DazzVT
Share DazzVT's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DazzVT's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    19 May 2013
  • Last Review
    10 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    15 October 2013
  • Last Question
    16 August 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    01 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    17 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
DazzVT's Reviews
 
Aluminium inner cable ends (ferrules) that fit either brake or derailleur cables.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Guarenteed to add 10% to your power output!
Posted10 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Pro
Gender : Male
"Amazingly, these don't make you any faster and they aren't very aero. They do stop the ends of your cables fraying though."
Pros: Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The classic semi-slick. This tread concept is as popular as ever and it is understandable.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good puncture protection. great on road.
Posted17 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These tyres are great. They can be a little skittish on sand or loose gravel though. I just did a 70km ride with 100+ other people on MTBs and finished in the first 5. Haven't had a puncture in 500+km. (touch wood!). They rool nicely on the road too. I run them at about 40psi. Reducing the pressure a little might give more grip."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Racing Line Jersey
Racing Line Jersey
Made from BioActive polyester, this jersey has been tested extensively to ensure it delivers the best performance possible. Highly durable and with a slim fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beautiful jersey, with a bit of a retro feel
Posted29 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I'm 178cm tall, 75kg and the size L fits great.
This jersey is nice and soft to wear. The design looks great in the flesh. The sleeves are slightly longer than others I own, but they don't have elastic in the sleeve ends and feel good. It's the first jersey I've had with a zip pocket and this is handy for the wallet. It also has three other pockets."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Mezza Wool 9cm Socks
Castelli Mezza Wool 9cm Socks
A luxurious wool sock for mild conditions. Most merino socks are built for extreme cold conditions, however the Mezza has a thin, almost summer weight construction that fits easily into your shoe, ideal for autumn and spring in woolly warmth and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
V good socks. Pricey though
Posted29 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These fit and feel really nicely. They have just enough padding to stop your foot slipping around inside the shoe. Shouldn't be too hot in sumer either.
Be sure to use the sizing chart though. I wear size 46 shoes and had to get the size XXL socks, which fit well."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Grand Prix 4 Season Fold. Road Tyre (2) and Tubes
Grand Prix 4 Season Fold. Road Tyre (2) and Tubes
2 Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection complete with presta inner tubes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great, tough tyres that don't slow you down
Posted06 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I got the 25mm versions of these for commuting. They are actually a few grams lighter than the OEM 23mm specialized turbo Elite tyres that came with my bike.
I thought they would be slower, as I've heard that heaps about the Continental Gatorskins. But these GP 4 seasons are great. No slower and you can run them at a slightly lower pressure than 23mm for better comfort. My commute includes some rough tarmac and dirt roads and these tyres go really well. Great in the wet too.
Best of all - no punctures so far (about 500km). Touch wood.
Only thing to check is clearance. They only just fit between the opened callipers of my Shimano 105 brakes when fitted to my ETRTO 622x14 wheels. I suspect that frame clearance may be a problem on some Aero bikes too. No probs on my 2012 Specialized Tarmac though."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great bit of kit
Posted01 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I'm 178cm tall and 75kg and the Size L fits great.
The Knicks are of high quality and were delivered in a nice box with a wash bag included.
When on the bike, you forget you are wearing them and there's not much more than you could ask for a pair of shorts.
I got them on special, so they were good value for money. I'd be disappointed though if I paid what retail shops are asking for them. I also own Sugoi and Champion system knicks, for which I paid less and which are just as comfortable."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not really much better than the Tiagra…
Posted08 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
User submitted photo
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to replace the directional CN-4601 Tiagra chain that came with my bike. The old chain was only just 0.5% worn. This new chain was actually a couple of grams heavier than the Tiagra one, when shortened to the same number of links. So don't bother paying the extra if you are just trying to save weight.
I also replaced my 105 cassette with an Ultegra one at the same time as the chain and the overall result is a little bit quieter. I'm not really sure the Ultegra is worth the extra though. I suspect that the Ultegra chains are just made with closer manufacturing tolerances than the Tiagra ones. See my picture for a comparison (they look the same).
I can now see why my bike (Specialized Tarmac) came with mostly Ultegra gear, but a Tiagra chain and 105 cassette."
Pros: High Quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not much better than the 105 cassette
Posted08 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this Ultegra 11-28 cassette, to replace the 105 one that came with my bike. At 238g, it's only 10g lighter than the 11-28 105 cassette. So don't bother buying it if you are trying to save weight. It is a bit quieter though, but it's hard to tell if it's the cassette or the chain, as I replaced my (0.5%) worn Tiagra chain with a 6701 Ultegra chain at the same time as the cassette. The new combo does shift nicely though."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
15mm carbon steel Lifeline pedal wrench
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted19 May 2013
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
"It's a wrench. It's cheap. It works fine. You can remove your pedals with it. Don't pay more if you only use it occasionally."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A simple water resistant pouch that can be used to carry your cycling essentials. With room for a spare tube, multi-tool and smart phone the Caddy Sack fits in your jersey pocket for convenient and organised storage.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works fine
Posted19 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
DazzVT
fromOz
Country : Australia
"I got this to replace a seat bag. It's big enough to hold a road tube, repair kit, multi-tool, C02 and valve and more. Just depends how much you want to bulk out your jersey pocket.
Would also be big enough for wallet, keys and iphone."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
DazzVT's Questions
 
