JieF
Top 25 Contributor
Share JieF's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JieF's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    58
  • Helpfulness Votes
    58
  • First Review
    20 April 2013
  • Last Review
    14 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review Comment
    04 May 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    19 July 2015
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    05 December 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    141
  • Helpfulness Votes
    20
  • First Answer
    16 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    09 July 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    11
 
 
JieF's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
Two options available for internal and external wiring. The junction is required for connection of rear mech, front mech, battery, and cable to battery indicator junction box with reliable and secure water resistant connectors. Cables sold separately.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Costly But Necessary
Posted14 July 2015
JieF
fromAustralia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Wiggle were way ahead of the competition on this item. Thank you Wiggle.
The Junction is a necessary connector when building your Di2 bike, commonly linking the battery unit, the cockpit, FD and RD. In this usage the Junction should be a plug and forget component in your Di2 system as there are no complex electronics in the Junction. It is simply a connecting block [ also it can be used at the handle bars to join multiple shifters prior to being connected to the A Junction].
I use a Junction to test/update/configure my Di2 system [using the Shimano SM-PCE1 PC Interface]. If you intend to troubleshoot your own system you will need this or an equivalent Junction to connect individual components, like the RD.
NOTE: you are advised to use the Shimano connecting tool [Shimano TL-EW02] when snapping your cables into this Junction, otherwise you run the risk of damaging your cables and creating an electronic headache for yourself.
Wiggle retailed the Junction at the best price."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Pro Stealth EVO UD Carbon handlebar and stem is a fully integrated UD Carbon stem-handlebar combination. The Carbon Monocoque one piece road stem and handlebar combination gives excellent steering precision whilst being lightweight and aerodynamic.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
The BEST Bars I Have EVER Used
Posted13 July 2015
JieF
fromAustralia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Yep, you read it correctly.
These bars will blow you away [ assuming you make the correct sizing-choice ].
The weight is light, super-light.
The road-buzz-elimination is revolutionary. Having used a number of bars on various frame-sets these are the BEST bars I have EVER used.
The Stem area of the bar is of an alloy-carbon construction giving outstanding strength and stiffness married to the benefits of buzz-reducing UD carbon.
One negative; the Pro Stealth EVO Computer Bracket is not 'oversized' so your computer mount will need to cope with a 26mm standard sizing. Garmin previously supplied a rubber bush to cope with this but the newer bushes are simply wrong for this 26 mm mount. Furthermore, the Garmin Out Front mount is off-set which means it cannot sit centrally. For the autistically-inclined this may be annoying but it is no deal-breaker.
The geometry of the bar is designed in such a way that the heel of your Triquetral Carpal and Pisiform Carpal bones of your hand nest in the bars perfectly. Do NOT make the mistake of wrapping your bars too heavily and lose the benefit of this design factor. Correctly mounting your Levers to these bars will result in a glove-like experience. Combine this with minimised-vibration due to the cushioning of the UD carbon and you have an OUTSTANDING PRODUCT.
Be careful to mount your Levers correctly. Shimano's geometry is designed in such a way that you need to fit your Levers at the appropriate angle to your Ulna and Radius. This issue is often missed by bike-shop fits. But if you get this right the comfort of these bars with the Shimano Levers will simply amaze you.
Additionally, these bars have cable routing. This adds to the comfort of the bar by eliminating the unevenness caused by cables.
The geometry on the bar-tops gives a significantly extended rest-area on the tops. Climbing or cruising along at speed your hands will rest comfortably, significantly more comfortably than 'oversized' or standard [26 mm] bars.
Some riders love a compact bar. I am one of them. I never have guessed that anything but a compact geometry would satisfy me. However, the 'Anatomical' geometry of the Shimano Stealth Evo bar is just superb. I don't need the [harder to find?] compact version. Every position in the bar is comfortable.
On the aesthetic side, these bars are beautiful. At least, they are in my opinion.
The big negative is the price. The economic pain is intense. However, if you can afford these bars buy them, you won't be disappointed. But REMEMBER, buy the correct size and be fastidious with your fit.
Enjoy."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Carbon computer mounting system for Carbon Stealth EVO road handlebars. Full Uni-directional carbon computer mounting bracket with 26.0 mm diameter.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Beautiful but Disappointing
Posted09 July 2015
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"On the plus side, the Evo Computer Bracket, like the Stealth Evo Handlebar is beautifully made. It is also strong and comparatively light. But that is the pros.
The bracket will NOT mount your Garmin Edge using the Garmin Out Front Mount. The Pro Stealth EVO Computer Bracket diameter is too small for that. Nor will you find it easy to find a method of mounting a Garmin computer to your Stealth Evo Bar, though you can use the Garmin Standard Mount and place it on the stem, This, however, will not mount the Edge 'out front'.
The Pro Stealth EVO Computer Bracket does NOT come with fixing screws. The Stealth Evo bar comes with the fixing screws already in place.
So, unless you have a computer that will attach to a 26mm Pro Stealth EVO Computer Bracket this will be no use to you.
Even internet searching will leave you disappointed if you are looking for a suitable Edge mount that will attach to this Pro Stealth EVO Computer Bracket. I'm still trying to hunt down an Edge mount that will cope with this bracket.
Finally, this bracket is VERY expensive. There are cheaper solutions on the market which I may have to use if I am going to mount my Edge 1000 to a Pro Stealth Evo handlebar.
Looks like this will be a return.
A beautiful disappointment."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unadjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Ultegra 6870 Di2 11 Speed STI road levers has improved ergonomics for easier access to shift buttons from the top of the hoods with cleaner wiring due to single wire E-Tube connections and full compatible with super SLR brake calipers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mind-Blowingly Good
Posted04 June 2015
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Shimano's 6800 range of penultimate components are outstanding in design, build-quality and functionality.
They are what they are because of the drip-down from the Dura Ace series.
The ergonomics of these Shifters makes them very comfortable on long rides. Shimano have put massive effort into the design to maximise comfort. The 9070 series is slightly lighter and slightly narrower on the hood area. But the difference between the ultimate 9000 series and the penultimate 6800 series is marginal.
I have run both for some time and I can confirm that the 6870s are superb. I do run the Dura Ace 9070s on another bike.
The 6870s have two ports each. One port runs your gear shifts the other is a spare for R600 Remote Shifter Switches [highly recommended if you climb or run long rides on your bar-tops].
NB: The 6870s cannot run the R610 Sprinter Shifters as the R610s have a keyed connection which is different from the standard Di2 E-Tube connection. The 9070 Shifters have three ports and run the R610s and the R600s or TT Shifters if you need them. Additionally, the 9070 Shifters have a small button under the top of the rubber hood which when pressed will display drive-train data to your Garmin 1000 or another compatible ANT© device. The hidden buttons on the Shifters call up a signal from the SM-EWW01 ANT Wireless Broadcast Module [currently compatible with the Garmin Edge 1000, Mio 505, and the PRO SCIO cycling computers] and display data on your computer screen.
NB: When fitting your Shifters make sure your Radius and Ulna to Scaphoid and Carpal angle is set to maximal comfort or you will experience unnecessary stress. There is a personal element in this, of course, but the basics are about undue strain on your physiology. In simple terms the hand-to-arm angle must be correctly set with the roll of the handlebar or the benefit of the Shimano ergonomics will not do you much good. This is an area often overlooked on a shop bike fit.
Weight of Shifters is important to those riding professionally but this should be true for the enthusiast too. Why should the Pro's benefit exclusively!
The big [biggest?] advantage lies in Shimano's swapping mechanical design for electronic. Slightly firmer than a mouse-click these Shifters move your drivetrain to your chosen Cassette ring/Front Derailleur setting. There is little chance of mistaken selections due to the Shimano's design.
Personally, I love the Di2 system but I also love the non-electronic Dura-Ace system.
On the programming side, these shifters can be programmed to move all the way up/down the Cassette [multi-mode] by simply holding the lever. Also, it can be set to change a chosen number of cassette rings if you prefer. Your bike mechanic should be able to tell you all the iterations you can have.
NB: It is NOT the Shifters that are 'programmable'. The 'brains' of the Di2 system is in the REAR DERAILLEUR. That part of the drivetrain 'reads' the signals of the Shifters to make the adjustments you want. Also, because the shifters function as switches I have run 10-speed shifters with 11-speed drivetrains and Ultegra Di2 with Dura Ace drivetrains, but make sure you have the compatible Firmware on your component and do not use the post-February 2015 update as this will disallow the previously allowable interaction between 10 and 11 speed component and force you to be either all 11 speed or all 10 speed.
The Pros in the Giro d'Italia run 6870 RDs with 9070 FDs and Shiters because Shimano do not make a Dura-Ace Di2 Medium Cage RD. The Medium Cage [G-S] RD is made for larger climbing rings on your cassette, above 28t [the limit on the SS Cage] and unto 32t [the limit on the GS Cage].
Price-wise, these components are not cheap but in the world of penultimate/ultimate drivetrains you get what you pay for.
Wiggle, my first stop for bike and running gear, provides outstanding service with exceptional customer relations [I know this from personal experience] and solid prices.
If you are thinking of moving across to Di2 from mechanical you will not be disappointed and the Ultegra series is a right up there with Dura-Ace in quality.
This product is HIGHLY, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The winter training jacket of choice for Tinkoff-Saxo pro cycling team. Designed with a race fit, breathability for performance and Windstopper® insulation for cold-weather protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb Windstopper and Pro Fit
Posted02 June 2015
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I already purchased a Castelli Mortirolo Jacket.
The Castelli is longer in the body than the Sportful Windstopper.
The Castelli is also heavier in construction than the Sportful.
Both the Castelli and the Sportful are great Jackets.
