wjputt
Share wjputt's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
wjputt's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    06 March 2014
  • Last Review
    14 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    13 May 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    13 May 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    27 October 2013
  • Last Question
    27 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    13 May 2014
  • Last Answer
    14 May 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
wjputt's Reviews
 
Insulation, comfort, and neoprene on your head - what more could you ask for? The 3mm Yamamoto neoprene maximizes warmth and comfort with a flexible central panel to enhance fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Glad I got this...
Posted14 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
wjputt
fromNantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was uncertain about the need for one of these but I am so pleased that I made the purchase.
I have got some standard swim caps that I use in the pool but this is great for outdoor swimming or it is for me.
I am new to open water swimming and I have used this cap twice - it has made a difference I am sure.
I think that I was on the large size of medium but I went for the large - so definitely the right decision there.
It may not make you look good but it will keep your head warm - an important consideration when open water swimming. In fact when I went for my first open water swim a couple of more experienced looking open water swimmers commented on my good judgement in donning one of these.
It does not have a strap that needs to be attached by velcro or similar just a continuous strap for under the chin and this works. It stays securely in place and with goggles over the top - and mine fit fine - there is no way that it will fall off."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for my needs
Posted13 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
wjputt
fromNantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"I am new to swimming & the one thing that I noticed when I was swimming more frequently was that I found it very difficult to keep track of my lengths [or laps as they are also called]. I already owned a Garmin Edge 800 that I used for cycling and running. Budget meant that I could not go for a multi-sport watch as did possession of the Edge 800 so I went for the Garmin Swim instead. I also wanted a watch that could tell the time and that looked sporty - the Garmin Swim fits the bill.
I scoured the web and I read as many reviews as possible. The two minor issues were reported were misting in the watch [I have never experienced this with my watch] and miscounting of laps [this happens but it is not the watch's fault].
The watch is excellent in every respect.
Quality: The GS is very well built and the finish is excellent.
Value: I availed myself of Wiggle's excellent price promise deal so I have a quality product at a very competitive price.
Performance: This is where the watch comes in to its own. First of all it works as a watch and it has a stopwatch and alarm function. It has a swim function that is superb given that it can work out your stroke, the number of strokes you use per length [lap], what your SWOLF is which is a combined length [lap] and stroke count - lower is better. It can detect if you are doing intervals and it records the time you are swimming as opposed to the total time elapsed. If you do drills it enables you to time these and log the distance although when in Drill mode it does not log the stroke type. It has not misted up. It uses something called an accelerometer to count lengths [laps] and this works really well. You need to give a good push off when you come off the side for the next length. It has miscounted on a couple of occasions but that is usually down to an additional sudden movement [e.g. avoiding another swimmer or moving to another lane] so really it is no big deal so don't let that worry you. It logs your overall total distance and time when swimming using the watch & each individual session. The session information gives you the following: elapsed time, swimming time, distance swam, lengths [laps] swam, time per 100 metres, number of strokes, the SWOLF [see above], strokes per minute, calories and a breakdown of the different intervals [this provides the time for intervals]. When doing lengths at speed [well relatively speaking for me] it is easy to see how fast it has taken you to swim 100 metres or 200 metres etc.. It provides you with a swimming total for the week when it is in normal watch mode. It uploads seamlessly to Garmin Connect & Strava [it comes with an Ant+ device].
Appearance: It looks elegant and sporty and it is not too big. It also powers down if you or it are motionless and the display kicks back in with any movement - cool I like that a lot!
Additional: I have used it on two open water swims in Drill mode as this gives you the time and you add the distance.
All in all an excellent product!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit, cool
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Now you can use your Forerunner for multisport training, go from wrist to bike in seconds. Kit includes quick release bracket, wrist strap, 2 bike mounts, 2 extra pins and 2 screwdriver.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Forerunner 910XT Quick Release Kit
Posted06 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
wjputt
fromNantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I was toying with the idea of getting a multi-sport watch. I already own a Garmin Edge 800 that I have used for cycling and running. For cycling it is obviously fitted to the bike and for running I used to put it in an arm iPhone carrier. In terns of GPS etc this worked really well but viewing it while running was nigh on impossible without stopping. I looked for another solution and I found the Forerunner 910XT Quick Release Kit. It has a standard fitting that works with the Edge 800 so I bought it. I have used it to very good effect whilst running and it has come in really self when using a static, spin bike at the local gym. It is possible to upload a static activity to Strava directly form the Edge and view the HRM data as well. All in all a really useful piece of kit if not used for what it is labelled for. Just one more note. The Edge is light and even when running despite its size it is not cumbersome in anyway. To avoid slipping I place it over a sleeve and in the summer I'd probably wear a wrist sweat band underneath it."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
wjputt's Questions
 
