Elsie13
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Elsie13's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Elsie13's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    20 February 2013
  • Last Review
    01 January 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    23 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    19 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Elsie13's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection. Each frame option comes with a clear(slight tint), smoke and orange lens to suit all light conditions.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
small frame size
Posted01 January 2017
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"only seem to be in a small size i have purchased two sets of these now and this set seems tighter again.(probably my big head)
multi lens is good and easy to change , they are now my Daughters and have invested in a pair of Oakley (omg ££££££) .
should have invested in decent glasses a long time ago as i cycle every week so they get a lot of use between road and MTB.
ideal as starter glasses nothing worse than starting a sport and going mad on spending then giving it up,
"
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KEEP ME ROLLING
Posted01 January 2017
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"use these small light weight pumps on all my bikes they are supplied with bike mounts which can be mounted behind bottle holders, i also carry one in my clip on saddle bags ,very small but as good as a full sized one will easily put enough air in to get you home multi valve adapter for road or MTB"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Now with upgraded brighter more efficient LED’s. The incredibly stylish, but compact EL-135 measures just 2.5 x 3.5 x 9cm. Pair this with the Omni 5 rear light and you truly have a powerful light set up, AA and AAA batteries are required.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bright and light
Posted01 January 2017
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"ideal for city travel easy to clip on and off not too bulky to store in pockets"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 1.6 litres to 2 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ideal bag for cyclist
Posted01 January 2017
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"have two of these now one for road bike and one for city/everyday bike.
i can easily carry two tubes,mini pump,house keys,mobile phone, energy bars.
it has a great design where if you unzip it halfway down it actually extends it in length.
it will hold a rear clip on light is washable and waterproof .
does not interfere or catch legs you do not know you have it attached easy to clip on and off.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Buff®
dhb Buff®
A genuine Buff® product - highly breathable, astoundingly versatile - it is made from a fast wicking material which helps keep you warm and dry while riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
good all rounder
Posted01 January 2017
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"light easy to use whether it be inside the helmet or around the neck are a combination of both.
warm and not rigid like some neck scarfs sometimes i do no realize i have it on.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Look Kéo Grip anti-slip cleat. It is safer as well as being compatible with the entire KéO range. The TPU pieces helps to reduce the chances of slipping while walking.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
retread needed
Posted19 May 2016
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Never fitted these before still had the original one's on my shoes which were very worn.
Just marked around the old one's and slotted the new one's on.
I could tell straight away how bad my others were clipped in very smooth
"
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats: Available options are SH51, SH52 and SH56 to fit the vast majority of SPD pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
easy to replace
Posted19 May 2016
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"simple to fit .they were a lot cheaper than my local Halford's store"
Pros: Adjustable, Durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The supremely compact 8 function Cateye Strada is now available with a valuable cadence function for those riders wanting to monitor their training more accurately.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
compact but great for indoor workout
Posted19 May 2016
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"smaller than i thought and a little awkward to fit as all bikes have slightly different frames and pedals.
It did take about an hour to fit it correctly as i needed to pack it out on the inside rear fork to get to the minimum 3mm space to register with the rear wheel magnet.
The pedal one was a little easier to fit ,having said that it works really well for what i wanted on my indoor training with the Turbo for cadence & speed.
My outdoor GPS does not measure cadence and does not work inside , so this was a good cheap option and i can now do more speed work on the Turbo knowing i'm hitting a high cadence and speed .
"
Pros: Adjustable, Great Value
Cons: wires don't look pretty, small screen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Green Oil Clean Chain Degreaser
Green Oil Clean Chain Degreaser
Clean Chain is an ecological degreaser in a 100ml bottle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
oil slick
Posted27 April 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"helps do the job i hate cleaning my chain just poor it in the chain cleaner i have wind the pedal's over a few times job done"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
clean drive
Posted27 April 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Elsie13
fromHereford, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"never had one before always wiped grease off with cloth.
This way is simple and really does make a difference over using a cloth
chain is almost cleaming
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Elsie13's Questions
 
Elsie13 has not submitted any questions.
 
Elsie13's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

Extreme, zero or other???

I've used zero a while now and seem to get on with them. I tried the extreme the other day during a 70 mile ride during which I found much harder than usual.

Is it possible that the caffeine caused a spike too quick and left me wanting mid-ride? Should extreme only be used for short sprints / end of sportive pick me up?

Also, are there better drinks during sportives to take which provide same electrolyte replacements but with increased energy delivery?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
me personally if i do a long stint i take a few gel sachets and some chewy flap jack bars but the trouble is we are all different animals i know some guys who take nothing but a drink which personally i cannot do which i have found to my cost before and would never risk again i ain't worried about putting a few calories back in during my ride as long as i have enough to get back home in one piece especially if i am out on my own
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

There used to be a Zero Salt tab, has it been replaced by the neutral?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
looks like it i suppose with people cutting down on salts in every day life they presume us healthy cyclists need to put some back in the tank !
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

Sorbitol?

Is sorbitol listed as an ingredient? Or xylitol?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes Sorbitol is listed but i cannot see Xylitol
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

How long after dissolving the zero extreme tablet in water does it lose its potency?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
to be fair it lasts quite long i normally take 2 bottles for a long ride which could be 4 hours long and you can still taste it.
personally i don' like a strong taste which is why i chose these i sometimes only use one per 750ml most guys use 2 or 1 per 500ml
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
Ideal as a first clipless pedal due to the adjustable cleat tension, this means you can start off with loose tension for extra easy engagement & release, & turn up the tension as you progress.
 

Do you need a special pedal-tool to install these on a bike

Do you need a special pedal-tool to install these on a bike, or is it possible to let it come already installed on a bike I buy at wiggle?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
if you have a slim normal spanner you can change them simple enough a chunky spanner can get stuck though.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
Ideal as a first clipless pedal due to the adjustable cleat tension, this means you can start off with loose tension for extra easy engagement & release, & turn up the tension as you progress.
 

M324 and water

I see some of the shimano line of pedals have sealed bearings, while others, such as the M324 have adjustable/serviceable bearings. Which are better when running in heavy rain, or where the peal may be submerged in water (crossing a stream, or through deep puddles). I want to have combination spd and street shoe compatible pedals.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes you can access the bearings to grease and replace very simple task.
i prefer bearings i can grease and change should i need to i would be worried by sealed ones as they are very tight when it comes to putting grease in pedals anyway nearly every set i buy i always top it up.
i have had no issues with these i admit i don't ride through streams but my bike does get parked up in the rain for hours on end when at work still run smooth like new,
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
Ideal as a first clipless pedal due to the adjustable cleat tension, this means you can start off with loose tension for extra easy engagement & release, & turn up the tension as you progress.
 

Do these pedals release with both inward and outward twist?

Also as I have knee problems, do the cleats that go with these pedals have built-in float?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
to be fair i only ever clip outwards i was not aware it was possible to twist inwards towards the frame.
i am not sure what you mean by float !
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
 Garmin Edge 200 GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 200 GPS Cycle Computer
This GPS-enabled cycling computer tracks time, distance, speed, location and calories burned. The Edge 200 is ideal for training, everyday and touring rides or any adventure you want to relive later at Garmin Connect™.
 

Does it tell the time?

Can you access the time of day on the Edge 200? And ditch the wrist watch?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes it does give you the time of day
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
Light weight mini pump with alloy barrel for roadies. Efficient design pumps upto 160 psi
 

160 psi?

Hi

How long does this take to inflate to a decent road pressure, say about 100 psi? have used it before but it takes ages to get to any kind of pressure and the tyre rolls all over the place
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i agree it does take time to inflate to 80-100 psi but as i do not race as such it works for me if i got a puncture i would slowly head for home with enough pressure and be in no rush as such.
i have never found one of these this size to be as good as pumps we have at home .
i was using a standard sized pump on my road bike which rattled on the road's which is why i changed it for this one.
i try and lay the wheels down flat if possible failing that i have managed to leave the wheels in and just remove as much tube as possible and repair / inflate with bike upside down.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK
 
 Heavy Duty OSS Shoe Covers
Heavy Duty OSS Shoe Covers
Don't like the feeling of water in your shoes? Heavy Duty OSS overshoes are designed to give the best protection against the cold, rain and spray.
 

will these fit over my mountain bike shoes? they are northwave ride & hike

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i dont see why not MB & RB shoe's seem pretty much the same to me
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Elsie13
Hereford, UK