Josss
Share Josss's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Josss's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    26 May 2013
  • Last Review
    29 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 March 2013
  • Last Question
    08 September 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    01 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    16 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Josss's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Sportful Thermodynamic Lite Sleeveless Base Layer SS14
Sportful Thermodynamic Lite Sleeveless Base Layer SS14
A sleeveless base layer with an open mesh polyester construction for rapid moisture transfer in hot summer conditions. The Thermodynamic Lite base layer channels sweat to the out layer for evaporation, giving a fresh feeling on climbs and hard efforts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Super comfy
Posted29 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Very comfy on the skin, snug fit but not restrictive in any way. Great for use on and off the bike."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good feel, so far no punctures, fast
Posted25 October 2014
Josss
"Good feel, corners well, stops well. So far no punctures in the first 1500 km. Durability is OK when riding on tarmac, but the tires started 'squaring' quickly once i rode some sectors of white gravel, so effectively the contact patch with the road is now a bit wider. Better for cornering and stopping in the wet (winter) I assume, but also a little slower I reckon. I took the old 'squared' 25 tire from my back wheel and fitted it on the front without causing problems - something I couldn't do with Conti 4000S, (my other fave tires), because of too little space between tire and bottom of front brake."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Camelbak Podium 710ml Bottle
Camelbak Podium 710ml Bottle
The CamelBak® Podium® bottle incorporates Jet Valve, a revolutionary self-sealing valve with a high flow rate. A wide-mouth opening for easy filling and removable Jet Valve for ease of cleaning clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top!
Posted25 October 2014
Josss
"Very easy to use due to great mouthpiece. Also softer than previous model, making it easier to squeeze. Obviously, the 710 ml are a bit longer than the 600 ml, which means they're a little easier to reach."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos SS.cento_s7
Assos SS.cento_s7
The new long distance jersey-Highly breathable and in our newly developed Comfort Fit! Avialble in 5 Great Colours
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic for long hot summer rides
Posted02 September 2014
Josss
"I searched for a comfortable and aero jersey to use on 4+ hours in the Italian summer. This fits the bill perfectly. One of few jerseys that fit my chest without having loose material flapping in the wind. Noticeably cooler than any other jersey I have, and so comfortable I don't feel I wear it. If only it had a bit more tacky silicon gripper at the hem it would be perfect, but this is a minor issue as the jersey fits so well it barely rides up anyway. I like the colors too, highly visible in red."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Tate Labs The Bar Fly 2.0
Tate Labs The Bar Fly 2.0
The Bar Fly 2.0 is designed with an aerodynamic low profile that places the Garmin Computer screen inline, out front, and level with the handlebar/stem. With the added functionality of a Shimano Di2 and Campagnolo EPS electronic shifting module mount.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Super!
Posted16 August 2014
Josss
"I wanted to have my Garmin a bit in front of me for safety reasons.
This product does so, holds the Garmin safe and secure in place. Minor thing is that it holds the Garmin not 100% in line with the stem but at a (very) small angle.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye TL-LD610 LED Rear Light
Cateye TL-LD610 LED Rear Light
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very bright,
Posted16 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Very bright light, easy to fit with clever system that fits every bar / stem / etc. I also like that it's hard to switch it off accidentally when trying to change between modes."
Pros: Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light is a great commuter light with a versatile magnetic function. This means you can clip it to shirt collars, pockets sleeves backpacks and panniers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
My most used light
Posted16 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Super versatile, clips and clicks on everything. Use it a lot on my jacket when biking, but also when walking. Looks good, works well. Excellent value at sales price."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Respro Hi Viz Black Diamond Sticker Sheet
Respro Hi Viz Black Diamond Sticker Sheet
A4 sheet of black scotchlite, black in colour but reflects as white in the dark.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted16 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Josss
"Looks good, sticks well to frame, fork and bars, and surfaces of paint, plastic and metal. However, I found that the stickers reflect light only under a quite narrow angle, which I found disappointing. However, the stickers are very stealth on my black carbon frame, you barely see them in daylight, which is a plus to me. Recommended because every extra bit of visibility helps."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite ElastoGel Front Wheel Riser Block
Elite ElastoGel Front Wheel Riser Block
An indispensable accessory for a perfecting your position on the bike giving you a more natural feel to your training with a Elastogel insert for ensures maximum stability and vibration absorption for the front wheel.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
I got a flat tyre on my first exercise
Posted01 February 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Josss
"Never had a flat for the last 2500 km on the road, but first time use of this riser and i get a flat! No idea why, if anyone knows how to avoid this, please let me know. Not sure it's the riser's fault though, just strange."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for simulating flats
Posted01 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Josss
"On the road I love to climb hills and mountains, but I know I need to ride flats as well. This trainer helps me simulate the flats. I found riding it quite light at first, but found that I cant keep a high enough cadence in highest gear after just a few minutes and have to shift 1 or 2 cogs back. Nothing to simulate hills and not good for out of saddle hard efforts, but for me that's perfect as it forces me to keep a steady pace for a long time as in riding flats. Recommended."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Josss's Questions
1 2 >>>
 
 Clarks V-Type Brake Blocks (Triple Compound)
Clarks V-Type Brake Blocks (Triple Compound)
Suitable for all major V-Brake systems (72mm).
 

Compatible with vintage Modolo Speedy brakes?

Are these brake blocks compatible with vintage Modolo Speedy brakes? If not, what other product could I use?

I love my old Gios Torino, but the brakes need new braking pads!
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Josss
 
 Clarks Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
Clarks Universal Front and Rear Brake Cable Kit
2P Type Housing.
 

Compatibility with vintage Modolo Speedy brakes

Are these cables compatible with vintage Modolo Speedy brakes? If not, what other product could I use?

I love my old Gios Torino, but the brakes need new cables - and braking pads.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Josss
 
 Sportful Gruppetto Team Jersey
Sportful Gruppetto Team Jersey
Classics and Grand Tours are won in training. The Team Jersey is the designed for just that. A relaxed form fit, comfortable for all day riding.
 

Are you going to stock the blue/orange shirts anytime soon?

6 months ago
by
Josss
 
 BBB BTL-11 TurnTable Chain Whip Tool
BBB BTL-11 TurnTable Chain Whip Tool
Effectively holds the sprockets when removing the cassette lock-ring. Also removes freewheel sprockets and is 7, 8, 9 and 10 speed compatible.
 

Is this 11 speed Campagnolo compatible

1 year, 1 month ago
by
Josss
 
 Prudential RideLondon Bib Shorts
Prudential RideLondon Bib Shorts
Performance road cycling shorts with Prudential RideLondon cycling festival graphics. With an Italian Action 205 lycra construction and a Giro Air seat pad, the Prudential RideLondon short is ready for the fastest riders in the 100 mile event.
 

Is the color blue or black?

It says blue on the option menu but on the picture it seems to be black, white and a dash of red. What color is it?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Josss
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4 Season Folding Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4 Season Folding Road Tyre
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection.
 

Clearance required compared to 4000S

I now ride Conti 4000S size 23 in front of my Bianchi Infinito since I have just 1 mm or so of clearance left in front if I use the 25 size.

Do these GP4Season tires have the same shape as the 4000S?
In other words, would 25 mm be too big for my front wheel with these tires as is the case with the 4000S?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Campagnolo Record 11 Speed Chain
Campagnolo Record 11 Speed Chain
Professional riders are the everyday testing ground for Campagnolo chains made for Record 11x and Super Record 11x groups. This chain is also used on the Super Record groupset.
 

Good choice for Chorus gruppo?

Is this a better chain for a Athena / Chorus gruppo than the Chorus chain or will i cause extra wear / other issues so that I'm better of with the Chorus chain?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Campagnolo Chorus 11 Speed Cassette 12T Upwards
Campagnolo Chorus 11 Speed Cassette 12T Upwards
Cassette combinations of 12-25, 12-27 and 12-29. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

Cassette best with chorus chain or with record chain?

I'm considering buying the chorus cassette and record chain. The rest of the gruppo is Athena/Chorus. Is buying a record chain a good idea or will I cause extra wear on the sprockets & chain rings or other unforeseen issues?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Campagnolo Athena 11 Speed Rear Derailleur
Campagnolo Athena 11 Speed Rear Derailleur
The Athena rear derailleur has the same geometry as the top-of-the-range 11x models, and absolute precision is the result.
 

Can this be used with 12-29 cassette and compact chainrings?

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Fulcrum Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2013
Fulcrum Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2013
The 2013 Racing 7 wheels are perfect for training/everyday use and are compatible with Campagnolo, Shimano and SRAM drivetrains.
 

Max size of tire?

What is the maximum size (width) of tire I can fit on these wheels?
I'm interested in using these wheels for my commuter bike, and wondered whether I could fit 700x32 tires on them.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Josss
 
Josss's Answers
 
 Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light is a great commuter light with a versatile magnetic function. This means you can clip it to shirt collars, pockets sleeves backpacks and panniers.
 

Does this have a 'constant' mode...

...or is it flashing only?
Flashing only. I quite like that, so i dont have to go to all other flash modes to turn it off.
9 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Park Tools Chain Brute Chain Tool
Park Tools Chain Brute Chain Tool
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 

Will this sowrk to split 11 spd Campag/KMC chains?

I realise that a special pin & tool or "missing link" is needed to join an 11 speed chain, but would this tool work ok for breaking the chain? e.g. to shorten it to the correct length or remove a broken link.
I tried to open my Campy 11 speed chain and failed. In fact, the link I tried to open became a stiff link. I think the pin's diameter is just a little bit too big to push the rivet through.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Josss
 
 Campagnolo Chorus 11 Speed Cassette 12T Upwards
Campagnolo Chorus 11 Speed Cassette 12T Upwards
Cassette combinations of 12-25, 12-27 and 12-29. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

chain length / new chain ?

going from 11 - 25 to 12 - 29 or maybe 12 - 27..
can i get away with the same chain (only 70 miles old)
upfront is 50/34T.
If so Could i use 11-25 on my old wheel set ( for flat days)
then put 12 - 29 back on for hill days. !!
I just swapped 12-25 for 12-29 and have encountered no problems on the first ride.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Josss
 
 

23 or 25mm ?

Does anyone have any comments re 23 v 25mm both in general and for these tyres in particular ? I understand that in general the difference in rolling resistance is minimal so I am inclined to go with 25mm for extra stability ?
Cheers
I switched from 23 to 25 and loved the extra grip, comfort and livelier feel. I did not notice a penalty in terms of extra rolling resistance, aero drag or weight. In fact, I did not feel any benefit in terms of LESS rolling resistance, aero drag or weight when I switched back to 23 mm in the front. (I had to do so due to lack of clearance with the fork when using 25 in front.)
For me, 25 is the best - I wish I could have 25 in front as well.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
yes, 4 screws per package.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Josss
 
 dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
The big brother of the dhb SLICE pack family. This fully featured 30L pack suits the rider who carries everything, everywhere!
 

Can hold bike helmet?

Has this back holder for bike helmet?
Yes, my helmet fits well.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Josss