Elsie13
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Elsie13's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Elsie13's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    20 February 2013
  • Last Review
    19 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    23 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    19 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Elsie13's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders who commute and tour.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
pedal away
Posted19 October 2014
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"easy to fit i changed to a dual pedal as i wanted to use my shoes i use for spin classes and use my hybrid more in poor weather instead of my road bike.
clip in side is adjustable to suit whether you like it tight or loose fitting.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With a synthetic leather/mesh upper and a stiff reinforced polyamide sole, the M064 is an excellent introduction to the security and speed of SPD shoes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
comfort & style
Posted19 October 2014
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"good quality easy to walk in over short distances i use with dual pedals and for spin classes.
i can drive my car in them as well which is a bonus when going to the gym
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
light my way
Posted27 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As i can only ride one bike at any one time did not see any point in having two sets of lights so i just got spare brackets for the road bike.
simple to fit easy to remove if need be and cheaper than two sets of lights.
"
Pros: Durable, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Authentic style and performance, with unmatched value. The Savant is an amazing fit for riders who enjoy great routes as much as a swift pace. The Slim shape combines 25 Wind Tunnel vents, and the comfortable convenience of the Roc Loc 5 fit system.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
heads up
Posted27 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"nice looking helmets very comfortable to wear on long or short rides.
Not used this make before but it's better looking and lighter than my previous helmet
very easy to adjust and clean also good ventilation
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
bright eyes
Posted27 February 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"good price they do the job but i think with our ever changing weather i shall get some reactor lens glasses so don't have to keep swapping glasses or lenses.
when the weather stays the same for the whole ride they are very good for the price
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Light weight mini pump with alloy barrel for roadies. Efficient design pumps upto 160 psi
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
pump my ride
Posted19 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"needed a small pump to fit the bike which would not interfear with my cycling and did not rattle over good british roads.
fits nicely behind my bottle holder and is well secured with the rubber clamp provided.
dual action head for 2 types of valve head my main one being presto will do the job of getting me home if a puncture should occure.
i do not race so i dont need a pump that inflates in seconds for its size it does it's job no pump will be as good as a decent hi pressure foot pump we have at home.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Chase jersey is a lightweight, breathable summer jersey with natural wicking properties & a half zip for further temperature control. The hi-vis colourway has been designed to help keep you visible in poor light or whilst nipping through the traffic.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
posh top
Posted14 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i normally go with MTB tops as they are a little more giving size wise.
this is my first road top and must say it does look and feel the part and felt cooler when the weather was worm.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
The anatomic dhb Vaeon Arm Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
cosy arms
Posted23 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i use these so i can get good use out of all my tops which are mainly short sleeved would always rather be cooler than warm
i went with large as i have long arms they grip well and do not fall down easy to remove and fit into rear pocket on jersey
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
juicey
Posted17 June 2013
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i am not usually into sport drinks but i need to replace lost energy on long rides so i thought i would try these as they dissolve in cold water.
Very pleasent taste and does not stick in your throat taste wise like normal squash does.
i only use 1 tab per 800ml and carry 2 bottles which is great for me.
You can use 2 tabs if over 750ml for improved taste.
i have just ordered my second batch
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Heavy Duty OSS Shoe Covers
Heavy Duty OSS Shoe Covers
Don't like the feeling of water in your shoes? Heavy Duty OSS overshoes are designed to give the best protection against the cold, rain and spray.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
cosey toeses
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"look good style wise but as i suffer from cold feet on winter rides i had no option but to try a pair.
well i can honestly say they have made a difference no more cold feet very easy to fit even though they are tight fitting seem to be made well and should last a while.
if these wear out i will invest again no problem.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Elsie13's Questions
 
Elsie13 has not submitted any questions.
 
Elsie13's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Extreme, zero or other???

I've used zero a while now and seem to get on with them. I tried the extreme the other day during a 70 mile ride during which I found much harder than usual.

Is it possible that the caffeine caused a spike too quick and left me wanting mid-ride? Should extreme only be used for short sprints / end of sportive pick me up?

Also, are there better drinks during sportives to take which provide same electrolyte replacements but with increased energy delivery?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
me personally if i do a long stint i take a few gel sachets and some chewy flap jack bars but the trouble is we are all different animals i know some guys who take nothing but a drink which personally i cannot do which i have found to my cost before and would never risk again i ain't worried about putting a few calories back in during my ride as long as i have enough to get back home in one piece especially if i am out on my own
2 days ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

There used to be a Zero Salt tab, has it been replaced by the neutral?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
looks like it i suppose with people cutting down on salts in every day life they presume us healthy cyclists need to put some back in the tank !
2 days ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Sorbitol?

Is sorbitol listed as an ingredient? Or xylitol?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes Sorbitol is listed but i cannot see Xylitol
2 days ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

How long after dissolving the zero extreme tablet in water does it lose its potency?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
to be fair it lasts quite long i normally take 2 bottles for a long ride which could be 4 hours long and you can still taste it.
personally i don' like a strong taste which is why i chose these i sometimes only use one per 750ml most guys use 2 or 1 per 500ml
2 days ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders who commute and tour.
 

Do you need a special pedal-tool to install these on a bike

Do you need a special pedal-tool to install these on a bike, or is it possible to let it come already installed on a bike I buy at wiggle?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
if you have a slim normal spanner you can change them simple enough a chunky spanner can get stuck though.
2 days ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders who commute and tour.
 

M324 and water

I see some of the shimano line of pedals have sealed bearings, while others, such as the M324 have adjustable/serviceable bearings. Which are better when running in heavy rain, or where the peal may be submerged in water (crossing a stream, or through deep puddles). I want to have combination spd and street shoe compatible pedals.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes you can access the bearings to grease and replace very simple task.
i prefer bearings i can grease and change should i need to i would be worried by sealed ones as they are very tight when it comes to putting grease in pedals anyway nearly every set i buy i always top it up.
i have had no issues with these i admit i don't ride through streams but my bike does get parked up in the rain for hours on end when at work still run smooth like new,
2 days ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders who commute and tour.
 

Do these pedals release with both inward and outward twist?

Also as I have knee problems, do the cleats that go with these pedals have built-in float?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
to be fair i only ever clip outwards i was not aware it was possible to twist inwards towards the frame.
i am not sure what you mean by float !
2 days ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
This GPS-enabled cycling computer tracks time, distance, speed, location and calories burned. The Edge 200 is ideal for training, everyday and touring rides or any adventure you want to relive later at Garmin Connect™.
 

Does it tell the time?

Can you access the time of day on the Edge 200? And ditch the wrist watch?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes it does give you the time of day
7 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
Light weight mini pump with alloy barrel for roadies. Efficient design pumps upto 160 psi
 

160 psi?

Hi

How long does this take to inflate to a decent road pressure, say about 100 psi? have used it before but it takes ages to get to any kind of pressure and the tyre rolls all over the place
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i agree it does take time to inflate to 80-100 psi but as i do not race as such it works for me if i got a puncture i would slowly head for home with enough pressure and be in no rush as such.
i have never found one of these this size to be as good as pumps we have at home .
i was using a standard sized pump on my road bike which rattled on the road's which is why i changed it for this one.
i try and lay the wheels down flat if possible failing that i have managed to leave the wheels in and just remove as much tube as possible and repair / inflate with bike upside down.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
 Heavy Duty OSS Shoe Covers
Heavy Duty OSS Shoe Covers
Don't like the feeling of water in your shoes? Heavy Duty OSS overshoes are designed to give the best protection against the cold, rain and spray.
 

will these fit over my mountain bike shoes? they are northwave ride & hike

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i dont see why not MB & RB shoe's seem pretty much the same to me
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK