Mal0553
Share Mal0553's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Mal0553's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    23 February 2013
  • Last Review
    19 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    23 February 2013
  • Last Answer
    19 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Mal0553's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Quality Tubes
Posted19 July 2014
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Top quality tubes. I don't bother with cheap tubes, less punctures with quality tyres & tubes."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 0.98 litres to 1.31 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top quality bag
Posted19 July 2014
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Top quality bag, big enough to fit all required gear in without being to big."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A set of bespoke brushes for cleaning your bike and maintaining your drivetrain. With a chain cleaning mechanism and specially shaped brushes, The LifeLine Essential cleaning kit helps keep your bike spotlessly clean and performing at its peak.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value for money cleaning kit
Posted19 July 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great value for money cleaning kit.
Does it all without any fuss.
"
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Convenient and protective storage for your wheels. Ideal for carrying spares on race day and shielding your car boot from mud and grease.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Top wheel bag
Posted19 July 2014
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Top wheel bag. Good quality but need extra protection in centre area where axles could wear through.
Great to protecting wheels & inside of car.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good fit & very comfortable
Posted19 July 2014
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great Bib Knicks. Good fit I'm 175cm 85kg. Very comfortable, even on rides over 100 Klm's
I would recommend these as very good value for money
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Spy Mirror
Spy Mirror
The convex Spy mirror is constructed of unbreakable chrome plated ABS plastic and fits to any handlebar larger than 22mm in diameter without the need for any tools.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted23 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good quality cleaning kit. Gets into all those tight spots.
Chain cleaners works well.
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Emergency shower and windchill protection for long training rides and sportive events. With a weatherproof membrane, ultralight construction and a compact pack size, the dhb Clear Race Jacket helps keep you warm and dry with minimal bulk.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I LOVE this jacket!
Posted30 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"(My wife says:) This jacket is super lightweight and rolls up to fit in my jersey pocket when not needed.
The styling is smart and fitted and I like that the material is see-through. The arm length is great as I'm on the tall side (175cm) and this can quite often be a problem for me.
The collar is comfortable as it's lined in soft-touch material. The only thing against it is the feel of the inner surface which has a rubbery texture and initially feels strange on bare skin. (You get used to it, though.)
I bought a size 16 when I'm normally a 12/14 but this does allow for a layer or 2 underneath.
All in all, VERY happy with this purchase.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Core Compression Long Sleeve Top 2.0 - HO13
Nike Core Compression Long Sleeve Top 2.0 - HO13
Made with sweat-wicking fabric in a long-sleeve cut that hugs the body, the Nike Pro Combat Core Compression Men's Shirt is a comfortable base layer for cool-weather game days or training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great compression top
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great Compression top
Excellent fit
Perfect under cycle jersey on cooler mornings
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great double sided pedals
Posted08 August 2013
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these for my wife. She loves the piece of mind that she can ride with or without being clipped in.
Loves the look, really match black cranks on her bike.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Roubaix (fleeced) Lycra padded waist tight with enhanced visibility 3M detailing for cold dark commutes. Brand new for dhb 2012.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great vis tights
Posted08 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mal0553
fromMelbourne Aust
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good fit, after reading reviews chose large, 175cm tall 90kg.
Love the high visibility strips
Overall good fit, waist tends to ride down on longer rides beyond
50 klm;s
Great warming & compression helps reduce fatige.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Mal0553's Questions
 
Mal0553 has not submitted any questions.
 
Mal0553's Answers
 
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

Installation ?

First time replacing pedals: will I need to also buy a pedal wrench to fit these to my bike?
No, You can install these pedals with an allen key
2 months ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust
 
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

What cleats are supplied with the pedals?

SH51 SPD style cleats come with these pedals.
2 months ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust
 
Emergency shower and windchill protection for long training rides and sportive events. With a weatherproof membrane, ultralight construction and a compact pack size, the dhb Clear Race Jacket helps keep you warm and dry with minimal bulk.
 

Does this Jacket have any back pockets?

ladies Clear Race Jacket - pls advise if this jacket has any pockets?

Thank you

Marie
No,unfortunately, this jacket doesn't have any pockets at all. I guess that is to ensure the integrity of the waterproofing.
9 months ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust
 
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

Do these come with cleats?

Yes, SPD style
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust
 
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

What cleats do I need for this pedal?

These pedals come complete with SPD cleats
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust
 
Fully-featured Mountain Bike shoes with a supple synthetic leather upper and a micrometric buckle closure for precise and convenient fit control. With a stiff glass fibre sole and durable rubber tread, the M088 is perfect for weekends out on the trails.
 

Compatibility with Shimano DX M647 Pedals

Can you tell me if these shoes can be used with Shimano DX M647 pedals?
Yes, any SPD style shoe is compatible DX M647 Shimano pedals
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust
 
 Shimano XC60 Mountain Bike Shoes 2013
Shimano XC60 Mountain Bike Shoes 2013
Lightweight Mountain bike shoes for high milage cross country rides and races. The XC60 has an XC specific feature set that provides durability, efficiency and comfort at a low weight for outstanding performance on the trails.
 

With regard to shoe sizing, do you need to purchase one size up like other shimno )shoes (which tend to on the small side of the sizing char

I bought a size up on normal for comfort. As they have the velcro straps across the top of the foot and the adjustable clip your foot doesn't slip in the shoe but the extra length allows some room for your foot to swell a little without discomfort in the warmer weather.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust
 
Fully-featured Mountain Bike shoes with a supple synthetic leather upper and a micrometric buckle closure for precise and convenient fit control. With a stiff glass fibre sole and durable rubber tread, the M088 is perfect for weekends out on the trails.
 

do these come cleat plates. I the cleats already

Yes cleat plates supplied
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 

How to get out?

I like the look of these but how do you twist out of them? Although I am getting these for a trip I would plan on using them for my 6 mile commute t work, and I'm worried that these will be too hard t twist out of in emergencies.
To release cleat from pedal a outward twist motion with heal is required. To start with reduce spring tension on cleats until you are familiar with release motion.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 

Single direction release?

I currently have a pair of shimano SPd shoes for my Mtb and looking to add pedals to my recently purchased road bike! Are the cleats supplied single direction release or is it the pedal itself?
I read on a review that someone had to turn their foot toward the frame of the bike rather than away from it which I currently do on my mtb, turning towards the frame doesn't fill me with much confidence in the middle of traffic should i need to put a foot down quickly.

Thanks
Cleats provide with pedals are single release, twist motion is heal out to release.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Mal0553
Melbourne Aust