clarkyx
Share clarkyx's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
clarkyx's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    28 December 2012
  • Last Review
    25 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    22 June 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
clarkyx's Reviews
 
An all-Italian road helmet made with Kask's signature styling and workmanship. The Mojito offers the superb Up & Down fitting system and unique synthetic leather chin strap for absolute comfort out on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very good and comfortable
Posted25 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
clarkyx
fromNorthamptonshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Wanted a Kask due to good reviews about fit and comfort particularly about the leatherette chin strap. My only slight concern is about the cradle at the base of the back of the skull, it feels like it could be a bit softer to contour different shape skulls better. I am hoping it won't be a problem on longer rides. The only reason I feel this way is because the Bell helmet that I used on a recent forest segway experience cradled the back of my skull very comfortably, but that may just have been down to it being worn in and the Kask being brand new. Only time will tell. Apart from that weight and ventilation are great and the ease of fit is good too, the face straps didn't need any adjusting round my ears, all I had to do was adjust the chin strap length and I was away."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Performance Bike Tour Bib Shorts
Performance Bike Tour Bib Shorts
Soft and flexible cycling shorts with a comfort focused feature set for high mileage rides. Performances bike tour shorts feature Body Control compression fabrics, taped raw cuffs and a Performance pad, perfect for long, scenic summer routes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very good and comfortable
Posted22 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
clarkyx
fromNorthamptonshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Only done one 10 mile ride in these and never had bib shorts before but very happy with them. Pad is very comfortable and well positioned. I can only compare them with the craft Elite bib short which I ordered in a small as I am a 32 waist but they were too small and they didn't have a medium so I exchanged for these. The difference in the pad is that the elite pad didn't have the 4mm comfort zone and for me personally, I liked that pad as it was still 10mm in the seat area but didn't come down the inner thigh as far. The pad in these shorts does have that 4mm extension which for me personally I don't see a significant benefit. Craft size chart said 32 waist was small, but the small was too small so I got the medium. I am a medium in everything else and these fit fine."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal entry level pedal
Posted28 December 2012
clarkyx
"This is my first SPD pedal. My only other clipless pedals were Time Atac. The problem with the time is that the spring tension was not adjustable so they start off really stiff and I fell off the bike several times due to not getting the cleats out easily enough. The SPD however are adjustable tension so I set them on the lowest setting and I still feel tightly clipped to the bike but now I can unclip really easily and still clip in easy. They are so good. I am really pleased with them."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
It wasn't long after the original Aireator were introduced before athletes were calling for a shorter version. Speede answered the call with a 1" StayFast cuff.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just the job
Posted28 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
clarkyx
"I wanted some low cuff socks that were a good fit and comfortable. My shimano shoes are size 45 and these socks fit and feel great and are nice and cool in warmer weather. I have endura merino socks for cooler rides."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
clarkyx's Questions
 
clarkyx has not submitted any questions.
 
clarkyx's Answers
 
 Performance Bike Tour Bib Shorts
Performance Bike Tour Bib Shorts
Soft and flexible cycling shorts with a comfort focused feature set for high mileage rides. Performances bike tour shorts feature Body Control compression fabrics, taped raw cuffs and a Performance pad, perfect for long, scenic summer routes.
 

167cm (5'7"); 38-39" Chest (96-99cm) and 73-75 kg - Correct size is?

I would like to know correct size (not in the position to try them prior or the additional costs for return). Are these a comfort, slim or relax fit and will these accommodate small changes in weight and chest growth.
I am a 32 waist 41 chest 6 foot 11 stone slim athletic build and while the craft size chart says small for 32 waist, they were too small so I bought these in medium which I am pretty much always a medium and they fit fine. Chest wise the straps want to go over my nipples but as I lean forward on the bike they fit comfortably around the outside of my chest and nipples. They will stretch fine for a little extra change in weight, I don't know how much bulk you are thinking of putting on. You can always return wiggle items free of charge using the click and collect+ service at any premier convenience store and anywhere else that facilitate click collect +. I would recommend these.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
clarkyx
Northamptonshire, UK
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Road or MTB shoes?

I want these pedals for cyclocross because they're dual-sided and you need to be able to get clipped back in quick. Loads of people are saying that road shoes fit them, but MTB shoes are easier to walk (and presumably run) in because cleats are recessed. However, would it actually be more useful in cyclocross to use the cleats like football studs, for better grip on mud and uphill? After considering pros and cons of each, what would you recommend?
Don't use the cleats for grip. 1. They will be the only stud on the bottom rather than several spread across the sole and 2. They will wear out really quickly on stones and rocks and will be slippery.

Get MTB shoes if you need to walk or run in them as the recessed cleats will be more comfortable and the extra rubber studs will give you better grip and you will save money by not having to buy new cleats every few weeks.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
clarkyx
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

i have a pair of Shimano SH-MT21 shoes. are they compatible with these pedals?

The pedals come with Shimano black cleats. If you need silver cleats for your shoe fitting then you can buy them separately. The black cleats fit my shimano MTB shoes which have 2 slots in the sole.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
clarkyx
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Are these pedals compatible with Shimano MT42 SPD Shoes?

So long as the shoes have 2 slotted holes in the bottom the cleats come with the pedals. There are 2 types of cleat fitting which you can look up on the Shimano web site. These pedals come with black cleats which fit into the 2 slot shoes. If you need to you can buy the silver cleats separately.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
clarkyx
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Are these compatible with the Diadora Cosma MTB shoes?

So long as you have 2 slots in the bottom of the shoe, the cleats should come with the pedals and you can slide the cleats forward and back in the shoe to get the best fit.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
clarkyx
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Will the PD-M520 pedals fit my Men's Ridgeback Rapide Speed Hybrid Bike?

I am new to clipless pedals and have bought 2 sets of Shimano pedals - PD-R540 SPD SL and PD-M520 for my Ridgeback Rapide Hybrid (Mens).
Which model (if either) is the better option for this bike?

I have also bought some dhb R1.0 Road Cycling Shoes and am assuming that both sets of pedals are compatible with these. Is this correct?

Any guidance appreciated
I went for the M520 pedal on recommendation from a friend. I have a hard tail with street tyres and only ride on road, but went for MTB shoes in case I ever need to walk in them. ( My mate commutes on bike and train) and the double sided MTB pedals over road pedals because they are easy to get into whichever way up they are.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
clarkyx