ballypete
Top 25 Contributor
Share ballypete's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
ballypete's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    56
  • Helpfulness Votes
    127
  • First Review
    31 August 2012
  • Last Review
    08 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    10
  • First Review Comment
    14 September 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    13 November 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    18 November 2012
  • Last Question
    28 February 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    44
  • Helpfulness Votes
    68
  • First Answer
    14 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    21 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    21
 
 
ballypete's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
 dhb iON Helmet and Women's Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb iON Helmet and Women's Triple Lens Sunglasses
Keep riding all year round with this excellent value dhb riding essentials set. Features the versatile iON Helmet, which is suitable for both road and MTB use, and the women's specific triple lens performance sunglasses.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great style and value
Posted08 July 2014
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this combo for my better half as her old helmet needed replacing. Taking it out of the box she was impressed about the quality of the design and finish and how light it was compared to the old one.
Putting it on she found it comfortable and easy to adjust with one hand using the adjuster dial at the back. she has quite a small head and the medium size fitted fine. the padding in the webbing does its job and it doesn't feel uncomfortable to wear for extended periods. The visor snaps on and off easily and appears sturdy enough to do regularly without causing damage.
The sunglasses are light enough for it to feel like she is not wearing anything, and they fit her face perfectly without sliding down the bridge of the nose. in relation to the lenses and nose piece she loves the colour coordination!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A fully-featured woman's sports shoe ideal for weekend racing and recreational use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great entry level shoes
Posted01 July 2014
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these for my wife as she has been cycling on platform pedals with running trainers-it was about time to upgrade her to a better experience.
She absolutely loves the shoes as they look great and are easy to adjust. the power transfer due to the rigid sole was a real surprise to her and she didn't believe just how much of a difference it would make.
Finally, got them at a bargain wiggle price as usual."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Estremo Winter Cycling Gloves
Castelli Estremo Winter Cycling Gloves
Designed for the coldest cycling conditions. The Estremo Glove is constructed from a Windstopper® X-Fast fabric combined with a fleecy material on the palm, covered with silicone texture for grip and durability. Essential for deep winter training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perform as advertised
Posted21 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Firstly, as expected from Castelli the gloves are well made from quality materials. Style wise, they look the business with the scorpion logo subtly embossed onto the side and also on the palm.
The Windstopper fabric on the upper hand does a great job of deflecting the wind and the fleece liner feels comfortable and keeps the fingers warm. The Silicone print on the palm gives good grip and the padding is well placed for riding on the bar or hoods.
The neoprene cuff has a velcro closure which is strong and seals everything nicely to your arm with no gaps. My hands were kept warm and didn’t feel sweaty at all wearing them, so good moisture wicking. The gloves are pre-curved during construction so although they look bulky they don’t feel like it, and there is still good tactile control of levers, zips, Garmin etc.
Have used in both sub-zero temps and rain and equally impressed with both as they performed as advertised. Will pair these with Estremo overshoes whenever I think it is too cold for my Diluvio set."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Pure protection for sub-zero temperatures, driving rain and Arctic winds. The Estremo overshoe features a rubber textured surface for weatherproofing, warmth and durability - seal out the elements and keep numbness at bay on long winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Your turbo trainer won't like it
Posted20 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I paired Diluvio gloves and overshoes with a Sanremo Thermosuit last winter, and but found that the cold got in to my fingers and toes at around 0 degrees after prolonged riding. I bought a pair of Estremo overshoes and gloves as they are advertised to perform at extremes of temperature.
They are well made of high quality materials as you would expect from Castelli, and go on easily enough as long as you are patient. The zips are strong, operate smoothly and do not slip back down. They also feel comfortable on and the upper portion fits against the calf snugly with no gaps.
Now for looks- normally there is a style about Castelli that the others just cannot match, however these things are ugly with a capital U. When I look at them on my feet with the red soles and white fabric round the toes I imagine that this is how it would look if I ever trod in a Victoria sponge/gateau.
But it is not all about looks and functionality counts too. I have been out several times now at either 0 or -1 degrees C and I have to say i am impressed. No cold penetration at all. Pair these with the gloves and there will be no need to go near the garage this winter, but watch out- your turbo trainer won't like it"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: look like you have trodden on a gateau
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Topeak quality at a great price! Padded elastomer grip and TwinHead connector make this efficient pump comfortable and easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent product for the price.
Posted26 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The pump is sturdy, does not rock around on the base when operating, feels and looks like it is made of quality materials. The hose is long enough to inflate tyres when bike is elevated on my servicing stand.
It is really easy to operate and the inflation head has a simple locking mechanism that reduces the need to fiddle or keep one hand on the valve.The guage is also simple to read and interpret. It pumped my road bike tyres from flat to 110psi in 20 pumps.
There are no negatives and a good spec for the price. This pump really does deliver as advertised"
Pros: Attractive, Versatile, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Chrome Steel BB30 replacement cartridge bearings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality bearings
Posted12 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought for when I need to replace my current BB30 bearings. Looked at the ceramic ones first but could not justify the cost.
These appear well made out of quality materials and will be handy to have when the inevitable finally happens."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Futura Socks
Futura Socks
Lightweight cycle specific socks with a ventilating mesh instep and a stretchy coolmax fabric construction for a close fit and efficient moisture transfer. Featuring a mid height cuff and Moa graphics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product for the price
Posted12 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These socks look great in the red and also the black. They fit well, are comfortable and with no annoying seams. length wise they come in between short ankle and mid calf socks.
feet stay cool and dry in the as well. great socks."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
1mm spacer designed to sit behind your cassette on the hub.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Its a spacer
Posted12 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ummm, it's a metal spacer that you can put behind your rear cassette if required especially if you have lost the one that came with the original items."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Gel Anti Vibration System is a special shaped padding made of "Technical Gel" which can be placed on the surface of the bars or over the grooves.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good product
Posted05 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought two of these pads as an addition to the gel bar tape on my bike to try and manage vibration and discomfort in my wrists while doing an end to end.
They didn't cancel out all vibration completely, but did minimise it to a noticeable degree compared to before. They fitted easily with no fuss as they have an adhesive layer.
Now I am back I will put them underneath my bar tape at a suitable point."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Flak Jacket XLJ sunglasses take clarity and innovation to the next level with the latest in performance technology. World-class athletes drove Oakley to create innovation after innovation, including interchangeable lenses with unbeatable optical clarity.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb
Posted04 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ballypete
fromLeicester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A great set of glasses for cycling that do not move about or slip when you sweat, and do not fog up when stationary.
I think the matt white frame and jade iridium lens looks awesome to boot. They are definitely worth the money and miles better than any other glasses I have owned"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ballypete's Questions
 
 X10 Vivid Chain with 114 Links
X10 Vivid Chain with 114 Links
KMC introduces the Vivid series, which is compatible with any 10 speed system. X10 and X9 Vivid chains come with a full nickel outer plate and a coloured pin and inner plate.
 

number of links

I use an x10 chain on my Boardman with a 105 chainset and cassette and looking to replace soon.

What is the difference between a 112 and a 114 link chain?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
 Ksyrium Elite S Clincher Wheelset
Ksyrium Elite S Clincher Wheelset
A perfect blend of lightness and strength that's the Ksyrium Elite S clincher wheels. Great for training or racing, these wheels are more than capable of taking the stress and strain you'll put them through. Fitted with Yksion tyres also.
 

back in stock?

Hi Wiggle,

when are you getting some more of these wheels in stock? Doesn't feel right going somewhere else to buy them!
1 year, 5 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
 Garmin Edge 800 GPS Performance & Navigation Bundle
Garmin Edge 800 GPS Performance & Navigation Bundle
Make the most of every ride with Edge 800 - the ultimate touchscreen GPS bike computer for training, touring and on the trail.
 

Does the heart rate monitor come with the soft strap

How is the heart rate monitor that comes with the performance bundle attach to the body? Does it come with the soft strap or another method.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
ballypete's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 Castelli Estremo Winter Cycling Gloves
Castelli Estremo Winter Cycling Gloves
Designed for the coldest cycling conditions. The Estremo Glove is constructed from a Windstopper® X-Fast fabric combined with a fleecy material on the palm, covered with silicone texture for grip and durability. Essential for deep winter training.
 

sizing

Does the sizing chart accurately apply to these gloves by castelli ,as i take a large for most companies in jerseys but always have to size up to a x large with castelli ,does the same apply to their gloves?
Thanks Rick
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Hi Rick,
I also have to size up with Castelli from Medium to large, and its the same for me with their gloves- My hands are a medium in other brands of gloves but a large in Estremo- so in your case I advise you go for L/XL
8 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
 Castelli Estremo Winter Cycling Gloves
Castelli Estremo Winter Cycling Gloves
Designed for the coldest cycling conditions. The Estremo Glove is constructed from a Windstopper® X-Fast fabric combined with a fleecy material on the palm, covered with silicone texture for grip and durability. Essential for deep winter training.
 

