simplesimon59
Share simplesimon59's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
simplesimon59's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    18 July 2013
  • Last Review
    09 June 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    12 September 2012
  • Last Question
    29 October 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    02 June 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
simplesimon59's Reviews
 
The Podium Big Chill Fluo 750ml bottle is a large capacity insulated bottle. The double-wall construction with insulation keeps water cold twice as long as regular sports bottles. The new self-sealing Jet Valve nozzle is removable for ease of cleaning.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Improved nozzle
Posted09 June 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like Camelbak bottle because they have a great nozzle that you don't need to open with your teeth and wont leak. The new ones have a wider nozzle which is better. The Chill bottle is good as it keeps teh drink a bit cooler on the hot days. It is just athermal wrapper so no freezing the bottle before hand.
The thermal insulation means it is longer than the normal large podium bottle so won't fit many women's bikes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
In line with the formulation used in their energy drinks, Torq Gels have a blend of Maltodextrin, a long chain complex carbohydrate and Fructose (fruit sugar) in a 2:1 ratio for maximum carbohydrate absorption.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
In search of a palatable gel
Posted09 June 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Gels are very personal and I have tried a lot to find the ones I like. The good points bout these are they have a realistic taste, they don't have a chemical taste like some (e.g. SIS) and they are thick enough not to squirt everywhere (e.g. High5). The only down side to them is they are very sweet.
Overall these are better than most. I like the strawberry yoghurt ones, the apple crumble ones and teh raspbery ripple ones."
Pros: good taste, good texture
Cons: very sweet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight road cycling bibshort developed for long and demanding rides. The slight compressive fabric as well as the innovative bib construction and the flat bottom hem guarantee optimum fit and avoid any irritation.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not up to Gore's usual standard
Posted02 June 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A lot of my kit is from Gore but I was disappointed with these shorts.
I am roughly in the middle of the large size according to Gore so I bought a large pair of these shorts. They fit OK and I doubt a medium would but... after a few weeks the bottom of the legs have gone limp. I have slim legs but they are now loose when I stand. They don't have a normal gripper band, rather a lot of small diamonds of grip material set around a wide band at teh base of the legs. Althoug on the bike these are in contact with my legs they don't work at all. This may be becaus the bottom of teh legs are loose.
The material is very light and comfortable but has no compression at all.
The biggest issue is with the pad. I bought the shorts as I wanted some that were good for a whole day in the saddle. The basic pad is fine but around teh edage is a large panel of pad material without any padding. I suspect this is intentended to help reduce rubbing on long rides but is is so bulky it gets in the way. It comes up down the legs and up the front half way to the navel. I find the lack of flexibility in it becomes uncomfortable after about 3 hours.
The front extends to well above the navel making taking a leak a bit of a struggle.
Also if you get the black and white ones be aware that the white panels are almost see through. My wife comments on being able to see the hairs on my legs (No, I dont shave) through them.
Overall not up to the usual gore standard,"
Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit, uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The perfect piece to wear under your helmet in the summer. Mesh on the top allows for lots of airflow, while the Velocity fabric around the base absorbs moisture to keep it out of your eyes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Light weight stops sweat, itching and bugs biting
Posted02 June 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this because, being a baldy, I found a got sweat itches on my head when riding, bugs that went inside my helmet bit me and also teh sweat bad on teh helmet was not always enough on a hot day.
I wear a small size helmet but the cap fits snuggly and works well at stopping all of the issues I was suffering from. Ivdon't feel the cooling breeze on your head but I don't get too hot with it on either.
I haven't had a chance to see if it stops sunburn yet but hopefully as I don't lke risking suncream being washed into my eyes.
Overall a useful purchase."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Custom Race Bottle Cage - 2013
Elite Custom Race Bottle Cage - 2013
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
OK but Camelbak bottle wouldn't fit
Posted14 April 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use Camelbak bottles. When i tried to insert my Podium bottle into the cage the rubber gripper was so tight it prevented the bottle being inserted properly. This happened with both my normal Podium bottle and my Podium chill bottle. This was true of 2 separate bottle holders.
Without the rubber gripper it may have been fine.
So they were returned."
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Clif Shot takes a streamlined approach to performance nutrition – delivering only what your body needs most while training and racing. The organic ingredients help provide clean essential energy and hydration, plus fast muscle recovery.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
May be not to everyones liking
Posted28 March 2014
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like the espresso Clif Shot gel. It is like eating soft coffee favoured choloate an dthe cafeine boost helps.
These gels are not too sweet which is nice but they are very thick, like soft chocolate so need to be taken with drink."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Oxygen long sleeve jersey is ideal for days when out on the bike and there is a slight chill in the air. It is stretchy, lightweight and comfortable with a good solid construction that helps keep fully loaded pockets in place.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
A goodlong sleeve jersey
Posted28 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am 5'10 (1.78m) and weigh 11st 10lbs (74kg). The large size of this jersey is a nice snug fit, although slightly generous on the arms. It is a great jersey for spring and autumn when its a bit cool for a short sleeve jersey. Also works well with a base layer under it.
Only problems are:
1. the zip pocket is so small you can't really use it. You can't get a phone in it and can barely squeeze a puch with money and id in it. But the other pockets are deep and secure secure.
2. The red colour in mine ran on the sleeve when it was first worn."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
A comfortable and functional baselayer. This HH® Dry Revolution long-sleeve base layer top for men features the unique LIFA® fibre technology and a seamless construction.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good, light base layer
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The base layer is quite lightweight which makes it comfortable to where and even use on cool but not cold days.
It wicks sweat away very well.
Following the size guide I ordered a medium and it was very tight. In fact too tight under the arms. I then ordered the large and it is a nice snug fit so I would say go for a size larger unless you are right at the bottom of the size guide range.
The only slight negative is the top is very long. I am 5'10" and it passes my groin. Great for keeping the more delicate areas warm on the bike."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A warm and elastic cycling cap that fits comfortably under your helmet. The Universal cap features a Windstopper Softshell front panel for effective windchill protection on cold winter training rides and chilly commutes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keeps my ears warm
Posted14 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
"I wanted a winter hat I could wear under my helmet that kept my ears warm. Unlike many, this is made of a stretch windstopper fabric rather than a fleece. It fits comfortably under my helmet and does cover my ears. I have a small head (54cm) and the 54-58 size fits fine, if a fraction loose.
The only drawback, but I suspect this is true of all winter hats, is the loss of hearing and, when travelling faster, this is worsened by wind noise on the fabric."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Kéo Covers protect your cleats and improve walking in cleated shoes. They are compatible with all Kéo cleats.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Clips on fine and doesnt come off
Posted18 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
simplesimon59
fromBedford, UK
"There have been previous reviews saying these are difficult to get on. I haven't found that. As long as they are roughly in place, standing on them pushes them home. They have softened after a couple of months use. They don't come off and they do protect my cleats. I just have to remember a) to put them on and b) to take them off before trying to get on the bike.
My last cleats lasted 10 months without these, I don't know how much more I will get out of the cleats with these but its worth a go and it does mean walking on polished floors a) isn't as slippery and b) doesn't mark the floors.
The cleat covers are made of strong thick plastic, although it is pliable so I suspect they will last a long time."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
simplesimon59's Questions
 
 Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
The best selling tyre from the Vredestein range. The Fortezza TriComp is Vredestein most popular competition tyre and is suitable for mixed weather conditions.
 

Any good as a winter tyre

I am looking to put some tyres with a better grip on my Gant Defy 1. I will probably go for 25mm. I have read various reviews and have a number of choices. These tyres seem to come out as having a lot of grip, which is my main concern.

Do they grip well in the wet?
Would you get these, Gators or Conti 4 seasons?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
 Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
For the coming season the PRO overshoe range has been completely revamped and is bigger and better than ever. Innovative features, great designs, and excellent media reviews make PRO overshoes the obvious choice.
 

Help putting these overshoes on for a newbie

This is my first pair of overshoes and as they are neoprene I don't want to tear them especially before I have worked out if they fit. I have Specialized road shoes with velcro closures.

What is the best way to put these overshoes on?

I am sure I will feel dumb when the answer comes thru.

Thanks
2 years ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
simplesimon59's Answers
 
The perfect piece to wear under your helmet in the summer. Mesh on the top allows for lots of airflow, while the Velocity fabric around the base absorbs moisture to keep it out of your eyes.
 

Sizing

will this onesize scullcap be enough tight on my head 54cm circumference?
Yes. I have a small head, about 54cm also, and the cap is plenty tight enough.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
A comfortable and functional baselayer. This HH® Dry Revolution long-sleeve base layer top for men features the unique LIFA® fibre technology and a seamless construction.
 

Sizing

I am 69kg, 38 inch chest, 31/31 waist and 5ft 11.75. What size would you recomend?
I am 5'10" 75Kg and a slightly larger chest. The medium was bit a bit tight under the arms for me. I would suggest it should fit you nicely.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
 Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
For the coming season the PRO overshoe range has been completely revamped and is bigger and better than ever. Innovative features, great designs, and excellent media reviews make PRO overshoes the obvious choice.
 

what are the sizing guides on the overshoes

I have Specialized size 44 shoes. The XL size of these shoes fit well. They could probably handle size 45 shoes as well.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK
 
 Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
For the coming season the PRO overshoe range has been completely revamped and is bigger and better than ever. Innovative features, great designs, and excellent media reviews make PRO overshoes the obvious choice.
 

Help putting these overshoes on for a newbie

This is my first pair of overshoes and as they are neoprene I don't want to tear them especially before I have worked out if they fit. I have Specialized road shoes with velcro closures.

What is the best way to put these overshoes on?

I am sure I will feel dumb when the answer comes thru.

Thanks
Best answer
Thanks for the answers.

I ended up doing it the obvious way, i.e. put my shoes on and then try to slip the overshoe on. They are difficult to put on as they are very tight and your do have to use a lot of brute force to stretch the neoprene. Also you do have to keep an eye on the cleat as this can easily snag the inside.

I did discover that folding back the toe when I put my foot in helped a bit.

These would have been a lot easier to put on if the strap across the bottom had been velcro.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
simplesimon59
Bedford, UK