wayneh1965
Top 100 Contributor
Share wayneh1965's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
wayneh1965's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    58
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    28 May 2013
  • Last Review
    03 October 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    22 October 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    05 October 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    33
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 August 2013
  • Last Question
    26 August 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    41
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Answer
    28 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    24 August 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
wayneh1965's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Adequate
Posted03 October 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Just been for a ride in pitch black country roads with no street lights.
Front light is bright enough to ride a modest speeds, rear light is also good enough but not as bright as it might be .... However both lights have a good width of beam which means you do not have to set the angle super precisely which is a plus... but probably explains why they are not so bright (less focused).
Both lights have too many flashing modes to scroll through to get to that one mode you actually use !!
the mounts.... rear mount has an offset angle that is matched to a seat post angle.... but no adjustment.... shame they do not do the same for the front, then it could go on the steering head tube.
Both have sturdy clips compatible with head torch elastic bands or other thick fabric or straps. Good for runners or walking the dog!!
Not worth the MRP of ~75E/set ..... wiggle price ~42E is reasonable.
USB socket is a bit fiddly not sure how long it will last - same for the clumsy rubber bungs to keep the water out ha ha ha!
"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: Bulky, Unadjustable, Unattractive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 130 PCD 105 5603 10 Speed Inner Chainring
Shimano 130 PCD 105 5603 10 Speed Inner Chainring
10 speed Alloy Chainrings for use with the Shimano 105 FC5603 Triple Chainset.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
works perfectly
Posted22 August 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"it works well with my 52/39/26 x 7 speed system
shimano 105 chain rings
down tube shifters
"
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
very solid
Posted22 August 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"good feel
sense of a quality tool
but not used the chain tool or spoke tool … but do not doubt they will be good
nice case serves no purpose … gets left in the garage
it is quite a lump to carry around though ….. but then it does everything!!!
"
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, spoke tool
Cons: heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
not obvious which slot to use
Posted30 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"nice spoke key … it's just not at all obvious which one to use … I'll have to add a spot of paint to make it easier to get the right key."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good product - rubbish spray bottle
Posted30 June 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The actual cleaning product is quite remarkably effective
used with the muck-off brushes it got several years worth of muck off my touring bike in under 30mins
pity the spray mechanism is so rubbish…. REALLY rubbish …. I'll find another empty bottle and decant it
"
Pros: High Quality, effective
Cons: rubbish spray
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good fit a bit fragile
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"size 44 seems similar to size 45 shimano
a hard shoe to walk in but very comfy on the bike
a bit fragile ... one long outing and I've already got a chunk out of the heal
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
it is just elastic
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"nothing more than elastic with a blocker .... not good for cycle shoes if you want a secure fit.
More targeted at casual running shoes
"
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
large!!!
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I got the 700x47mm for a bike tour over the alps using rough roads. It fits nicely on the front where I have surly-cross-check-cyclocross-forks
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/surly-cross-check-cyclocross-forks/?sku=5360343993
At the back they are an interference fit i.e. too big! for my 25yr old Dawes galaxy which has a 45mm space ..... 40mm marathons fit with a good margin .... clearly I need something smaller than 47mm at the back ... you live and learn.
They role very well for such a large tyre"
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
retaining pins do not fit
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have only just fitted these to my MTB V-brakes and while the pads themselves do fit with some difficulty ... a tight fit which is good!! the retaining pins do not fit ...... I could not get either to go all the way through ...... I have one original pin and that fitted fine ..... unfortunately one is missing .... still the pads are fairly jammed in ... I hope they stay in .... fingers crossed"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit, retaining pins do not fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Flashlight Compact-XT Waterproof Jacket
dhb Flashlight Compact-XT Waterproof Jacket
The dhb Flashlight Compact-XT Waterproof Jacket has all the lightweight, breathable and waterproof features of the Compact, but with the additional luxuries of an adjustable hem and cuffs, and multiple pockets finished with aquaguard™ zips.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good value for money
Posted22 June 2016
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A little bit bulky but I would never take this unless I was expecting it to rain or on a multi-day bike tour. Shame there is no pouch to put it in ..... does roll into rear pocket but not easily and it does not make for a compact package ... I will find/make a pouch for it.
Fit is quite close.... I am quite slim 83Kgs/189cm tall and the XL seems about right and leaves space for a medium weight fleece ... it is just a bit short at the back when using drop handlebars, which is a shame :-(
"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, Rugged, bright
Cons: Bulky, short at the back
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
wayneh1965's Questions
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 

breathable or plastic bag

Is this jacket breathable or just a high viz plastic bag ???
alternatively.....
is it just for down hill runs or could I climb a 300m col in bad weather wearing this and be less wet than if I had not worn it at all ???
3 months, 1 week ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

triple chain set compatibility

currently running a shim 105 triple 52/42/26 x7 speed!
and want to change the middle ring to 39 or 38
I am pretty sure this will fit ... please can you confirm ???
also....
how does it compare with the
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-130-pcd-105-5603-10-speed-inner-chainring/
that is currently out of stock ???
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

sizing

I am hesitating between small and medium
My arms are 29.5cm top and wrist is 15cm around!
I do not want them slipping down every 10mins !!
Julie
5 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Familiarity breeds confidence (not a bad thing to have when you're out riding solo in the wilderness). Avid Single Digit brakes are the choice of riders who seek supreme performance in a simple design.
 

can these replace cantilever brakes

I have a 1990 Dawes galaxy with cantilever brakes, drop bars and Shimano levers for drop bars …… I just tried some Shimano XT BR-T780 V-Brake and they do fit but there is not enough movement in the cable to provide solid braking …. even after fine tuning to <1mm off the rim ….. would these be better ??
5 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 Tacx Lumos Front and Rear LED Handlebar Light Set
Tacx Lumos Front and Rear LED Handlebar Light Set
These lights are designed for road bikes with drop bars only. The lights are placed at the end of the handlebars and replaces the Bar Ends. The Lumos light simply slot into the bar including the housing and battery.
 

How powerful are the lights

how much do they light up the road ???
what is the equivalent .... from Cateye for example ??
..... obviously only for power not for the mounting system
6 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

weight

How much do they weigh ..… per pair ???
6 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

weight

how much does the 700x47 weigh ??
8 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

waterproof

it states waterproof zip
so can I assume the whole bag is waterproof ???
by which I mean resistant to rain coming through a rucksack pocket material onto this pack ... will the stuff inside stay dry ???
1 year, 4 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 Salomon Speedcross 3 CS Shoes (AW15)
Salomon Speedcross 3 CS Shoes (AW15)
Salomon’s iconic running shoe that brought speed to the trails! Featuring a Climashield™ protective upper, aggressive tread, and a precise fit, you’ll feel confident ripping through the sloppiest of trails in any weather conditions.
 

CS or not CS that is the question ?

what is the difference between this CS version and the NON CS speedcross 3 ??
2 years ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

which lifeline brake holders match these

Do these match these...
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lifeline-essential-road-brake-holders-and-inserts-4-pack/
from the image it would appear NOT.... then which inserts go with these brake holders ??
.... both in shimano :o)
2 years, 6 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
wayneh1965's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 

can I use an 8 sp cassette on a 7 sp derailleur by removing the outer cog?

Hi I have an old Shimano RSX 7 sp index system and need a replacement cassette. can an 8 speed work or do I have to get a 7 speed? 'M not worried about losing the 11 cog if it is detachable. Thanks.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hello
I am thinking of doing the same/similar .... replace a 7 speed cassette with an 8 speed .. better choice .... but simply adjust the derailleur to not use the 11 tooth cog ... and change the chain if required ...
what do you think ???
3 months, 1 week ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

What are the ratios of the 11 - 34 cassette please?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Are you sure about the ratios ,,,,, ???
if yes then it is very strange to have a closer ratio than the 11-32 and then a massive step from 26 to 34

11-13-15-18-21-24-28-32T.
11-13-15-17-20-23-26-34T
3 months, 1 week ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

triple chain set compatibility

currently running a shim 105 triple 52/42/26 x7 speed!
and want to change the middle ring to 39 or 38
I am pretty sure this will fit ... please can you confirm ???
also....
how does it compare with the
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-130-pcd-105-5603-10-speed-inner-chainring/
that is currently out of stock ???
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I got one of the 105 chain rings (back in stock) and it works fine with the 7 speed system :o)
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

"Bottle Life" of mixed product

how long is the "bottle life" of a mixed product...

will the product "go off" after many hrs of riding...

can the product be mixed the day before and put in a fridge and will be still good for the next day
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
it's a dry powder ... so long as you keep it dry it should last forever ..... humidity is it's enemy
1 year, 7 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

Are cleats included?

Can you confirm if the cleat is included with this shoe or not.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
no cleats ... cleats come with pedals :)
2 years, 3 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

Does spindle size matter

Hi,

I want to change the bottom bracket on my Specialized Allez 2013 road bike, and all I know is that currently it is a sealed cartridge square taper bottom bracket 68mm.

Will any spindle size fit?

Cheers,

Jamie
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
NO - spindle size (length) is important!
1. it has to fit your frame bottom bracket housing, so bike specific.
2. it has to be long enough to handle the 1, 2 or 3 chain-rings that you have.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

What pedals are best

I have an old racer and the pedals are with straps. I don't want cleats. Will these be okay?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
you do not HAVE to fit cleats
so they will be OK with strap pedals ..... but then so would any walking shoe :)
2 years, 3 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 

Cleats indented enough?

Thinking of getting these for my Dad for his road bike as he doesn't want road shoes where he'll have to stand on the cleat to walk. Is the cleat enclosed into the sole enough on these that you can walk like normal?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
yes you can walk fairly noramaly with these... meaning into a shop or bar or a round the house..... but they are NOT designed for WALKING in the true sense of the word ... the rubber that protects the cleat will wear down and the cleat will touch progressively more and more...... be careful on tiled floors ...... still much MUCH better than 'look' style shoes/cleats
2 years, 5 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
go to .............
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-wiggle-honda-womens-merino-polo/
2 years, 5 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
The XS-XL indicates you are looking at the mans version .... the same exists in a female cut and female sizing
2 years, 5 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France