The Castelli is more expensive than the Sportful BodyFit Pro Windstopper.
The Sportful is around 50g heavier but feels lighter, strangely.
The Sportful fit was much better than the over-long body on the Castelli. This I found odd as all my other Castelli gear was smaller than my usual fit! I am 180 cm tall and 105 round the chest.
Both the Castelli and the Sportful are great windstoppers and both keep you snug in the cold and wet [showers].
Unlike the Castelli Misto Jacket the Sportful BodyFit Pro Windstopper has excellent breathes and stretch functionality with your body. The Mortirolo I found to be less giving and too restrictive.
So which one do I prefer and which would I recommend? The Sportful BodyFit Pro Windstopper is better on cost, functionality and eqaully smart. The Sportful BodyFit Pro Windstopper is my jacket of choice.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Lunareclipse 5 Shoes - SP15
Nike Lunareclipse 5 Shoes - SP15
Known for stability, the Nike LunarEclipse 5 for men hits the road with a plush footstrike and enhanced medial support. The asymmetrical tongue pairs with the pressure-mapped outsole for a contoured fit and supremely natural stride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Shoes at a Great Price
Posted03 April 2015
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"What is not to like? These are NIKE Lunar's! They rock in every way you need them to.
Style? Choose your colour and shine.
Comfort? WOW! You are running on air!
Quality? The build quality of these shoes is quite amazing. No weak glues. No lacing issues. No heel-support issues. Just superb quality.
Support? I run these up and down 30%+ dusty trails in the hot Adelaide hills and the support, cushioning and comfort are outstanding.
Price? Wiggle's pricing saved me $80+ compared to my local Nike Store. Great stuff Wiggle.
Customer service? Wiggle are the best and with local returns service Wiggle are way ahead of the pack.
Choose your colour and size and fill your bag; GREAT shoes!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Long, fast descents demand confidence. Dura-Ace brakes deliver, with a new symmetrical dual pivot design and twin bearings reducing pivot friction and improving efficiency and controllability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Designed and Functions Beautifully
Posted27 March 2015
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Dura Ace is Shimano's top of the line product range. As such what you pay for is world-beating design and functionality.
The set of Callipers weighs in at 297g average. The maximum tyre size is: 25mm, Rim width: 19-26mm /19-28mm(R55C4-1 Carbon).
Married to Dura Ace cabling these callipers are the best, silky smooth operation the modulation is way ahead of other options.
They just look and operate beautifully.
Wiggle's price and service is outstanding. Bag them; you won't regret it."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Park Tool Head Cup Remover makes headset cup removal easy. The tool is pulled through the frame until the flared ends snap in behind the cup. A blow on the tool head removes the cup.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and Effective
Posted06 March 2015
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Park Tools is synonymous with quality and this Cup Remover is top quality.
The tool puts your mind at ease when removing those stubborn components. It saves you damaging parts and does the job quickly and effectively.
If you build your own bikes or do your own major maintenance then this Cup/BB Remover will not let you down."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Quick release chain link suitable for use with KMC, Campagnolo, Shimano and SRAM 11 drive systems.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb
Posted06 March 2015
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These Links are fantastic as they allow you to remove your chain regularly and easily for cleaning and re-lubing. That is the best way to maintain the component with most moving parts, namely, your chain.
After all, think about it, your chain interacts with your FD, RD, Cassette and Chainrings. Worn chains prematurely wear all that they impact on. So maintain your chain and you extend the life of these other components. Measure your chain wear with a good quality wear meter like Park Tools Chain Checker.
Some have complained they could not remove the Link easily. If that is you, then pop a pair of link pliers in your basket. You won't regret it.
Why Shimano etc., don't include their own with a new chain does not make sense. These Speed Links are far better than new pins.
The KMC Speed Link means you don't need to use new connector pins each time you need to remove your chain.
Note: some have suggested NOT replacing the Link when you replace your chain. Now think about it, the KMC Link endures the same wear as your chain, so when your chain is worn why would the Link not be? Change the Link when you change your chain.
A great product at a great price."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Lunareclipse 4 Shoes - HO14
Nike Lunareclipse 4 Shoes - HO14
Redesigned to connect you closer to your runs, the Nike Lunar Eclipse 4 is more flexible and lightweight than ever before. Dynamic Support combines with a flexible outsole to provide stability with natural motion.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tops at a great price
Posted06 March 2015
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This is my second pair of these shoes.
They are built to take a hammering.
The sole tread pattern, unlike the Nike Free, does not grab debris from your run and wedge in your soles.
The support on the upper heel is superb, unlike the Free which is very soft and does not give support on hills.
Wiggle's price was a whole $80 lower than anywhere else I checked. Great stuff, Wiggle, you keep us running."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JieF's Questions
 
