purchasing"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tacx Tyre Levers (Pack of Three)
Tacx Tyre Levers (Pack of Three)
Durable, tough plastic to remove tyre off the rim.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good cheap levers
Posted12 March 2015
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These levers are cheap but do the job very well. Lock together to make sure you don't lose them.. Well worth the price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tastes good and seems to work
Posted24 December 2014
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Tiied this for the first time last week. Easy to make. Tastes OK, no aftertaste
Seemed to keep me powered better just electrolyte drinks
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts and holders for use with Road bike caliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/SRAM brakes and Campagnolo systems. LifeLine brake pads are manufactured for us by Ashima.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Breat pads at a great price
Posted24 December 2014
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these pads fitted really well no worries. Good stopping power in both the wet and the dry. Well recommended"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This Wiggle bundle means when you buy 1 box of 20 gels (mixed flavours), you will recieve another box of the same for free. EnergyGels are Race proven in the World's toughest events & each sacket delivers fast energy & real fruit flavour.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great gels and great price
Posted01 March 2014
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good to the taste, seem to work.
Contain all the carbs of others
Get them on offer (buy 1 box get 1 free) and they work out about $1 each
"
Pros: taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 BBB BFP-92 Autol Head Adapter
BBB BFP-92 Autol Head Adapter
Replacement dual head adapter for all BBB floor pumps excluding BFP-31 (AirBlaster).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good replacement, why buy a new pump
Posted01 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This replacement head works well. Quick and easy to fit and remove.."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 6 Pack
LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 6 Pack
An excellent value 6 pack of high quality innertubes to fit 700c road bike rims with 18c to 25c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good tubes at great prices
Posted29 September 2013
poatesy
fromNew Plymouth, New Zealand
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"No issues.. Great value and these tubes do exactly what they should!"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
poatesy's Questions
 
poatesy has not submitted any questions.
 
poatesy's Answers
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Sizing

Im 5" 8 in height with a waist of 33 inch which would be the best size?
Large.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Female equivalent

I noticed that there is not a femal equivalent of the 3/4 roubaix. Any reason these would not be suitable for a female? I'm around 5'7 and 62kg.
M should do you. Bib should clear your cleavage as the cut is quit low
1 month, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Another sizing question

Hi,
I am a large in the DHB Aeron Bib Shorts. I am quite short 165cm, but have a large chest and small waist. The large for the shorts fit me great. I was wondering if the sizing would correlate to this or because of the length of the legs should I drop back to a Medium size for this product?
Stay large. They are quite a small fit
1 month, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

sizing again..sorry

Im 6ft 1 35/36 inch waist .. 41.5 inch chest and 22.5 inch thighs what size is best.
XL or XXL
I a 6'2 and 80kg and L was too small
1 month, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Female equivalent

I noticed that there is not a femal equivalent of the 3/4 roubaix. Any reason these would not be suitable for a female? I'm around 5'7 and 62kg.
I think they would be OK for you. The cut on the bib is quite low so should clear your front
At 5'7 and 62kg I would go for a M
1 month, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts and holders for use with Road bike caliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/SRAM brakes and Campagnolo systems. LifeLine brake pads are manufactured for us by Ashima.
 

Would these brake pads fit Dura-Ace BR-7200?

Yes I think they will
4 months, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts and holders for use with Road bike caliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/SRAM brakes and Campagnolo systems. LifeLine brake pads are manufactured for us by Ashima.
 

Colour of brake block

Is the aluminium brake block frame silver as pictured or silver/grey?
Silver
4 months, 1 week ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
This Wiggle bundle means when you buy 1 box of 20 gels (mixed flavours), you will recieve another box of the same for free. EnergyGels are Race proven in the World's toughest events & each sacket delivers fast energy & real fruit flavour.
 

do you have to take these with water?

I usually take water after but they can be taken without
1 year, 2 months ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
The dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Leg Warmers.)
 

Sizing

My husband is 180cm tall and weighs 85kilos, with 79cm inside leg but the top of his thigh is 61cm round.
Ex rugby player not a true cyclist!
What size should I get him?
Best answer
Medium, sounds similar build to me. Medium were fine for me
2 years, 6 months ago
by
poatesy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
 Pace Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
Pace Roubaix Unpadded Waist Tight
These Roubaix Tights are your winter saviors and will keep your warm and comfortable whatever the weather. Based on our award winning dhb Merston Tights, now using the outstanding Lombardia fabric from Miti.
 

Size question

I am 5 foot 6 ish with a 28 inch waist

Small or x small?
Small
2 years, 9 months ago
by
poatesy