m1cal
Share m1cal's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
m1cal's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    27 August 2012
  • Last Review
    10 March 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    1 December 2012
  • Last Question
    10 November 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    25 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    28 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
m1cal's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Superleggero stem is the result of the search for the ultimate functional shape stripped of any excess. It is lightest production stem made from 3D forged 7050 alloy aluminum with all titanium screws which bring its weight below 100 grams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Spot on
Posted10 March 2018
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Really light and looks great, not much more you can want from a stem. Can’t fault it"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact, streamlined saddle bag ideal for sleek racing saddle shapes, the 0.4L Micro Caddy is perfect for road cycling and sportives with your tools and essentials. Straps provide secure fitting without the need for tools or mounting brackets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
All you need from a saddle bag
Posted20 January 2018
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have found this to be the perfect sized saddle bag, not too big to spoil the look of your bike, but not so small you can’t get enough kit inside. You can comfortably fit in the essentials needed for a good bike ride, a couple inner tubes, levers, couple co2 canisters, multitool and a couple other bits and bobs. I bought this before doing the Paris Roubaix challenge April 2017 and it held perfectly and I can’t think of a better test of a saddle bag. The straps are a great size and when fitted there is no risk of that annoying scenario where the Velcro catches your shorts. Can’t fault it!"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These Rudy Project Agon sunglasses, with their Polarised Photochromic lenses, offer superior protection from the elements, provide an unsurpassed fit, are ultralight, and full of aerodynamic features that meet the needs of athletes worldwide.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worth every penny
Posted20 January 2018
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I’ve had these glasses a while now and used them almost everyday for all types of riding from commute to cx race. The fit is great with enough adjustment to make sure they are snug and they have never slipped or caused me to have to keep adjusting them. They have proven to be of great quality and pretty rugged showing no signs of wear. I would thoroughly recommend."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance socks designed for cycling in moderate temperatures. The high elastic cuff and stretch arch support ensure a comfortable fit. The Thermolite® fabric and padded sole guarantee optimal cycling comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality sock
Posted20 January 2018
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not a great deal you can say about socks but all you want is something that keeps your feet at the right temperature, comfortable and hard wearing. These deliver all 3 for those slightly chilly spring/autumn days. A good length cuff and detailing means they look good as well"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Crank Brothers Premium Cleats are made of a premium brass for a longer life in adverse conditions, and lateral adjustment for pinpoint cleat location on the shoe.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great cleats
Posted25 December 2017
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A good set of cleats that engage well and have the option of altering the float by how you fit them rather than having to buy separate sets. Had mine on my mtb shoes for about a year now and still working as well as the day I bought them dispute the amount of walking I’ve done in them."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This is a great year-round sock for customers who like the softness and natural fibre feel of wool. The thinnest wool sock in the DeFeet collection, the Wooleator has the same construction as the Aireator using Merino wool instead of Coolmax.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very comfy socks
Posted24 March 2016
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These socks have proven to be very comfy and I've worn them on chilly Spring mornings with temperatures around 5-10C and they have kept my feet warm enough without overshoes, yet to test them in warmer temperatures but all good so far"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 DeFeet Thermeator 6" Socks
DeFeet Thermeator 6" Socks
The DeFeet Thermeator 6" socks provide exceptional warmth and protection from the elements. The Thermeator wicks moisture away from your skin and is lightweight for less bulk in your shoes as well as being constructed to retain its shape.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality socks
Posted7 December 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Only worn these socks for a week or so of commuting but they feel good and kept my feet warm which is about all you can ask of a pair of socks"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Arm Warmers
Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Arm Warmers
Warm breathable Arm warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good enough for the pros
Posted17 October 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great bit of kit that does everything you want from an arm warmer with added rain protection. Why else do you see the pros wearing them?"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Thermo Head Thingy
Castelli Thermo Head Thingy
A versatile neck warmer with a Thermoflex fleece fabric construction for protection against the cold. The Head Thing can be worn in a variety of ways, depending on the coverage you desire during your cold weather rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great quality....err thingy
Posted17 October 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As this type of head thingy goes this is a really nice quality piece of kit which is great for those really cold days on the bike and has great styling that you expect from the Castelli brand"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Durable, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float. Each option sold as a pair
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Do the job
Posted17 October 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"simple, effective and hard wearing cleats, can't say much more than that, if you have shimano pedals you need these, Simples!"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
m1cal's Questions
 
 SealSkinz Neoprene Overshoes Black - Grey L
SealSkinz Neoprene Overshoes Black - Grey L
A high performance cycle overshoe, made from close fitting neoprene material, featuring a storm flap, pull-on loop & hi-vis reflective branding for added safety. Additional Kevlar reinforcements in the toe & heel areas for added abrasion resistanc
 

MTB?

