wayneh1965
Top 250 Contributor
Share wayneh1965's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
wayneh1965's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    39
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    28 May 2013
  • Last Review
    27 August 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    22 October 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    07 November 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    24
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 August 2013
  • Last Question
    27 May 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    37
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    28 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    27 August 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
wayneh1965's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nice shoe with poor lacing system :(
Posted27 August 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
""a little heavy, very solid .. perhaps a little on the hard side…. nice lacing system…. slitty small … easy to walk in with cleats… they do not scrap on the ground.. perhaps half a size small"
After a 5wk cycle tour both my shoes and my son's shoes had problems with the laces. Firt the lace jamer fails to jam, then the lace itself breaks over the metal lace eyelets. When replaced with 'normal' laces the metal eyelets quickly cut through standard laces. You need to use some kind of thin climbing cord. NOT robust enough for a Shimano product.
A shame - otherwise the shoes are good for touring and short walks in the hills (for tourist attractions). All day walks if you remove the cleats and replace the rubber insert (two screws).
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, lacing system fails
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Smart 'smart wool' touring shirt :)
Posted27 August 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
""I nice shirt .... feels like you've dressed up rather than a thermal top. In fact I have only worn it as a casual wear shirt (so far). As such the fit is quite baggy (like a T-shirt).
The intention is to use it for cycle touring this summer, when I'll get the true SMELL test. HOWEVER, I can already tell you that if you are sensitive to wearing wool next to your skin (as I am) then this may cause you some irritation. So I'm a little worried about wearing it for 5wks !?!?!?
I am hoping it will improve after the first wash.... My wife loves hers!!!"
After 5wks the skin irritation was not a issue for me ... highly reommended
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, does not smell
Cons: slight skin irritation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Performance cycle apparel meets casual style. The dhb Merino Polo combines the breathability and moisture wicking qualities of Merino with a relaxed appearance that looks great on and off the bike. Perfect for trail riding and mixed commutes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
excellent
Posted26 August 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"after a 4wk cycle tour around Ireland (on bike and in sleeping bag) I found this to be the perfect shirt. Warm but not too warm and just right with a light waterproof during the occasional shower. The wool is a little bit itchy, but I do have sensitive skin and generally can not tolerate wool on my neck but this was OK!. There is a tinny pocket.. never got used .. not sure WHAT you would use it for (emergency money!?!?).
The black one faded a little in the summer sun !!!
I fell off once and no holes :) in the shirt or me :)
slightly on the heavy side .... washes and dries quite well (in a shower!)
I'll be using this for my next mountaineering trip too!!
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An excellent value 8 pack of high quality innertubes to fit 700c touring and cyclocross bike rims with 28c to 35c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good value for money
Posted03 June 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"nice job lot of tubes at <2E a tube ..... no more patching for me!
long presta values
"
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit, long presta values
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shot peened, black anodised shaft with laser logo, and silver anodised head.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
long and strong but heavy
Posted13 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"it's long and strong but a little on the heavy side"
Pros: Durable, Haute qualité, Solide, Polyvalent
Cons: poids
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
T.A have been making chainrings for 60 years. The teeth are cut in the traditional manner on a lathe which produces a much better and more accurate tooth form than stamping, which is used by most chainring manufacturers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
it works
Posted11 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"a small (26T) chain ring to get up those steep hills withe tired legs.
works fine for me
"
Pros: Haute qualité, Solide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tough, highly water resistant bag for storing and protecting your items when outdoors.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
replaces plastic bags
Posted08 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These are VERY light weight and so NOT Ortlieb!!
I intend to use them to replace plastic bags inside ruck sacks and panniers and to organize clothes etc inside bigger kit bags & the tent!!. They offer a good second level of weather protection.
unfortunately not available in the smaller sizes 2/5/10L via Wiggle :o("
Pros: Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: no small sizes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Whether it's canyoning, climbing or caving, whenever exploring unknown ground, the X-Plorer fits the bill. It's also a favourite for motorcycle touring.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
it's quite big!
Posted08 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This bag comfortably swallows 4 full size L therma-rests (hiker-light series) and 4 sleeping bags. Packing things nicely at the bottom is a bit of a chore because the tube is so long..... luckily the 4 therma-rests fill the bottom nicely and the s-bags simply stuff in on top... roll down and our night time kit is SAFE. very light for the volume. Fits nicely on top of our mono-wheel bike trailer"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
XForm Active use and recovery. Powerful and breathable compression garments featuring the added benefit of graduated engineering for extra support, comfort and more efficient delivery of oxygenated blood to fatigued muscles.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
too fragile
Posted02 April 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After having used compression on feet and lower leg, I am convinced of the interest of compression. Since I don't want multiple pairs of tights I went for these Elite tights, one pair does it all. However on my first outing a brushed a small branch that left a hole the size of a 50p piece. The contact was so light that there was no contact with the skin underneath at all and yet the tights didn't resist. For an ELITE tight I think that they should resist such feeble levels of stress. They do NOT! for 108E per run they come up as very expensive ... do NOT run in the woods or over any rough ground where these may touch anything at all!!
They also ruck up behind the knee.
"
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, not rugged, not durable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Salomon’s iconic running shoe that brought speed to the trails! Light, fast, and featuring a super precise fit, the SPEEDCROSS 3 can provide the ultimate grip in any conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent cross-country shoe
Posted01 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"only done one 10Km/500m hill run in woods, trails, snow, stream crossing and on tarmac and the shoe performed very well ….. I didn't have to worry about slipping even on 45 degree dirt stream banks. Shoes resisted very well in snow and even after a foot went into a stream and got drenched the shoes remained comfortable and I didn't get cold feet….. what more can I ask …. also a nice level of shock absorbing on the tarmac … nice lacing system"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, good grip, good shock absorbing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
wayneh1965's Questions
1 2 3 >>>
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts for use with road bike calliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/Sram brakes and Campagnolo systems. LifeLine brake pads are manufactured for us by Ashima.
 

which lifeline brake holders match these

Do these match these...
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lifeline-essential-road-brake-holders-and-inserts-4-pack/
from the image it would appear NOT.... then which inserts go with these brake holders ??
.... both in shimano :o)
3 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The dhb Women's Wisp Windproof Gilet is an ultra light top layer which offers wind and light rain protection to your core during variable weather conditions.
 

breathability

Is it made of the same or similar material to the
"dhb Ladies Turbulence Windproof "
for which there is at least one review stating....
"Bin liner breathes better"
I want it to keep the wind out without keeping water in!!
3 months, 1 week ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A great value for money, entry-level waterproof jacket. Offers light shower and wind resistance and ultra light construction. This is a packable jacket which stows away easily in a jersey pocket or saddle bag. Ideal for commutes and leisure rides.
 

is this highly breathable

I want a jacket with NO condensation ....... as it is only shower proof does that mean it's condensation free :o)
3 months, 1 week ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Strada simplicity and digital reliability. This amazing Strada Digital Wireless computer is virtually interference free, using amazing 2.4ghz digital technology to transfer speed, cadence data to the compact Strada head unit.
 

range of wireless connection

I want to use this for a stoker on a tandem, so it needs to work at at least 75cm range ….. my current wireless cateye MC100W seems to be limited to ~50cm
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 

Are these suitable for a tandem

riders are 85 + 60Kg + 20Kg bike + 20Kg luggage
I am currently using 700x28 Bontrager all weather plus
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

sizing

there has only been one review on this shoe stating that sizes are massively too small ...... is this true ?
I take size 45 for the Shimano RT82 .... should I take the same 45 or TWO sizes larger ????
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The Deda RSx 01 Seatpost features the same design of twin-bolt adjustment of RSX 02 setapost, but available in 6061 light alloy at very high quality to price ratio.
 

weight of 27.2mm version

what is the weight of 27.2mm version ?
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A 8 speed rear twist shifter with 1:1 actuation ratio and SRS technology.
 

compatible with Shimano XT rear deraillieur ??

Is this compatible with Shimano XT rear deraillieur ??
I've no idea about shifting ratios !?!?
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A 8 speed rear twist shifter with 1:1 actuation ratio and SRS technology.
 

right or left shifter

the image appears to show the left or front 3 position shifter and not the rear 8 speed shifter ….. but the text clearly states 8 speed rear shifter … which is it ????
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Tough, highly water resistant bag for storing and protecting your items when outdoors.
 

smaller sizes ... 10L, 5L & 2L

How do I order the smaller sizes ???
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
wayneh1965's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

Are cleats included?

Can you confirm if the cleat is included with this shoe or not.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
no cleats ... cleats come with pedals :)
5 days ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A good quality bottom bracket for traditional chainsets with super-accurate bearings for smooth operation and improved durability. The BB is also durable, hard-wearing sealed cartridge bottom bracket with square tapered spindle fitting.
 

Does spindle size matter

Hi,

I want to change the bottom bracket on my Specialized Allez 2013 road bike, and all I know is that currently it is a sealed cartridge square taper bottom bracket 68mm.

Will any spindle size fit?

Cheers,

Jamie
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
NO - spindle size (length) is important!
1. it has to fit your frame bottom bracket housing, so bike specific.
2. it has to be long enough to handle the 1, 2 or 3 chain-rings that you have.
5 days ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

What pedals are best

I have an old racer and the pedals are with straps. I don't want cleats. Will these be okay?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
you do not HAVE to fit cleats
so they will be OK with strap pedals ..... but then so would any walking shoe :)
6 days ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Shimano have developed the RT82 sole to offer the stiffness and sleek profile of a road shoe with convenience of an SPD design. This creates a lightweight, road style shoe perfect for high mileage touring and recreational applications.
 

Cleats indented enough?

Thinking of getting these for my Dad for his road bike as he doesn't want road shoes where he'll have to stand on the cleat to walk. Is the cleat enclosed into the sole enough on these that you can walk like normal?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
yes you can walk fairly noramaly with these... meaning into a shop or bar or a round the house..... but they are NOT designed for WALKING in the true sense of the word ... the rubber that protects the cleat will wear down and the cleat will touch progressively more and more...... be careful on tiled floors ...... still much MUCH better than 'look' style shoes/cleats
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
go to .............
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-wiggle-honda-womens-merino-polo/
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The XS-XL indicates you are looking at the mans version .... the same exists in a female cut and female sizing
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

Will these worked with Shimano shoes with recessed cleats?

I have a pair of Shimano RT32s which have recessed cleats. will these covers be compatible with my shoes? If not what would you recommend.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
These work fine with SPD cleats
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

What size for SIdi mega 46 shoes

Hi, what size would you recommend to fit Sidi mega 46 road shoes?

Thanks,
David
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
XL
L is tight on my size 45 shimano RT85
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

Are these also water proof?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
NO => I used these on a spring ride last week in quite heavy on/off rain for ~3hrs. I had full top to bottom gortex and yet the only part that remained dry was my thighs. These overshoes kept the rain out for 30-40mins. By the end of the ride my feet were wet and frozen ..... I clearly need neoprene in those conditions.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

will these fit on a Specialized Secteur X3 2014 - 700x25c?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I managed to get these to work on two bikes with 700x28 tyres so should be no problem with 700x25 tyres .... for the bike .....
if it has front forks ( I assume yes!), and rear wheel stays (I assume yes) and road caliper rim brakes then, there is every chance they will fit your bike.
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France