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 

What is the padding like?

I've got some but tights that I wear over my bib shorts in cold weather. They have no padding and they work really well. I am after something similar to what I have and I am put off by too much padding.
11 months ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
wjputt's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Insulation, comfort, and neoprene on your head - what more could you ask for? The 3mm Yamamoto neoprene maximizes warmth and comfort with a flexible central panel to enhance fit.
 

what size does small fit and what size does large fit?

Click on the size guide just to the right of the option for size drop down menu. I had to measure my head & found a website that recommended that one does it three times to get a more accurate size. I did this and I was at the top of medium. I read some of the reviews and Q & As and I went for the large and this is fine for me.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Can the watch be used as a stop watch also with lap times

There is a stopwatch but if you are doing intervals you can pause the watch and look at times later either on the watch or via Garmin Connect.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

does it have HRM?

No there is no HRM. I understand that this is because the HRM device that one straps to one's chest is not waterproof. But the Garmin Swim does not have a HRM link up.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Do you get individual lap information?

I've a poolmate pro which only gives an average. So if I swim 100 lengths I can't see how fast I did the 23rd length for example. I was thinking of getting the garmin if I could look at individual laps to see how fast I did each length.
If you do intervals the watch will give you loads of data as well. I do a swim on a Thursday and there is a programme to follow if you pause the watch at intervals it will give you and retain the interval data.

If you upload to Garmin Connect then yes you do. You get a great deal of data.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

lap counts

I want to measure my distance but I dont tumble/flip turn, and i dont push particularly hard off the wall. To measure laps and distance can i press/tap a button on the watch at each lap instead of using the automatic feature?
You don't need to do a tumble turn or a huge push off necessarily just a push off - there is no button to indicate a lap turn. It is fine believe me.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Can I upload swims to strava with this watch?

I can upload swims manually to strava, but it is a pain. Can I upload this straight to strava like I do with my forerunner and edge?
Yes it is possible to upload to Strava. To get a more detailed analysis you probably need to upload to Garmin Connect. I do both and that works well for me.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Is Menu of Garmin Swim in polish language

My question is about Garmin Swim Watch, which I want to buy in wiggle shop
Yes there is a Polish language option.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Does it have an alarm that goes off after you've done a certain amount of laps?

No but it has an alarm that works. I am going to use it next time in the pool so that I know when I need to get out. That is I will plan to swim for 45 minutes, set the alarm for a time 45 minutes hence and then stop swimming when the alarm sounds. I hope that it won't alarm other swimmers!
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

does it count calaroies

It does have a calorie count. You have to enter your weight for this.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK
 
Now you can use your Forerunner for multisport training, go from wrist to bike in seconds. Kit includes quick release bracket, wrist strap, 2 bike mounts, 2 extra pins and 2 screwdriver.
 

Will this work with my Garmin Edge 705?

It works fine with my Garmin Edge 800. It's a bayonet type fitting. I use the strap and the Edge for running.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
wjputt
Nantwich, Cheshire East CW5, UK