JieF
Top 100 Contributor
Share JieF's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JieF's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    29
  • First Review
    20 April 2013
  • Last Review
    14 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review Comment
    04 May 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    10 April 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    14 April 2013
  • Last Question
    07 January 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    53
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    16 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    08 April 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
JieF's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Cassette at a GREAT PRICE
Posted14 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"No one should complain about this cassette. The price is phenomenal.
Very little separates the Dura Ace cassettes from the Ultegra, though there are differences. However, at the price of the Ultegra cassette why would you not buy it!
I have been running these cassettes for some time now and they are fantastic. A great buy.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Protect your Edge® 800/810 with this form-fitting, removable silicone case. Also available in other colours (sold separately).
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good Item But Loose Fit
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a good protective cover and does what it says on the tin.
I was surprised, however, how loose the fit is. Other than that the cover is good.
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
K-EDGE GO BIG Pro Handlebar Mount is designed to lock your GoPro™ camera securely in front of your handlebar; out of the way of your vision and out of the way of your hands.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rock Solid But Maybe Too Solid
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have been running the GoPro system for some time and wanted to try this as many commend the rigid hold it has on your GoPro.
It is 'rock solid' holding the GoPro safely and without any movement.
But that is the problem, you may wish to reduce camera shake on your recordings and a rock solid mount will increase the shake from road vibration. Shake can be reduced by bolting on a vibration-reducing mount onto this mount if shake is too great.
Other that that, the product is excellent."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: increases shake
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Elite's best selling Elite carbon cage now with a fresh, updated design to complement any bike
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Light Stylish and Great VFM
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A light, somewhat stylish, long-lasting bottle cage; and at a great price.
No problems after running a few of these in extensive use.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Latin for stronghold and bridge, ARX is our new design for the perfect connection between fork and handlebar. The chosen stem for Garmin Slipstream and Cervelo Test Team pro road teams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light Strong Stylish Affordable
Posted25 March 2014
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I was worried about swapping out my Ritchie Pro Stem for the ARX Alloy Stem. The Ritchie Stem has a full wrap-around form and I was worried about the ARX equalling strength of the full-wrap form of the Ritchie. I was also somewhat concerned about the Ritchie faceplate design over against the ARX's.
My fears were ill-founded. The ARX is super-light, so strong and confidence-inspiring. A plus was the reversible form to suit a very aggressive or more upright position. The ARX Stem is also very stylish complementing my bike superbly. And the price from Wiggle for the 120 mm ARX Stem was superb.
If you want a light, strong, stylish and affordable alloy stem the ARX will fit the bill.
Thank you Wiggle and 3T.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation with a soft next-to-skin feel. The dhb Merino short sleeve is a warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece for cycling and aerobic activity in low temperatures.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent and Cozy
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The Merino Short Sleeve Base Layer is great choice for those cooler day rides. I commonly were a mesh base layer but needed something a little warmer for those cool Adelaide mornings or hill rides. A mesh layer is cooler and wicks better but is not so warm.
The Merino Base Layer does the trick perfectly, but note; this is a warm base layer.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Great Cage With But Flawed
Posted22 February 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This cage is light, stylish, easy to fit and a Wiggle bargain at this price.
But there is a problem - the rubber linking the two gripper arms fails [rots] when used especially in direct sunlight. This 'rotting' shows itself quickly and in a short time renders the cage less attractive and less secure.
Apart from this fatal flaw the cage is excellent, hence my low score.
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb Pedals
Posted22 January 2014
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These pedals are the BEST I have ever used.
Previously I was sold on Look and Shimano Ultegra clip in pedals.
However, using these Speedplay Pedals I ask myself, "WHY DIDN'T SOMEONE TELL ME THERE WERE SO GREAT?"
If you have not used these before, buy them and I predict you will not go back.
Superb Pedals"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
To ensure that the signal goes from the shifter to the derailleurs, the reliability of the electric cable has been proven by repeated field tests in various riding conditions, including extreme temperatures, rain, mud, and cobble stone roads.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Di2 - You Just Gotta!
Posted13 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Okay, this item was missing from my original order and I won't relay the saga to rectify it.
However, once this was rectified Wiggle, sent the missing item to me quick smart.
Wiring is long enough for all your needs and super-light.
Connecting is as simple as 1, 2, 3.
The Shimano Tool for connecting is a must to avoid damaging your connecting wires.
This Cable Set is a breeze to use when adjusting your rear derailleur.
Oh, great price too.
Well done, Wiggle."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A minimalist base layer for fast, cooling moisture transfer and freshness on hot summer endurance rides. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very Short Cut In The Body
Posted10 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
JieF
fromAdelaide SA, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The Castelli Core Mesh Short Sleeve Base Layer is a great base layer, though I will need to dispose of the two I purchased.
Beware, though your chest size may be spot on [after all the material stretches] you will find [at least I did] that the item is anything but "cut long".
I am an average height, not tall, at 178 cm and and the L/XL base layer could not tuck into my bib shorts!
I have numbers of Castelli items and this is simply cut wrong.
One would need to be formed like the old hymn, "deep and wide", viz., as wide as one is high, for this "cut" to fit an average person!
Usually need XL Castelli? Make sure you order XXL in this item.
Apart from being cut short the item is the usual Castelli quality.
Enjoy."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JieF's Questions
 
The Deda Elementi Zero 2 stem is designed for demanding riders. A perfect balance between engineering and design and the perfect component to complement any high performance bike.
 

6061 light alloy?

Is this Zero 2 stem made from 6061 light alloy like the Zero 1?
3 months, 1 week ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
For the past four years, professional riders have been riding Shimano Dura-Ace components with Di2 electronic shifting technology over the highest mountains, the worst cobbles and through the most extreme weather conditions imaginable.
 

Chainring Combinations 50/34 change over 53/39

Is this Groupset available with the 50/34 x 172.5mm option?

If not, is it possible to buy the 50/34 set of rings and fit them on the Ultegra Crank supplied with this 6700 Di2 Groupset to make this a "compact" crankset?
Thanks.
6 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
Super light carbon seat post with ultra low-profile upper clamp designed to compliment the most stylish Fizik's saddles. The seat post offers greater fore to aft adjustment than other seat posts, easier installation and one-finger adjuster wheel.
 

31.6 x 270 Actual Length of Post

Hi I currently use a 300 mm post which is nearly fully extended and I wondered if the 270 mm would be long enough. Will Wiggle be retailing the 31.6 x 330/400 in the future?
7 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Ritchey two-bolt post reinvented - Lighter, more compliant and more versatile than ever
 

Carbon Saddle Compatible?

Is this post compatible with a carbon rail saddle, for example the Fizik Arione R1?
7 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Arione R1's carbon thermoplastic composite shell and braided carbon rails reduce weight and increase saddle stiffness with Wing Flex™ designed for freedom of thigh movement. The Arione shape is flat, narrow and long and is ideal for Snakes.
 

RITCHEY PRO

Is the R1 compatible with the RITCHEY PRO 2B seat post?
7 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Arione R1's carbon thermoplastic composite shell and braided carbon rails reduce weight and increase saddle stiffness with Wing Flex™ designed for freedom of thigh movement. The Arione shape is flat, narrow and long and is ideal for Snakes.
 

Sizing Chart

Hi, Can you have the dimensions of the saddle, please? Or, if there is a sizing chart can you direct us to it.
Thanks.
7 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Wire Vernice Air Vent Carbon Road Shoes
Wire Vernice Air Vent Carbon Road Shoes
The Sidi Wire represents the peak of fit, function and performance for the fastest riders on the planet. Featuring a Carbon Vent sole, Tecno 3 Monofilament closures and a beautiful perforated Vernice upper for added ventilation on hot summer rides.
 

Sizing of SIDI compared to Mavic Shoes

Hi,
In Mavic Zxellium Road Shoes I take a 43.1/3 which oddly translates in the chart to a UK9. I say oddly because I commonly wear a UK8 [depending on the brand].
If I were to purchase a SIDI equivalent that appears to translate into an EU 45, a size I have never worn. If this is accurate SIDI's shoes must be small made?

One does not wish to send shoes back and forth with associated extra cost.
Since I wear the Mavic 43 1/3 what size would you advise I should buy in a SISI shoe?
And would I need to bear the return postage cost if the shoe size was wrong?

Thanks for any guidance you can give.
11 months ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
 Cosmic Carbon SLE Clincher Wheelset 2013
Cosmic Carbon SLE Clincher Wheelset 2013
The Cosmic Carbon SLE wheels are aerodynamic, light and have an unbeatable rolling resistance, and features Mavic’s Exalith 2 rim technology and enhances braking efficiency. An outstanding and proven wheelset made for the serious roadie or climber.
 

Mavic Aksion 700x23c Tyres + Shimano 105 x 10 Cassette

Will Mavic Aksion 23c Tyres slip on to these wheels?
And will a Shimano 10 speed Cassette fit?
1 year ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
A perfect blend of lightness and strength that's the Ksyrium Elite S clincher wheels. Great for training or racing, these wheels are more than capable of taking the stress and strain you'll put them through. Fitted with Yksion tyres also.
 

Quick Release Skewers Included?

Are the quick release skewers Included and what make are they?
1 year ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
JieF's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
A light and very responsive clincher wheelset, 50mm deep section, from Shimano. Part of the new 2013 Dura Ace 9000 line up, this wheel is ultra-light, fast and uses carbon-alloy manufacturing techniques.
 

10 speed?

Hi Are these wheels compatible with Shimano 10 speed systems? I have Dura Ace 7900 10 speed and would like these wheels if compatible?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, they are compatible; just add the 1.85 mm spacer that comes with the wheel set and you are good to go.
1 week ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
A light and very responsive clincher wheelset, 50mm deep section, from Shimano. Part of the new 2013 Dura Ace 9000 line up, this wheel is ultra-light, fast and uses carbon-alloy manufacturing techniques.
 

Freehub compatibility? Compatible with Deore Cassette?

I have found some compatibility issues with Ultegra/Dura Ace hubs and my Deore 10 speed MTB Cassette.... will the Deore cassette fit this freehub? thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You will be ill-advised to fit a Deore cassette to the C50s. You should fit the Ultegra cassette to the wheel set or, if you can afford it, the DA equivalent.
The Ultegra cassette is not expensive and superb quality.
1 week ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
A light and very responsive clincher wheelset, 50mm deep section, from Shimano. Part of the new 2013 Dura Ace 9000 line up, this wheel is ultra-light, fast and uses carbon-alloy manufacturing techniques.
 

Can Shimano 9000 C50 wheels be used with Campag 11 speed cassette or is it possible to buy an aftermarket cassette to suit the Shimano free hub body?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You will need a Campy freehub or one compatible with the Campy drivetrain.
1 week ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
A light and very responsive clincher wheelset, 50mm deep section, from Shimano. Part of the new 2013 Dura Ace 9000 line up, this wheel is ultra-light, fast and uses carbon-alloy manufacturing techniques.
 

upgrade to Duara Ace 9000 C50 wheelset

I'm planning to upgrade to following components and just like to check if everything fits together. today i have Shimano Ultegra on my bike.

Shimano Dura Ace 7800 10 Speed Chain

Shimano Ultegra 6700 10 Speed Cassette

Shimano Dura Ace 9000 C50 Clincher Wheelset 2013

BR / Mats
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Your configuration will work fine.
1 week ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
A light and very responsive clincher wheelset, 50mm deep section, from Shimano. Part of the new 2013 Dura Ace 9000 line up, this wheel is ultra-light, fast and uses carbon-alloy manufacturing techniques.
 

Are C50 a everyday wheelset

I try to avoid changing my wheelset for different rides. Can Dura Ace C50 be used as a everyday wheel? I am 6 foot 2 and 91kg.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, of course, though it is an expensive 'everyday' wheel set.
1 week ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

GP4000s 2

Are these the new GP4000s 2?

And if they are do they offer better puncture protection?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No. That is a different product.
3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
The CT-3.2 features an adjustable locating shelf so it will remove and install the chain rivet on any bike chain, from 5 to 11-speed derailleur chains to 1/8 and 3/16 inch single-speed chains, making it our most versatile chain splitter
 

Will this work on a Campagnolo Super Record 11 speed chain?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes. Used carefully the tool functions almost effortlessly.
3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 

How do I swap the lenses?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
The lenses are very easy to pop out and change.
3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 

Are these suitable for both running and cycling?

I'm looking for some glasses that can take me seamlessly from the bike to the run leg.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes.
3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia
 
K-EDGE GO BIG Pro Handlebar Mount is designed to lock your GoPro™ camera securely in front of your handlebar; out of the way of your vision and out of the way of your hands.
 

Is this mount compatible with Hero 3+

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes. See my review above for details.
3 weeks ago
by
JieF
Adelaide SA, Australia