wayneh1965
Top 250 Contributor
Share wayneh1965's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
wayneh1965's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    44
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    28 May 2013
  • Last Review
    23 June 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    22 October 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    11 September 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    16 July 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    38
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Answer
    28 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    20 April 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
wayneh1965's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
A lightweight superfine merino base layer for thermal regulation and natural performance. Can be worn as the first part of a layering system in cool conditions or as single layer.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
strange fit
Posted23 June 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I got this in large (following the dhb size guide) I sent it back for an exchange for XL and still the arms are tight and pull across the shoulders while the body hangs free ..... it's a strange fit that does not fit me ... 189cm x 82Kgs ... I'll be sending the XL back too .. disappointed :o("
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Short
dhb Women's Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Short
Premium cycling shorts for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Shorts are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
very good but pad larger than I would like
Posted26 May 2015
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"all is great except the pad size ..... I have the dhb summer bib .... and the pad is more to my liking... meaning smaller"
Pros: Excellent rapport qualité-prix, Confortable, Taille ajustée, warm
Cons: pad size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
goes down easy
Posted20 April 2015
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Not sure about performance gains ... but .... it tastes good and goes down easy and so encourages me to drink ... drinking more is normally a good thing"
Pros: tastes good
Cons: Bulky, big container for product volume
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A Shimano gear cable designed for Tandem bikes (indexed) only. The cable is of high quality, is pre-stretched and 250cm in length.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
why pay more
Posted02 December 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"simple quality cable that does the job required. Why paymore!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High quality innertubes to fit 26" rims and 1.5 to 2.0" wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
functional
Posted30 October 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"nothing fancy ..... just inner tubes that do what you expect them to without making a hole in your pocket"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nice shoe with poor lacing system :(
Posted27 August 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
""a little heavy, very solid .. perhaps a little on the hard side…. nice lacing system…. slitty small … easy to walk in with cleats… they do not scrap on the ground.. perhaps half a size small"
After a 5wk cycle tour both my shoes and my son's shoes had problems with the laces. Firt the lace jamer fails to jam, then the lace itself breaks over the metal lace eyelets. When replaced with 'normal' laces the metal eyelets quickly cut through standard laces. You need to use some kind of thin climbing cord. NOT robust enough for a Shimano product.
A shame - otherwise the shoes are good for touring and short walks in the hills (for tourist attractions). All day walks if you remove the cleats and replace the rubber insert (two screws).
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, lacing system fails
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Smart 'smart wool' touring shirt :)
Posted27 August 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
""I nice shirt .... feels like you've dressed up rather than a thermal top. In fact I have only worn it as a casual wear shirt (so far). As such the fit is quite baggy (like a T-shirt).
The intention is to use it for cycle touring this summer, when I'll get the true SMELL test. HOWEVER, I can already tell you that if you are sensitive to wearing wool next to your skin (as I am) then this may cause you some irritation. So I'm a little worried about wearing it for 5wks !?!?!?
I am hoping it will improve after the first wash.... My wife loves hers!!!"
After 5wks the skin irritation was not a issue for me ... highly reommended
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, does not smell
Cons: slight skin irritation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Merino Polo-Pack of 2
dhb Long Sleeve Merino Polo-Pack of 2
Performance cycle apparel meets casual style. The dhb Merino Polo combines the breathability and moisture wicking qualities of Merino with a relaxed appearance that looks great on and off the bike. Perfect for trail riding and mixed commutes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
excellent
Posted26 August 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"after a 4wk cycle tour around Ireland (on bike and in sleeping bag) I found this to be the perfect shirt. Warm but not too warm and just right with a light waterproof during the occasional shower. The wool is a little bit itchy, but I do have sensitive skin and generally can not tolerate wool on my neck but this was OK!. There is a tinny pocket.. never got used .. not sure WHAT you would use it for (emergency money!?!?).
The black one faded a little in the summer sun !!!
I fell off once and no holes :) in the shirt or me :)
slightly on the heavy side .... washes and dries quite well (in a shower!)
I'll be using this for my next mountaineering trip too!!
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Touring Narrow Inner Tubes - 8 Pack
LifeLine Essential Touring Narrow Inner Tubes - 8 Pack
An excellent value 8 pack of high quality innertubes to fit 700c touring and cyclocross bike rims with 28c to 35c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good value for money
Posted03 June 2014
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"nice job lot of tubes at <2E a tube ..... no more patching for me!
long presta values
"
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit, long presta values
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shot peened, black anodised shaft with laser logo, and silver anodised head.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
long and strong but heavy
Posted13 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
wayneh1965
fromGrenoble, France
Country : France
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"it's long and strong but a little on the heavy side"
Pros: Durable, Haute qualité, Solide, Polyvalent
Cons: poids
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
wayneh1965's Questions
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Trek First Aid Kit is an excellent, compact kit for dealing with small accidents. This is why The Duke of Edinburgh's Award recommend this kit for all participants.
 

waterproof

it states waterproof zip
so can I assume the whole bag is waterproof ???
by which I mean resistant to rain coming through a rucksack pocket material onto this pack ... will the stuff inside stay dry ???
1 week, 6 days ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 Salomon Speedcross 3 CS Shoes - AW14
Salomon Speedcross 3 CS Shoes - AW14
The Speedcross 3 gets a new bonded Sensifit construction, more durability in the sole, and lower heel for more stability. It is a light, fast, racing shoe used by many Salomon team athletes. Complete with waterproof protection over the tongue and toes.
 

CS or not CS that is the question ?

what is the difference between this CS version and the NON CS speedcross 3 ??
7 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A set of four high quality brake pad inserts for use with road bike calliper brakes. Available in 2 options to fit standard Shimano/Sram brakes and Campagnolo systems. LifeLine brake pads are manufactured for us by Ashima.
 

which lifeline brake holders match these

Do these match these...
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lifeline-essential-road-brake-holders-and-inserts-4-pack/
from the image it would appear NOT.... then which inserts go with these brake holders ??
.... both in shimano :o)
1 year, 2 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The dhb Women's Wisp Windproof Gilet is an ultra light top layer which offers wind and light rain protection to your core during variable weather conditions.
 

breathability

Is it made of the same or similar material to the
"dhb Ladies Turbulence Windproof "
for which there is at least one review stating....
"Bin liner breathes better"
I want it to keep the wind out without keeping water in!!
1 year, 2 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
With light shower and wind resistance and minimal construction, the dhb Active Waterproof Jacket can be stowed away easily into a jersey pocket or saddle bag.
 

is this highly breathable

I want a jacket with NO condensation ....... as it is only shower proof does that mean it's condensation free :o)
1 year, 2 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Strada simplicity and digital reliability. This amazing Strada Digital Wireless computer is virtually interference free, using amazing 2.4ghz digital technology to transfer speed, cadence data to the compact Strada head unit.
 

range of wireless connection

I want to use this for a stoker on a tandem, so it needs to work at at least 75cm range ….. my current wireless cateye MC100W seems to be limited to ~50cm
1 year, 2 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 

Are these suitable for a tandem

riders are 85 + 60Kg + 20Kg bike + 20Kg luggage
I am currently using 700x28 Bontrager all weather plus
1 year, 2 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

sizing

there has only been one review on this shoe stating that sizes are massively too small ...... is this true ?
I take size 45 for the Shimano RT82 .... should I take the same 45 or TWO sizes larger ????
1 year, 3 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
The Deda RSx 01 Seatpost features the same design of twin-bolt adjustment of RSX 02 setapost, but available in 6061 light alloy at very high quality to price ratio.
 

weight of 27.2mm version

what is the weight of 27.2mm version ?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A 8 speed rear twist shifter with 1:1 actuation ratio and SRS technology.
 

compatible with Shimano XT rear deraillieur ??

Is this compatible with Shimano XT rear deraillieur ??
I've no idea about shifting ratios !?!?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
wayneh1965's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 

"Bottle Life" of mixed product

how long is the "bottle life" of a mixed product...

will the product "go off" after many hrs of riding...

can the product be mixed the day before and put in a fridge and will be still good for the next day
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
it's a dry powder ... so long as you keep it dry it should last forever ..... humidity is it's enemy
3 months, 1 week ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

Are cleats included?

Can you confirm if the cleat is included with this shoe or not.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
no cleats ... cleats come with pedals :)
11 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
A good quality bottom bracket for traditional chainsets with super-accurate bearings for smooth operation and improved durability. The BB is also durable, hard-wearing sealed cartridge bottom bracket with square tapered spindle fitting.
 

Does spindle size matter

Hi,

I want to change the bottom bracket on my Specialized Allez 2013 road bike, and all I know is that currently it is a sealed cartridge square taper bottom bracket 68mm.

Will any spindle size fit?

Cheers,

Jamie
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
NO - spindle size (length) is important!
1. it has to fit your frame bottom bracket housing, so bike specific.
2. it has to be long enough to handle the 1, 2 or 3 chain-rings that you have.
11 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Ideal multi-purpose trail/leisure SPD shoe, suitable for off-road adventures and on-road commuting.
 

What pedals are best

I have an old racer and the pedals are with straps. I don't want cleats. Will these be okay?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
you do not HAVE to fit cleats
so they will be OK with strap pedals ..... but then so would any walking shoe :)
11 months ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
Shimano have developed the RT82 sole to offer the stiffness and sleek profile of a road shoe with convenience of an SPD design. This creates a lightweight, road style shoe perfect for high mileage touring and recreational applications.
 

Cleats indented enough?

Thinking of getting these for my Dad for his road bike as he doesn't want road shoes where he'll have to stand on the cleat to walk. Is the cleat enclosed into the sole enough on these that you can walk like normal?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
yes you can walk fairly noramaly with these... meaning into a shop or bar or a round the house..... but they are NOT designed for WALKING in the true sense of the word ... the rubber that protects the cleat will wear down and the cleat will touch progressively more and more...... be careful on tiled floors ...... still much MUCH better than 'look' style shoes/cleats
1 year, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
go to .............
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-wiggle-honda-womens-merino-polo/
1 year, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
 dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
dhb Wiggle Honda Short Sleeve Merino Polo
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda casualwear Merino Polo.
 

sizing info

are the sizes listed i.e. xs - xxl mens sizes
or are they women's sizes
my wife wants this jersey
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The XS-XL indicates you are looking at the mans version .... the same exists in a female cut and female sizing
1 year, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

Will these worked with Shimano shoes with recessed cleats?

I have a pair of Shimano RT32s which have recessed cleats. will these covers be compatible with my shoes? If not what would you recommend.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
These work fine with SPD cleats
1 year, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

What size for SIdi mega 46 shoes

Hi, what size would you recommend to fit Sidi mega 46 road shoes?

Thanks,
David
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
XL
L is tight on my size 45 shimano RT85
1 year, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France
 
dhb Windproof overshoes use a breathable polyurethane membrane to keep the wind out and protect your shoes from road grime in fresh Autumn and Spring conditions.
 

Are these also water proof?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
NO => I used these on a spring ride last week in quite heavy on/off rain for ~3hrs. I had full top to bottom gortex and yet the only part that remained dry was my thighs. These overshoes kept the rain out for 30-40mins. By the end of the ride my feet were wet and frozen ..... I clearly need neoprene in those conditions.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
wayneh1965
Grenoble, France