GLav
Share GLav's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
GLav's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    13 September 2012
  • Last Review
    29 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    13 February 2013
  • Last Question
    12 January 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
Answers
  • Answer Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    None
  • Last Answer
    None
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
GLav's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light and tasty
Posted29 September 2014
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have been using High5 4:1 products for about 18 months now and I'm probably their biggest fan.
Both flavours taste great and are light enough to be able to gulp down a fair bit without being over-sweet.
Easy to use too, each scoop provides a measure for 250ml so "dosing" is easy whether you're using 500ml or 750ml bidons
On a side note, I emailed High5 directly to ask for advice for a 24hr ride and they emailed back within a few hours and put together a personalised nutrition plan for me. Top products, top customer service and great value."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, great taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Morvelo Chasseur De Cols 14 Short Sleeve Jersey
Morvelo Chasseur De Cols 14 Short Sleeve Jersey
A fast wicking jersey that is packed with comprehensive features for rider comfort. Closer weave on the front, arms, sides and shoulders aid in improved aerodynamics, means the Chasseur jersey delivers performance as well as looking great.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Quality Jersey
Posted02 July 2014
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've not owned any Morvelo stuff before, but I will be buying more! It's superb quality material, a lot of thought has gone into the design too, I like the side pocket for gels and the zipped pocket for valuables.
I'm 179cm and 78kg and the Medium fits really well.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The GatorSkin is the ultimate wire bead training & racing tyre where puncture protection is priority. Using the latest technology against flats the GatorSkin range uses an aramid breaker and Duraskin® sidewall ProTection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Indestructable
Posted04 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've done over 6,000 miles on these in wind, rain, snow and blistering heat; and not a single puncture.
'nuff said"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Deda elementi bar tape is available in a wide palette of colours to match any colour scheme from understated to outrageous. The PU construction gives a realistic cork feel with excellent grip and cushioning.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not bad, bit slippy
Posted04 December 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"the colours are great and it wraps nicely although a better tacky side would be good.
I've found mine is just not "grippy" enough and that my hands feel like they slip on the bars. I also feel the road vibrations a lot more compared to my previous grip.
Can't complain for the price, but next time i'll be spending more."
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, slippy grip, poor sticky strip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Bkool Turbo Trainer allows you to connect yourself to routes and riders from around the world. You can share your outdoor rides and indoor sessions with friends and also compete with other Bkool users.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Life changing turbo!
Posted04 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've recently started an intense training schedule for Alpe D'HuZes next year and my Elite Chrono Fluid, albeit super smooth and sturdy, just didn't generate enough resistance for hill training, so I needed something new.
The BKool is equally as smooth as my elite, which in itself is a feat. Although not quite as study, it actually feels more natural and I like the same set up of using the rider weight to put pressure on the tyre.
The gradient changes are smooth, really smooth and incredibly real.
The software and website however are "primitive" (and I'm being kind), but if you can get past the initial creation of sessions (with no English support or instructions) you'll fall in love with the Bkool like I have. It's only a matter of time before Bkool sort this out, or the likes of strava cop on and run with the ANT+ features, and I will be writing to strava to suggest this to them!!
It's a bit noisier than my old elite, but not offensively so. Tyre wear is more though and a trainer tyre is a must buy in my opinion."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: software needs a lot of work, little/no english support on website
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great cage
Posted25 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Fits all my bottles nicely, and yet remains easy to take bottles in and out.
Great colour range too
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye TL-LD1100 LED Rear Light 2013
Cateye TL-LD1100 LED Rear Light 2013
No other led light offers the same level of all round visibility as the TL1100.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant all-round
Posted14 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"This light it brilliant - literally!
The multi-combinations really make you visible on the road, and it's sturdy too. I've accidently dropped it a few times, once into a puddle, and it's still going strong."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worth writing a second review!
Posted15 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have already reviewed this jacket last year and I was very pleased with it. Sizing is great, fit is snug (I'm 5'11", 40" chest, around 13st and went for M), it's brilliant in the wind and the underarm zipped vents are great. Until now I'd not been rained on too heavily. Last weekend was a different story.
It rained for the whole 4+hrs I was out for a 100km ride and it worked a treat. Not having any waterproof trousers however, left my nether regions a little worse for wear, (valueable lesson learned!) but everything covered by the jacket was snug and dry.
My only gripe is that the rest of my gear (bike included) is black/white/blue so the red trim on this messes up my cool look.
Kudos dhb on this one."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy, Cheap does the job
Posted31 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These bar end plugs are cheap and easy. Far from glamourous, but why would they need to be?
Fit nice and snug in my bars and look suprisingly tidy for such a bargain"
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Energy and Hydration Bundle
Energy and Hydration Bundle
An excellent value bundle to help you perform at your peak, all season long. Stay energised at all stages of your race with Energy Source 4:1 and Gel sachets and stay hydrated with Zero tabs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
All round nutrition
Posted24 January 2013
GLav
fromWorcester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The high 5 brand has always worked for me. Tastes great and really works on those big rides. Hydration tabs are genius for hangovers too!!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GLav's Questions
 
The Bkool Turbo Trainer allows you to connect yourself to routes and riders from around the world. You can share your outdoor rides and indoor sessions with friends and also compete with other Bkool users.
 

Update Cable?

Is the cable needed to update the firmware usually included? Mine didn't come with one. If not where can i get one?
9 months ago
by
GLav
Worcester, UK
 
The Bkool Turbo Trainer allows you to connect yourself to routes and riders from around the world. You can share your outdoor rides and indoor sessions with friends and also compete with other Bkool users.
 

Manual resistance adjustment

Is it possible to adjust the resistance manually mid-session with either the iPhone app or laptop?
11 months ago
by
GLav
Worcester, UK
 
The Bkool Turbo Trainer allows you to connect yourself to routes and riders from around the world. You can share your outdoor rides and indoor sessions with friends and also compete with other Bkool users.
 

Garmin Edge 800 compatibilty?

I use my Garmin edge 800 to train with. At the moment I only get speed and cadence data and I'm looking for a power output too without breaking the bank.
Does this turbo produce the power information that's compatible with the Garmin?
11 months ago
by
GLav
Worcester, UK
 
 Qubo Wireless Digital Trainer - Repaired
Qubo Wireless Digital Trainer - Repaired
An advanced wireless digital trainer that sets the standard for accuracy, function, style and ease of use.
 

Warranty

Does a manufacturers warranty still apply to this product?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
GLav
Worcester, UK
 
Qubo digital is an ANT encoded, electronically-adjusted magnetic roller controllable by the head unit using wireless management. Guaranteeing control and performance, it keeps every moment of your training monitored and follows you in your progress.
 

Garmin Edge 800 compatibilty

Does this trainer display power data on the Garmin Edge 800?
If so, is this then transferable to strava/garminconnect etc?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
GLav
Worcester, UK
 
GLav's Answers
 
GLav has not submitted any answers.