Phil48
Share Phil48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Phil48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    22 September 2012
  • Last Review
    01 January 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    14 December 2013
  • Last Question
    14 December 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    22 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    09 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Phil48's Reviews
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great jacket
Posted01 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Phil48
fromBuntingford UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Jersey looks great in black and is of a very high quality.
Rode in 3deg and with a long sleeve base layer it kept me warm and comfortable, you notice the wind proof panels doing their job but still breaths well so you don't get too sweaty and the high collar kept my neck warm.
5'10", shade under 12 stone, went for large, spot on.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Thermolite Comp Cycling Socks
Altura Thermolite Comp Cycling Socks
A mid weight insulated cycling sock with an ergonomic stretch fit and an antibacterial ion layer for enhanced freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice socks
Posted09 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Phil48
fromBuntingford UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well made, warm and not too thick so will fit if your shoes don't have a lot of room."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Zefal Swan Road Rear Mudguard
Zefal Swan Road Rear Mudguard
A 45mm wide version of the Swan, the Swan road features the same unique fitting system, but is designed to blend better aesthetically with the narrower tyres on road bikes and sports hybrids.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works well
Posted09 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Phil48
fromBuntingford UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Couldn't fit cruds on my bike so this iis the next best thing.
Easy to fit and remove, stops spray up your back but from the rear brake down to the bottom bracket will still get mucky.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Zero Extreme Short Sleeve Base Layer
Craft Zero Extreme Short Sleeve Base Layer
The Craft zero extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted09 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Phil48
fromBuntingford UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"When I fist opened the packet it seemed a lot of money for not very much material.
However having worn the vest there must be more to it. Keeps you dry and warm but not too warm.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Barrier Jacket
Elite Barrier Jacket
Lightweight protection from windchill, spray and showers. The Elite Barrier Jacket packs into a jersey pocket ready for downpours and chilly descents. Mesh vents help prevent overheating and the ergonomic cut keeps you comfortable whatever the weather.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Jacket
Posted29 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Phil48
fromBuntingford UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Couldn't be happier with this jacket. Got it in the sale and at this price it is a real bargain.
Very well made with a real quality feel to it and made from a nice material.
Size guide was spot on and fast delivery as usual from Wiggle.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windproof Overshoe
dhb Windproof Overshoe
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great overshoe
Posted27 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Phil48
fromBuntingford UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"First time I have had warm feet all winter.
Nice and light and well made.
Went for size large which is a bit tight on my 43EU MTB shoes due to the tread but fits just right on my 44EU Bont a-2 road shoe.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good product
Posted23 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Phil48
fromBuntingford UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These make it possible to fit mudguards to bikes without mounting holes. Not the easiest things to fit but they work really well and look good as they are close fitting.
They have little brushes that contact the rim to keep them centered which is a nice idea.
"
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: lots of parts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good top
Posted22 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Phil48
fromBuntingford UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This top has a real quality feel to it with some nice features.
You don't get too sweaty and with a base layer it will keep you warm an a 5c+ ride.
It is a tight fit, I am 5'10", 41" chest, 34 wast with a six into one pack and nearly bought a large but went for an XL and am glad I did as this fits just fine.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Buy
Posted22 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Phil48
fromBuntingford UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I love these bibs, really comfortable and look good with the white stitching and white lower leg band. Nice matt material that doesn't show your bits and bobs to much.
I am 5'11", 41" chest, 34" waist and 80kg.The large fits perfectly.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Phil48's Questions
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

Have you got a picture of the jersey in black.

1 year ago
by
Phil48
Buntingford UK
 
Phil48's Answers
 
 Insight 105 - 2013
Insight 105 - 2013
The Insight is the new carbon platform from the 2013 line, and the 105 equipped model is the foundation of the range. Verenti 2013 - A new Range, a new Vision.
 

tyre size

will the verenti insight 105 take a 700 x 28mm tyre?
I have got 25mm GP4000s fitted and there isn't a lot of clearance especially at the top of the seat stays.
I wouldn't fit anything bigger
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Phil48
Buntingford UK
 
 Insight 105 - 2013
Insight 105 - 2013
The Insight is the new carbon platform from the 2013 line, and the 105 equipped model is the foundation of the range. Verenti 2013 - A new Range, a new Vision.
 

Sizing question and bike weight

What size bike would i need to order? i am approx 177cm tall with an 82cm inseem?

Could you also clear up the actual weight of the complete bike please?
Just weighed my bike,size medium, ready to roll with pedals (105), bike computer, bottle holder and pump bracket which are negligible.
Shade under 9kg.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Phil48
Buntingford UK
 
 Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

Giant Defy 1 (2012) - Will these fit?

Hello,

Will this RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set fit this years Giant Defy 1 (2012)?

(This is the aluminium frame bike that won bike of the year in the £1,000 range).

I am using 25mm tyres.

Please let me know.
Thanks,
Bobby
I have 25mm tyres and they fit fine. Haven't got a Defy but I would say they will fit as they are very adaptable. Have a look at the manufacturers web site, they have a fitting video.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Phil48
Buntingford UK
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

Another one about sizing (5ft 11in, 155 pounds)

Hi everyone

Im willing to buy one of this but Im between two sizes, as many other people here

Im 5ft 11in (182cm), 155pounds (70kgs), waist 32 in (81 cm). So by my high i should go to a large and a medium by waist. I read comments of people with similar proportions and some recommend L and some M...

Any advice? Thanks a lot
You are between the two sizes, I would order both and return the one that doesnt fit as Wiggle has an excellent returns service.
If you just want to order one I would go for large.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Phil48
Buntingford UK