Josss
Share Josss's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Josss's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    26 May 2013
  • Last Review
    08 November 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    25 January 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    27 January 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    20
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    08 March 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    01 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    21 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Josss's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Anatomic cut knee warmers for a close fit that does not constrict you when riding. Castelli stuck with the basics of great fabric & functional construction by using their outstanding stretchy & warm Thermoflex fabric in a minimal way to eliminate seams.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good medium warmth and comfy, a bit long
Posted08 November 2015
Josss
"Works a treat for me at temps around 15C. Not too thick, not too warm but enough to give a bit of protection when you don't want to use full tights. Haven't tested below 12C.
They don't ride up or down and you don't feel they're there.
Only thing is that I wish they would be a little bit shorter - they cover a lot of leg below the knee. According to the sizing chart I was between M and L and I chose M. S would be too tight on my thighs probably, as I find the M's plenty snug though not uncomfortably so.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic versatile piece of kit, good quality
Posted08 November 2015
Josss
"This has been my go-to jersey this autumn in Tuscany. Windproofing works very well which is needed on longer downhills and at times when riding in the shadows. However, when climbing and/or riding in the sun, you don't overheat due to the short sleeves. Works well with our without base layer. Fantastic value - I can't fault it against my more expensive jerseys. Fit is as in size guide. A little bit short in length of torso for me, but otherwise perfect."
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Active Crew Neck Long Sleeve Base Layer
Craft Active Crew Neck Long Sleeve Base Layer
A soft and breathable crew neck base layer for extended exercise in cold and fair conditions. The Craft Active range combines air channeled polyester and filament yarns to create the ideal microclimate for cool weather endurance work-outs.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality, arms a bit short
Posted26 April 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Josss
"I normally have either M or S. I followed the sizing chart advice and chose S. It just fits around the neck and shoulders but it's a bit too tight for my liking. The arms are too short for me. I use it but I should have bought an M!
Apart from that it's a good quality product, quite thin thus a bit less warm than my fave Craft thermo baselayer, so it's perfect for autumn / spring rides."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Luggit Lugger 40L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Lugger 40L Rucksack
40L weekend travel rucksack, within airline carry-on requirements. Perfect for travel, when you want to carry maximum gear and don’t mind lugging it around on your back.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great as carry-on luggage, wish it had a waistband
Posted03 February 2015
Josss
"Strong material, quite lightweight. Minimalistic design. I love their backpacks with waist band and assumed this would have one too. It doesn't, so I don't use it for trekking etc. However, it's a great bag as carry-on luggage in planes - fits the sizing requirements of all budget airlines I've used. I also found it useful for as shopping bag."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful Thermodynamic Lite Sleeveless Base Layer SS14
Sportful Thermodynamic Lite Sleeveless Base Layer SS14
A sleeveless base layer with an open mesh polyester construction for rapid moisture transfer in hot summer conditions. The Thermodynamic Lite base layer channels sweat to the out layer for evaporation, giving a fresh feeling on climbs and hard efforts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Super comfy
Posted29 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Very comfy on the skin, snug fit but not restrictive in any way. Great for use on and off the bike."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good feel, so far no punctures, fast
Posted25 October 2014
Josss
"Good feel, corners well, stops well. So far no punctures in the first 1500 km. Durability is OK when riding on tarmac, but the tires started 'squaring' quickly once i rode some sectors of white gravel, so effectively the contact patch with the road is now a bit wider. Better for cornering and stopping in the wet (winter) I assume, but also a little slower I reckon. I took the old 'squared' 25 tire from my back wheel and fitted it on the front without causing problems - something I couldn't do with Conti 4000S, (my other fave tires), because of too little space between tire and bottom of front brake."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Camelbak Podium 710ml Bottle
Camelbak Podium 710ml Bottle
The CamelBak® Podium® bottle incorporates Jet Valve, a revolutionary self-sealing valve with a high flow rate. A wide-mouth opening for easy filling and removable Jet Valve for ease of cleaning clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top!
Posted25 October 2014
Josss
"Very easy to use due to great mouthpiece. Also softer than previous model, making it easier to squeeze. Obviously, the 710 ml are a bit longer than the 600 ml, which means they're a little easier to reach."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The new long distance jersey from Assos. A highly breathable jersey in Assos' newly developed Comfort Fit! Available in a range of great colours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic for long hot summer rides
Posted02 September 2014
Josss
"I searched for a comfortable and aero jersey to use on 4+ hours in the Italian summer. This fits the bill perfectly. One of few jerseys that fit my chest without having loose material flapping in the wind. Noticeably cooler than any other jersey I have, and so comfortable I don't feel I wear it. If only it had a bit more tacky silicon gripper at the hem it would be perfect, but this is a minor issue as the jersey fits so well it barely rides up anyway. I like the colors too, highly visible in red."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Tate Labs The Bar Fly 2.0
Tate Labs The Bar Fly 2.0
The Bar Fly 2.0 is designed with an aerodynamic low profile that places the Garmin Computer screen inline, out front, and level with the handlebar/stem. With the added functionality of a Shimano Di2 and Campagnolo EPS electronic shifting module mount.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Super!
Posted16 August 2014
Josss
"I wanted to have my Garmin a bit in front of me for safety reasons.
This product does so, holds the Garmin safe and secure in place. Minor thing is that it holds the Garmin not 100% in line with the stem but at a (very) small angle.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very bright,
Posted16 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Very bright light, easy to fit with clever system that fits every bar / stem / etc. I also like that it's hard to switch it off accidentally when trying to change between modes."
Pros: Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Josss's Questions
1 2 >>>
 
Deore mountain bike Rapidfire shifter pods featuring 2-way release for cost effective 9-speed shifting performance.
 

Can I open the pod and install the new cables instead of using the pre-installed ones?

I understand these come with pre-installed cables - one side in the closed pod. Now I just bought fancy cables. Can I open the pod and install the new cables instead of using the pre-installed ones?
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Josss
 
The HG93 is designed for use with Shimano Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed drivetrains and is recommended for Ultegra, Deore XT, and Nexave C900/C600 groupsets.
 

Compatible with shimano deore xt mega drivetrain 9 speed ?

Is this chain compatible with shimano deore xt 9 speed? It's for my 7-8 year old commuter with a triple - still going strong. The Hyperglide (HG) on this chain makes me wonder whether it would be compatible. All I see on my bike is that it says Deore XT Mega Drivetrain - on the shifters and chainrings etc.

If not, which chain would be compatible?
5 months ago
by
Josss
 
The Chorus rear derailleur excels in shifting performance and is comparable to its older siblings Record and Super Record. With front and cage plates in carbon and the use of their Embrace technology, this mech will supply smooth shifting everytime.
 

Can this be used with previous shifters from 2013?

1 year, 3 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Tate Labs The Bar Fly 2.0
Tate Labs The Bar Fly 2.0
The Bar Fly 2.0 is designed with an aerodynamic low profile that places the Garmin Computer screen inline, out front, and level with the handlebar/stem. With the added functionality of a Shimano Di2 and Campagnolo EPS electronic shifting module mount.
 

Is there a compatible front light available?

Clamped to the bottom of the bar fly is IMHO the best position for a small bright front light. They said they'd make one but I can't find any.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Clarks V-Type Brake Blocks (Triple Compound)
Clarks V-Type Brake Blocks (Triple Compound)
Suitable for all major V-Brake systems (72mm).
 

Compatible with vintage Modolo Speedy brakes?

Are these brake blocks compatible with vintage Modolo Speedy brakes? If not, what other product could I use?

I love my old Gios Torino, but the brakes need new braking pads!
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Clarks Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Clarks Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Universal brake cable kits compatible with MTB/Hybrid/Road bikes.
 

Compatibility with vintage Modolo Speedy brakes

Are these cables compatible with vintage Modolo Speedy brakes? If not, what other product could I use?

I love my old Gios Torino, but the brakes need new cables - and braking pads.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Sportful Gruppetto Team Jersey
Sportful Gruppetto Team Jersey
Classics and Grand Tours are won in training. The Team Jersey is the designed for just that. A relaxed form fit, comfortable for all day riding.
 

Are you going to stock the blue/orange shirts anytime soon?

2 years, 1 month ago
by
Josss
 
 BBB BTL-11 TurnTable Chain Whip Tool
BBB BTL-11 TurnTable Chain Whip Tool
Effectively holds the sprockets when removing the cassette lock-ring. Also removes freewheel sprockets and is 7, 8, 9 and 10 speed compatible.
 

Is this 11 speed Campagnolo compatible

2 years, 7 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Prudential RideLondon Bib Shorts
Prudential RideLondon Bib Shorts
Performance road cycling shorts with Prudential RideLondon cycling festival graphics. With an Italian Action 205 lycra construction and a Giro Air seat pad, the Prudential RideLondon short is ready for the fastest riders in the 100 mile event.
 

Is the color blue or black?

It says blue on the option menu but on the picture it seems to be black, white and a dash of red. What color is it?
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Josss
 
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran Breakers help increase puncture protection.
 

Clearance required compared to 4000S

I now ride Conti 4000S size 23 in front of my Bianchi Infinito since I have just 1 mm or so of clearance left in front if I use the 25 size.

Do these GP4Season tires have the same shape as the 4000S?
In other words, would 25 mm be too big for my front wheel with these tires as is the case with the 4000S?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Josss
 
Josss's Answers
 
 Vittoria Pave CG Open Clincher Road Tyre
Vittoria Pave CG Open Clincher Road Tyre
The clincher version of the Pavè CG tubular is hand-made and provides excellent grip and performance, thanks to the "open tubular" construction. It's a tyre well suited for Autumn/Winter riding both in wet and dry conditions.
 

Off road?

Would the 28's be suitable for light off road on bridle ways, light gravel etc for my CX bike?
I thinks so. I ride gravel roads / white roads using the 25 clincher. Bought a 28 a while ago for the rear - even better ;-)
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Josss
 
 dhb Luggit Lugger 40L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Lugger 40L Rucksack
40L weekend travel rucksack, within airline carry-on requirements. Perfect for travel, when you want to carry maximum gear and don’t mind lugging it around on your back.
 

does this sack have side mesh pockets?

No it doesn't but it does have two zippered side pockets. These do not fit a water bottle, but thinner things like a wallet, socks etc will do.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light is a great commuter light with a versatile magnetic function. This means you can clip it to shirt collars, pockets sleeves backpacks and panniers.
 

Does this have a 'constant' mode...

...or is it flashing only?
Flashing only. I quite like that, so i dont have to go to all other flash modes to turn it off.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Josss
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 

Will this sowrk to split 11 spd Campag/KMC chains?

I realise that a special pin & tool or "missing link" is needed to join an 11 speed chain, but would this tool work ok for breaking the chain? e.g. to shorten it to the correct length or remove a broken link.
I tried to open my Campy 11 speed chain and failed. In fact, the link I tried to open became a stiff link. I think the pin's diameter is just a little bit too big to push the rivet through.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Josss
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

chain length / new chain ?

going from 11 - 25 to 12 - 29 or maybe 12 - 27..
can i get away with the same chain (only 70 miles old)
upfront is 50/34T.
If so Could i use 11-25 on my old wheel set ( for flat days)
then put 12 - 29 back on for hill days. !!
I just swapped 12-25 for 12-29 and have encountered no problems on the first ride.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

23 or 25mm ?

Does anyone have any comments re 23 v 25mm both in general and for these tyres in particular ? I understand that in general the difference in rolling resistance is minimal so I am inclined to go with 25mm for extra stability ?
Cheers
I switched from 23 to 25 and loved the extra grip, comfort and livelier feel. I did not notice a penalty in terms of extra rolling resistance, aero drag or weight. In fact, I did not feel any benefit in terms of LESS rolling resistance, aero drag or weight when I switched back to 23 mm in the front. (I had to do so due to lack of clearance with the fork when using 25 in front.)
For me, 25 is the best - I wish I could have 25 in front as well.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
yes, 4 screws per package.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Josss
 
 dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
The big brother of the dhb SLICE pack family. This fully featured 30L pack suits the rider who carries everything, everywhere!
 

Can hold bike helmet?

Has this back holder for bike helmet?
Yes, my helmet fits well.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Josss