m1cal
Share m1cal's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
m1cal's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    22
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    27 August 2012
  • Last Review
    24 March 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    01 December 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    25 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    28 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
m1cal's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
This is a great year-round sock for customers who like the softness and natural fibre feel of wool. The thinnest wool sock in the DeFeet collection, the Wooleator has the same construction as the Aireator using Merino wool instead of Coolmax.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very comfy socks
Posted24 March 2016
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These socks have proven to be very comfy and I've worn them on chilly Spring mornings with temperatures around 5-10C and they have kept my feet warm enough without overshoes, yet to test them in warmer temperatures but all good so far"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 DeFeet Thermeator 6" Socks
DeFeet Thermeator 6" Socks
The DeFeet Thermeator 6" socks provide exceptional warmth and protection from the elements. The Thermeator wicks moisture away from your skin and is lightweight for less bulk in your shoes as well as being constructed to retain its shape.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality socks
Posted07 December 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Only worn these socks for a week or so of commuting but they feel good and kept my feet warm which is about all you can ask of a pair of socks"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm breathable Arm warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good enough for the pros
Posted17 October 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great bit of kit that does everything you want from an arm warmer with added rain protection. Why else do you see the pros wearing them?"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Thermo Head Thingy
Castelli Thermo Head Thingy
A versatile neck warmer with a Thermoflex fleece fabric construction for protection against the cold. The Head Thing can be worn in a variety of ways, depending on the coverage you desire during your cold weather rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great quality....err thingy
Posted17 October 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As this type of head thingy goes this is a really nice quality piece of kit which is great for those really cold days on the bike and has great styling that you expect from the Castelli brand"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Durable, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float. Each option sold as a pair
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Do the job
Posted17 October 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"simple, effective and hard wearing cleats, can't say much more than that, if you have shimano pedals you need these, Simples!"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Speedo Junior Futura Biofuse Goggle is designed with a slim fit for young faces, cushioned seals, and features wide vision Anti-fog Ultra lenses for superb peripheral vision and clarity.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great kids goggles
Posted17 October 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these for my little girl after her old pair kept steaming up. Great colours which she loves and no steaming up now, result!"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Castelli's Viva Thermo Skully uses a thin Thermoflex fabric which offers excellent warmth while also providing excellent moisture management that will fit easily under your helmet.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good little item
Posted30 March 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good simple product which was thin enough to wear comfortably under my helmet for a 60 mile ride. Warm enough in the single figures in the morning and as it rose to double figures (only just) it was still comfortable without feeling I was overheating"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Sorpasso Bib Tights
Castelli Sorpasso Bib Tights
Exceptional fit and comfort on winter road rides. As part of the Rosso Corsa line, the Sorpasso tight is built with Castelli's premium technologies and fabrics for the highest level of performance out on the snow strewn passes and windswept climbs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Faultless
Posted28 January 2015
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having wore a few cheaper brands of tights for the last few winters I decided to treat myself to a pair of these Castelli Sorpasso tights and I am so pleased I did. The fit is fantastic and together with the excellent pad I have never felt so comfortable on the bike.
I have worn these in temperatures around 0 degrees so far and they have kept me perfectly warm. You certainly get what you pay for with Castelli and these are worth every penny.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knickers
Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knickers
Exceptional fit and comfort on multi season road rides. As part of the Rosso Corsa line, the Sorpasso 3/4 Knicker is built with Castelli's premium technologies and fabrics for the highest level of performance out on windswept roads.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top marks
Posted12 November 2014
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The pad is second to none out of anything I've used before and the cut and fit is extremely comfortable. People have commented about the straps twisting when putting these on, but this takes a second running your finger under to straighten out and it's worth it as they are very comfortable also. I'm never left with the tell tale red marks that you sometimes get with other bib shorts.
They protect the knees from the cold great and I've worn these down to just a few degrees so far and even in the rain they still feel comfortable and warm.
The only slight issue (and I mean slight) was a little bit of the sticking where the bib strap meets the short has come undone but it's a common fault on many clothing lines and I don't think it will continue to undo the strap so it wasn't enough to bother to even exchange and I didn't want to do without them hence I'm still giving them 5 stars
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
The perfect cold-weather jacket to keep you off the rollers this winter. Putting in those base miles over the colder months and early spring should be as comfortable as possible.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality product
Posted06 October 2014
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I followed the size guide and as a 5'8" 30" waist the medium is a perfect fit, snug with no flapping material. This jacket is very comfortable and oozes quality and bought at a bargain price too. I have never really experianced true wind proof material like this jacket. I have worn in a range of temperatures and it's never been too hot at it hit the double figures and most recently wore it in the rain and stayed comfortable and dry in a short commute of 6 miles"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
m1cal's Questions
 
 Evolution Warm 3/4 Base Layer Shorts
Evolution Warm 3/4 Base Layer Shorts
An insulating base layer for comfort during very low temperature activities. A seamless, 3D construction with zoned functions provides exceptional comfort, fit and performance.
 

If I'm a 30inch waist and 30-31 inside leg what size will be best for me

3 years, 6 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
m1cal's Answers
 
 Castelli Sorpasso Bib Tights
Castelli Sorpasso Bib Tights
Exceptional fit and comfort on winter road rides. As part of the Rosso Corsa line, the Sorpasso tight is built with Castelli's premium technologies and fabrics for the highest level of performance out on the snow strewn passes and windswept climbs.
 

Sizing

Hi, I'm 5'7" between 30"- 32" waist and 38" - 40" chest. Could you please tell me what size would you recommend for Castelli clothing?

Thanks,
I'm 5'8" with 30" waist and the medium fit perfectly
1 year, 4 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knickers
Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knickers
Exceptional fit and comfort on multi season road rides. As part of the Rosso Corsa line, the Sorpasso 3/4 Knicker is built with Castelli's premium technologies and fabrics for the highest level of performance out on windswept roads.
 

Temperature and lenght

What temp range do these bib knickers work in? Wiggle say 4 to 15 c whilst the Castelli web site says 12-20C

Are these full lenght or 3/4 lenght?

Many thanks
I've worn them in the wiggle stated temperature range and they are great, hope that helps
1 year, 7 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
The perfect cold-weather jacket to keep you off the rollers this winter. Putting in those base miles over the colder months and early spring should be as comfortable as possible.
 

Hi is this jacket waterproof?

Water resistant as it states, I cycled about 6 mile commute in wind and rain and stayed dry over the 17 minutes, hope that helps
1 year, 8 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

can i change tiagra cassette for 105

I have a Mekk AL 1.5 compact with tiagra 12t-25t cassette. There are very few dead flat roads and some great mountain roads where I live but need some help climbing them. Could I change the cassette to 105 11t-28t or would I be better with Tiagra 12t-30t
I completed a very hilly Etape Pennines last year on a 12-28 cassette so I would suggest 28 is more than enough and a good range, just changed to the 11-28 105 and possibly more versatile in my opinion
2 years, 4 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Light, weatherproof overshoes with a 3mm Neoprene construction and thermo welded seams to seal out the wind and rain. When your training plan pitches you against torrential rain and freezing cold, Diluvio (Flood) overshoes keep you dry and in control.
 

What holes do these have on the sole?

Do these overshoes have a hole for the cleat (I use SPD-SL), and a hole at the back for the heel so they don't get worn out?
These have both the hole for the clear and the heel section to prevent wear
2 years, 8 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 

Sizing: M or S ?

Hello, I am 1.8m, 64kg, 37" chest, 33" waist, a climber figure. Which size I should pick: M or S? thank you.
If it helps I'm a 38" chest and weight 69kg height 5'8" and small size is a perfect fit
2 years, 10 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 

Does this bag have enough room for an inner tube and tyre levers? and maybe a co2 pump too?.

Yes plus gloves and patches in mine
2 years, 10 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 

In the box there is a picture showing an elastic that helps fixing the bag to the saddle. Is the bag supplied with the elastic?

If you are buying the bag with the ics clip system there are no rubber cords supplied with it, I believe that is a different option to buy. My bag with clip system did not come with any
2 years, 10 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK