JonCM
Share JonCM's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JonCM's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    30
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Review
    27 March 2013
  • Last Review
    26 July 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 June 2014
  • Last Answer
    12 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
JonCM's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 dhb GB Edition Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb GB Edition Short Sleeve Jersey
The dhb GB Edition jersey is bold and distinctive as well as designed to perform. With this jersey you're bound to stand out amongst the crowd. Perfect for a summer of sporting endeavour!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Looks great - sizing is smaller than usual though
Posted26 July 2016
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Whilst it looks excellent and represents the usual excellent value you expect from DHB the sizing is definitely 'off' on this jersey.
I consistently order small DHB jerseys and the sizing is always close to perfect - with the same size in this jersey it's on the verge of being a little too tight and restrictive, especially around the shoulders and neck.
Something to consider when choosing your size I think. "
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
 
When you don't want to don full tights but want warmth and water resistance the Nanoflex bib shorts are just right. Ideal for early season racing and training as intensity builds.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good fit and works as advertised
Posted27 November 2015
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Firstly the sizing as I know that's a common concern with Castelli clothing. I'm 5' 10", 72KG with a slim build and the Small fits really well - snug but not tight.
In terms of the advertised water resistance these bibs work very well indeed. Paired up with Nanoflex leg warmers and a Gabba 2 jersey I've been able to keep my water-proof kit in the wardrobe for most of the Autumn/Winter so far.
Be warned that heavy rain will get through so you still have to use your judgement if the weather looks very threatening.
The padding is good, not excellent but the premium price is to pay for the water resistance after all. The fit is good (for me at least) and it has that overall quality feel that makes me come back to Castelli as a brand time-and-time again. "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Nano Grit Hand Cleaner
Muc-Off Nano Grit Hand Cleaner
Maintaining your bike is often a messy job. Muc-Off Nano Grit Hand Cleaner is great for cleaning dirty and oily hands post tune up.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works very well
Posted29 October 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" ... and the tub is absolutely massive. Really useful for quick removal of oil and grime after a bike clean/service.
Highly recommended. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Classic Thermolite® Sock
dhb Classic Thermolite® Sock
Combat the cold on your cold weather rides. The hollow-core fibres of the THERMOLITE® fabric trap in air to provide warmth and comfort without weight. Warm feet are happy feet!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent
Posted22 October 2015
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Pretty much the same as the previous year's version - possibly come up a little shorter but not by much.
Warm, cheap and as hard-wearing as you would expect at this price point. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Blok Micro Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Blok Micro Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
Add colour to your Winter Cycling kit with the new dhb Blok Roubaix Jersey. Finished with the dhb Blok Micro print, this warm, fleeced jersey is breathable and wicking, making it ideal for training and spotives through the cooler months.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Lovely design and fit, not as warm as I expected
Posted29 September 2015
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" The design and fit of this are wonderful - it's a really nice jersey both visually and from a comfort perspective. Beyond even DHBs usually high standards I think.
It does however lose a star for being not quite as insulated as I hoped - for Autumn use you will need a long-sleeve base layer underneath.
For the price point I don't think you can go wrong however. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Eyewear and Goggle Anti-Fog Treatment
Muc-Off Eyewear and Goggle Anti-Fog Treatment
Muc-Off Eyewear and Goggle Anti-Fog Treatment has an intensive anti-mist formula to keep your goggles and glasses fog free for longer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Actually works!
Posted4 September 2015
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Given the price and the claims about it I honestly didn't expect this to work.
But it did! I went from constant fogging for the first 30 minutes of my commute rides to crystal clear the whole way after the first application.
Brilliant - couldn't recommend enough. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
When you workout you sweat, that sweat contains water + electrolytes. With PowerBar 5 ELECTROLYTE Tablets you can mix yourself a zero calorie sports drink which provides the body with the 5 main electrolytes in the same ratio they are lost through sweat.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap and taste better than most other brands
Posted3 September 2015
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" I must have tried most brands of electrolyte drinks at this point and these win in the taste department by an absolute mile. Helps they are pretty cheap as well. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 PowerBar Energize Wafer Bar (12 x 40g) BBF 01/04/2018
PowerBar Energize Wafer Bar (12 x 40g) BBF 01/04/2018
PowerBar Energize Wafer is the first energy wafer with C2MAX, a scientifically developed, special ratio of glucose and fructose sources. A great tasting, crunchy energy bar choice before and during sport!
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Hmmmmm
Posted17 August 2015
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Not quite an energy bar in texture, moisture or carbohydrate contents and not as satisfying as a bar of chocolate or equivalent... I'm not entirely sure what the point of this is.
Decent price though. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 MaxiNutrition Promax Protein Bar 12 x 60g
MaxiNutrition Promax Protein Bar 12 x 60g
MaxiNutrition Promax Protein bars contains 21g of high quality Protein that nourish working muscles allowing them to recover from intense activity. These bars are ideal when you’re in a hurry or just want a change from your normal recovery shakes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Expensive but still the best
Posted30 July 2015
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" If you prefer your recovery protein in bar form and don't mind the price premium then these bars are worth a look. They are actually quite palatable and feel sufficiently substantial. They
They cost more than other brands - but getting them here saves a good amount over buying these at the supermarket.
Overall recommended if your happy with the extra cost. "
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Exclusive flavour to Wiggle. Natural real juice EnergyGel that’s not thick or sweet. Real juice flavours for a light refreshing taste. Race proven in the World’s toughest competitions, easy to carry and open.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
About as good as energy gels can get
Posted30 July 2015
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I don't really like energy gels, but I see the need for them. These are cheap, decently flavoured and seem to sit better than other brands on my stomach.
If your like me and see energy gels as a necessary evil then this is the brand for you :) "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JonCM's Questions
 
JonCM has not submitted any questions.
 
JonCM's Answers
 
 

Waist drawstring?

Do these shorts have a waist drawstring?
No, I'm afraid now.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
JonCM
Nottingham
 
 dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
dhb Slice 15L Rucksack
A compact, 15L rucksack for riding the trails or commuting with a modest amount of gear. The dhb Slice 15L Rucksack has a slim design for a compact, nonrestrictive feel and high-vis finish for enhanced visibility in low lighting conditions.
 

Will this take a 15" laptop?

I know there is now divider, but will it take one at a push?
No - my 15" Sony Vaio doesn't fit. Your mileage may vary depending on the model.....
3 years, 9 months ago
by
JonCM
Nottingham
 
 Spiuk Ventix Sunglasses
Spiuk Ventix Sunglasses
Very popular amongst competitors in different fields due largely to its extended arc shape that makes it extremely enveloping and protective. It adapts to a wide range of face shapes.
 

What lense(s) do the Ventix glasses come with?

The black option comes with mirrored lenses, amber low-light lenses (which are really excellent) and clear lenses. They are all easily interchangeable.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
JonCM
Nottingham