wayneh1965
Top 250 Contributor
Share wayneh1965's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
wayneh1965's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    48
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    28 May 2013
  • Last Review
    19 October 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    22 October 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    11 September 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    24 March 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    38
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Answer
    28 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 April 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
wayneh1965's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
easy to drink
Posted19 October 2015
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"No idea about performance boost but it does make it easy to get water down your neck and that can not be a bad thing. The saches are convenient for longer rides … but the large tub is better value."
Pros: easy to drink
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sintered material pads with a gold backing plate. Ideal for Winter or wet weather. Not recommended for dry conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
retaining pins are too short
Posted08 October 2015
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Keep your old retaining pins these are too short.
I got the "Mono 6Ti Sintered pads" which come with two retaining pins and despite being original Hope label they are ~7mm shorter than mine and so you have to reuse your old ones .... pity that I have lost one of mine :-( ... the actual pads seem to be OK :o)
"
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
UA Compression helps you work. But you know what else it does? It makes you feel damn near invincible. It turns you into exactly what you want to be, every time you workout or compete. This is the baselayer built for heroic performance.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
nice but not a compression top
Posted08 October 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A nice top to wear but not sure it brings any benefits in terms of compression performance gains.
get it if you like the fancy pattern and a body hugging fit
at 50% off the price was OK .... at full price I would send it back!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent
Posted26 August 2015
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I used these for the first time on an 82Km ride with 2700m of hills in lashing rain with temperatures from 10-18C. I did not get cold legs.
for sizing.... I am 82Kg/189cm tall with 33cm waist, the Large is tight but comfortable ..... no saddle sore :o)
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight superfine merino base layer for thermal regulation and natural performance. Can be worn as the first part of a layering system in cool conditions or as single layer.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
strange fit
Posted23 June 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I got this in large (following the dhb size guide) I sent it back for an exchange for XL and still the arms are tight and pull across the shoulders while the body hangs free ..... it's a strange fit that does not fit me ... 189cm x 82Kgs ... I'll be sending the XL back too .. disappointed :o("
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Short
dhb Women's Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Short
Premium cycling shorts for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Shorts are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
very good but pad larger than I would like
Posted26 May 2015
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"all is great except the pad size ..... I have the dhb summer bib .... and the pad is more to my liking... meaning smaller"
Pros: Excellent rapport qualité-prix, Confortable, Taille ajustée, warm
Cons: pad size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
goes down easy
Posted20 April 2015
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Not sure about performance gains ... but .... it tastes good and goes down easy and so encourages me to drink ... drinking more is normally a good thing"
Pros: tastes good
Cons: Bulky, big container for product volume
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Transfil Shimano Indexed Tandem Gear Cable Inner
Transfil Shimano Indexed Tandem Gear Cable Inner
A Shimano gear cable designed for Tandem bikes (indexed) only. The cable is of high quality, is pre-stretched and 250cm in length.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
why pay more
Posted02 December 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"simple quality cable that does the job required. Why paymore!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential MTB Medium Inner Tubes - 2 Pack
LifeLine Essential MTB Medium Inner Tubes - 2 Pack
High quality innertubes to fit 26" rims and 1.5 to 2.0" wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
functional
Posted30 October 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"nothing fancy ..... just inner tubes that do what you expect them to without making a hole in your pocket"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nice shoe with poor lacing system :(
Posted27 August 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
""a little heavy, very solid .. perhaps a little on the hard side…. nice lacing system…. slitty small … easy to walk in with cleats… they do not scrap on the ground.. perhaps half a size small"
After a 5wk cycle tour both my shoes and my son's shoes had problems with the laces. Firt the lace jamer fails to jam, then the lace itself breaks over the metal lace eyelets. When replaced with 'normal' laces the metal eyelets quickly cut through standard laces. You need to use some kind of thin climbing cord. NOT robust enough for a Shimano product.
A shame - otherwise the shoes are good for touring and short walks in the hills (for tourist attractions). All day walks if you remove the cleats and replace the rubber insert (two screws).
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, lacing system fails
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
wayneh1965's Questions
1 2 3 >>>
 
The new 2016 Schwalbe Land Cruiser as always is ready for any terrain. The key update is the tread pattern, but everything else is the same. Rolling nice on tarmac and catering well for gravel paths, tracks etc, its a tyre for a wide range or terrains.
 

weight

how much does the 700x47 weigh ??
2 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The Trek First Aid Kit is an excellent, compact kit for dealing with small accidents. This is why The Duke of Edinburgh's Award recommend this kit for all participants.
 

waterproof

it states waterproof zip
so can I assume the whole bag is waterproof ???
by which I mean resistant to rain coming through a rucksack pocket material onto this pack ... will the stuff inside stay dry ???
10 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 Salomon Speedcross 3 CS Shoes (AW15)
Salomon Speedcross 3 CS Shoes (AW15)
Salomon’s iconic running shoe that brought speed to the trails! Featuring a Climashield™ protective upper, aggressive tread, and a precise fit, you’ll feel confident ripping through the sloppiest of trails in any weather conditions.
 

CS or not CS that is the question ?

what is the difference between this CS version and the NON CS speedcross 3 ??
1 year, 5 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts for use with road bike calliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/Sram brakes and Campagnolo systems.
 

which lifeline brake holders match these

Do these match these...
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lifeline-essential-road-brake-holders-and-inserts-4-pack/
from the image it would appear NOT.... then which inserts go with these brake holders ??
.... both in shimano :o)
2 years ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Women's Wisp Fluro Windproof Gilet
dhb Women's Wisp Fluro Windproof Gilet
The dhb Women's Wisp Windproof Gilet is an ultra light top layer which offers wind and light rain protection to your core during variable weather conditions.
 

breathability

Is it made of the same or similar material to the
"dhb Ladies Turbulence Windproof "
for which there is at least one review stating....
"Bin liner breathes better"
I want it to keep the wind out without keeping water in!!
2 years ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Women's Active Hi Viz Waterproof Jacket
dhb Women's Active Hi Viz Waterproof Jacket
With light shower and wind resistance and minimal construction, the dhb Active Waterproof Jacket can be stowed away easily into a jersey pocket or saddle bag.
 

is this highly breathable

I want a jacket with NO condensation ....... as it is only shower proof does that mean it's condensation free :o)
2 years ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Strada simplicity and digital reliability. This amazing Strada Digital Wireless computer is virtually interference free, using amazing 2.4ghz digital technology to transfer speed, cadence data to the compact Strada head unit.
 

range of wireless connection

I want to use this for a stoker on a tandem, so it needs to work at at least 75cm range ….. my current wireless cateye MC100W seems to be limited to ~50cm
2 years ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 

Are these suitable for a tandem

riders are 85 + 60Kg + 20Kg bike + 20Kg luggage
I am currently using 700x28 Bontrager all weather plus
2 years ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

sizing

there has only been one review on this shoe stating that sizes are massively too small ...... is this true ?
I take size 45 for the Shimano RT82 .... should I take the same 45 or TWO sizes larger ????
2 years, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The Deda RSx 01 Seatpost features the same design of twin-bolt adjustment of RSX 02 setapost, but available in 6061 light alloy at very high quality to price ratio.
 

weight of 27.2mm version

what is the weight of 27.2mm version ?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
wayneh1965's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 

"Bottle Life" of mixed product

how long is the "bottle life" of a mixed product...

will the product "go off" after many hrs of riding...

can the product be mixed the day before and put in a fridge and will be still good for the next day
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
it's a dry powder ... so long as you keep it dry it should last forever ..... humidity is it's enemy
1 year, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

Are cleats included?

Can you confirm if the cleat is included with this shoe or not.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
no cleats ... cleats come with pedals :)
1 year, 9 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A good quality bottom bracket for traditional chainsets with super-accurate bearings for smooth operation and improved durability. The BB is also durable, hard-wearing sealed cartridge bottom bracket with square tapered spindle fitting.
 

Does spindle size matter

Hi,

I want to change the bottom bracket on my Specialized Allez 2013 road bike, and all I know is that currently it is a sealed cartridge square taper bottom bracket 68mm.

Will any spindle size fit?

Cheers,

Jamie
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
NO - spindle size (length) is important!
1. it has to fit your frame bottom bracket housing, so bike specific.
2. it has to be long enough to handle the 1, 2 or 3 chain-rings that you have.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

What pedals are best

I have an old racer and the pedals are with straps. I don't want cleats. Will these be okay?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
you do not HAVE to fit cleats
so they will be OK with strap pedals ..... but then so would any walking shoe :)
1 year, 9 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Shimano have developed the RT82 sole to offer the stiffness and sleek profile of a road shoe with convenience of an SPD design. This creates a lightweight, road style shoe perfect for high mileage touring and recreational applications.
 

Cleats indented enough?

Thinking of getting these for my Dad for his road bike as he doesn't want road shoes where he'll have to stand on the cleat to walk. Is the cleat enclosed into the sole enough on these that you can walk like normal?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
yes you can walk fairly noramaly with these... meaning into a shop or bar or a round the house..... but they are NOT designed for WALKING in the true sense of the word ... the rubber that protects the cleat will wear down and the cleat will touch progressively more and more...... be careful on tiled floors ...... still much MUCH better than 'look' style shoes/cleats
1 year, 11 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
go to .............
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-wiggle-honda-womens-merino-polo/
1 year, 11 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The XS-XL indicates you are looking at the mans version .... the same exists in a female cut and female sizing
1 year, 11 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

Will these worked with Shimano shoes with recessed cleats?

I have a pair of Shimano RT32s which have recessed cleats. will these covers be compatible with my shoes? If not what would you recommend.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
These work fine with SPD cleats
1 year, 11 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

What size for SIdi mega 46 shoes

Hi, what size would you recommend to fit Sidi mega 46 road shoes?

Thanks,
David
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
XL
L is tight on my size 45 shimano RT85
1 year, 11 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

Are these also water proof?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
NO => I used these on a spring ride last week in quite heavy on/off rain for ~3hrs. I had full top to bottom gortex and yet the only part that remained dry was my thighs. These overshoes kept the rain out for 30-40mins. By the end of the ride my feet were wet and frozen ..... I clearly need neoprene in those conditions.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France