With Di2 technology shifting is easy and precise - just a light touch, as soft as a mouse click, is sufficient for the front or rear dérailleur to instantaneously select the correct gear
 

Is this just a set of one lever and one brake?

Are there options for left/right front and left/right rear? Or are there just quick disconnects to change the configuration easily?
3 months ago
by
DazzVT
Oz
 
This 11 speed chain is compatible with all Campagnolo 11 speed systems.
 

Is this compatible with Sram Red/Force 22 11-speed gears?

1 year, 1 month ago
by
DazzVT
Oz
 
DazzVT's Answers
 
The classic semi-slick. This tread concept is as popular as ever and it is understandable.
 

I am contemplating having another wheel set for the winter incorporating these tyres but need advice on wheels, chainset and innertubes?

I want to use the bike on forest tracks and road during the winter. I have an entry level Carrera road bike which I am advised is man enough for the job. It is fitted with a Shimano Claris Groupset. Any advice you can provide would be appreciated.

Thanks
They're 35mm tyres. So get something like 700x32-47 tubes. Just pick the right size from the drop down box if you order them from Wiggle.
1 year ago
by
DazzVT
Oz
 
The classic semi-slick. This tread concept is as popular as ever and it is understandable.
 

Recommended size of inner tube?

What size innertube is recommended for this tyre? Thanks.
They're 35mm tyres. So get something like 700x32-47 tubes. Just pick the right size from the drop down box if you order them from Wiggle.
1 year ago
by
DazzVT
Oz
 
 Grand Prix 4 Season Fold. Road Tyre (2) and Tubes
Grand Prix 4 Season Fold. Road Tyre (2) and Tubes
2 Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection complete with presta inner tubes.
 

What size

I currently have two 700x23c ultra sport tyres on my bike and was wondering if I should get two 700x23 in this tyre or should I get the 700x23/25 front and rear combo. Is there any reason to pick one over the other?
You can run the 25mm tyres at slightly lower pressures for more comfort on rough roads. They don't seem to be any slower either.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
DazzVT
Oz
 
Styled to look like it's Italian namesake, "quick", this short guarantees you stand out. Featuring Affinity 210 Lycra and KISS3 seat pad, this short gives muscle support, compression and an anatomical fit.
 

sizing

After looking at the size guide i vary in size for each measurement. Its recommending anything from a medium to a XXL. Im 6 foot tall, 33-34 waist, 34 leg and 36 inch chest and weigh 160 pounds. I currently wear a size large in Castelli bib tights. What size would you recommend in the shorts? Many thanks
I'm 5'10" and 33 waist. The large is pretty much perfect fit for me. The shoulder straps on the bibs are slightly tight, but are okay once on the bike. Hope this helps.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
DazzVT
Oz
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

what accessories do you get

Hello,

Could you please tell me if the bib shorts come in the proper 'Assos' box, together with the pouch to wash them in?

Thanks!
Yes mine came in the retail Assos box and included a wash bag. The wash bag is kind of small though. Much smaller than my wife's bra washing bags (which are similar) and only cost a couple of $$ anyway.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
DazzVT
Oz