abbzaki
Share abbzaki's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
abbzaki's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    18 August 2013
  • Last Review
    07 February 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    18 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    07 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
abbzaki's Reviews
 
The Continental quality road long valve inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Faulty valves
Posted07 February 2015
abbzaki
fromHouston
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Been using these inner tubes for a few years, generally buying 5 at a time. The last batch left me stranded after a winter blow out. Fitted the spare and inflated. Unscrewed my pump from the valve and the inner of the valve unscrewed with my pump. Tried again. Same thing.
Next puncture close to home, same thing. Hopefully an isolated incident, but leaves some concern. (Prior batches have been perfect. Decent, light inner tubes.)"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Low Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
This is the bib-tight made to the exact specifications of the Tinkoff-Saxo pro cycling team pro riders. Designed to deliver comfort during those long winter rides building the base for next summer’s cycling goals.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good pad. Warm and reasonably waterproof bibtights
Posted23 October 2014
abbzaki
fromHouston
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Watch out for crazy sizing. Ended up with XXL for my sub 35" waist after trying L then XL (size chart states L for 34.5". XXL for 38.5").
Overall happy. Great fit, good pad and decent styling for winter tights. Warm and reasonably waterproof.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: sizing measurement inaccurate
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Vittoria Zip bag is a useful bag to keep an emergency repair kit i.e. Pit stop, inner tube, tyre levers, CO2 cartridge or personal items like keys, mobile phone, money etc. Will fit in a jersey rear pocket or bottle cage.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice idea, but is it any better than a saddle bag?
Posted15 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
abbzaki
fromHouston
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to slip in and out of your spare bottle cage fo access (easier than a saddle bag). Ideal for a couple of inner tubes, levers, phone, etc, but I find the construction is fairly rigid limiting the stuffability (compared to a saddle bag). I've not used my saddle bag since buying this."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Durable and light weight - Great tyres
Posted18 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
abbzaki
fromHouston
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I initially bought 23mm tyres when I upgraded my wheels, but on advice from friends thought I'd give the 25s a try. The 23s were fine - fast and grippy and no punctures in a limited use of 400 miles.
I've ridden the 25s (on my second set) for around 2500 miles and have had two punctures (both happened within 5 miles of each other but on different runs - lots of hedge cutting leaving thorns on the road in that area). I like the grip and the light weight. They look pretty cool too."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SLR Super Flow The ideal solution for those who find it hard to get a comfortable position while riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Takes away that long day in the saddle numbness
Posted18 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
abbzaki
fromHoustoun
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Within three hours after my first sportive, of which the final 47 miles of an 87 mile route were unbearable, leaving complete numbness for two or three days, I was online checking out new saddles. I read some good reviews of the SLR Superflow, but also some from people who couldn't get on with it.
The first few rides felt strange (probably because I was still suffering from my first long ride), but after a full summer of riding and 2500 miles of use I've nothing but praise for this saddle. Really light, very comfortable, and I've completed several 80+ rides on it without any numbness or pain. Some occasional tenderness on the inner thigh but minimal, and more care applying the chamois cream sorts that.
With such a large cut out I was concerned the saddle might flex, but it doesn't.
Would definitely recommend."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
abbzaki's Questions
 
abbzaki has not submitted any questions.
 
abbzaki's Answers
 
The Continental quality road long valve inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

Size for Fulcrum Red Wind??

These tubes (700 x 25,60mm size) are WAY too big for my fulcrum red wind wheels. Also do not fit my Bontrager (running 700x23 tyres on both the tube is simply too big for the rim)

Given answers to all the questions this doesn't make much sense. What is the issue here? Do these need to be ordered in a smaller size? All my other tubes are 700x20/25 and fit just fine...
Assuming you mean the tube is too long, I've had the same issue on one batch of these (on Fulcrum and Campag wheels). Recent ones have been fine.
6 months ago
by
abbzaki
Houston
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

How well do these tyres perform in the wet?

Where I live, the roads can be wet a lot of the time, so having tyres which handle well in the wet is essential.
Ridden 100s of wet road miles in these and I find them excellent. Really confidence inspiring. A friend following me on a wet downhill corner on different, supposedly wet weather tyres, crashed, whilst on these I didn't even feel a push.

Can't say that this was purely the tyres as there can be so many variables that can cause a slide.
2 years ago
by
abbzaki
Houston