Will these fit over mtb shoes, I selected mtb on the filter but picture shoes then with road pads? I want a pair of overshoes to wear on my cross bike commuting in the cold/rain
1 year, 5 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Evolution Warm 3/4 Base Layer Shorts
Evolution Warm 3/4 Base Layer Shorts
An insulating base layer for comfort during very low temperature activities. A seamless, 3D construction with zoned functions provides exceptional comfort, fit and performance.
 

If I'm a 30inch waist and 30-31 inside leg what size will be best for me

5 years, 4 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
m1cal's Answers
 
 Castelli Sorpasso Bib Tights
Castelli Sorpasso Bib Tights
Exceptional fit and comfort on winter road rides. As part of the Rosso Corsa line, the Sorpasso tight is built with Castelli's premium technologies and fabrics for the highest level of performance out on the snow strewn passes and windswept climbs.
 

Sizing

Hi, I'm 5'7" between 30"- 32" waist and 38" - 40" chest. Could you please tell me what size would you recommend for Castelli clothing?

Thanks,
I'm 5'8" with 30" waist and the medium fit perfectly
3 years, 2 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knickers
Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knickers
Exceptional fit and comfort on multi season road rides. As part of the Rosso Corsa line, the Sorpasso 3/4 Knicker is built with Castelli's premium technologies and fabrics for the highest level of performance out on windswept roads.
 

Temperature and lenght

What temp range do these bib knickers work in? Wiggle say 4 to 15 c whilst the Castelli web site says 12-20C

Are these full lenght or 3/4 lenght?

Many thanks
I've worn them in the wiggle stated temperature range and they are great, hope that helps
3 years, 5 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
The perfect cold-weather jacket to keep you off the rollers this winter. Putting in those base miles over the colder months and early spring should be as comfortable as possible.
 

Hi is this jacket waterproof?

Water resistant as it states, I cycled about 6 mile commute in wind and rain and stayed dry over the 17 minutes, hope that helps
3 years, 6 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

can i change tiagra cassette for 105

I have a Mekk AL 1.5 compact with tiagra 12t-25t cassette. There are very few dead flat roads and some great mountain roads where I live but need some help climbing them. Could I change the cassette to 105 11t-28t or would I be better with Tiagra 12t-30t
I completed a very hilly Etape Pennines last year on a 12-28 cassette so I would suggest 28 is more than enough and a good range, just changed to the 11-28 105 and possibly more versatile in my opinion
4 years, 2 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Light, weatherproof overshoes with a 3mm Neoprene construction and thermo welded seams to seal out the wind and rain. When your training plan pitches you against torrential rain and freezing cold, Diluvio (Flood) overshoes keep you dry and in control.
 

What holes do these have on the sole?

Do these overshoes have a hole for the cleat (I use SPD-SL), and a hole at the back for the heel so they don't get worn out?
These have both the hole for the clear and the heel section to prevent wear
4 years, 6 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 

Sizing: M or S ?

Hello, I am 1.8m, 64kg, 37" chest, 33" waist, a climber figure. Which size I should pick: M or S? thank you.
If it helps I'm a 38" chest and weight 69kg height 5'8" and small size is a perfect fit
4 years, 8 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 

Does this bag have enough room for an inner tube and tyre levers? and maybe a co2 pump too?.

Yes plus gloves and patches in mine
4 years, 8 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 

In the box there is a picture showing an elastic that helps fixing the bag to the saddle. Is the bag supplied with the elastic?

If you are buying the bag with the ics clip system there are no rubber cords supplied with it, I believe that is a different option to buy. My bag with clip system did not come with any
4 years, 8 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK