m1cal
Share m1cal's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
m1cal's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    27 August 2012
  • Last Review
    12 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 December 2012
  • Last Question
    01 December 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    25 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    12 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
m1cal's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knicker
Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knicker
Exceptional fit and comfort on Winter road rides. As part of the Rosso Corsa line, the Sorpasso Knicker is built with Castelli's premium technologies and fabrics for the highest level of performance out on the snow strewn passes and windswept climbs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top marks
Posted12 November 2014
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The pad is second to none out of anything I've used before and the cut and fit is extremely comfortable. People have commented about the straps twisting when putting these on, but this takes a second running your finger under to straighten out and it's worth it as they are very comfortable also. I'm never left with the tell tale red marks that you sometimes get with other bib shorts.
They protect the knees from the cold great and I've worn these down to just a few degrees so far and even in the rain they still feel comfortable and warm.
The only slight issue (and I mean slight) was a little bit of the sticking where the bib strap meets the short has come undone but it's a common fault on many clothing lines and I don't think it will continue to undo the strap so it wasn't enough to bother to even exchange and I didn't want to do without them hence I'm still giving them 5 stars
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
The perfect cold-weather jacket to keep you off the rollers this winter. Putting in those base miles over the colder months and early spring should be as comfortable as possible.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality product
Posted06 October 2014
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I followed the size guide and as a 5'8" 30" waist the medium is a perfect fit, snug with no flapping material. This jacket is very comfortable and oozes quality and bought at a bargain price too. I have never really experianced true wind proof material like this jacket. I have worn in a range of temperatures and it's never been too hot at it hit the double figures and most recently wore it in the rain and stayed comfortable and dry in a short commute of 6 miles"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Swissstop Flash Pro Green (High Performance) Pads
Swissstop Flash Pro Green (High Performance) Pads
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Noticeable difference
Posted06 September 2014
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these to replace the pads in my shimano 105 calipers. On the computer these look a lot more green than they actually are and on the bike it's not noticeable at all. There is a definate extra bite with these pads when you need it and when I went out in the rain the other day I notice you don't get that build up of the traditional black pads ands no scraping noise as a result"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Energy Source 2.2kg Tub
High5 Energy Source 2.2kg Tub
EnergySource is a new generation sports drink for use during exercise. It contains a carbohydrate formulation of maltodextrin and fructose in a ratio of 2:1 and key electrolytes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great fuel
Posted31 May 2014
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been using high 5 products for a while now and I've been very impressed with the difference it makes when fueling my rides with energy source. It's very easy to drink and I never get that awful sickly feeling that comes with having drinks that are too sweet. I've tried each flavour and they are all equally good in my opinion"
Pros: tasty, easy on the stomach
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nothing better for the price
Posted30 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought this to replace a tiagra 12-28 cassette and match up with the rest of my 105 components. A straightforward, easy to do, swap which has provided solid reliable shifting at an absolute bargain price!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Light, weatherproof overshoes with a 3mm Neoprene construction and thermo welded seams to seal out the wind and rain. When your training plan pitches you against torrential rain and freezing cold, Diluvio (Flood) overshoes keep you dry and in control.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Classy looking overshoes
Posted29 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I'm a size 9 and bought the L/XL size, they are a great fit and look great. On a chilly morning start they kept my feet very toasty without overheating. The reflective motif looked fantastic on the sides and they were a snug fit but did not have to fight to get them on/off. Havn't tested them in wet yet and having always used overshoes with zip up rear not sure how they'll compare yet but so far so good"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Leg Warmers
Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Leg Warmers
Warm breathable Leg warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Genius material
Posted29 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought a full set of nanoflex kit consisting of the bib shorts, arm warmers and leg warmers and could not be happier with the performance of them all. I went on a 94 mile ride with all on and had no issues with fit or comfort. The morning was the usual end of summer cool start so I was kept warm without overheating and when the sun did get out I managed to get the leg warmers off over my shoes and overshoes ok. On a 60+ mile ride I was caught in a downpour and I was so impressed with how the water beaded and bounced off the shorts I nearly forgot to look where I was going. I'm 5'8" at medium build and the medium fit was perfect for all items."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Castelli Nanoflex Bibshorts
Water resistant bib shorts with a nano flex fabric construction to provide warmth and stretch. Featuring a dual density Kiss3 Seat Pad to provide optimal comfort over long distances. Ideal for spring/autumn rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top class materials
Posted29 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought a full set of nanoflex kit consisting of the bib shorts, arm warmers and leg warmers and could not be happier with the performance of them all. I went on a 94 mile ride with all on and had no issues with fit or comfort. The morning was the usual end of summer cool start so I was kept warm without overheating and when the sun did get out I managed to get the leg warmers off over my shoes and overshoes ok. On a 60+ mile ride I was caught in a downpour and I was so impressed with how the water beaded and bounced off the shorts I nearly forgot to look where I was going. I'm 5'8" at medium build and the medium fit was perfect for all items."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Arione CX Saddle with K:IUM Rails
Arione CX Saddle with K:IUM Rails
The CX design built on a Nylon Carbon base with lightweight K:ium rails. The Arione CX features a new lightweight foam yielding a 70 grams weight reduction from the standard Arione.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
One size fits all
Posted09 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This saddle looks great and feels great. I bought this as an upgrade to the standard factory fit saddle on my bike and couldn't be happier. Not only does it look great and shed some weight from the bike but the comfort is fantastic. The wing flex action is so good that I thought I had fitted it poorly as it sometimes felt like the saddle was moving side to side a bit."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Cool Mesh Superlight Sleeveless Base Layer
Craft Cool Mesh Superlight Sleeveless Base Layer
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Less is more (heat that is)
Posted25 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
m1cal
fromTyne and Wear, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have no idea how it works but somehow this extra layer actually makes this hot summer heat we are experiencing much more bearable. It's a nice snug fit and worn under my bib shorts makes the braces much more comfortable so it's win win!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
m1cal's Questions
 
 Evolution Warm 3/4 Base Layer Shorts
Evolution Warm 3/4 Base Layer Shorts
An insulating base layer for comfort during very low temperature activities. A seamless, 3D construction with zoned functions provides exceptional comfort, fit and performance.
 

If I'm a 30inch waist and 30-31 inside leg what size will be best for me

2 years ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
m1cal's Answers
 
 Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knicker
Castelli Sorpasso Bib Knicker
Exceptional fit and comfort on Winter road rides. As part of the Rosso Corsa line, the Sorpasso Knicker is built with Castelli's premium technologies and fabrics for the highest level of performance out on the snow strewn passes and windswept climbs.
 

Temperature and lenght

What temp range do these bib knickers work in? Wiggle say 4 to 15 c whilst the Castelli web site says 12-20C

Are these full lenght or 3/4 lenght?

Many thanks
I've worn them in the wiggle stated temperature range and they are great, hope that helps
1 month, 1 week ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
Castelli Exclusive Stripes Free Jacket
The perfect cold-weather jacket to keep you off the rollers this winter. Putting in those base miles over the colder months and early spring should be as comfortable as possible.
 

Hi is this jacket waterproof?

Water resistant as it states, I cycled about 6 mile commute in wind and rain and stayed dry over the 17 minutes, hope that helps
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano 105 5700 10 Speed Cassette
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

can i change tiagra cassette for 105

I have a Mekk AL 1.5 compact with tiagra 12t-25t cassette. There are very few dead flat roads and some great mountain roads where I live but need some help climbing them. Could I change the cassette to 105 11t-28t or would I be better with Tiagra 12t-30t
I completed a very hilly Etape Pennines last year on a 12-28 cassette so I would suggest 28 is more than enough and a good range, just changed to the 11-28 105 and possibly more versatile in my opinion
10 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Light, weatherproof overshoes with a 3mm Neoprene construction and thermo welded seams to seal out the wind and rain. When your training plan pitches you against torrential rain and freezing cold, Diluvio (Flood) overshoes keep you dry and in control.
 

What holes do these have on the sole?

Do these overshoes have a hole for the cleat (I use SPD-SL), and a hole at the back for the heel so they don't get worn out?
These have both the hole for the clear and the heel section to prevent wear
1 year, 2 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Craft Cool Mesh Superlight Sleeveless Base Layer
Craft Cool Mesh Superlight Sleeveless Base Layer
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 

Sizing: M or S ?

Hello, I am 1.8m, 64kg, 37" chest, 33" waist, a climber figure. Which size I should pick: M or S? thank you.
If it helps I'm a 38" chest and weight 69kg height 5'8" and small size is a perfect fit
1 year, 4 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 

Does this bag have enough room for an inner tube and tyre levers? and maybe a co2 pump too?.

Yes plus gloves and patches in mine
1 year, 4 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK
 
 Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Medium
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 

In the box there is a picture showing an elastic that helps fixing the bag to the saddle. Is the bag supplied with the elastic?

If you are buying the bag with the ics clip system there are no rubber cords supplied with it, I believe that is a different option to buy. My bag with clip system did not come with any
1 year, 4 months ago
by
m1cal
Tyne and Wear, UK