clarkyx
Share clarkyx's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
clarkyx's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    28 December 2012
  • Last Review
    29 June 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    30 April 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    06 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
clarkyx's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Exposure Spark Mk3 Front Light can be used with disposable or rechargeable CR123 batteries whilst still benefiting from the Mode and Fuel Gauge Button. Comes supplied with CR123 charger, QR mount, and lanyard.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Didn't suit my particular needs
Posted29 June 2015
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I was looking for a lightweight helmet light for unlit paths. I already have a cateye volt 300 on the handlebars but it's too heavy for the lid and the Velcro strap too loose. I had temporarily cable tied a 220 lm head torch to my lid but it wasn't a good fit. The light of the spark is a decent output comparable to the head torch but the beam was too narrow, only just lighting a shared bike and pedestrian path and not the grass verges. I would have needed 2 of them for a wider beam and more power and despite the current bargain price the price of 2 spark plus 2 helmet mounts which are not included meant that it was very close to joystick money but not as powerful and quite a bit heavier. So I returned them and am getting a joystick mk9
But if you know 220 lm and a narrow ish beam is what you want and need you can't go wrong with exposure products and customer service. The manufacturer are great to deal with, even from Australia."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Quickly removes the toughest of grime from all drivetrain areas including chain, front and rear mechs as well as the cassette.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
I prefer Morgan Blue
Posted14 June 2015
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Don't get me wrong, this does the job, I just find that it doesn't cut through grease as fast as Morgan Blue. I use White Lightening Clean Ride as my chain lube on my road bike for daily commuting and have been using Morgan Blue all the time, I thought I would try something else, but I won't get this again, I'll go back to Morgan as it just makes stripping old while lightening (a dry waxy lube) off the chain and cassette so fast."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Durano Double Defense (DD) folding tyre has the same looks and profile as the Durano - RaceGaurd protection belt and tread pattern, but also features an effective fabric protector on the sidewalls for added puncture resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So far so good
Posted14 June 2015
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Previously I had 2 sets of Ultremo ZX race guard on my road bike and only had one puncture and that was because the rubber had blistered off the rear tire in 3 patches, no idea what difference that makes to the race guard protective strip though. I live in Melbourne and commute down the Yarra Boulevard which is currently being vandalised with carpet tacks and people are getting punctures all the time. I have switched to the Durano DD partly for the increased sidewall protection and partly for the extra width and thickness of the rubber and for durability of daily commuting and winter riding. I've not had them long but have had one puncture from a carpet tack. I run the road racer 2 mudguards and I heard something get stuck, flipped the bike upside down and there was a carpet tack stuck in one of the joins in the plastic of the mudguard, the tire hadn't gone down so I rode the rest of the way home (14km) fine. The next day I got on the bike and the rear was flat. There was a tiny hole in the tube and a tri star nick in the tire like a Mercedes badge, definitely a carpet tack. Apart from that I've been fine. I found them hard to fit initially, but when I changed the flat it was easier, I think due to the rubber stretching a bit and partly my improved technique."
Pros: Durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A waterproof and lightweight shoe cover ideal for use on wet and windy days. Compatible with most types of pedal systems.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Far too big around the ankle at the top
Posted14 June 2015
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"While the fabric may well be waterproof the width around the top of the ankle was just far too big and water would have poured down my leg straight into my shoes. I opted for the gore wind stopper road shoe in the end which has a much smaller ankle and fits me perfectly. Twice the price though."
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A technical first layer for light insulation. The dhb Active Long Sleeve Zip Neck Base Layer has a wicking construction and odour-resistant polygiene treatment.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
No stretch and a bit loose but very cheap
Posted23 May 2015
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I was a little disappointed with this I must admit but that's because my favourite base layer is a Polaris Air Base which I've had for many years. The airbase is a very stretchy product, incredibly soft and warm but it is old so has no odour fighting properties and stinks after just one hr ride. I paid about £30 for that many years ago, so the dhb was dirt cheap. What the dhb lacks is really any stretch at all, I'm slim athletic build and the sleeves are not skin tight, I tend to wear this with a short sleeve cycling jersey over the top so there is a bit of bagging at the sleeve. It does however stay fresh as I've not noticed any odour from it after commuting for 2 days (4hrs), maybe that's to do with the fact the fabric is almost like a fine mesh, when you hold it up you can see through it. I wouldn't buy another one though, I'd spend a bit more money and get something tighter, stretchier and with some odour/bacteria control this time."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Comfort and great fit are guaranteed with the Chasseur De Cols bib shorts. The combination of a quality seatpad, high performance fabrics and superb fit through the use of lightweight mesh straps and printed gripper elastic makes these shorts unbeatable
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very padded and very luxury feel
Posted23 May 2015
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have two sets of Morvelo kit, the chasseur de cols bib shorts and short sleeve jersey and the Rip'R bib and jersey. I love them both. The sizing is very good, I am 6' tall about 11st 3lb and a 31" waist and the medium is perfect so is the medium jersey. The pad in these is very thick and I have gotten used to it on the Rip'R which I bought first. I use them with chamois cream, the first couple of minutes of the ride the dimples in the pad feel a bit strange but then I forget all about it. I have other shorts, a craft pair which I find too thin and too baggy round the crotch and a Castelli pair which are the wrong size, I should have gone for Large in Castelli. I would definitely get other Morvelo kit as I like the designs and the fit and comfort is professional level."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Protective overshoes with a Windstopper Softshell construction for complete windproofing and water resistance. A rear zip and hook and loop closure provides a close, secure fit and reflective trim helps keep you visible on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good wind and spray protection
Posted23 May 2015
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"So far I have ridden these in 12-14 degrees with thermal winter socks and shorts and my feet were damp with sweat and I've ridden them in 7-8 degrees with normal socks and they were better. I've not ridden them in heavy rain yet but have ridden in light drizzle and it did run down my legs and into the tops of my socks but not past the ankle. I also rode in some heavier drizzle / light but persistent rain for about 5km enough for me to stop and get my waterproof jacket on and the again in shorts and the rain did not get down the top this time, maybe I did the velcro up a bit tighter. You have to be careful to fold the fabric over the outside when tightening the velcro as the 1st time I didn't look and the fold was on the inside and it rubbed a little. They don't seem to have much DWR though as water doesn't bead off mine and as I have no front mud guard at the moment they got covered in black road grime which seems to soak into the soft fabric. It looks like these are going to need washing every week. I had to soak them in vanish and washing powder all morning to get it out, but they've not been through the machine yet. Could do with a bit more silver reflective writing on the front, only the windstopper logo on the side is silver, the Gore logo on the front is black"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Sugoi Zap Cycling Cap
Sugoi Zap Cycling Cap
The Zap cycling cap from Sugoi offers great reflectivity in low light situations and excellent comfort thanks to the 6 panel design. Ideal for wearing under your helmet on low light/night time excursions on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fail - peak doesn't stay up, wrong shape
Posted30 March 2015
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"It can't be my head, I bought a Rapha thrivor one and it fits perfect, well, bit tight. And I have a gore eclipse, the activeshell waterproof one and the peak stays up on that too."
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Whether you're just starting out or training at elite level, use Wiggle Energy Drinks to maintain energy levels and stay hydrated during exercise. Available in a choice of two great tasting flavours, blackcurrant and orange.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Tastes just like diluted orange juice
Posted06 December 2014
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've had better tasting energy drinks. It's pretty sweet. Not really my cup of tea but then it is just a sugary drink. Don't think I'll bother next time. I prefer a light pineapple flavour really. I got the Orange because I wanted to mix with some lemon BCAA and creatine and didn't think it would go with the blackcurrant. I also got it to qualify for free delivery."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Stylish upgrade of the top selling Mini, same great features as the Mini DX with a built-in gauge for perfect inflation every time. Ideal for road or mtb's, capable of inflating upto 120psi.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gets to about 90 psi OK
Posted06 December 2014
clarkyx
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used to use this as my main pump until I got a track pump and it used to get to 90 psi on a Presta valve 700c 23 road tyre. I now just keep it in my rucksack or jersey pocket. It's a bit bulky compared to some other mini pumps but at least it has a gauge. I never had any problem with the body fixing straight to the valve but if I were to buy another pump now I would probably buy one with a short hose to protect the valve against any force damage and get a slightly thinner one but that's partly because I now use a track pump at home and this is just a puncture repair back up."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive, Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
clarkyx's Questions
 
Protective overshoes with a Windstopper Softshell construction for complete windproofing and water resistance. A rear zip and hook and loop closure provides a close, secure fit and reflective trim helps keep you visible on the roads.
 

Ankle circumference

Hi. Can anyone who has a size 45-47 of these please let me know what the ankle circumference is. My ankle , without socks or tights is 21.5cm around. I have heard that when laid flat they are 9cm across on the inside which would make them 18cm circumference which is very small as I have skinny legs anyway.
4 months ago
by
clarkyx
Melbourne VIC, Australia
 
clarkyx's Answers
 
Whether you're just starting out or training at elite level, use Wiggle Energy Drinks to maintain energy levels and stay hydrated during exercise. Available in a choice of two great tasting flavours, blackcurrant and orange.
 

Gluten/Wheat/Lactose?

Hi there,

Just wondering if the new wiggle nutrition products are certified Gluten free? and Lactose free?

Many thanks
No it's not. Says may contain. I am lactose intol though and have used it twice a day for a week and been ok.
8 months ago
by
clarkyx
Melbourne VIC, Australia
 
 Performance Bike Tour Bib Shorts
Performance Bike Tour Bib Shorts
Soft and flexible cycling shorts with a comfort focused feature set for high mileage rides. Performances bike tour shorts feature Body Control compression fabrics, taped raw cuffs and a Performance pad, perfect for long, scenic summer routes.
 

167cm (5'7"); 38-39" Chest (96-99cm) and 73-75 kg - Correct size is?

I would like to know correct size (not in the position to try them prior or the additional costs for return). Are these a comfort, slim or relax fit and will these accommodate small changes in weight and chest growth.
I am a 32 waist 41 chest 6 foot 11 stone slim athletic build and while the craft size chart says small for 32 waist, they were too small so I bought these in medium which I am pretty much always a medium and they fit fine. Chest wise the straps want to go over my nipples but as I lean forward on the bike they fit comfortably around the outside of my chest and nipples. They will stretch fine for a little extra change in weight, I don't know how much bulk you are thinking of putting on. You can always return wiggle items free of charge using the click and collect+ service at any premier convenience store and anywhere else that facilitate click collect +. I would recommend these.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
clarkyx
Northamptonshire, UK
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Road or MTB shoes?

I want these pedals for cyclocross because they're dual-sided and you need to be able to get clipped back in quick. Loads of people are saying that road shoes fit them, but MTB shoes are easier to walk (and presumably run) in because cleats are recessed. However, would it actually be more useful in cyclocross to use the cleats like football studs, for better grip on mud and uphill? After considering pros and cons of each, what would you recommend?
Don't use the cleats for grip. 1. They will be the only stud on the bottom rather than several spread across the sole and 2. They will wear out really quickly on stones and rocks and will be slippery.

Get MTB shoes if you need to walk or run in them as the recessed cleats will be more comfortable and the extra rubber studs will give you better grip and you will save money by not having to buy new cleats every few weeks.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
clarkyx
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

i have a pair of Shimano SH-MT21 shoes. are they compatible with these pedals?

The pedals come with Shimano black cleats. If you need silver cleats for your shoe fitting then you can buy them separately. The black cleats fit my shimano MTB shoes which have 2 slots in the sole.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
clarkyx
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Are these pedals compatible with Shimano MT42 SPD Shoes?

So long as the shoes have 2 slotted holes in the bottom the cleats come with the pedals. There are 2 types of cleat fitting which you can look up on the Shimano web site. These pedals come with black cleats which fit into the 2 slot shoes. If you need to you can buy the silver cleats separately.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
clarkyx
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Are these compatible with the Diadora Cosma MTB shoes?

So long as you have 2 slots in the bottom of the shoe, the cleats should come with the pedals and you can slide the cleats forward and back in the shoe to get the best fit.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
clarkyx
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Will the PD-M520 pedals fit my Men's Ridgeback Rapide Speed Hybrid Bike?

I am new to clipless pedals and have bought 2 sets of Shimano pedals - PD-R540 SPD SL and PD-M520 for my Ridgeback Rapide Hybrid (Mens).
Which model (if either) is the better option for this bike?

I have also bought some dhb R1.0 Road Cycling Shoes and am assuming that both sets of pedals are compatible with these. Is this correct?

Any guidance appreciated
I went for the M520 pedal on recommendation from a friend. I have a hard tail with street tyres and only ride on road, but went for MTB shoes in case I ever need to walk in them. ( My mate commutes on bike and train) and the double sided MTB pedals over road pedals because they are easy to get into whichever way up they are.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
clarkyx