Josss
Share Josss's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Josss's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    26 May 2013
  • Last Review
    16 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 March 2013
  • Last Question
    21 May 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    01 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    16 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Josss's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very bright,
Posted16 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Very bright light, easy to fit with clever system that fits every bar / stem / etc. I also like that it's hard to switch it off accidentally when trying to change between modes."
Pros: Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light is a great commuter light with a versatile magnetic function. This means you can clip it to shirt collars, pockets sleeves backpacks and panniers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
My most used light
Posted16 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Super versatile, clips and clicks on everything. Use it a lot on my jacket when biking, but also when walking. Looks good, works well. Excellent value at sales price."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A4 sheet of black scotchlite, black in colour but reflects as white in the dark.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted16 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Josss
"Looks good, sticks well to frame, fork and bars, and surfaces of paint, plastic and metal. However, I found that the stickers reflect light only under a quite narrow angle, which I found disappointing. However, the stickers are very stealth on my black carbon frame, you barely see them in daylight, which is a plus to me. Recommended because every extra bit of visibility helps."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A must-have accessory to go with every home trainer. Creates a level training position by raising the front wheel in line with the rear wheel and adds stability at the front end.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
I got a flat tyre on my first exercise
Posted01 February 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Josss
"Never had a flat for the last 2500 km on the road, but first time use of this riser and i get a flat! No idea why, if anyone knows how to avoid this, please let me know. Not sure it's the riser's fault though, just strange."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for simulating flats
Posted01 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Josss
"On the road I love to climb hills and mountains, but I know I need to ride flats as well. This trainer helps me simulate the flats. I found riding it quite light at first, but found that I cant keep a high enough cadence in highest gear after just a few minutes and have to shift 1 or 2 cogs back. Nothing to simulate hills and not good for out of saddle hard efforts, but for me that's perfect as it forces me to keep a steady pace for a long time as in riding flats. Recommended."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25, 12-27 and 12-29. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great but make sure you have all required tools
Posted11 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"This was gonna be my first change of cassette and chain. I got the tools for the chain change, but didn't know about the need for the chain whip and cassette lock-ring remover so I ended up going to the LBS anyway to have the cassette changed. Lesson learned and tools will be ordered soon! The new cassette works perfectly though and with the right tools I will be able to change cassettes myself."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Bodyfit Thermal Bib Short Wiggle Exclusive
Bodyfit Thermal Bib Short Wiggle Exclusive
Pro issue shorts with an insulating thermal fabric construction for early season racing. Featuring a premium Bodyfit Pro seat pad and development input from the Saxo Tinkoff Pro team, Bodyfit Thermal Bib Shorts are available exclusively at Wiggle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but not great
Posted21 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Josss
"Good bib, good value when bought with discount. Seeing the original price I hoped for a better pad than my dhb Aeron Pro. Material feels slippery, probably to make it more aerodynamic, but as a result I slowly slide forward unless i push a bit back with my arms on the handlebars. No big deal but I hope that over time the bottom will become less slippery."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Unnoticeable difference that makes a difference
Posted11 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"My previous steel bolts were 3 grams a piece and these are 1 gram a piece, so I shaved 4 grams of non-rotational mass off a 7500 grams bike and a 75000 bike+rider combination. Big deal.
However, the 6 grams of steel were mocking me every time I saw the bike, so I was happy to ditch them for these lightweight beauties. Morale is a fickle thing and when sweating on grueling climbs it's nice to know you've done your part in making your bike as light as it can be.
"
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Adjustable torque tool with 1/4" drive and features a click-mechanism to indicate when torque setting is reached.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality piece of kit
Posted11 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Does the job well and comes with bits and a nice case.
Just set the desired torque - make sure your eyes are level with the marker that indicates the torque desired. Then tighten slowly until you see the handle move sideways (with a soft click sound).
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Clips to seat post, handlebar, or stem to accept phone bags, batteries, or tool bags. Band clamp fixer works with Topeak light system power packs, ALiEN™ tool pouches and Handy Phone packs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job well
Posted11 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Phonebag is securely held, easy to fit and to remove and just rattles slightly when you're riding over rough tarmac."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Josss's Questions
1 2 >>>
 
Classics and Grand Tours are won in training. The Team Jersey is the designed for just that. A relaxed form fit, comfortable for all day riding.
 

Are you going to stock the blue/orange shirts anytime soon?

2 months, 1 week ago
by
Josss
 
Effectively holds the sprockets when removing the cassette lock-ring. Also removes freewheel sprockets and is 7, 8, 9 and 10 speed compatible.
 

Is this 11 speed Campagnolo compatible

8 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Prudential RideLondon Bib Shorts
Prudential RideLondon Bib Shorts
Performance road cycling shorts with Prudential RideLondon cycling festival graphics. With an Italian Action 205 lycra construction and a Giro Air seat pad, the Prudential RideLondon short is ready for the fastest riders in the 100 mile event.
 