Rain?

Are they good in the wet?
West coast of Ireland Rain + wind.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Hi tpn71

Yes they are good in both. as water resistant as my Diluvio gloves, but much warmer in sub-zero temperatures.
8 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
Pure protection for sub-zero temperatures, driving rain and Arctic winds. The Estremo overshoe features a rubber textured surface for weatherproofing, warmth and durability - seal out the elements and keep numbness at bay on long winter road rides.
 

Sizing for Sidi shoes

Should I go for XL or XXL when I have size 45 in Sidi Ergo 3?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Hi R1CH,

you gotta go for XXL, anything smaller you wont get it on your shoe.
8 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
The Diluvio comes with a 16cm cuff to protect the lower leg from wheel spray and the opening on the bottom is designed to work with a Road shoe.
 

how low cold can it resist ( to what extent can these covers keep the frost out),

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
hi Urguy,

These are excellent overshoes, but 0 degrees C and below and cold will get into your toes after half an hours riding
8 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
Pure protection for sub-zero temperatures, driving rain and Arctic winds. The Estremo overshoe features a rubber textured surface for weatherproofing, warmth and durability - seal out the elements and keep numbness at bay on long winter road rides.
 

What size in this product would best match a Carnac size 44 shoe? Thank you!

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Hi Nimax

go for the largest size possible XXL. I am size 42 shoe and they L/XL only just fits.
8 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
Pure protection for sub-zero temperatures, driving rain and Arctic winds. The Estremo overshoe features a rubber textured surface for weatherproofing, warmth and durability - seal out the elements and keep numbness at bay on long winter road rides.
 

Size for Lake CX236C

Hi I ordered the Estremo size S. Following the guidelines it told me that I should ordered S. Turned out S is too small.

I'm wearing Lake CX236C size 40.

Which size of the Estremo I should go for?

Thank you so much for the help/
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Hi mysrh,

you will need the medium at least with the size and model of shoe
8 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
A fully protective wind and waterproof jersey built from the latest innovation in fabric technology; Windstopper X-Lite Plus. Tested and developed by the Cervelo Test Team, the Gabba jersey is a breakthrough in comfort and wet weather protection.
 

Sizing Help pls

I am 5' 11", 32 inch waist, 37 inch chest, What size jersey would I need?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Hi Designman,

Your stats are thereabouts the same as mine and I find the large fits perfectly, and allows a baselayer or jersey to be comfortably worn underneath
8 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
Road cycling gloves with a breathable and high wicking coolmax fabric construction. Featuring a silicone grip palm for a more connected feel and conductive touch technology fingertips to allow for convenient use of touch screen devices during activity.
 

Under gloves

Can these be worn as under gloves to the castelli diluvio gloves?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I would not advise you to wear an underglove with the Diluvio neoprene gloves. If the gloves are not a snug and tight fit then you have the wrong size. It is the neoprene contact with the skin that makes damp hands feel dry-and keeps them warm
8 months ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
Flak Jacket XLJ sunglasses take clarity and innovation to the next level with the latest in performance technology. World-class athletes drove Oakley to create innovation after innovation, including interchangeable lenses with unbeatable optical clarity.
 

Are these also suitable for women?

I'm finding it very hard to find a decent pair of women's glasses, would prefer Oakleys and these look ideal but wondered if they would be too large for a woman's face?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
There isn't a great deal of difference between the male and female specific glasses particularly, other than the size of the nose bridge which is narrower on female models.

The main factor is the difference between the bone structure of male and female faces. To sum up, what really matters is the size of your face. Would advise you try a pair on at your LBS first.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK
 
The touchscreen Edge 810 is designed for the cyclist who wants it all — navigation and advanced training capabilities in 1 device. Supplied with the premium heart rate monitor, speed/cadence sensor and City Navigator Europe NT.
 

Data Cards for Garmin Edge

Do I need to buy data cards for the UK & Europe for the Edge 810
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Everything you need is supplied with this bundle. I bought one recently and with the maps supplied was able to navigate from John O'groats to lands End without getting lost once.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
ballypete
Leicester, UK