ccowley
Share ccowley's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
ccowley's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    26 July 2012
  • Last Review
    11 August 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    17 November 2014
  • Last Question
    25 November 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    26 July 2012
  • Last Answer
    26 July 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
ccowley's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
A compact, 15L rucksack for riding the trails or commuting with a modest amount of gear. The dhb Slice 15L Rucksack has a slim design for a compact, nonrestrictive feel and high-vis finish for enhanced visibility in low lighting conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Pretty good for the price
Posted11 August 2017
" Bought this for commuting and was easily able to fit my clothes, shoes and my lunch - plus a few essentials for the bike (tube, multi-tool etc). Build quality is pretty good, my only reservation is that the clips across the chest seem a bit cheap.
For riding with though it is excellent. I almost forgot it was there and it did not block my visibility when looking behind you.
Sadly, it does not survive sliding down the road on your back at 50km/h, so I have just ordered another one. "
Pros: Adjustable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice and warm, as water proof as one can expect
Posted17 March 2016
" Keeps my hands warm down below freezing. In driving rain at 0-1C for an hour they gave up and my hands pretty much stopped moving.
They are pretty bulky, but less so than some other comparable gloves.
They lose a star because of quality control issues. Mine were missing a couple of stitches on the left hand. It wasn't in a high stress place and I could not be bothered to send them back for an exchange (I'm sure Wiggle would not have quibbled), so 2 mins with a needle and thread solved the problem.
You could easily spend a lot more and get less. "
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Reflective Buff®
dhb Reflective Buff®
Help to improve your visibility with this genuine dhb reflective Buff®.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keeps the wind off, but not perfect
Posted12 January 2016
" SImple, works as advertised and the reflective strips are a great idea on paper. Put it just on the neck in autumn, the in Winter it can go all the way under my helmet to protect your ears. However, on mine the reflective strips came off very quickly, in fact the turned brown after the first wash - almost like the washing machine had burnt them (at 35C, I think not). If it were not for that, it would be 5 stars. "
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Quick release link for Shimano, KMC, and SRAM chains. Easy to fit and great for emergency use when out on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Links 9 speed chains
Posted8 January 2016
" Does exactly what it says on the tin. I carry one on the bike all the time and it has got me out of a fix more than once. "
Pros: works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Hexus II 16 Function Multi Tool
Topeak Hexus II 16 Function Multi Tool
An award winning multi-tool featuring 16 pro-quality, hardened steel tools that fold into an ergonomic composite body.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
EVerything I need and nothing I don't
Posted8 January 2016
" Nice and small, but contains every tool to realistically get you home. I even had to test the chain tool the other day and it worked faultlessly - better than my old workshop one. Also the tyre levers work fine, although I tend to just use my hands. "
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant
Posted8 January 2016
" Really comfortable, nice and warm, but not too hot. For me the chamois is very well shaped, although obviously that is personal. One regret? Not to have bought them before "
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Only regret is not to have bought it earlier
Posted28 December 2015
" Bought mine on black friday and it arrived (in France) the Tuesday, so chappeau to Wiggle for amazing service. I'm 5'5 and weigh 63kg (post-Christmas) and went for a small, which fits beautifully. Nice and tight, but not at all restrictive. There is certainly nothing flapping in the wind, which I am convinced has got me an extra 2-3km/h. As for quality, it seems really good, but time will tell.
I have been wearing it down to 3C with a long-sleeve base-layer and Roubaix bib tights and if anything was too hot. Above 10C I lose the base layer and its fine.
My only critism is that the blue is more turquoise. Nice colour, but my bike is black/white/blue, so it does not match quite as well as I had hoped. "
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Rubino Pro Folding Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Rubino Pro Folding Clincher Tyre
The popular all-rounder Rubino Pro has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust and have a 150 TPI nylon casing, & a technical tread pattern + a long life tread compound.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome
Posted11 May 2015
" I put this on to replace Michelin Lithium 2s. These roll much better and the grip is excellent - I've been taking corners flat out that I was previously braking for. My bike actually came with Vittoria Zaffiros and if these are half as sturdy as they were, then I will be happy - so far they seem even sturdier. I have already done the number of kms that wiped out the rear Lithium2 and it still looks good as new.
Finally: in blue it looks great with black/blue of my frame.
TLDR: Brilliant tyre! I will not be buying anything else. "
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
What Mountain Bike's Gold Award winner, Green Oil wet chain lube is suitable for all riding conditions, whether riding over rocks, or just to the shops. Destroy limits, not nature!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent and I feel good about myself too
Posted7 February 2015
" Eco friendly lube that works really well and also seems to hold up to rainy Brittany too. Will be sticking with this. "
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Active Cycle Short
dhb Active Cycle Short
A comfortable, anatomical fitting Cycle Short with a single density thermoformed pad which is suited to shorter ride lengths of 1-2 hours for cycling beginners.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
For the price they work great
Posted27 November 2014
" They are cheap and they do exactly what they should. No rubbing, look good and are well made. "
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ccowley's Questions
 
Replacement freehub body for the Shimano R501 rear hub.
 

Is this the complete unit Y4SK98070

Does it include:

- Y3BL03000 : Body Fixing Bolt
- Y3CR08000 : Right Hand Seal Ring
- Y4SK98080 : Freewheel Body Unit
- Y3AN10000 : Freewheel Body Washer
2 years, 9 months ago
by
ccowley
 
 dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
A compact, 15L rucksack for riding the trails or commuting with a modest amount of gear. The dhb Slice 15L Rucksack has a slim design for a compact, nonrestrictive feel and high-vis finish for enhanced visibility in low lighting conditions.
 

Will this take a 15" laptop?

I know there is now divider, but will it take one at a push?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
ccowley
 
ccowley's Answers
 
 dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

Any recomended cleats for this shoe

Has anyone added cleats to this shoe I will be using these for both road and MTB and would like to use cleats and spd pedals for road but not off road, if some one does the same please recomend both cleats and pedals

Thanks
I use Wellgo CL-98A Pedal Cleats and they work perfectly
6 years, 1 month ago
by
ccowley