Is the color blue or black?

It says blue on the option menu but on the picture it seems to be black, white and a dash of red. What color is it?
9 months ago
by
Josss
 
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection.
 

Clearance required compared to 4000S

I now ride Conti 4000S size 23 in front of my Bianchi Infinito since I have just 1 mm or so of clearance left in front if I use the 25 size.

Do these GP4Season tires have the same shape as the 4000S?
In other words, would 25 mm be too big for my front wheel with these tires as is the case with the 4000S?
10 months ago
by
Josss
 
Professional riders are the everyday testing ground for Campagnolo chains made for Record 11x and Super Record 11x groups. This chain is also used on the Super Record groupset.
 

Good choice for Chorus gruppo?

Is this a better chain for a Athena / Chorus gruppo than the Chorus chain or will i cause extra wear / other issues so that I'm better of with the Chorus chain?
10 months ago
by
Josss
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25, 12-27 and 12-29. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

Cassette best with chorus chain or with record chain?

I'm considering buying the chorus cassette and record chain. The rest of the gruppo is Athena/Chorus. Is buying a record chain a good idea or will I cause extra wear on the sprockets & chain rings or other unforeseen issues?
10 months ago
by
Josss
 
The Athena rear derailleur has the same geometry as the top-of-the-range 11x models, and absolute precision is the result.
 

Can this be used with 12-29 cassette and compact chainrings?

10 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Fulcrum Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2013
Fulcrum Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2013
The 2013 Racing 7 wheels are perfect for training/everyday use and are compatible with Campagnolo, Shimano and SRAM drivetrains.
 

Max size of tire?

What is the maximum size (width) of tire I can fit on these wheels?
I'm interested in using these wheels for my commuter bike, and wondered whether I could fit 700x32 tires on them.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Josss
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Aircomp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

What is the maximum pressure?

I started with 80 psi and then pumped them up to 100 psi which made them significantly faster. I ride a lot of hills with steep descents so don't want blowouts, but was wondering whether i was being too cautious with 100 psi. Would 120 psi be ok? I use 25mm Continental GP 4000S and love the combination by the way!
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Asphalt Short Sleeve Jersey
Asphalt Short Sleeve Jersey
An ultralight elastic Stretch Jersey with newly developed mini-structured doubleknit construction for quick moisture transfer and freshness on summer rides and sportives.
 

Sizing

I'm 1.74 m, 69 kg with chest about 91 cm (36in), and waist about 81 cm (32 in). What size would fit? And, is the back plain or does it have a print on it?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
Josss's Answers
 
 Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light is a great commuter light with a versatile magnetic function. This means you can clip it to shirt collars, pockets sleeves backpacks and panniers.
 

Does this have a 'constant' mode...

...or is it flashing only?
Flashing only. I quite like that, so i dont have to go to all other flash modes to turn it off.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Josss
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 

Will this sowrk to split 11 spd Campag/KMC chains?

I realise that a special pin & tool or "missing link" is needed to join an 11 speed chain, but would this tool work ok for breaking the chain? e.g. to shorten it to the correct length or remove a broken link.
I tried to open my Campy 11 speed chain and failed. In fact, the link I tried to open became a stiff link. I think the pin's diameter is just a little bit too big to push the rivet through.
8 months ago
by
Josss
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25, 12-27 and 12-29. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

chain length / new chain ?

going from 11 - 25 to 12 - 29 or maybe 12 - 27..
can i get away with the same chain (only 70 miles old)
upfront is 50/34T.
If so Could i use 11-25 on my old wheel set ( for flat days)
then put 12 - 29 back on for hill days. !!
I just swapped 12-25 for 12-29 and have encountered no problems on the first ride.
8 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

23 or 25mm ?

Does anyone have any comments re 23 v 25mm both in general and for these tyres in particular ? I understand that in general the difference in rolling resistance is minimal so I am inclined to go with 25mm for extra stability ?
Cheers
I switched from 23 to 25 and loved the extra grip, comfort and livelier feel. I did not notice a penalty in terms of extra rolling resistance, aero drag or weight. In fact, I did not feel any benefit in terms of LESS rolling resistance, aero drag or weight when I switched back to 23 mm in the front. (I had to do so due to lack of clearance with the fork when using 25 in front.)
For me, 25 is the best - I wish I could have 25 in front as well.
10 months ago
by
Josss
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
yes, 4 screws per package.
10 months ago
by
Josss
 
 dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
The big brother of the dhb SLICE pack family. This fully featured 30L pack suits the rider who carries everything, everywhere!
 

Can hold bike helmet?

Has this back holder for bike helmet?
Yes, my helmet fits well.
10 months ago
by
Josss