JimmyDr
Share JimmyDr's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JimmyDr's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    02 March 2013
  • Last Review
    16 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    31 May 2013
  • Last Question
    01 August 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    20 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    10 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
JimmyDr's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Double bent blade version of the Tech 99 BMX lever which suits more "Dirt" style BMX handlebars.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
They slow you down well
Posted16 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to fit, very stiff and responsive. Seem bullet proof"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A baggy performance short for trail and cross country riding or for those commuters who just want an alternative to lycra cycling shorts, the Dyno short is perfect for both tearing through the woods and/or daily commutes through the city streets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great shorts
Posted16 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are very good shorts, they aren't too baggy or too tight. But they do come up a bit on the small size round the waist. Don't think you can occasionally use the liner without the outer shorts ( with leggings for example, as they slip down easily! Overall very impressed though. Good range of movement."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Every cyclist will at some time be caught out by the elements and here is SkS’S 700c/28 solution that is easy to fit as well as stylish.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Stops your back getting wet
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this for commuting, but as I use the same bike for weekend rides wanted something that was easy to take on and off and wouldn't mark the seat tube. This does the job perfectly. Very light weight too. Adjustable also so you can either have it low and close to the wheel or sticking up in the air courier style if that takes your fancy! Haven't had any problems with it moving or coming undone mid ride as per some of the other reviews yet."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
For when you'd rather let your quads do the talking, a cage so stealthy it makes the average Ninja look like he's wearing Mapei kit!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for the job
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Holds a normal sized bike bottle securely, easy enough to get in and out and very easy to fit. Matte black looks great on the bike"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
They do the job
Posted10 September 2013
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've used these pedals for ages on my road bike for commuting/weekend rides etc and so bought these for my girlfriend. No complaints from her so far! The bearings went on an old pair after about 3 years of daily riding on grimy London roads but at this price they're easy to replace after that long!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 O2 Road Helmet - Lotto-Belisol Team Colours
O2 Road Helmet - Lotto-Belisol Team Colours
A great value road helmet with the looks and advanced technologies from higher range models. The solid O2 design comes with the Lotto Belisol Team colours as worn by the team in the 2012 UCI Pro Tour Series.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Too Small
Posted10 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This was just too small for me, I'm have a 61cm head and this was very slightly too small for me (front to back) so had to send it back. A shame that this style isn't sold in the XL size."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A light weight minimalist seat bag with space for the bare essentials. Perfect for high speed trail and road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Bag
Posted20 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"You can get a lot of stuff in this bag considering it's small exterior dimensions - 1 tube, 3 levers, 2 canisters plus valve, keys, cash and credit card. There is no strap around the seat post (good because your post doesn't get scratched!) but the straps that attach to the seat can be tightened so there is no movement. The top and bottom of the bag are harder plastic so unless you've crammed it full then stuff can rattle when you go over rough ground which is a little annoying."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Aero shaped wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Large openings swallow up all the things you take with you.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product
Posted31 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this bag in place of another, wider saddle bag that I had as that one rubbed on the insides of my legs. This one is narrow enough not to rub but is plenty big enough for a tube, levers, a couple of cartridges, some emergency bike lights and a multi-tool. Only very slight grumble is that the strap around the seat post cold do with a bit more Velcro as its slightly loose on narrow seat posts. Overall, a great product!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring Velcro straps for a simple fit to any saddle. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Strange shape
Posted12 March 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This bag holds a good amount of kit and secures well to the bike with little movement, but is quite a shallow shape while also being quite wide, meaning that it rubbed the inside of my legs as I pedalled (and I've got skinny legs!). Not a massive issue but I did find it slightly annoying. Other saddle bags that I've had are narrower and deeper so didn't have this issue."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Power Winter Gloves
Power Winter Gloves
Performance windproof winter cycling gloves built on Northwaves Biomap principle for free moving ergonomic comfort and targeted functionality. Featuring NW4pro membrane back and a gel padded synthetic leather palm for durable cushioning and protection.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not a True Winter Glove
Posted12 March 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
JimmyDr
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I cycled to work the first morning after these gloves arrived, and within 5 minutes the end of every finger was painfully numb. Granted it was -1 with 20mph wind chill making it around -7, but it only took 5 minutes for this to happen!
Having said that, the gloves are comfortable, look good and have good padding on the palms and hopefully will perform well once the temperature rises a bit.
The thumbs on these gloves do seem a bit short relative to the fingers so it's worth ordering a larger size if you spend a lot of time riding on the hoods.
"
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor Fit, cold
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JimmyDr's Questions
 
 Dorico Team Carbon Seat Post
Dorico Team Carbon Seat Post
DORICO TEAM is the classic setback seat post, engineered for lightweight modern materials.
 

Rider weight limit?

Is there a rider weight limit for this post? I just spiral fractured one that a friend gave me and I'm not sure if its just because its old or if I'm too heavy for it (90kgs)! I was cycling on london roads and hadn't hit any major bumps, it just creaked a bit and snapped!
11 months ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
The Zonda wheelset has been strengthened thanks to MEGA G3. The Zonda raises the performance level, boasting greater performance and more aggressiveness. A great wheelset for racing.
 

Worthwhile Upgrade?

Hi,
I currently have Mavic Open Pro rims on Shimano 105 hubs. Would I notice a significant improvement if I switched to this Campag wheelset?
Thanks!
1 year, 2 months ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
JimmyDr's Answers
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

one size fits all?

Are there any technical differnces between white/grey/black colours.
No, I've had all 3 and they perform all the same and use the same cleats
10 months ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
Aero shaped wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Large openings swallow up all the things you take with you.
 

Pump

I have this bag, I'm new back in the saddle after a couple of years and I'm asking anyone here the following:

I have a spare inner tube and repair kit, should I be using a small mini pump or the CO2 canisters?

Any advice welcome.
I'd take a spare tube, levers and canisters in the bag - then chuck the broken tube into the bag and fix it when you get home rather than at the roadside!
1 year ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
Aero shaped wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Large openings swallow up all the things you take with you.
 

Can you get the following items in the bag?

gas canister and inflator
multi-tool
spare inner tube
iphone
card, bit of cash and front door key!
I've easily got all of these in the bag (except an iPhone - but I reckon it would fit too at a squeeze!)
1 year ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK
 
Aero shaped wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Large openings swallow up all the things you take with you.
 

Would this attach to a carbon triangle seat post?

Yes, as it only attaches to the seat, not the seat post
1 year ago
by
JimmyDr
London, UK