ChristyB
Share ChristyB's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
ChristyB's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    3 March 2013
  • Last Review
    30 September 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    4 June 2014
  • Last Question
    8 April 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    7 August 2014
  • Last Answer
    8 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
ChristyB's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job perfectly
Posted30 September 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" An ideal toe warmer for the days when it's not too cold, but you need some covering. I use these on my morning commute, that often turns into a 40 plus km ride. They are easy to put on and really do give that bit of extra warmth. Strongly recommend for the cyclist wardrobe!! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Performance Road gloves for the long distance rider. Oxygen gloves combine high-end gel-pads and ventilating materials for excellent shock absorption, perfect fit and a high level of temperature control.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Gloves
Posted30 September 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I bought these Gore gloves as my other Gore products have been excellent. I am not disappointed. Normally I would wear a large but I bought XL as I wanted to use these in cooler conditions with a liner underneath. The gloves work a treat. So much so that I have bought another pair, in my normal glove size [L], with the idea that these will be my "go to" gloves. Easy to remove and perfect for the 100 km rides. "
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A concentrated sports fuel for instant energy with a caffeine kick for increased focus on your most challenging events and training drills, HIGH5 Energy Gel Caffeine is easily consumed for a welcome boost.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gives You a Boost
Posted30 September 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" These gels are first class. I use them after a couple of hours into the ride, in particular if I am doing hills. Within about 10 minutes I definitely feel the effect of the gel. They give me a real boost. The gels taste good and I continue to buy them. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Women's Triple Lens Sunglasses have it all - stylish wraparound design, a strong yet lightweight frame and three different lenses to suit all conditions. They have scratch and impact resistant UV400 polycarbonate lenses.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bought These for my Wife
Posted12 July 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I bought these sunnies for my wife, not knowing that she had already bought some herself. Of course, not wanting them to go to waste, I tried them and use the blue lens all the time on the darker winter days. They are excellent glasses. They fit well, even over ear and head covers under the helmet.
I would strongly recommend these.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Whether you lead an active lifestyle or an elite sporting career, the Wiggle Hydration Tabs can help you get the most out of your water and optimise hydration. Available in four great tasting flavours, including two NEW flavours Orange and Strawberry!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Cheap and Effective
Posted12 July 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" An excellent product that I have used to top me up on the longer rides. As always Wiggle offer a cheap alternative that is as good as anything else. These taste good and I would recommend them. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Lighter Weight Glove
Posted12 July 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I have used these gloves when the temperature gets around the 10 degree Celsius mark. They fit well, are a bit long in the fingers for me, but this is just my short fingers! They fasten easily and can be removed easily with the Velcro fastener. They are true to sizing, yet I can fit a cotton full finger glove underneath when the temp gets a bit colder. They are not bulky. I do not like thick gloves that restrict the feel of the bike, these are fine. A good addition to the cycling wardrobe for the cooler weather. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Professional ASV Bib Shorts
dhb Professional ASV Bib Shorts
Light and aerodynamic, the ASV Bib Short combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the ultimate racing apparel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The Best Bibs I Have Bought
Posted12 July 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" These ASV bibs are the best that I have bought. Normally I look for discount options on Wiggle, and this is how I found these. I have bought other dhb bibs and some other brands, mainly Altura. I really cannot fault my purchases from Wiggle. These bibs, though, are so comfortable on longer rides [100 - 200 kms]. The padding is thick and maintains shape and strength. They fit well, without being restrictive, and the grippers work very well. I have never had these ride up or move on very long rides. Overall, if I could afford more, I would buy more pairs. "
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
A compact, 15L rucksack for riding the trails or commuting with a modest amount of gear. The dhb Slice 15L Rucksack has a slim design for a compact, nonrestrictive feel and high-vis finish for enhanced visibility in low lighting conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Backpack
Posted8 May 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" This backpack is excellent. It ticks all of the boxes for me. It is easily adjustable, with plenty of room for a spare change of clothes. There is a pocket that is lined for me phone and it has a cover that is easy to attach for the rainy rides. I have had this on in the rain and nothing was damp inside.
The backpack feels comfortable for the daily commute. An excellent product at an excellent price.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best Tyre I Have Found
Posted8 May 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" This Continental tyre is the best one that I used. I have tried Michelin and Schwalbe but this one is the preferred. With Michelin, I constantly got punctures. I was very impressed with Schwalbe but this one has better puncture protection and wears better. I have bought a spare set when my current ones run out.
I would strongly recommend this tyre to anyone doing 300+ kms per week in all sorts of conditions. Excellent buy!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Chain Wear Tool
LifeLine Essential Chain Wear Tool
Accurately measure the amount of wear on your chain. The LifeLine chain wear tool helps you determine how much your chain has stretched, allowing you to replace a worn chain before it causes damage to the cassette and chainrings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just Like at the Bike Shop
Posted8 May 2015
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" This is an excellent little tool for monitoring my chain. The instructions are plain to follow and in a couple of seconds I have an idea of how much my chain is worn and stretching. Highly recommended. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ChristyB's Questions
 
 Etxeondo UME Sport Windproof Jacket
Etxeondo UME Sport Windproof Jacket
Excellent breathability is the aim of this the Ume Sport Windstopper jacket. Thanks to an innovative and light weight honeycombed panel lining which forces moisture outward the body is kept dry and warm even as you push the pace.
 

Will this jacket stow away in your jersey pocket?

If the temperature rises, will this jacket compact enough to stow in your jersey pocket?
3 years, 7 months ago
by
ChristyB
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Sportful Fiandre Light No-Rain Long Sleeve Top
Sportful Fiandre Light No-Rain Long Sleeve Top
With the weight and packability of a light wind vest, this piece adds wind protection over the shoulders and upper arms plus protection from light rain with the use of NoRain Light stretch fabric. It’s like a vest, only much better.
 

How Breathable is this Jacket?

I normally "run hot" and do a lot of hill climbing. Breathability is a top priority.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
ChristyB
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Sportful Fiandre Light No-Rain Long Sleeve Top
Sportful Fiandre Light No-Rain Long Sleeve Top
With the weight and packability of a light wind vest, this piece adds wind protection over the shoulders and upper arms plus protection from light rain with the use of NoRain Light stretch fabric. It’s like a vest, only much better.
 

Sizing? 5' 7" with a 40 inch chest and 36 inch waist

What size would be best? My previous Sportful top ran quite small.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
ChristyB
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 

How Breathable is this Jacket?

I normally "run hot" and do a lot of hill climbing. Breathability is a top priority.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
ChristyB
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Altura's Pocket Rocket does exactly what it says….packing down to pocket size! Made from lightweight, waterproof and breathable 2.5 layer fabric, this jacket will protect you from the elements when those unpredictable downpours hit.
 

How Breathable is this Jacket?

I normally "run hot" and do a lot of hill climbing. Breathability is a top priority.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
ChristyB
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Northwave H2O Winter High Overshoes AW13
Northwave H2O Winter High Overshoes AW13
This shoecover aims to keep you visible and protected. A fleecey inside keeps you warm while the simple, effective closure system and the fully taped inside make it great to use.
 

I am right on the edge of the sizing [EU44].

I wear EU 44 Shimano road shoes and the size chart indicates that 44-46 should go for XL. I am at the bottom end of this range. Should I get XL or L?
4 years, 5 months ago
by
ChristyB
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
ChristyB's Answers
 
 dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
A compact, 15L rucksack for riding the trails or commuting with a modest amount of gear. The dhb Slice 15L Rucksack has a slim design for a compact, nonrestrictive feel and high-vis finish for enhanced visibility in low lighting conditions.
 

Rain cover or not?

One reviewer says the rucksack comes with a rain cover, another said it is not waterproof, so which is correct?
I reviewed this product and made a mistake, confusing this rucksack with the 30L one that I also bought.
This rucksack does not come with a cover. I'm sorry for any confusion. I tried to edit my review but it had already been posted.
This is an excellent little backpack that I use nearly every day for my commute when I don't need to carry big bulky items.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
ChristyB
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 

Hi, just checking sizing having never brought bib shorts before.

Normally a medium in cycle shorts, height 5'7'' weight 78 kg. Hip measure 88 cm, waist 94 cm. What size would be best, large?
I am almost the same build and found the Large was a perfect fit.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
ChristyB
Adelaide SA, Australia