A light and very responsive clincher front wheel from Shimano. This wheel is ultra-light, fast and uses a mixture of carbon and alloy in it's manufacturing techniques.
 

1.3 mm or 0.7 alloy wall thickness

Does this wheel have 1.3 mm or 0.7 alloy wall thickness?
7 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 

6061 light alloy?

Is this Zero 2 stem made from 6061 light alloy like the Zero 1?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Ultegra 6770 Di2 Groupset (Internal Wiring)
Ultegra 6770 Di2 Groupset (Internal Wiring)
For the past four years, professional riders have been riding Shimano Dura-Ace components with Di2 electronic shifting technology over the highest mountains, the worst cobbles and through the most extreme weather conditions imaginable.
 

Chainring Combinations 50/34 change over 53/39

Is this Groupset available with the 50/34 x 172.5mm option?

If not, is it possible to buy the 50/34 set of rings and fit them on the Ultegra Crank supplied with this 6700 Di2 Groupset to make this a "compact" crankset?
Thanks.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Cyrano Carbon Seat Post
Cyrano Carbon Seat Post
Super light carbon seat post with ultra low-profile upper clamp designed to compliment the most stylish Fizik's saddles. The seat post offers greater fore to aft adjustment than other seat posts, easier installation and one-finger adjuster wheel.
 

31.6 x 270 Actual Length of Post

Hi I currently use a 300 mm post which is nearly fully extended and I wondered if the 270 mm would be long enough. Will Wiggle be retailing the 31.6 x 330/400 in the future?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Ritchey WCS Link Seatpost
Ritchey WCS Link Seatpost
The Ritchey two-bolt post reinvented - Lighter, more compliant and more versatile than ever
 

Carbon Saddle Compatible?

Is this post compatible with a carbon rail saddle, for example the Fizik Arione R1?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Arione R1's carbon thermoplastic composite shell and braided carbon rails reduce weight and increase saddle stiffness with Wing Flex™ designed for freedom of thigh movement. The Arione shape is flat, narrow and long and is ideal for Snakes.
 

RITCHEY PRO

Is the R1 compatible with the RITCHEY PRO 2B seat post?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Arione R1's carbon thermoplastic composite shell and braided carbon rails reduce weight and increase saddle stiffness with Wing Flex™ designed for freedom of thigh movement. The Arione shape is flat, narrow and long and is ideal for Snakes.
 

Sizing Chart

Hi, Can you have the dimensions of the saddle, please? Or, if there is a sizing chart can you direct us to it.
Thanks.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Wire Vernice Air Vent Carbon Road Shoes
Wire Vernice Air Vent Carbon Road Shoes
The Sidi Wire represents the peak of fit, function and performance for the fastest riders on the planet. Featuring a Carbon Vent sole, Tecno 3 Monofilament closures and a beautiful perforated Vernice upper for added ventilation on hot summer rides.
 

Sizing of SIDI compared to Mavic Shoes

Hi,
In Mavic Zxellium Road Shoes I take a 43.1/3 which oddly translates in the chart to a UK9. I say oddly because I commonly wear a UK8 [depending on the brand].
If I were to purchase a SIDI equivalent that appears to translate into an EU 45, a size I have never worn. If this is accurate SIDI's shoes must be small made?

One does not wish to send shoes back and forth with associated extra cost.
Since I wear the Mavic 43 1/3 what size would you advise I should buy in a SISI shoe?
And would I need to bear the return postage cost if the shoe size was wrong?

Thanks for any guidance you can give.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Cosmic Carbon SLE Clincher Wheelset 2013
Cosmic Carbon SLE Clincher Wheelset 2013
The Cosmic Carbon SLE wheels are aerodynamic, light and have an unbeatable rolling resistance, and features Mavic’s Exalith 2 rim technology and enhances braking efficiency. An outstanding and proven wheelset made for the serious roadie or climber.
 

Mavic Aksion 700x23c Tyres + Shimano 105 x 10 Cassette

Will Mavic Aksion 23c Tyres slip on to these wheels?
And will a Shimano 10 speed Cassette fit?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
A perfect blend of lightness and strength that's the Ksyrium Elite S clincher wheels. Great for training or racing, these wheels are more than capable of taking the stress and strain you'll put them through. Fitted with Yksion tyres also.
 

Quick Release Skewers Included?

Are the quick release skewers Included and what make are they?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
JieF's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 >>>
 
Carbon computer mounting system for Carbon Stealth EVO road handlebars. Full Uni-directional carbon computer mounting bracket with 26.0 mm diameter.
 

Comes with fixing screws?

Hi

Does the computer bracket come with screws to attach the handlebars?

Thanks
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
This time does NOT come with fixing screws. The screws come with the bar not the Computer Bracket.
3 weeks, 1 day ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Ultegra 6870 Di2 11 Speed STI road levers has improved ergonomics for easier access to shift buttons from the top of the hoods with cleaner wiring due to single wire E-Tube connections and full compatible with super SLR brake calipers.
 

Do the shifters come with the etube cables for the handlebar?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
No, not as standard.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Ultegra 6870 Di2 11 Speed STI road levers has improved ergonomics for easier access to shift buttons from the top of the hoods with cleaner wiring due to single wire E-Tube connections and full compatible with super SLR brake calipers.
 

Brake cables

Are brake cables included with these shifters
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
No. Nor are E-Tube wires.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Ultegra 6870 Di2 11 Speed STI road levers has improved ergonomics for easier access to shift buttons from the top of the hoods with cleaner wiring due to single wire E-Tube connections and full compatible with super SLR brake calipers.
 

Compatible with 6770 group?

Hi,
I've got a complete standard 6770 group and a broken lever, can I use this 6870 lever? According to the Shimano Compatibility Chart it seems to be compatilbe, but I'd like to get this confirmed by you guys if possible.

Shimano Compatibility Chard: http://e-tubeproject.shimano.com/pdf/20140807_compatibility_chart_en.pdf

Thanks a lot!
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
This will work fine. Just make sure you update the firmware on your components to make them 'talk'. You will probably need to update each component individually before they will all talk.
This means you local bike shop will spend a bit of time on them, in all likelihood.
Or, if you are nearby come and I will do it free.
Enjoy.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The winter training jacket of choice for Tinkoff-Saxo pro cycling team. Designed with a race fit, breathability for performance and Windstopper® insulation for cold-weather protection.
 

Sizing

Hi I am 6'3 with 40 inch chest and wondered what size would be best for me so i get the correct arm length. Also what is the temperature range of this garment compared to say the partial windstoppper jacket?
Cheers
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
You are over 190 cm and 101 chest?
I recommend a Adidas shell jacket in fluro which will fit nicely in XL. The Runner's version is superb for this kind of high-visibilty daylight cycling.
Remember 'hi vis' is not the same as reflective. Reflective will light you up like a Christmas Tree at night the high visibilty make you noticeable [like the workman on the roads] during daylight.
Wear a Craft base layer [XXL for you] to wick away moisture and additional layers if you are cold. The Castelli Flanders long sleeved base layer [XXL] is superb in cold weather and wicks away moisture superbly. The Flanders is my favourite long sleeved base layer. For hot, hot days, [like here in Aussie] I wear a mesh base layer. The Craft Cool Mesh is great for this.
Beware of the Castelli Core Mesh Short Sleeve Base Layer, it is VERY short in the body length, even when ordering a size above your normal. Castelli are known for their 'small fitting'.

Hope this helps.
See below for suggestions of layers.
 
Products from my answer
Castelli Flanders Long Sleeve Base Layer
4.3 out of 5(48)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
Shimano 5800 11 speed Chain, 116 link. This new 11-speed chain uses previous years Dura Ace technology and Shimano's low friction surface treatment Sil-Tec, to reduce friction.
 

Chain pin?

