rhubarb78
Share rhubarb78's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
rhubarb78's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    03 May 2013
  • Last Review
    03 July 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    03 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    03 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
rhubarb78's Reviews
 
 Propel Plus Gloves
Propel Plus Gloves
Built to help riders cope with the unique challenges they encounter, this is a superb technical bike glove. It features strategically positioned gel pads and finger reinforcements to enhance protection in areas that need it most.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good padding, looks good but a bit tough on inside
Posted03 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
rhubarb78
"Bought these to replace my Altura ProGel which had worn out, they have good padding, a little bulky, my only concern is that the tough suede, though I'm sure will wear well, is a bit rough on the inside of your palms and doesn't wick as well as the Alturas, I'm hoping they'll soften with time though."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Marathon Original GreenGuard Rigid MTB City Tyre
Schwalbe Marathon Original GreenGuard Rigid MTB City Tyre
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised. Designed to fit MTB machines if riding in and around town etc. Options included all 26" (MTB) sizes and also childrens bike tyre options (16", 20", and 24").
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great in good or bad weather, retro looks
Posted03 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
rhubarb78
"Really quiet, very smooth, great in terrible weather, used these for an adventure race in a very wet and windy Ireland, they absolutely flew, was blasting past everyone uphill and especially downhill, much more cornering confidence than my knobbly tyres and my slim tyres on the road bike. No punctures yet, all I would say is the reflective hoop around the sidewalls might be good for visibility but gives the whole bike a bit of a retro 50's (white tyre walled) look."
Pros: Durable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
rhubarb78's Questions
 
rhubarb78 has not submitted any questions.
 
rhubarb78's Answers
 
 Schwalbe Marathon Racer MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Marathon Racer MTB Tyre
The fastest Marathon ever. Everything is optimized for on road speed.
 

Fitting and Inner Tube

Would the 26 1 1.2 fit my MTB wheels, I am currently riding on 26 2.0 Geax Saguaros'.
Would these tyres be a good choice for my commute of road and cycle path.
Also which inner tubes would be a good choice, I have seen the continentals get good reviews..
Should do, my old tyres were 26 x 2.15 and the 26 x 1.85 Marathons fit on the same wheels, might want to check your inner tube size though. They are great commuter tyres, the only limitations I found were on serious off road stuff where they slip on rough / wet surfaces, whereas knobbly tyres would grip. I've got mine with Slime inner tubes for extra puncture protection on early morning rides and they work great.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
rhubarb78
 
 Schwalbe Marathon Original GreenGuard Rigid MTB City Tyre
Schwalbe Marathon Original GreenGuard Rigid MTB City Tyre
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised. Designed to fit MTB machines if riding in and around town etc. Options included all 26" (MTB) sizes and also childrens bike tyre options (16", 20", and 24").
 

What is the max. recommended psi

for http://www.wiggle.co.uk/schwalbe-marathon-original-greenguard-rigid-mtb-city-tyre/ ?

thank you
From memory about 60 - 65 psi I think. (That's what I pump mine to and they perform well)
1 year, 5 months ago
by
rhubarb78