simplesimon59
Share simplesimon59's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
simplesimon59's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    13
  • First Review
    18 July 2013
  • Last Review
    24 May 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    29 October 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    21 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    20 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
simplesimon59's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Cycliq Fly6 combines a 30 lumen rear light with a 720p action camera mounted in a weatherproof housing. The Fly6 mounts behind your saddle to capture all the action going on behind you. Pre order from the Buy Now tab below.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A great safety aid
Posted24 May 2015
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this because I wanted a safety camera rather than an action camera and was looking for more than the 2 hours battery life you get from a go-pro.
Quality of the video is good, easily good enough to see number plates and faces and good enough to post up when friends riding behind make silly mistakes. The picture is very stable, better than most go-pro footage I have seen.
Although mounted above the rear wheel, on my bike there are no mudguards, the unit shrugs off water with droplets disappearing off the lens seconds after they have landed.
My easily lasts the advertised 6 hours when the lights are off. I am currently awaiting the new Fly12 to add to the front of the bike.
I replaced the shipped 8GB micro SD card with a 32GB which means I get to keep a whole 8 hours footage. This is not really necessary for a safety camera, the 8GB card will hold 2 hours worth, but the quality is good enough to use to keep some memorable bits.
Some reviews have said the latch is very tight and it is at first. I found the best way to remove the light from the mount was to turn a flat bladed screwdriver sideways in the latch to release it. Once the light has been removed 2 or 3 times the latch loosens p but still hods the light firmly when on the road. Also a bit of lube on the rails of the mount help it lift off slightly easier.
An added bonus is Cycliq are a really responsive company and listen to ideas and requests from their customers.
The price is also excellent for a really good light and a great camera."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Odlo Evolution Warm Crew Neck LS Base Layer
Odlo Evolution Warm Crew Neck LS Base Layer
The evolution warm crew neck long sleeve base layer acts like a second skin, soft and comfortable but with optimal moisture control. Perfect insulation. The "zoned technology" provides total freedom of movement. Great for activities in colder climates.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great base layer for the winter
Posted20 March 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wanted a warmer base layer for the winter and preferably one with thermolite. This base layer fits well, it is nice a long which is great for the bike. I followed the sizing guide and found it accurate. It wicks sweat away well."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The professional work-stand also used by Pro Tour teams, designed to meet their needs, Completely height-adjustable, with possibility of rotating the top part even with the bicycle mounted.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great bike stand, esp for carbon frames
Posted05 February 2015
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this bike stand to replace a pervious black dog one. The main reason being my black dog one clamped around the seat post and this wouldn't work with the split seat post my Canyon has.
The fork//dropout mounts are great and fit easily, unlike the Tacx stand I tried befoe this one. This is important as hub mounts on my forks are inset. The bottom brackets rests well on the otehr end of the arm and the strap holds it all firmly. The ability to allow the bike to be rotated or locked in place is very useful when working on it or cleaning.
Its strudy and stays firmly in place.
Only down side is the fork mounts have to be moved to put it away so they can't be left in the right place but it takes very little to get them positioned again when mounting the bike.
Overall a good stand."
Pros: Durable, Adjustable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Tacx Spider Team Workstand 2014
Tacx Spider Team Workstand 2014
The Spider Team is light, compact when folded away and easy to carry with a rotatable and tilting work surface. The triangular profiled tubes are anodised making them detergent-resistant and exchangeable fork holders are included.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
A great product IF it fits your bike
Posted22 September 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this stand so I could work on my Canyon endurace carbon framed bike. The problem is the front fork mounts don't actually fit. If your bike has a front fork that is flush with the fork end then it may fit although it will be carrying some pressure on the fork itself. If, like my Canyon, the fork steps out (in towards the wheel) away from the fork end the front fork mounts will come into contact with the fork rather than the fork ends and a) mean you are crushing your fork (not good) or b) the front fork just springs out. The various insets for the fork mounts are actually for different size axles and don't help with this problem.
Its a pity because it would be simple to get it right and it is such an obvious design flaw.
The stand looks great, is light and easy to assemble and if this problem was fixed it would be great."
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