What chain pin would I buy for the 105 11 speed chain?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
For cleaning, maintenance and general ease of use you would do well to buy KMC SpeedLink. This lets you remove your chain for proper cleaning and re-lubing.
See below.
 
Products from my answer
 
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
Shimano 5800 11 speed Chain, 116 link. This new 11-speed chain uses previous years Dura Ace technology and Shimano's low friction surface treatment Sil-Tec, to reduce friction.
 

Can i use this chain for spare links?

I already have this chain (groupset), it is too small for my 11-32 set up when on the front large crank and 32 on the rear, i need 2 or 3 extra links, please advise.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Shimano 116 link chains should cover your combination and length needs.
If you are running a Shimano 11-32t cassette it is important to run the Medium Cage RD [I assume you have this and not a 'Short Cage'. This will give the correct clearance on the back and allow correct gate and guide alignments.

I have run the 105 drivetrain [Standard Double 10 and 11-speed] as well as Ultegra and Dura Ace [Standard Double and Compact with 11-28, 12-25 and 11-32t on the cassettes.
In all of these I have never found the 116 link chain inadequate.

Additionally, although you will get 'feedback chatter' from your drivetrain [especially from Compacts] when you reach the extreme combinations you should not have issues selecting your gears.

I wonder whether you are running a large cassette on the back and a large ring on the front. If you are climbing big hills I would have thought a Compact Crank on the front would be the way to go. Or, you could use an intermediate Double with 52t x 36t on the front.
Perhaps the 11x32 and 52x36 on the front would be your dream combination.
As I mentioned above, remember you will need a Medium Cage Rear Derailleur when running any cassette ring larger than 28t. The maximum recommended for the common Short Cage RD is 28t.

Most riders understand that the 'big-big' combination is very trying on your components and reduces wattage results and should be avoided. However, it should be selectable without issues, if you select it by mistake.

It is important to have your bike set-up correctly. This will result in the best ride experience/performance from your kit.

We love building bikes with bespoke set-ups.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
Various length electric cables for the NEW Dura Ace 9070 and Ultegra Di2 system (not suitable for Dura-Ace Di2).
 

How many cables do i need for a Shimano Di2 group 2 or 4 ?

Is this also called a Shimano electric inner and outercable ?
Can this cable also be called a DI2 6770 black cable?
Will this fit on Shimano ST-6770 shifters ?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
This cable will fit your Ultegra Di2 system. The 'outer' usually refers to external cabling fitted on a frame and 'internal' usually refers to internal cable routing on most modern bike frames.

This cable will connect with Dura Ace and Ultegra Di2 systems [Shimano Di2 Dura-Ace 9070 and Ultegra 6770 and 6870].

The second generation Shimano Ultegra 6770/6870 and Dura-Ace 9070 “E-Tube” electronic bicycle shifting systems consist of battery-powered electric derailleurs activated by handlebar mounted push buttons. Shift commands are sent via a 2-wire CAN (Controller Area Network) datalink contained within a single cable housing.

View the image below to see the difference between the older first generation 5-wire Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 DA-7970 system and the new second generation system.

Hope this helps.
User submitted photo
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
Various length electric cables for the NEW Dura Ace 9070 and Ultegra Di2 system (not suitable for Dura-Ace Di2).
 

Can these be use for XTR di2 ??

Are these same as the E-tube individual cable EW-SD50 ??
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yes.
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Shimano 105 5800 groupset has been revamped for 2014/15. Now in 11 speed, these components draw down technology from the Shimano Dura-Ace and Ultegra groupsets.
 

Changing from Sora to 105.

How can you tell if your Giant defy stock rear wheel will take the upgrade from Sora to 105. If it can't do I need a new wheel or is there another fix?
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
The key to your speed compatibility is that you must wed 11-speed with 11-speed, 10-speed with 10-speed, 9-speed with 9-speed [the Sora system]. There are exceptions in the Di2 drivetrain where the Shifters of the 10-speed will 'talk' perfectly with any of the other Di2 components. This is because the Shifters are simply buttons which do not 'care' what gear you are in, they just direct up or down. It is the Rear Derailleur that 'knows' the gearing.
However, you do not have Di2 so this is not an issue for you.

Your wheelset will be an issue. You will need an 11-speed compatible freehub when installing an 11-speed Groupset, a 10-speed compatible freehub when installing an 10-speed Groupset and a 9-speed compatible freehub when installing a 9-speed Groupset.
So you CAN upgrade but you will have to upgrade your rear wheel to accommodate the 105 11-speed drivetrain.

Wiggle's price is superb. Enjoy.
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia