StuMur
Share StuMur's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
StuMur's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    03 March 2013
  • Last Review
    29 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    2.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    02 April 2013
  • Last Question
    02 April 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    14 May 2013
  • Last Answer
    14 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
StuMur's Reviews
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Leg Warmers
Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Leg Warmers
Warm breathable Leg warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
"LEG SLIP" Not Cricket though!
Posted29 May 2014
StuMur
fromDunfermline, Fife, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"For the last few years I've been using sub £20 Altura leg warmers, they have served me well enough over this period but as they were showing a bit of wear and tear, I thought it was time I should replace them.
So after researching and reading many reviews I asked my daughter to buy the Nanoflex leg warmers for my birthday. She ordered the medium after I consulted the the size chart.
What a mistake getting them, as they will not stay up! After about 10 minutes of riding they start to slip and gather at the back of my knees, making them so uncomfortable to ride in, I'm forever having to pull them up.
I actually did 3 rides in them before finally giving up and going back to my old faithfuls.
I suppose if you can get them to stay up they'll perform well enough, but certainly not worth the £40 my daughter paid.
"
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Caddy Sack - Medium
Lezyne Caddy Sack - Medium
A simple water resistant pouch that can be used to carry your cycling essentials. With room for a spare tube, multi-tool and smart phone the Caddy Sack fits in your jersey pocket for convenient and organised storage.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Handy Caddy Sack
Posted14 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
StuMur
fromDunfermline, Fife, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The Caddy Sack is a handy functional product. It fits nicely into a jersey back pocket, it can hold all the bits and pieces you need to carry on a ride neatly in one, multi tool, keys, phone, money etc."
Pros: Durable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vaeon Roubaix Arm and Leg Warmer Bundle
Vaeon Roubaix Arm and Leg Warmer Bundle
Extend the season range of your summer cycle wardrobe with the Vaeon Roubaix warmer bundle. With a warm, fleecy and high stretch fabric construction, Vaeon Roubaix warmers are the ideal insulation layer for chilly morning rides and winter training.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Poor Quality Product
Posted14 March 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
StuMur
fromDunfermline, Fife, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"On 1st use of the leg warmers the stiching around the elastic gripper at the top of the leg fell apart.
I have returned to Wiggle hoping for a refund.
"
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 For Goodness Shakes Procovery Powder - 1.44kg Tub
For Goodness Shakes Procovery Powder - 1.44kg Tub
For Goodness Shakes has been re-engineered to provide Gold Standard Sports Recovery nutrition to athletes after the toughest race or training session. The new PROCOVERY formula delivers world class performance as well as world class taste
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
"Does what it says on the tub".
Posted10 August 2013
StuMur
fromDunfermline, Fife, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I use this after every bike ride and I'm sure it helps my recovery. If it dosen't I won't complain.
You see I always look forward to my shake, it's my post ride treat! I mix the powder up with milk in a shaker bottle to make a really creamy and tasty shake.
I've tried chocolate, banana and vanilla and they are all good it really just depends on your own taste to which you buy. My favourite is vanilla.
"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Shorts fit and perform well.
Posted19 April 2013
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
StuMur
fromDunfermline, Fife, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The shorts fitted fine and performed well on 1st use on a 35 mile ride.
BUT!! on the 1st wash, done as per the washing instructions the red dye from the seat pad ran. So I now have pink trim rather than white, making the appearance of them look terrible.
These shorts are now only fit to be used indoors on a turbo.
What a waste of money!
I now have to replace them after only one ride as I suppose there is no chance of returning them
"
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Crono Hydro-Mag ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Hydro-Mag ElastoGel Trainer
Breakthrough Fluid+Mag technology offers higher resistance at a set speed - especially at low speed to replicate climbs and headwinds.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted03 March 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
StuMur
fromDunfermline, Fife, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As someone new to turbo trainers, I don't have any experience to compare it against. But I'm very pleased with my purchase, I've been using it regularly 3-4 a week since purchase without any problems.
It's well built, there is a bit off noise when being used, which is normal I believe, but as I have it set up in the garage and usually have my iPod in use, it's insignificant really.
I would certainly recommend this product if you are thinking of buying a trainer.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
StuMur's Questions
 
 Velux Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
Velux Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
A light and breathable cycling jersey with Solo's signature retro styling. The Velux jersey is built on the Solo Classique construction with knitted polycotton/lycra arm and neck bands for a refined heritage look.
 

Does the graphics on the jersey relate to the Danish window manufacturer?

1 year, 7 months ago
by
StuMur
Dunfermline, Fife, UK
 
StuMur's Answers
 
 Elite Crono Hydro-Mag ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Hydro-Mag ElastoGel Trainer
Breakthrough Fluid+Mag technology offers higher resistance at a set speed - especially at low speed to replicate climbs and headwinds.
 

Do I need a turbo trainer tyre?

I'm planning on using this for some 30-45 minute interval sessions 3 or 4 times a week for the next month or so. Will I notice wear on my tyre with this level of use? As Winter is (hopefully) nearly over, and I can get back out on the road soon, I don't want to have to faff around changing a tyre unless I have to.
Never used a turbo trainer before, so any advice would be appreciated.
Yes! you will notice wear on your tyre if you use the turbo for the amount of time you are proposing. (Which incidentally will be hard work).
I find it easier to have a second back wheel and cassette, it takes me roughly a minute to change over each time I use my turbo.
8 months ago
by
StuMur
Dunfermline, Fife, UK
 
 Velux Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
Velux Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
A light and breathable cycling jersey with Solo's signature retro styling. The Velux jersey is built on the Solo Classique construction with knitted polycotton/lycra arm and neck bands for a refined heritage look.
 

Does the graphics on the jersey relate to the Danish window manufacturer?

The graphics are actually a reference to Luxembourg, "VE" from Velo as in bike and "LUX "as per the Duchy.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
StuMur
Dunfermline, Fife, UK