Concinamus
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Concinamus's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Concinamus's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    19 September 2012
  • Last Review
    06 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    25 May 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    21 February 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    19 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    06 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Concinamus's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sets the standard
Posted06 October 2014
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The ubiquitous Shimano cassette does the job well and keeps on doing it come rain or shine. I tend to go for 11/28 to give me the range I need around the hillier parts of Wiltshire, but other combinations are just as good. They're easy to find, easy to fit, easy(ish) to clean and easy to replace. I do 200-250 miles a week on my road bike and have no complaints at all."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Produced in CAB as Chromoplastics these mudguards are highly resistant to corrosion and ultra violet radiation resulting in great flexibility and a virtually unbreakable product.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but flawed
Posted07 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a good quality offering from SKS, let down by sketchy instructions and illogical design. Note that it does not come with the rubber tail ends shown in the picture, and is not compatible with disc brakes without some bodging. There is however an array of bolts that allow for various different fixing options.
The 'guards themselves are clearly high quality and well made, giving a smart and sleek appearance on the bike with little to no rattle. The overall effect is pleasing, but getting there can be a bit of a frustrating saga. I'd recommend fitting them in a clean, dry, warm, well lit location and allowing 2 hours for the job.
The instructions supplied are inadequate, providing no more than a rough guide as a basis for your own journey. The diagrams are unclear, the sequence is illogical and the fitting of the end caps won't work quite as described in most cases. Not that it's difficult, but it takes time and patience to get things set up correctly.
You will eventually need to crop the stays to the right length to avoid toe overlap and make things look neat. I found this simple using bolt cutters; otherwise you'll need a hacksaw. It's disappointing that SKS don't allow for disc brakes, given the number of bikes that now feature them. I had to fabricate a 2cm nylon spacer to give the necessary clearance on the front wheel, which now looks reasonably tidy if not entirely symmetrical.
Ultimately this is a flawed product but it does the job, looks smart and is still worth buying."
Pros: Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Poor Fit, poor instructions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best inner tubes you can buy.
Posted07 November 2013
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These inner tubes are pricier than some but worth every penny. There's no magic involved and they will puncture like any other, but there's some comfort in knowing they're made of top quality materials. My only advice is to be careful when inflating them. They come with a 2-piece valve, so if you screw a hose on too tight you can end up unscrewing the inner part of the valve and losing all the air. The simple solution is just to ensure the valve is tightly assembled before fitting the tube to the rim."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gorgeous touring pedals
Posted07 November 2013
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I'm delighted with these Shimano SPD clipless pedals. They're lightweight, elegantly designed and gorgeous to look at. They still look the business on my traditional steel road bike even after a year of hard use. They are one sided of course, but clipping in is a doddle and I already do it instinctively without having to look down. The design provides a good platform for the shoe and you can even use them with normal shoes for short distances. Just the thing to give your tourer a sleek and stylish look."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High quality replacement inserts for all Shimano cartridge brake road blocks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent brake shoes
Posted07 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great product, reasonable price, does the job magnificently. Easy to fit, almost impossible to get them the wrong way round. Useful degree of toe-in to provide bite and enhance the braking effect. I'd certainly buy these again given the choice."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A streamlined, compact wallet organizer designed to hold modern smartphones and cycling essentials. With a stylish single fold design, water resistant pocket and Velcro fastening the Phone Wallet is the perfect addition to the jersey pocket or pack.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Handy phone solution
Posted04 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A handy way of keeping your mobile, money and cards organised and protected during those long rides. The phone compartment is fully waterproof but the wallet is not, so the folding stuff gets damp on wet outings. The pouch will hold any size of phone, so don't expect a snug fit for slimmer compact models such as the iPhone 5. The plastic viewing panel is touch sensitive, but making/taking a call with the phone still in the pouch is too awkward to be a practical proposition. Overall it's a perfect fit for cycle jersey pockets and there's plenty of room for extra bits and pieces (such as a route map) should you need them."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: wallet section is not waterproof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent tyres
Posted23 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I'm delighted with these GP 4000S tyres, so much so I have them on all my road bikes. Very stable with outstanding grip in both wet and dry conditions. They seem to resist punctures well and are pretty durable, standing up well to my 200-250 miles a week. Light enough for anything but serious racing, they offer low rolling resistance and a comfortable ride. Highly recommended despite the high price."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Prologo 3 Cycling Cap
Prologo 3 Cycling Cap
A classic style 4 panel cycling cap, with a one size fits all elasticated back.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice summer cycling hat
Posted23 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I needed a summer hat to go under my helmet to keep the sun off my nose and the flies out of my hair. I bought 2 of these, one in Ocean and one in Black. Simple, unfussy, lightweight and smart, these hats fit well and look the part. This one-size-fits-all product is ideal for my size 59/60 head. If you have a much smaller noggin the fit may feel loose, since the size range given by the elastic at the back is from 56 to 61cm."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The power house of Dura-Ace (7970) and Ultegra (6770) Di2 is a long-life 7.4V Li-Ion battery that is both compact and reliable, taking shifting effort away from you.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It's a battery
Posted02 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It does the job perfectly, at a price. Even though the Di2 battery that came with the bike is reliable and has a long life, I wanted another one just in case I arrived at an event having forgotten to recharge it. This battery provides that reassuring backup, though I did baulk somewhat at the cost. I now rotate the 2 batteries on the bike, which is not strictly necessary but works well."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, reliable
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Product, Top Marks
Posted18 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Concinamus
fromWarminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I agonised for ages over my choice of leggings for the winter, and so far I am absolutely delighted with these Vaeon Roubaix tights. The material is ideal for most autumn or mildish winter use: not wind or waterproof of course, but snug in the dry and still warm enough when damp. Great breathability is enhanced by the mesh panel on the back. The zips are robust and discreet: the tabs at the ankles lock effectively and sit neatly behind the ankle bone with no discomfort. The front zip is always useful in a bib and the shoulder straps are broad and comfortable. The medium size proved to be a perfect body-hugging fit for me: I'm 5'10.5" tall, 40" chest, 32" waist, 33" inside leg. The pad is plenty thick enough for long rides, and the reflective trip behind the calf is a nice touch. Twinned with a Vaeon Roubaix long sleeve jersey, this is the ideal combination for those cooler outings as the days shorten. It's too early for me to comment on durability, but to date there's no sign of excessive wear. Overall they do a brilliant job, and they look the business too."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Concinamus's Questions
 
Concinamus has not submitted any questions.
 
