SpokeUp
Share SpokeUp's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
SpokeUp's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    15 December 2012
  • Last Review
    15 December 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    15 February 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    15 February 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    15 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    15 December 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
SpokeUp's Reviews
 
 dhb Minima Waterproof Trousers
dhb Minima Waterproof Trousers
Breathable rain protection for your legs, lightweight and packable.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Pretty decent, does the job for me, but...
Posted15 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
SpokeUp
fromEssex, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"as with all DHB products, beware size. I am a 36" waist and ordered the large size, which was as per the size chart. Knowing that DHB often come up small, I was aware of the risk, but the size chart says 36-38". These are tight on a 36", over normal daily trousers. They felt alright at home, but I should have tried getting on a bike before committing to them. I certainly wouldn't feel comfortable in them if I was a larger waist size.
The actual construction seems very good, with taped seams. The leg openings are zipped for easy putting on and off (I can just about get them on and off with my cycling shoes on) and velcroed at both the calf and the ankle. The calf one is a normal wide tab, the ankle one though, to be a little picky, is a stiff rubbery affair with a huge cut out, and therefore not much grip. Don't understand why, but in practice has not come undone, though does require a little more effort to get to stick initially.
As for the main purpose, they have been great in keeping me dry, certainly from road spray, and even from moderate rain. Not had a chance to test in very heavy rain yet, but I think they will be OK. The material is supposed to be a breathable waterproof one, and on the whole, I would tend to agree. I get to work (4 mile commute) dry, but you can feel and see the inside is starting to sweat a little. I think on a longer ride, they may get quite damp inside.
The best feature for me is the compactness. These are quite lightweight and pack into a small bag (supplied). They would not be uncomfortable in a back jersey pouch. As such, I now carry them everywhere.
Overall, quite happy, though should have gone for a bigger size for better comfort."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
SOOO small
Posted15 December 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
SpokeUp
fromEssex, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have had these gloves for about a week now, when the average temperature on my 4 mile commute to work has been around 0 degrees. They are not very warm, with my finger tips getting numb about half way into my ride (and yes, I did start with warm hands).
The construction of the glove is solid, but the design is relatively poor, with a fairly flat layout. On the handlebars therefore, the material over the top of the palm at the finger join bellows out from your hand when you curl around the handlebar. Not uncomfortable, but not the best design either. There is also very little padding for comfort. What is there is not noticeable, and suspect is mainly for wear.
The major problem though is the sizing. These are the worse fitting gloves I have ever had. I have distinctly average hands - not large by any means. Having read previous reviews, I ordered the XL size. I could not even get them on past my knuckles. Returned them for the XXL size, and I can just get them on. Ideally, would still like a bigger size for a bit more room, and the ability to wear glove liners. No chance with these. There is also no ability to adjust these, but to be fair, I knew that when buying.
Couldn't be bothered to return a second time (or rather couldn't, as I had to use them as my previous pair had split). They will see me out this cold spell (just), then end up in the charity shop.
Getting very disappointed with DHB brand, especially on sizing. Come on DHB, with all the negative comments about sizing on seemingly all your products, it's time you dealt with this."
Pros: can't find one.
Cons: Unadjustable, Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
SpokeUp's Questions
 
SpokeUp has not submitted any questions.
 
SpokeUp's Answers
 
 dhb Minima Waterproof Trousers
dhb Minima Waterproof Trousers
Breathable rain protection for your legs, lightweight and packable.
 

Sizing chart dhb

I saw the waterproof over trousers. I am a 36 waist with 31 inch inside leg. Is this large or medium?
I'm same size. I got the large, and they are OK, maybe great if you want to go over some skinny trousers or tights, but a little tight for going over daily trousers, jeans etc., as I use on my commute to work.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
SpokeUp
Essex, UK