Marigold
Share Marigold's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Marigold's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    02 January 2014
  • Last Review
    04 February 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    10 December 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    10 December 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    29 November 2012
  • Last Question
    20 December 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    02 January 2014
  • Last Answer
    02 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Marigold's Reviews
 
19 function multitool weighing a mere 175g (without tool flask).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better than expected!
Posted04 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Marigold
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I purchased this tool with a view to using it for a future cycle tour around Europe and also to see just how efficient the chain link removal tool was.
After having recently purchased a KMC chain I needed to remove a few links from it and it works well. The tool for this job has a quality feel to it and it was well and truly tested when i had to remove two links. A lot of pressure needs to be applied to the turning of the screw to get the link moving and i had to use a pair of pliers as leverage to do this, but i could have easily used a flat surface instead.
A cheaper version of this tool would have bent the flange where the screw attaches and i am pleased to report that this does not happen as the metal is solid and hard-wearing.
As far as the tin for storing the tool is concerned it is perfect...there's no rattling around either. This is one of my better purchases.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: needs greater leverage ability on chain tool screw
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Keep your feet warm without the hassle of a full shoecover. Made from super-durable neoprene, Castelli toecovers slip easily over the front of your shoe and are held in place by the cleats.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
No Hassle To Use
Posted11 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Marigold
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
"When i purchased a pair of these toe covers i was unsure how good they'd be and they certainly are v useful and keep my toes warm.
The quality is good and they are easy to use, unlike overshoes, but as i don't ride with cleat cycling shoes, just normal walking shoes it would have been nice if Castelli could have a version of these without the gap for cleats at the bottom as my feet would be even warmer.
Another thing i like about these is that they are stretchy and easy to pull of the shoes when i am not cycling.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, stretchy
Cons: no non-cleat version
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The DUO is made of two parts, and comes without a bow frame above the front wheel. The front fork needs to pass through, mid-point braze-ons as well as drop-out eyelets. Mounting of bags, and riding performance, are similar to the TARA. The DUO is particularly suitable for tandems or touring bikes f...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does not fit the forks of a Specialized Vita Elite
Posted02 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
Marigold
fromAberdeen
Country : United Kingdom
"The product quality is v.good, but it does not fit the forks despite being recommended this by Wiggle staff.
I am now stuck with a rack that I can either send back or keep it and buy parts to fit it to the axle or with clamps, but I don't like the idea of the latter because in the end on a long tour it's more parts to keep checking."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: does not fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Marigold's Questions
 
For a safer journey. You have full control on icy roads with the Marathon Winter.
 

Which inner tube for this tyre?

OK, I have just purchased this tyre and my wheel size is 622x18C; which inner tube do you recommend for it? I would prefer Schwalbe.

Thanks.
10 months ago
by
Marigold
Aberdeen
 
For a safer journey. You have full control on icy roads with the Marathon Winter.
 

My wheel says 622 x 18C, will this 35C tyre fit onto it?

I want it for winter road touring. Thanks.
10 months ago
by
Marigold
Aberdeen
 
 

Tyre size question

I have a Specialized hybrid(Vita Elite) which I use for touring and currently have the original Nimbus FlakJacket 700 x 28c tyres on which I now want to replace with the Schwalbe Marathon tyre here.

Will this tyre fit my wheel?

Thanks
10 months ago
by
Marigold
Aberdeen
 
The best selling Tubus lowrider has been improving over the last 17 years, and is well known as the indestructable burro. With its adjustable side arms and the different mounting holes it can be easily mounted on nearly every fork.
 

Which is the best fitting front rack for a Specialized Vita Elite?

There are front eyelets on these disc brakes forks, but they are being used for the front mudguard, so what do you recommend?

Thanks in advance :-)
10 months ago
by
Marigold
Aberdeen
 
For a safer journey. You have full control on icy roads with the Marathon Winter.
 

Will these tyres fit onto my Shimnao RS20 road wheels?

The wheel says 622*15c on it , but I'm not great on different tyres sizes and usually go for 700*23c when I'm buying a new tyre , but last night cycling back from work I hit black ice at the top of a hill and the front wheel came away and I went flying :-)

Appreciate any adivce on this, thanks in advance.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Marigold
Aberdeen
 
Marigold's Answers
 
The best selling Tubus lowrider has been improving over the last 17 years, and is well known as the indestructable burro. With its adjustable side arms and the different mounting holes it can be easily mounted on nearly every fork.
 

Which is the best fitting front rack for a Specialized Vita Elite?

There are front eyelets on these disc brakes forks, but they are being used for the front mudguard, so what do you recommend?

Thanks in advance :-)
WiggleJoe, I'm afraid you have recommended me the wrong product for my bike as the Duo LowRider rack does not fit the forks of a Specialized Vita Elite.

Now if I want to keep this rack what do I do to make it fit?
9 months ago
by
Marigold
Aberdeen