The Podium Big Chill Fluo 750ml bottle is a large capacity insulated bottle. The double-wall construction with insulation keeps water cold twice as long as regular sports bottles. The new self-sealing Jet Valve nozzle is removable for ease of cleaning.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Improved nozzle
Posted09 June 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like Camelbak bottle because they have a great nozzle that you don't need to open with your teeth and wont leak. The new ones have a wider nozzle which is better. The Chill bottle is good as it keeps teh drink a bit cooler on the hot days. It is just athermal wrapper so no freezing the bottle before hand.
The thermal insulation means it is longer than the normal large podium bottle so won't fit many women's bikes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Using the same 2:1 ingredient ratio as other Torq products Torq Gels have a blend of Maltodextrin, a long chain complex carbohydrate and Fructose (fruit sugar) this means its absorbed easier and gentle on the stomach.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
In search of a palatable gel
Posted09 June 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Gels are very personal and I have tried a lot to find the ones I like. The good points bout these are they have a realistic taste, they don't have a chemical taste like some (e.g. SIS) and they are thick enough not to squirt everywhere (e.g. High5). The only down side to them is they are very sweet.
Overall these are better than most. I like the strawberry yoghurt ones, the apple crumble ones and teh raspbery ripple ones."
Pros: good taste, good texture
Cons: very sweet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight road cycling bibshort developed for long and demanding rides. The slight compressive fabric as well as the innovative bib construction and the flat bottom hem guarantee optimum fit and avoid any irritation.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not up to Gore's usual standard
Posted02 June 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A lot of my kit is from Gore but I was disappointed with these shorts.
I am roughly in the middle of the large size according to Gore so I bought a large pair of these shorts. They fit OK and I doubt a medium would but... after a few weeks the bottom of the legs have gone limp. I have slim legs but they are now loose when I stand. They don't have a normal gripper band, rather a lot of small diamonds of grip material set around a wide band at teh base of the legs. Althoug on the bike these are in contact with my legs they don't work at all. This may be becaus the bottom of teh legs are loose.
The material is very light and comfortable but has no compression at all.
The biggest issue is with the pad. I bought the shorts as I wanted some that were good for a whole day in the saddle. The basic pad is fine but around teh edage is a large panel of pad material without any padding. I suspect this is intentended to help reduce rubbing on long rides but is is so bulky it gets in the way. It comes up down the legs and up the front half way to the navel. I find the lack of flexibility in it becomes uncomfortable after about 3 hours.
The front extends to well above the navel making taking a leak a bit of a struggle.
Also if you get the black and white ones be aware that the white panels are almost see through. My wife comments on being able to see the hairs on my legs (No, I dont shave) through them.
Overall not up to the usual gore standard,"
Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit, uncomfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The perfect piece to wear under your helmet in the summer. Mesh on the top allows for lots of airflow, while the Velocity fabric around the base absorbs moisture to keep it out of your eyes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Light weight stops sweat, itching and bugs biting
Posted02 June 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this because, being a baldy, I found a got sweat itches on my head when riding, bugs that went inside my helmet bit me and also teh sweat bad on teh helmet was not always enough on a hot day.
I wear a small size helmet but the cap fits snuggly and works well at stopping all of the issues I was suffering from. Ivdon't feel the cooling breeze on your head but I don't get too hot with it on either.
I haven't had a chance to see if it stops sunburn yet but hopefully as I don't lke risking suncream being washed into my eyes.
Overall a useful purchase."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Custom Race Bottle Cage - 2013
Elite Custom Race Bottle Cage - 2013
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
OK but Camelbak bottle wouldn't fit
Posted14 April 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use Camelbak bottles. When i tried to insert my Podium bottle into the cage the rubber gripper was so tight it prevented the bottle being inserted properly. This happened with both my normal Podium bottle and my Podium chill bottle. This was true of 2 separate bottle holders.
Without the rubber gripper it may have been fine.
So they were returned."
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Clif Shot takes a streamlined approach to performance nutrition – delivering only what your body needs most while training and racing. The organic ingredients help provide clean essential energy and hydration, plus fast muscle recovery.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
May be not to everyones liking
Posted28 March 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like the espresso Clif Shot gel. It is like eating soft coffee favoured choloate an dthe cafeine boost helps.
These gels are not too sweet which is nice but they are very thick, like soft chocolate so need to be taken with drink."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
simplesimon59's Questions
 
 Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
The best selling tyre from the Vredestein range. The Fortezza TriComp is Vredestein most popular competition tyre and is suitable for mixed weather conditions.
 

Any good as a winter tyre

I am looking to put some tyres with a better grip on my Gant Defy 1. I will probably go for 25mm. I have read various reviews and have a number of choices. These tyres seem to come out as having a lot of grip, which is my main concern.

Do they grip well in the wet?
Would you get these, Gators or Conti 4 seasons?
2 years, 8 months ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
 Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
For the coming season the PRO overshoe range has been completely revamped and is bigger and better than ever. Innovative features, great designs, and excellent media reviews make PRO overshoes the obvious choice.
 

Help putting these overshoes on for a newbie

This is my first pair of overshoes and as they are neoprene I don't want to tear them especially before I have worked out if they fit. I have Specialized road shoes with velcro closures.

What is the best way to put these overshoes on?

I am sure I will feel dumb when the answer comes thru.

Thanks
2 years, 9 months ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
simplesimon59's Answers
 
The professional work-stand also used by Pro Tour teams, designed to meet their needs, Completely height-adjustable, with possibility of rotating the top part even with the bicycle mounted.
 

Will this be safe for my trek 4.3 carbon bike?

Will it be safe to use this stand on my 2015 trek 4.3 DOMANE with 105 group set?
Thanks
I bought one of these stands for my Canyon carbon frame. It is fine as the bottom bracket just sits on a plastic ridge, the front or rear forks connect with a standard quick release skewer and there is an adjustable strap that passes over the down tube for added stability. I use mine for cleaning and repairs.

I tried the Tacx stand before this one but the fork mounts did not allow for the lawyers lips to be inset. The mounts on this stand are about the same size as a wheel axle.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
The professional work-stand also used by Pro Tour teams, designed to meet their needs, Completely height-adjustable, with possibility of rotating the top part even with the bicycle mounted.
 

Do you have to have the rear wheel on the bike as shown to have it fixed to the stand or can you have both wheels removed & use the stand?

You can mount either the front forks or the rear dropouts on the stand so you can leave the front wheel in place, the rear wheel in place or neither.
5 months ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
The perfect piece to wear under your helmet in the summer. Mesh on the top allows for lots of airflow, while the Velocity fabric around the base absorbs moisture to keep it out of your eyes.
 

Sizing

will this onesize scullcap be enough tight on my head 54cm circumference?
Best answer
Yes. I have a small head, about 54cm also, and the cap is plenty tight enough.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
 Helly Hansen Dry Revolution Long Sleeve Base Layer AW13
Helly Hansen Dry Revolution Long Sleeve Base Layer AW13
A comfortable and functional baselayer. This HH® Dry Revolution long-sleeve base layer top for men features the unique LIFA® fibre technology and a seamless construction.
 

Sizing

I am 69kg, 38 inch chest, 31/31 waist and 5ft 11.75. What size would you recomend?
I am 5'10" 75Kg and a slightly larger chest. The medium was bit a bit tight under the arms for me. I would suggest it should fit you nicely.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
 Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
For the coming season the PRO overshoe range has been completely revamped and is bigger and better than ever. Innovative features, great designs, and excellent media reviews make PRO overshoes the obvious choice.
 

what are the sizing guides on the overshoes

I have Specialized size 44 shoes. The XL size of these shoes fit well. They could probably handle size 45 shoes as well.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
 Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
For the coming season the PRO overshoe range has been completely revamped and is bigger and better than ever. Innovative features, great designs, and excellent media reviews make PRO overshoes the obvious choice.
 

Help putting these overshoes on for a newbie

This is my first pair of overshoes and as they are neoprene I don't want to tear them especially before I have worked out if they fit. I have Specialized road shoes with velcro closures.

What is the best way to put these overshoes on?

I am sure I will feel dumb when the answer comes thru.

Thanks
Best answer
Thanks for the answers.

I ended up doing it the obvious way, i.e. put my shoes on and then try to slip the overshoe on. They are difficult to put on as they are very tight and your do have to use a lot of brute force to stretch the neoprene. Also you do have to keep an eye on the cleat as this can easily snag the inside.

I did discover that folding back the toe when I put my foot in helped a bit.

These would have been a lot easier to put on if the strap across the bottom had been velcro.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK