bluethunder19
Share bluethunder19's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
bluethunder19's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    08 February 2013
  • Last Review
    19 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    31 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    19 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
bluethunder19's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The award winning Aero Race short has been developed and refined over 5 years of Pro Tour testing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great shorts
Posted19 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"After using Altura pro gel bib shorts for 800 miles i thought it was about time to try something a bit better as i plan to do longer rides.
Whilst the old shorts had been okay,the quality and comfort of the Castelli is fantastic and although expensive they are much better and would never swap back.
With lots of comments about poor sizing etc I took time to measure and using size guide found that they fit perfectly.
I would say go a size bigger than your measurments as i was medium/large so brought large.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Improved grip and speed
Posted19 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After switching wheels i decided the tyres were the next mod.
I had the original 25c's fitted and mainly changed due to looks but was greatly impressed by increase in speed due to less rolling resistance whilst still giving better grip.
I have had my average pace raised by about 2 mph since fitting and grip is great also even in wet if your take care.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Selle Italia's MAX FLITE Gel Flow uses a suspension that gives all-over cushioning without any moving mechanical parts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable saddle
Posted19 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"After riding 800+ miles on standard saddle (Felt z95) I have decided on trying this after my mate said his was great.
I have done around 60 miles on it so far and have noticed a big improvement in comfort and less chaffing.
Early days still but think it was a wise choice,the gel is in just right places and shape of seat is much improved over standard.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cycling specific sock, with mesh construction cuff to keep you cool in the summer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great quality and comfortable
Posted31 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After trying cheaper socks i thought i would try these to see if you get what you pay for.
This did turn out to be the case,although not huge gain they are more comfortable and cooler than others used.
Will be buying again once worn out.
Do check sizing as with all Castelli clothing you'll need to buy bigger.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great quality
Posted01 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After suffering with chaffing everytime i ride i thought it was about time i tried something to help.
After reading reviews i thought i would try this and on next ride i was glad i did.Did further distance with no issues other than maybe should have used bit more both no sore bits which is main thing.
Rather than putting up with it i would say get this and enjoy ride more.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Get fully kitted out with the new summer dhb unisex cycling socks. Available in 4 colours and 2 height options these lightweight COOLMAX socks are incredibly comfortable and functional.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great quality and comfortable
Posted01 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After making the mistake of cycling wearing normal socks and suffering foot ache i thought i would give these a try.
Have been on loads of rides a have now got very comfy feet.
I will be getting these again and have used dhb winter socks which are also really good.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The original natural energy bar. Every Clif bar is packed with a healthy mix of whole grains, protein and fibre, but not with fat, perfect to keep you going whatever your activity.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great taste
Posted20 March 2013
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After trying different bars i have now found my favourite.
Whilst some bars feel heavy or stodgy these go down very easily without feeling like you have eaten too much or the need to drink lots of water afterwards to wash it down.
Easy to fit in jersey pocket and wide choice of flavours also helps and all that i have tried taste great
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Heavy weight winter cycling sock, with Thermolite polyester fibres aimed to keep your feet as warm as possible, in colder conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
nice and warm
Posted20 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After making error of going out with summer socks on in just above freezing conditions and paying price with pain i thought better get these socks.
When arrived i thought would still be too cold as appear very thin still but after using a few times my feet stayed warm with no issues at all.
A must buy if riding in cold weather.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great tabs
Posted20 March 2013
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After using few different types of drink i thought i would try these tabs.
Glad i did because now wouldn't use any others,they taste great and if take on board small amount often keep you refreshed and no issue with feeling thirsty.
Also noticed my muscle recovery seems little faster and also get less cramps on long ride.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Leg Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great fit
Posted08 February 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bluethunder19
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have used these few times now and no complaints at all.
Last ride was in -1 and felt no chill at all
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
bluethunder19's Questions
 
bluethunder19 has not submitted any questions.
 
bluethunder19's Answers
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

How well do these tyres perform in the wet?

Where I live, the roads can be wet a lot of the time, so having tyres which handle well in the wet is essential.
I have ridden on very wet roads during a rainy evening and covered over 40 miles on country roads without issue.Obviously taking care of white lines etc.
8 months ago
by
bluethunder19
Bedford, UK
 
The anatomic dhb Vaeon Arm Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 

Could you tell me what sort of grippers these have on them (elastic or silicone) thanks?

They have silicone grippers,never had then slip about like others have said about in reviews.
8 months ago
by
bluethunder19
Bedford, UK