OutAndAboutDave
Share OutAndAboutDave's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
OutAndAboutDave's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    28 July 2013
  • Last Review
    16 June 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    23 October 2013
  • Last Question
    23 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    28 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
OutAndAboutDave's Reviews
 
Great protection all year round, the FS260 Pro Light Gloves from Endura are also astonishingly lightweight and breathable, so you'll barely notice that you're wearing them.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable and lightweight
Posted16 June 2018
OutAndAboutDave
fromLancashire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The number of cycling gloves I own was getting ridiculous a while ago and I've bought a few since then. My wife was dismayed when I ordered these and even I questioned why. However I have absolutely no regrets as they really do fill a gap that I really didn't know was there in my glove arsenal. Despite being full fingered gloves you could probably wear them on the hottest of Summer days. Not that you would, you'd wear mitts, but I'm just saying that they are about as thin and lightweight as you get. The fabric on the back of the hand is exactly the same as used on the FS260 Pro Jetstream jersey sleeves and the palms are a synthetic suede with no stupid big gel blobs on them. They are perfect for that transition from mitts to full fingered gloves (or vice versa) in Autumn/Spring. They feel a little fragile at first and I was worried about durability but they have proved to be quite sturdy so far. They match a white Pro Jetstream jersey perfectly."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Feel like you're flying with Elite's 750ml Fly Bottle which is the lightest sports bottle available worldwide
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very soft and lightweight
Posted16 June 2018
OutAndAboutDave
fromLancashire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Took a bit of getting used to! With all the bottles I have had up to now, the nozzle effectively locks (or sticks) in the open position and you give a good squeeze to jet your water/energy drink or whatever into your gob. This bottle is different in that the nozzle is quite loose and thus liable to close when you shove it in your mouth. Also, the bottle body is so soft that giving a good squeeze would quickly shoot more than your mouth can handle. I took to gripping the nozzle in my mouth and pulling ever so slightly to keep the nozzle open and sucking the drink out. Now i think I squeeze slightly as well... whatever. In summary be prepared to have to change the way you drink from your bottle. It took me several rides to adapt and I still dribble a bit but I think I've nearly nailed it.
I got the clear version, which I think is described as GREY, but it is a clear bottle. I didn't want any other colour because I like to be able to see exactly how much drink I have left in my bottle. They are very nice looking bottles. Very sleek and minimalistic. Not sure how durable they will prove to be but they seem to be ok so far.. I use them in Elite Custom Race Plus bottle cages and they slide in and out very nicely.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful UK Rain Jacket
Sportful UK Rain Jacket
For the worst conditions out on the road the Sportful UK Rain Jacket is designed to keep you dry and comfortable. Using Hurricane 3 layer waterproof fabric you get maximum protection from the rain, with a hood for the most extreme conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality and sensible design
Posted8 July 2015
OutAndAboutDave
fromLancashire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A superb jacket. The design is simplicity itself. There is very little not to like about this garment. It looks good, feels well made and durable, has all the design features I need and none that I don't... The fit is nice and snug but not overly tight (on me!). I'm 6'2", 85kg and size large is spot on."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Very poor in reduced light.
Posted28 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
OutAndAboutDave
"I bought this camera for skiing and it performed admirably. Came back from my most recent hols with some great footage. Battery life is excellent and operation could not be easier (huge on/off sliding switch on the top). Took some severe knocks and it's still working perfectly.
On the bike it's pretty good too. However, in reduced light the performance is quite poor. Into the evening the image becomes grainy and blurred. In the night, even on well lit streets, you're wasting your time. To be fair I think this would apply to most cameras.
My main gripe is the lack of mounts that came with the camera. I was immediately forced into shelling out another 17 quid for a headband mount and the cycling helmet mount is about the same also. I'm also disappointed that the settings cannot be changed on the move. You have to plug your camera into a PC and change the settings with the free Contour Storyteller software. I think the camera is perhaps a little on the pricey side too.
However, overall, I'm happy with my purchase and I would recommend this product.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
OutAndAboutDave's Questions
 
 Lezyne Spare Silicone Strap
Lezyne Spare Silicone Strap
Spare multi-position silicon strap for the Femto Drive LED, Micro Drive, Micro Drive rear, and Macro Drive lights.
 

Is this suitable for the zecto drive lights?

4 years, 7 months ago
by
OutAndAboutDave
 
OutAndAboutDave's Answers
 
 Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 

Geo Tagging?

Does the contour roam 2 HD Geo Tag your films?
No. This camera is not equipped with GPS. The Contour +2, however, is GPS enabled but is not waterproof!!!!
4 years, 10 months ago
by
OutAndAboutDave