Concinamus's Answers
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Cassette upgrade knock on effect

Looking to upgrade my rear cassette to a higher ratio from my lower ratio 10 speed.
Once fitted -assuming easy to change across, push on pull off right?? - will I need to adjust my gears so rear mech can still engage correctly.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I recently swopped a 12/27 for an 11/28 without any trouble at all. So long as they are both 10 speed it's a simple push on push off operation using the same initial spacing ring. I found there was no need to adjust the rear mech on either manual or Di2 gears. Couldn't be easier.
3 weeks, 3 days ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
 
The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

700 x 23 weight

What is the weight of the 700 20-25 race 28 tube?
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Exactly 100 grams without the end cap and furled nut.
11 months ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 

How to get out?

I like the look of these but how do you twist out of them? Although I am getting these for a trip I would plan on using them for my 6 mile commute t work, and I'm worried that these will be too hard t twist out of in emergencies.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Worry not. These pedals are dead easy to unclip from and can be adjusted to any setting you feel comfortable with. I have been using mine for nearly a year without any difficult whatsoever. The unclipping motion quickly becomes completely instinctive and takes no time at all to execute. Once you have used clipless pedals such as these you will never want to go back to normal ones.
11 months ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

what size would suit me?

I'm 5'8"
Inside leg approx 30"
Waist approx 33
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The Medium size is a perfect body-hugging fit for me. I'm 5'10.5" tall, 40" chest, 32" waist, 33" inside leg. You may want to consider a Small: leg length is key and you don't want excess material to bunch behind the knee.
2 years ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

How is this jacket compared to dhb Signal Jacket?

I'm looking for winter waterproof jacket and I'm mostly interested in these two jacket (dhb EQ2.5 and dhb Signal). Is there some significant difference between the two? I like the hi-visible option of Signal jacket, does EQ2.5 have some hi-visibility features? I would use it for regular daily commuting and long road rides.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The EQ2.5 has two narrow (4mm) 20cm long reflective strips at the back, one either side of the rear pocket. It also has a small (6cm x 5mm) reflective area on each lower sleeve plus a reflective logo front and rear. I'd say these will work ok when new but will degrade pretty rapidly with wear and washing. Clearly the red version is more visible than the black or grey but still not as good as yellow (it's the wavelength, don't you know). If you're regularly commuting in busy traffic my advice would be to make yourself as visible as possible, even if it looks less cool on the road. Hence go for the Signal jacket, which has some nice detailing of its own. However I speak from experience of cycling in London: not sure how homicidal the drivers are in Zagreb.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Sizing Advice

There is mixed feedback about the sizing of this garment.
I'm 5'9, my waist is 31". Im a slim/medium build.

I have looked at the sizing guide which would put me in a Small... but everyone says buy a size up, should I go for Medium?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm 5'10.5" tall, 40 chest, 32 waist. I went for the medium (5'11"/39/35) which fits me perfectly. On the bike it's a neat fit, which eliminates flap, the sleeves are a good length to cover the wrists and the collar is comfortable around my 15.5" neck. I am however finding it a touch restrictive across the shoulders, especially when I'm down on the drops. This means it rides up a little at the back, but the drop hem seems to compensate ok. There's only really room for a base layer underneath, but this combination is quite warm when you're active (bearing in mind the jacket has a drop mesh liner) and should work in most English conditions. If you're planning to add a fleece layer for slow and/or sub-zero winter rides you'll need the bigger size. In summary I'd recommend you trust the sizing chart and then exchange if it doesn't fit the bill.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Does the jacket have a mesh inner lining?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, it has a full drop mesh liner in the body and sleeves. Bear in mind that 2-layer waterproofs with linings are generally less breathable (and heavier, and warmer, and cheaper) than 3-layer ones of the same fabric.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
 
 Grand Prix 4 Season Fold. Road Tyre (2) and Tubes
Grand Prix 4 Season Fold. Road Tyre (2) and Tubes
2 Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection complete with presta inner tubes.
 

Two tyres or one?

Hi, could you confirm if this is two tyres or the one?

Many thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You get 2 tyres and 2 matching inner tubes.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

700x23c and 700x25c ?

Will these inner tubes fit both 700x23c and 700x25c?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes: in fact the size range stated on the box is 20c to 25c.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK
 
A HP hand pump made entirely of aluminum for precise and lightweight construction. The barrel, handle, piston, end caps, and frame pump mount are all custom CNC-machined.
 

What is the advantage of the large size over the small size? Do they both achieve 160psi?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Both will achieve 160psi if you need it. The larger size will achieve any given pressure with fewer strokes, making tyre inflation quicker and easier. I have one of the smaller ones for my carbon race bike where weight is the prime consideration, and one of the larger ones for my steel trainer. Both nestle unobtrusively beside the bottle cage and do their job well.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Concinamus
Warminster, Wiltshire BA12, UK