Keenbfb
Share Keenbfb's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Keenbfb's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    27 December 2012
  • Last Review
    20 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    26 November 2012
  • Last Question
    26 November 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    27 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    15 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Keenbfb's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A pair of wheels great for everyday riding and training on. The Excite use hubs which have a light-weight alloy casing and cone/bearing movement for long lasting, great reliability performance.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Broken spokes
Posted20 July 2014
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these as other reviewers said they were bomb proof, unfortunately I had 3 spokes go within two days when I was miles away from home with no other wheels available I had to take the wheel into a LBS for repair, they replaced the broken spokes and checked the tension on the rest of them. The next day another spoke broke fortunately this was the last day of my journey and I haven't used them since as I just don't trust them enough."
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Chain Cleaner is an active cleaner/degreaser suitable for the chain and drivetrain components. This degreaser is used by several professional teams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
My chain no longer black.
Posted15 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Never used anything to clean the chain before other than a rag a friend recommended this as he's never seen a degreaser that works as well as this. He was right only had to use the bare minimum to clean my chain which now sparkles as if it was new."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Park's chain whips hold the cassette/freewheel in place while you remove the lockring.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Exactly what what's needed.
Posted15 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had a cheap one that fell apart when needed so brought this one based upon the reviews. Used it a few times and can say it's true buy cheap buy twice. The handle is long enough to get plenty of grip which makes the job of changing the cassette much easier."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra-compact CO2 inflator for use with threaded cartridges. With an angled neck to reach obstructed valves and a head to fit both Presta and Schrader valve types, The LifeLine CO2 inflator is essential for on-the-go tube changes and puncture repair.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Small
Posted30 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Very very small and doesn't take up much room in the saddle bag."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
19 function multitool weighing a mere 175g (without tool flask).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ride with confidence
Posted30 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I wanted something that would sit in the saddle bag and do the job when called upon, it's a bit on the large and heavy side so weight conscious people had best avoid and just resort to using the credit card when you have a mechanical. For the rest of us this appears to be well made and easy to use, I've only had to use it the once so far and it did the required job no problem"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 1.6 litres to 2 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Almost larger than my pannier bag
Posted03 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Okay so it's not really as large as my pannier bag but it sure feels like it on my road bike, it's currently got 3 tubes 4 gas canisters and a gas pump, puncture repair outfit, multi tool spoke key spare chain links various cable ties, 2 tyre boots (old cut up tyre) rubber gloves and theres still plenty of room for the car keys phone and money without it been a tight fit. In short too large for the road bike but spot on for the mountian bike."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 105 5700 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
105 5700 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A 10 speed rear derailleur that features a medium cage (GS) and a super light shifting action.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
If I can do it
Posted15 March 2014
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I pride myself that I can tackle most jobs on the bike the car or around the house but the gears on my road bike always went to the LBS to be seen to.
Until now using a few YouTube videos gave me the confidence to give this a try, it went on the bike so easy one screw is all it took and wasn't that difficult to set up either.
I wanted to put a larger cassette on and my old derailleur simply wouldn't cope but this one I can confirm will allow me to have 11/32 on the rear a positive thing when it comes to this fat bloke and hills.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The 29er X King version (pronounced cross king) completely covers the gap between Race and Mountain King.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Make sure you have a decent pump with you.
Posted02 December 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After over 2,000 miles so far this year I've only had 2 punctures with the last one due to the fact I'd worn a hole in my tyre, with that in mind I decided I needed new tyres so chose these as they had decent reviews.
I couldn't have been more wrong in just 11 miles of my normal commuting route I had 3 punctures 2 on the rear and 1 on the front. I have no faith in these tyres and I'm looking for a replacement after only one days use."
Cons: Low Quality, lets the air out rather quickly.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Fi'zi:k MicroTex is super tough, stretch resistant and breathable. Best looking, most comfortable tape of it's kind.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It's a seat
Posted22 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Never had to buy a saddle before so chose this one on the reviews, I find it a bit to firm for my liking but it looks good and does the job of supporting my vast weight while on the bike."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Faction MTB/BMX Helmet
Faction MTB/BMX Helmet
The Bell Faction sets a new standard in skate-inspired helmets with superior style fit and comfort. As ridden by a whole host of BMX and Skate Super Heroes, the Faction is perfect for street, dirt, or riding ramps.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the Job
Posted17 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keenbfb
fromNewcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Feels a little bulky after years of wearing the traditional helmets"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Keenbfb's Questions
 
The Shimano WH-R501 Clincher Rear Wheel is a great value rear clincher wheel, with a 30mm rim profile and Shimano angular contact bearings. This wheel also has a wear indicator allowing for safe detection of a worn rim.
 

Tyre width

What's the maximum tyre width for these wheels?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Keenbfb
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
 
Keenbfb's Answers
 
 105 5700 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
105 5700 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A 10 speed rear derailleur that features a medium cage (GS) and a super light shifting action.
 

Hi I have a 9 speed boardman with the 105 rear derailleur fitted. I need to replace the unit will the 10 speed be ok. If not what can I fit

I don't see why not I've just put this on my 9 speed set up and it was fine and such a simple thing to do.
5 months ago
by
Keenbfb
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
The best selling Ultraflate Plus uses trigger controlled technology for fast, easy, single handed CO2 inflation.
 

Are C02 pumps a single use product? i.e. does the cartridge need to be replaced after every use?

Innovations Ultraflate Plus Pump
Depends if you use all the gas in the cartridge in a single go, if there is gas left inside after use you can lock the unit using the tab on the side to stop further gas escaping when you pack it away.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Keenbfb
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
The best selling Ultraflate Plus uses trigger controlled technology for fast, easy, single handed CO2 inflation.
 

Is a cartridge included

Yes there is a single cartridge included with this, but it's single use so you'd sensible to buy a box of replacements at the same time as you purchase this.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Keenbfb
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
The best selling Ultraflate Plus uses trigger controlled technology for fast, easy, single handed CO2 inflation.
 

what type of inner tube valves does it fit

It works with both Presta and Schrader tubes
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Keenbfb
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK