JimmyDr
Share JimmyDr's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JimmyDr's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    02 March 2013
  • Last Review
    25 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    31 May 2013
  • Last Question
    01 August 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    20 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    10 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
JimmyDr's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 dhb R1.0 Road Cycling Shoe
dhb R1.0 Road Cycling Shoe
An outstanding value road cycling shoe with a sleek, minimal upper for cooling comfort and a stiff glass reinforced nylon sole for efficient pedalling action. The R1.0 is the perfect introduction to performance cycle footwear.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Value
Posted25 October 2014
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I needed some shoes for commuting only so didn't want to spend too much, these do the job perfectly. I did need to go a size up from what was recommended in the size guide though, even though I measured the length of my foot as 30cm, the 47s had to be sent back and swapped for size 48, and I fit a UK 11 normally! Great returns service via Wiggle as usual.
Fitting cleats was fine, although the lack of any markings on the sole of the shoe made it hard to get both cleats in the same place, but a bit of trial and error later and I was sorted.
The relative lack of ventilation mesh in the upper means that your feet stay pretty dry in the wet when compared to some other shoes. The flip side of this though is that they might be pretty warm in summer conditions!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 GripGrab Orca Overshoes
GripGrab Orca Overshoes
A waterproof and lightweight shoe cover ideal for use on wet and windy days. Compatible with most types of pedal systems.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good, but not completely waterproof
Posted08 October 2014
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These shoes are lightweight, low profile and ideal for cold mornings and light rain, and are good to stash in your bag for when you get surprised by rain, but I just cycled to work this morning in reasonable heavy rain and my feet were soaked on arrival. Just as much as if I'd not been wearing overshoes at all. I'm aware that rain can still drip down your leg so your feet may get slightly wet but mine were absolutely wet through!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: not 100% waterproof
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great fit
Posted30 September 2014
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great pair of shorts - at 6ft 4 I often struggle to get bibs long enough in the body but these are fine, slightly shorter in the leg than other shorts but not too bad. Gripper around the leg is better than most."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Dia-Compe Tech 99 Dirty Harry Brake Levers
Dia-Compe Tech 99 Dirty Harry Brake Levers
Double bent blade version of the Tech 99 BMX lever which suits more "Dirt" style BMX handlebars.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
They slow you down well
Posted16 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to fit, very stiff and responsive. Seem bullet proof"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Dyno Baggy Short & Removable Padded Liner
dhb Dyno Baggy Short & Removable Padded Liner
A baggy performance short for trail and cross country riding or for those commuters who just want an alternative to lycra cycling shorts, the Dyno short is perfect for both tearing through the woods and/or daily commutes through the city streets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great shorts
Posted16 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are very good shorts, they aren't too baggy or too tight. But they do come up a bit on the small size round the waist. Don't think you can occasionally use the liner without the outer shorts ( with leggings for example, as they slip down easily! Overall very impressed though. Good range of movement."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SKS S Blade 28" Rear Guard
SKS S Blade 28" Rear Guard
Every cyclist will at some time be caught out by the elements and here is SkS’S 700c/28 solution that is easy to fit as well as stylish.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Stops your back getting wet
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this for commuting, but as I use the same bike for weekend rides wanted something that was easy to take on and off and wouldn't mark the seat tube. This does the job perfectly. Very light weight too. Adjustable also so you can either have it low and close to the wheel or sticking up in the air courier style if that takes your fancy! Haven't had any problems with it moving or coming undone mid ride as per some of the other reviews yet."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Custom Race Resin Cage Stealth
Elite Custom Race Resin Cage Stealth
For when you'd rather let your quads do the talking, a cage so stealthy it makes the average Ninja look like he's wearing Mapei kit!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for the job
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Holds a normal sized bike bottle securely, easy enough to get in and out and very easy to fit. Matte black looks great on the bike"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
They do the job
Posted10 September 2013
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've used these pedals for ages on my road bike for commuting/weekend rides etc and so bought these for my girlfriend. No complaints from her so far! The bearings went on an old pair after about 3 years of daily riding on grimy London roads but at this price they're easy to replace after that long!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 O2 Road Helmet - Lotto-Belisol Team Colours
O2 Road Helmet - Lotto-Belisol Team Colours
A great value road helmet with the looks and advanced technologies from higher range models. The solid O2 design comes with the Lotto Belisol Team colours as worn by the team in the 2012 UCI Pro Tour Series.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Too Small
Posted10 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This was just too small for me, I'm have a 61cm head and this was very slightly too small for me (front to back) so had to send it back. A shame that this style isn't sold in the XL size."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Deuter Bike Bag S - 0.5 Litre
Deuter Bike Bag S - 0.5 Litre
A light weight minimalist seat bag with space for the bare essentials. Perfect for high speed trail and road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Bag
Posted20 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"You can get a lot of stuff in this bag considering it's small exterior dimensions - 1 tube, 3 levers, 2 canisters plus valve, keys, cash and credit card. There is no strap around the seat post (good because your post doesn't get scratched!) but the straps that attach to the seat can be tightened so there is no movement. The top and bottom of the bag are harder plastic so unless you've crammed it full then stuff can rattle when you go over rough ground which is a little annoying."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
JimmyDr's Questions
 
 Dorico Team Carbon Seat Post
Dorico Team Carbon Seat Post
DORICO TEAM is the classic setback seat post, engineered for lightweight modern materials.
 

Rider weight limit?

Is there a rider weight limit for this post? I just spiral fractured one that a friend gave me and I'm not sure if its just because its old or if I'm too heavy for it (90kgs)! I was cycling on london roads and hadn't hit any major bumps, it just creaked a bit and snapped!
1 year, 4 months ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
 Campagnolo Zonda Clincher Wheelset
Campagnolo Zonda Clincher Wheelset
The Zonda clincher wheelset, with its Mega G3 technology, offers excellent torsional & lateral stiffness making it ideal for racing or training rides on hard roads. A versatile & strong set of wheels with a rock-solid track record in performance.
 

Worthwhile Upgrade?

Hi,
I currently have Mavic Open Pro rims on Shimano 105 hubs. Would I notice a significant improvement if I switched to this Campag wheelset?
Thanks!
1 year, 6 months ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
JimmyDr's Answers
 
 Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

one size fits all?

Are there any technical differnces between white/grey/black colours.
No, I've had all 3 and they perform all the same and use the same cleats
1 year, 3 months ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
 Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Small Saddle Bag
Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Small Saddle Bag
Aero shaped wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Large openings swallow up all the things you take with you.
 

Pump

I have this bag, I'm new back in the saddle after a couple of years and I'm asking anyone here the following:

I have a spare inner tube and repair kit, should I be using a small mini pump or the CO2 canisters?

Any advice welcome.
I'd take a spare tube, levers and canisters in the bag - then chuck the broken tube into the bag and fix it when you get home rather than at the roadside!
1 year, 5 months ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
 Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Small Saddle Bag
Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Small Saddle Bag
Aero shaped wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Large openings swallow up all the things you take with you.
 

Can you get the following items in the bag?

gas canister and inflator
multi-tool
spare inner tube
iphone
card, bit of cash and front door key!
I've easily got all of these in the bag (except an iPhone - but I reckon it would fit too at a squeeze!)
1 year, 5 months ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
 Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Small Saddle Bag
Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Small Saddle Bag
Aero shaped wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Large openings swallow up all the things you take with you.
 

Would this attach to a carbon triangle seat post?

Yes, as it only attaches to the seat, not the seat post
1 year, 5 months ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK