wayneh1965
Top 250 Contributor
Share wayneh1965's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
wayneh1965's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    55
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    28 May 2013
  • Last Review
    30 June 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    22 October 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    01 July 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    33
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    21 July 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    38
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Answer
    28 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 April 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
wayneh1965's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
High strength forged steel spoke wrench with 3 integrated wrench sizes designed for heavy duty shop use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
not obvious which slot to use
Posted30 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"nice spoke key … it's just not at all obvious which one to use … I'll have to add a spot of paint to make it easier to get the right key."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Quickly removes the toughest of grime from all drivetrain areas including chain, front and rear mechs as well as the cassette.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good product - rubbish spray bottle
Posted30 June 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The actual cleaning product is quite remarkably effective
used with the muck-off brushes it got several years worth of muck off my touring bike in under 30mins
pity the spray mechanism is so rubbish…. REALLY rubbish …. I'll find another empty bottle and decant it
"
Pros: High Quality, effective
Cons: rubbish spray
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good fit a bit fragile
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"size 44 seems similar to size 45 shimano
a hard shoe to walk in but very comfy on the bike
a bit fragile ... one long outing and I've already got a chunk out of the heal
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Ultimate Performance™ Elastic Laces combine an incredibly tough elastic bungee cord with a spring-loaded lock; giving firm, secure and comfortable fit to your shoes. Now you will never need to tie another shoelace.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
it is just elastic
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"nothing more than elastic with a blocker .... not good for cycle shoes if you want a secure fit.
More targeted at casual running shoes
"
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new 2016 Schwalbe Land Cruiser as always is ready for any terrain. The key update is the tread pattern, but everything else is the same. Rolling nice on tarmac and catering well for gravel paths, tracks etc, its a tyre for a wide range or terrains.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
large!!!
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I got the 700x47mm for a bike tour over the alps using rough roads. It fits nicely on the front where I have surly-cross-check-cyclocross-forks
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/surly-cross-check-cyclocross-forks/?sku=5360343993
At the back they are an interference fit i.e. too big! for my 25yr old Dawes galaxy which has a 45mm space ..... 40mm marathons fit with a good margin .... clearly I need something smaller than 47mm at the back ... you live and learn.
They role very well for such a large tyre"
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts for use with road bike calliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/Sram brakes and Campagnolo systems.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
retaining pins do not fit
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have only just fitted these to my MTB V-brakes and while the pads themselves do fit with some difficulty ... a tight fit which is good!! the retaining pins do not fit ...... I could not get either to go all the way through ...... I have one original pin and that fitted fine ..... unfortunately one is missing .... still the pads are fairly jammed in ... I hope they stay in .... fingers crossed"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit, retaining pins do not fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Flashlight Compact-XT Waterproof Jacket has all the lightweight, breathable and waterproof features of the Compact, but with the additional luxuries of an adjustable hem and cuffs, and multiple pockets finished with aquaguard™ zips.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good value for money
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A little bit bulky but I would never take this unless I was expecting it to rain or on a multi-day bike tour. Shame there is no pouch to put it in ..... does roll into rear pocket but not easily and it does not make for a compact package ... I will find/make a pouch for it.
Fit is quite close.... I am quite slim 83Kgs/189cm tall and the XL seems about right and leaves space for a medium weight fleece ... it is just a bit short at the back when using drop handlebars, which is a shame :-(
"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, Rugged, bright
Cons: Bulky, short at the back
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
easy to drink
Posted19 October 2015
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"No idea about performance boost but it does make it easy to get water down your neck and that can not be a bad thing. The saches are convenient for longer rides … but the large tub is better value."
Pros: easy to drink
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sintered material pads with a gold backing plate. Ideal for Winter or wet weather. Not recommended for dry conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
retaining pins are too short
Posted08 October 2015
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Keep your old retaining pins these are too short.
I got the "Mono 6Ti Sintered pads" which come with two retaining pins and despite being original Hope label they are ~7mm shorter than mine and so you have to reuse your old ones .... pity that I have lost one of mine :-( ... the actual pads seem to be OK :o)
"
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
UA Compression helps you work. But you know what else it does? It makes you feel damn near invincible. It turns you into exactly what you want to be, every time you workout or compete. This is the baselayer built for heroic performance.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
nice but not a compression top
Posted08 October 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A nice top to wear but not sure it brings any benefits in terms of compression performance gains.
get it if you like the fancy pattern and a body hugging fit
at 50% off the price was OK .... at full price I would send it back!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
wayneh1965's Questions
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Replacement CNC machined alloy chainrings.
 

triple chain set compatibility

currently running a shim 105 triple 52/42/26 x7 speed!
and want to change the middle ring to 39 or 38
I am pretty sure this will fit ... please can you confirm ???
also....
how does it compare with the
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-130-pcd-105-5603-10-speed-inner-chainring/
that is currently out of stock ???
4 days ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Designed to protect you in intense sunshine this UV arm sleeve will help prevent you burning up as temperatures and sunshine levels soar. A mesh inner panel helps maintain breathability to prevent you overheating.
 

sizing

I am hesitating between small and medium
My arms are 29.5cm top and wrist is 15cm around!
I do not want them slipping down every 10mins !!
Julie
3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Familiarity breeds confidence (not a bad thing to have when you're out riding solo in the wilderness). Avid Single Digit brakes are the choice of riders who seek supreme performance in a simple design.
 

can these replace cantilever brakes

I have a 1990 Dawes galaxy with cantilever brakes, drop bars and Shimano levers for drop bars …… I just tried some Shimano XT BR-T780 V-Brake and they do fit but there is not enough movement in the cable to provide solid braking …. even after fine tuning to <1mm off the rim ….. would these be better ??
3 weeks, 3 days ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
These lights are designed for road bikes with drop bars only. The lights are placed at the end of the handlebars and replaces the Bar Ends. The Lumos light simply slot into the bar including the housing and battery.
 

How powerful are the lights

how much do they light up the road ???
what is the equivalent .... from Cateye for example ??
..... obviously only for power not for the mounting system
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Experience elite technology at great value.
 

weight

How much do they weigh ..… per pair ???
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Experience elite technology at great value.
 

sonic 2 SRS or sonic SRS

What is the difference between
Northwave Sonic 2 SRS & Northwave Sonic SRS ???
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The new 2016 Schwalbe Land Cruiser as always is ready for any terrain. The key update is the tread pattern, but everything else is the same. Rolling nice on tarmac and catering well for gravel paths, tracks etc, its a tyre for a wide range or terrains.
 

weight

how much does the 700x47 weigh ??
4 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The Trek First Aid Kit is an excellent, compact kit for dealing with small accidents. This is why The Duke of Edinburgh's Award recommend this kit for all participants.
 

waterproof

it states waterproof zip
so can I assume the whole bag is waterproof ???
by which I mean resistant to rain coming through a rucksack pocket material onto this pack ... will the stuff inside stay dry ???
1 year ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 Salomon Speedcross 3 CS Shoes (AW15)
Salomon Speedcross 3 CS Shoes (AW15)
Salomon’s iconic running shoe that brought speed to the trails! Featuring a Climashield™ protective upper, aggressive tread, and a precise fit, you’ll feel confident ripping through the sloppiest of trails in any weather conditions.
 

CS or not CS that is the question ?

what is the difference between this CS version and the NON CS speedcross 3 ??
1 year, 7 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts for use with road bike calliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/Sram brakes and Campagnolo systems.
 

which lifeline brake holders match these

Do these match these...
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lifeline-essential-road-brake-holders-and-inserts-4-pack/
from the image it would appear NOT.... then which inserts go with these brake holders ??
.... both in shimano :o)
2 years, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
wayneh1965's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 

"Bottle Life" of mixed product

how long is the "bottle life" of a mixed product...

will the product "go off" after many hrs of riding...

can the product be mixed the day before and put in a fridge and will be still good for the next day
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
it's a dry powder ... so long as you keep it dry it should last forever ..... humidity is it's enemy
1 year, 3 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

Are cleats included?

Can you confirm if the cleat is included with this shoe or not.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
no cleats ... cleats come with pedals :)
1 year, 10 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A good quality bottom bracket for traditional chainsets with super-accurate bearings for smooth operation and improved durability. The BB is also durable, hard-wearing sealed cartridge bottom bracket with square tapered spindle fitting.
 

Does spindle size matter

Hi,

I want to change the bottom bracket on my Specialized Allez 2013 road bike, and all I know is that currently it is a sealed cartridge square taper bottom bracket 68mm.

Will any spindle size fit?

Cheers,

Jamie
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
NO - spindle size (length) is important!
1. it has to fit your frame bottom bracket housing, so bike specific.
2. it has to be long enough to handle the 1, 2 or 3 chain-rings that you have.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

What pedals are best

I have an old racer and the pedals are with straps. I don't want cleats. Will these be okay?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
you do not HAVE to fit cleats
so they will be OK with strap pedals ..... but then so would any walking shoe :)
1 year, 10 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Shimano have developed the RT82 sole to offer the stiffness and sleek profile of a road shoe with convenience of an SPD design. This creates a lightweight, road style shoe perfect for high mileage touring and recreational applications.
 

Cleats indented enough?

Thinking of getting these for my Dad for his road bike as he doesn't want road shoes where he'll have to stand on the cleat to walk. Is the cleat enclosed into the sole enough on these that you can walk like normal?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
yes you can walk fairly noramaly with these... meaning into a shop or bar or a round the house..... but they are NOT designed for WALKING in the true sense of the word ... the rubber that protects the cleat will wear down and the cleat will touch progressively more and more...... be careful on tiled floors ...... still much MUCH better than 'look' style shoes/cleats
2 years, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
go to .............
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-wiggle-honda-womens-merino-polo/
2 years, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The XS-XL indicates you are looking at the mans version .... the same exists in a female cut and female sizing
2 years, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

Will these worked with Shimano shoes with recessed cleats?

I have a pair of Shimano RT32s which have recessed cleats. will these covers be compatible with my shoes? If not what would you recommend.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
These work fine with SPD cleats
2 years, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

What size for SIdi mega 46 shoes

Hi, what size would you recommend to fit Sidi mega 46 road shoes?

Thanks,
David
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
XL
L is tight on my size 45 shimano RT85
2 years, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

Are these also water proof?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
NO => I used these on a spring ride last week in quite heavy on/off rain for ~3hrs. I had full top to bottom gortex and yet the only part that remained dry was my thighs. These overshoes kept the rain out for 30-40mins. By the end of the ride my feet were wet and frozen ..... I clearly need neoprene in those conditions.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France