Josss
Share Josss's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Josss's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review
    26 May 2013
  • Last Review
    11 September 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    25 January 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    27 January 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    20
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 March 2013
  • Last Question
    08 March 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    01 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    21 January 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Josss's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Slip-on crono gloves in printed Lycra. The glove features an anti-slip silicone material on the palm and a medium padding for comfort and shock absorption.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Quite comfortable once on, good fit.
Posted11 September 2017
Josss
Country : Italy
"I normally buy gloves with a velco adjuster strap, but I primarily bought these to fit a Giro d' Italia outfit with pink. I found mine hard to get on, but once they're on they're comfortable during the ride. They close well around the wrist, because the material is highly elastic and snug. Forget about taking them off mid-ride though."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Keep your water cold 4X longer! Camelbak have re-engineered the legendary Podium® Ice™ to be the ultimate bike bottle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Insulates exceptionally well
Posted19 June 2017
Josss
Country : Italy
"This bottle insulates exceptionally well. On rides of two hours in sunny 30C weather I still have some ice in the bottle when I get home! It's heavier (148grams) and taller than a normal 710 ml Podium bottle (78 grams) while taking in less liquid (654 ml vs 737 ml).
However, on hot days I happily accept these disadvantages in exchange for refreshing ice cold water! I only have one, because it's too tall to fit in my cage on the seat tube. It fits well in my cage on the down tube though. If Camelbak would make a smaller version I would buy it for on my seat tube.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The ultimate cap for the hottest racing and riding conditions. The Inferno cap is made from an ultra lightweight polyester mesh that is quick drying and offers exceptional air flow. Keep the sun off your head and sweat from the eyes as things heat up.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Light, thin cap that wicks sweat away well.
Posted09 May 2017
Josss
"Light, thin cap that wicks sweat away well. Perhaps feels airier than others so far I think, but the real test will be during the Italian summer. Fits OK on my head, though a bit tight - but I have a fairly big head. Cap attracts fluffy lint (?) after washing."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Vittoria Zip bag is a useful bag to keep an emergency repair kit i.e. Pit stop, inner tube, tyre levers, CO2 cartridge or personal items like keys, mobile phone, money etc. Will fit in a jersey rear pocket or bottle cage.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Looks great but zipper not so great.
Posted20 December 2016
Josss
"I bought it as a gift, but the product seems not strong, especially the zipper. No point to return it so it still sits in my drawer."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Thermoflex Knee Warmers
Castelli Thermoflex Knee Warmers
Anatomic cut knee warmers for a close fit that does not constrict you when riding. Castelli stuck with the basics of great fabric & functional construction by using their outstanding stretchy & warm Thermoflex fabric in a minimal way to eliminate seams.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good medium warmth and comfy, a bit long
Posted08 November 2015
Josss
"Works a treat for me at temps around 15C. Not too thick, not too warm but enough to give a bit of protection when you don't want to use full tights. Haven't tested below 12C.
They don't ride up or down and you don't feel they're there.
Only thing is that I wish they would be a little bit shorter - they cover a lot of leg below the knee. According to the sizing chart I was between M and L and I chose M. S would be too tight on my thighs probably, as I find the M's plenty snug though not uncomfortably so.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic versatile piece of kit, good quality
Posted08 November 2015
Josss
"This has been my go-to jersey this autumn in Tuscany. Windproofing works very well which is needed on longer downhills and at times when riding in the shadows. However, when climbing and/or riding in the sun, you don't overheat due to the short sleeves. Works well with our without base layer. Fantastic value - I can't fault it against my more expensive jerseys. Fit is as in size guide. A little bit short in length of torso for me, but otherwise perfect."
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Active Crew Neck Long Sleeve Base Layer
Craft Active Crew Neck Long Sleeve Base Layer
A soft and breathable crew neck base layer for extended exercise in cold and fair conditions. The Craft Active range combines air channeled polyester and filament yarns to create the ideal microclimate for cool weather endurance work-outs.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality, arms a bit short
Posted26 April 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Josss
"I normally have either M or S. I followed the sizing chart advice and chose S. It just fits around the neck and shoulders but it's a bit too tight for my liking. The arms are too short for me. I use it but I should have bought an M!
Apart from that it's a good quality product, quite thin thus a bit less warm than my fave Craft thermo baselayer, so it's perfect for autumn / spring rides."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Luggit Lugger 40L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Lugger 40L Rucksack
40L weekend travel rucksack, within airline carry-on requirements. Perfect for travel, when you want to carry maximum gear and don’t mind lugging it around on your back.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great as carry-on luggage, wish it had a waistband
Posted03 February 2015
Josss
"Strong material, quite lightweight. Minimalistic design. I love their backpacks with waist band and assumed this would have one too. It doesn't, so I don't use it for trekking etc. However, it's a great bag as carry-on luggage in planes - fits the sizing requirements of all budget airlines I've used. I also found it useful for as shopping bag."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful Thermodynamic Lite Sleeveless Base Layer SS14
Sportful Thermodynamic Lite Sleeveless Base Layer SS14
A sleeveless base layer with an open mesh polyester construction for rapid moisture transfer in hot summer conditions. The Thermodynamic Lite base layer channels sweat to the out layer for evaporation, giving a fresh feeling on climbs and hard efforts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Super comfy
Posted29 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Josss
"Very comfy on the skin, snug fit but not restrictive in any way. Great for use on and off the bike."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good feel, so far no punctures, fast
Posted25 October 2014
Josss
"Good feel, corners well, stops well. So far no punctures in the first 1500 km. Durability is OK when riding on tarmac, but the tires started 'squaring' quickly once i rode some sectors of white gravel, so effectively the contact patch with the road is now a bit wider. Better for cornering and stopping in the wet (winter) I assume, but also a little slower I reckon. I took the old 'squared' 25 tire from my back wheel and fitted it on the front without causing problems - something I couldn't do with Conti 4000S, (my other fave tires), because of too little space between tire and bottom of front brake."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Josss's Questions
1 2 >>>
 
 Astra Athena 2011
Astra Athena 2011
A race orientated model (compact race design), the Astra offers the perfect balance of rigidity and comfort and is built using Campagnolo's Athena 11 speed groupset with MicroTech wheels and parts completing the package.
 

Where is this bike on the race vs sport (comfort) spectrum?

I mean is this a lean stiff race machine or does it have some comfort for leisurely rides?

Greets, Jos
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Grand Prix 4000s Tyres and Tubes Bundle
Grand Prix 4000s Tyres and Tubes Bundle
Versatile road tyres based on the Continental black chilli compound. With an ultra low rolling resistance and a Vectran Breaker Puncture resistant band, the Continental GP4000S is perfect your entire season on the roads. Supplied with 2 tyres and 5 tubes
 

Would these fit if my current tyres are 37 and 28 x 3/8 x 15/8?

My current tires on my commuter bike are Continental Sport Contact. They've been outstanding but need replacement after years of daily use and occasional abuse. It's hard to read but I think it says on the tire:
37 and 28 x 3/8 x 15/8. What does that mean? I don't see these measurements on wiggle, so are these old measurements?

What do i need to check to make sure these 4000s tyres (or others) fit?
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Josss
 
 C12 Plus Veloce 2012
C12 Plus Veloce 2012
An all Italian race bike with a T1000M carbon monocoque frameset and a Campagnolo 10 speed Veloce Groupset. The C12 plus' light and agile character reacts instantly in the sprints and takes the sting out of the climbs.
 

Size

I'm 1.74 and inside leg 83cm.
According to the sizing chart i need Medium based on my length and Large for my inside leg.
What's best?

For other road bikes I often get advised Small by the way.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2013
Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2013
Racing 5 are designed for everyday use and training. An optimum proposal from Fulcrum which guarantees excellent quality.
 

Which option should I choose for Athena 11 speed?

I see Campy freehub and Shimano/SRam 10/11,
which one fits best with Athena 11?
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Asphalt Short Sleeve Jersey
Asphalt Short Sleeve Jersey
An ultralight elastic Stretch Jersey with newly developed mini-structured doubleknit construction for quick moisture transfer and freshness on summer rides and sportives.
 

Sizing

I'm 1.74 m, 69 kg with chest about 91 cm (36in), and waist about 81 cm (32 in). What size would fit? And, is the back plain or does it have a print on it?
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Josss
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

What is the maximum pressure?

I started with 80 psi and then pumped them up to 100 psi which made them significantly faster. I ride a lot of hills with steep descents so don't want blowouts, but was wondering whether i was being too cautious with 100 psi. Would 120 psi be ok? I use 25mm Continental GP 4000S and love the combination by the way!
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Fulcrum Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2013
Fulcrum Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2013
The 2013 Racing 7 wheels are perfect for training/everyday use and are compatible with Campagnolo, Shimano and SRAM drivetrains.
 

Max size of tire?

What is the maximum size (width) of tire I can fit on these wheels?
I'm interested in using these wheels for my commuter bike, and wondered whether I could fit 700x32 tires on them.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Campagnolo Athena 11 Speed Rear Derailleur
Campagnolo Athena 11 Speed Rear Derailleur
The Athena rear derailleur has the same geometry as the top-of-the-range 11x models, and absolute precision is the result.
 

Can this be used with 12-29 cassette and compact chainrings?

4 years, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

Cassette best with chorus chain or with record chain?

I'm considering buying the chorus cassette and record chain. The rest of the gruppo is Athena/Chorus. Is buying a record chain a good idea or will I cause extra wear on the sprockets & chain rings or other unforeseen issues?
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
Professional riders are the everyday testing ground for Campagnolo chains made for Record 11x and Super Record 11x groups. This chain is also used on the Super Record groupset.
 

Good choice for Chorus gruppo?

Is this a better chain for a Athena / Chorus gruppo than the Chorus chain or will i cause extra wear / other issues so that I'm better of with the Chorus chain?
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
Josss's Answers
 
The clincher version of the Pave CG tubular is hand-made and provides excellent grip and performance, thanks to the open tubular construction. It's a tyre well suited for autumn/winter riding in both wet and dry conditions.
 

Off road?

Would the 28's be suitable for light off road on bridle ways, light gravel etc for my CX bike?
I thinks so. I ride gravel roads / white roads using the 25 clincher. Bought a 28 a while ago for the rear - even better ;-)
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Josss
 
 dhb Luggit Lugger 40L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Lugger 40L Rucksack
40L weekend travel rucksack, within airline carry-on requirements. Perfect for travel, when you want to carry maximum gear and don’t mind lugging it around on your back.
 

does this sack have side mesh pockets?

No it doesn't but it does have two zippered side pockets. These do not fit a water bottle, but thinner things like a wallet, socks etc will do.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light
Blackburn Mars Magnetic Rear Flasher Light is a great commuter light with a versatile magnetic function. This means you can clip it to shirt collars, pockets sleeves backpacks and panniers.
 

Does this have a 'constant' mode...

...or is it flashing only?
Flashing only. I quite like that, so i dont have to go to all other flash modes to turn it off.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Josss
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 

Will this sowrk to split 11 spd Campag/KMC chains?

I realise that a special pin & tool or "missing link" is needed to join an 11 speed chain, but would this tool work ok for breaking the chain? e.g. to shorten it to the correct length or remove a broken link.
I tried to open my Campy 11 speed chain and failed. In fact, the link I tried to open became a stiff link. I think the pin's diameter is just a little bit too big to push the rivet through.
4 years ago
by
Josss
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

chain length / new chain ?

going from 11 - 25 to 12 - 29 or maybe 12 - 27..
can i get away with the same chain (only 70 miles old)
upfront is 50/34T.
If so Could i use 11-25 on my old wheel set ( for flat days)
then put 12 - 29 back on for hill days. !!
I just swapped 12-25 for 12-29 and have encountered no problems on the first ride.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Josss
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

23 or 25mm ?

Does anyone have any comments re 23 v 25mm both in general and for these tyres in particular ? I understand that in general the difference in rolling resistance is minimal so I am inclined to go with 25mm for extra stability ?
Cheers
I switched from 23 to 25 and loved the extra grip, comfort and livelier feel. I did not notice a penalty in terms of extra rolling resistance, aero drag or weight. In fact, I did not feel any benefit in terms of LESS rolling resistance, aero drag or weight when I switched back to 23 mm in the front. (I had to do so due to lack of clearance with the fork when using 25 in front.)
For me, 25 is the best - I wish I could have 25 in front as well.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Josss
 
 Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Tk-B516 Aluminium / alloy bolts
Token Aluminium Bolt for Cage M5x16mm (4pcs)
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
yes, 4 screws per package.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Josss
 
 dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
The big brother of the dhb SLICE pack family. This fully featured 30L pack suits the rider who carries everything, everywhere!
 

Can hold bike helmet?

Has this back holder for bike helmet?
Yes, my helmet fits well.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Josss