ScoopsUK
Share ScoopsUK's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
ScoopsUK's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    11 August 2013
  • Last Review
    11 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 January 2013
  • Last Question
    19 January 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    20
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    05 April 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
ScoopsUK's Reviews
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
How are there any left in stock?!?
Posted11 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ScoopsUK
fromWest Midlands, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This bike is essentially identical to the 2013 Charge Scissor which retails around the £700 mark!! If you are even considering it then don't, just get it.
It is my go to bike for everything apart from off roading. Yes it is a freestyle bike but I use it as an urban/road/everything else bike and it is fantastic. Great matte finish paint which looks black/dark grey apart from in bright sunshine when you see the very dark green colour. Nicely made with some wonderful little touches. Small frames but it is a trick bike - I am six foot and the medium is fine for me apart from the seatpost.
Comes with two caliper brakes and rather feeble looking brake levers. I took the back one off and run it fixed gear. Here is what I changed on it:
1. Seatpost changed to a 400mm one. The one included is 350mm but was a bit short to get an efficient riding position for me. If you are using the bike for tricks and the like then the included seatpost will be fine.
2. I don't know why they include the tyres they do. Far too off road based and not amazing grip on tarmac. Changed them for some Schwalbe Big Apple 2.35s. They have really improved the ride of the bike - highly recommended.
Negatives? Running fixed gear is quite noisy, I believe due to the chainline being quite far off. The freewheel side of the hub appears to be further from the centreline of the hub. Haven't tried putting spacers to step out the fixed cog yet. The grips are super grippy but a bit sore without gloves. Seat is comfortable for an hour or so but probably not after that. Brakes aren't amazing.
Might appear the bike has some faults but it really is a great machine. If the price keeps dropping I may pick up another one!!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: needs urban tyres
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ScoopsUK's Questions
 
 Crossride Disc 29er Wheelset
Crossride Disc 29er Wheelset
The Crossride 29er (disc) wheels are Mavic’s entry level wheels and provide great reliability and strength whatever the terrain. They Feature alloy rims, steel spokes, alloy hub bodies and QR’s making a versatile set of MTB wheels.
 

Mavic Crossride Axle Compatibility

Will this wheel fit a standard 9mm QR frame and fork?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
ScoopsUK's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

Performance as urban bike?

I have already got a fast (and expensive) road-hybrid bike that I use for commuting and training. Major downside is that I can't really park it anywhere, so I can't use it as an every day bike in and around the city. It would get stolen or vandalized right away.
I'm thinking of buying a cheaper single speed bike to use in the city. First I was looking at road bike models, buit maybe something like this would be better over short distances in the city. I would like a rugged bike that is comfortable, but also relatively fast.
For you that own this bike; could this bike be an option for me or should I look elsewhere?
Thanks!
It is a great urban bike. I use this almost exclusively unless I am going off road. I put a longer seat post on and changed the tyres but everything else works well. It steers quickly though and is fairly fast all things considered. You might find running it single speed on the 14t freewheel means you will be spinning out a bit too much. You can change that of course but without changing quite a bit, you will be limited to BMX sprockets. Running fixed means you can drop to 10t on the rear.
11 months ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

What size street should i look for?

i am interested in putting some slick street tyres on this but am unsure of the size to look for.
You can put any 29er tyre on it but I went for some Schwalbe Big Apple tyres in a 2.35 inch width. There is tons of tyre clearance and they suit the bike well. Don't be put off by schwalbe calling them 28 inch tyres as they are really for what we call 29 inch ones.
11 months ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

What is the size (diameter) of fixed cog and locking?

There seems to be some kind of micro drive hub, because fixed cog is 10t. Normal track cogs and lockrings are too large to that hub. Where I can find suitable spare cogs and lock rings?
While not offering a direct answer for this question I would say that I have discovered that the chain contacts the lockring when running a 10 tooth driver. This likely accounts for the noisy transmission along with the poor chainline. It may be better to change the sprocket too and run 28x12 which hopefully eradicates the chain and locking issue while only losing a bit in terms of speed. I doubt there is clearance for a much bigger sprocket
11 months ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

How does the spec on this 'x' edition differ from the standard Scissor?

It is nearly identical apart from some of the colours used and the Knog logo on the frame (which isn't a sticker so can't be removed). Apart from that the differences are so minimal as to be irrelevant.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

Does the bike come with both a freewheel and fixed gear cog like in the description?Does it come with a front brake?

Yes, it will come fitted with a front and rear brake. Mine came fitted with the freewheel and the fixed cog and lockring came in a little bag - despite requesting it be sent as a fixed gear!
1 year, 1 month ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

Compared to a charge plug, is the scissor bigger?

I know the geometry is different but overall is the scissor smaller or bigger? I ride a medium plug but want something slightly smaller, was gonna get the small scissor but just wondered if there was much difference between the two bikes? Hard when your buying online to know if the geometry/style is gonna be right. Cheers
The bike will be smaller. Remember is it a trick bike with steeper geometry than the plug.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

Could I fit a standard English tapered bottom bracket?

I really am considering this as my next ride, but would like the option of change the cranks if I by one to a

Can you tell if and what type bottom bracket would be compatible? For example an English tapered?
I don't think you can. The current bottom bracket is a press fit mid BB. I would expect there isn't a thread in the bottom bracket shell.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

Does it come with brakes? can I mount v-brakes on it? maybe any the v-brake plate?

Comes with front and rear caliper brakes. They aren't amazing but do the job. You will need a v brake adaptor plate to fit that kind of thing...
1 year, 1 month ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

Can I order this bike and also have Wiggle put a front brake on it, at my additonal cost?

I would like a front brake on the bike and would only order with one. Are Wiggle able to put a front brake on when I order this bike?
Bike will arrive with front and rear brakes already fitted.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK
 
 Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Charge Scissor x Knog 29er Limited Edition 2013
Designed with input from the key fixed gear innovators, the Scissor frame has been at the forefront of Fixed Gear Freestyle since it began only a few tender years ago.
 

What is the maximum size of chainring that the frame will allow?

This bike is perfect aside from the 25T chainring which is a little on the small side for my needs. Would it be possible to put something a little larger on? Maybe a 33T, I see that the Mortar from Charge has a 33T chainring and the geometry looks similar.
Best answer
There isn't a whole load of clearance to add much more. Maybe a 28? Bear in mind it has a BMX crank so you will need a BMX sprocket so sizes are limited there anyway. If you run it fixed it gives you about a 71 inch drive - how much more do you need??
1 year, 1 month ago
by
ScoopsUK
West Midlands, UK