BradJK
Share BradJK's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BradJK's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    03 June 2013
  • Last Review
    06 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review Comment
    28 March 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    23 July 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    02 June 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    18 April 2013
  • Last Answer
    15 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
BradJK's Reviews
 
The GP1 series of grips offer maximum comfort and the best possible pressure distribution.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great upgrade
Posted06 July 2015
BradJK
fromEdmonton, AB Canada
Country : Canada
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've placed this type of grip on several of the bikes in my household. They first went on my flat bar hybrid and worked great for long rides or short trips with the kids. The original grips on my hybrid were very similar in design but stayed in place by friction instead of clamp and always rotated, the Ergon grips stay in place."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Caliper brake blocks with 3 styles of brake inserts.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Work well considering
Posted06 July 2015
BradJK
fromEdmonton, AB Canada
Country : Canada
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Used these to refresh my wife's old bike and they worked well considering the terrible brake calipers. I've sold the bike since putting these on and will never have another that uses this kind of brake design."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A set of four high quality brake pads for use with V-brakes. Available in a 55mm size to suit hybrid bikes and 70mm for mountain bikes. LifeLine brake pads are manufactured for us by Ashima.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Do the job well
Posted06 July 2015
BradJK
fromEdmonton, AB Canada
Country : Canada
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"My only complaint is that they could be a little softer but I guess they might not last as long then. Considering the price they are a great bargain. Require an extra bit of pressure when wet but I've never felt like I couldn't stop in time."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Light and aerodynamic, the ASV Jersey combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the ultimate racing apparel.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good from afar but far from good.
Posted06 July 2015
BradJK
fromEdmonton, AB Canada
Country : Canada
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"For you to know where I'm coming from I have a dhb Trace jersey size XL and absolutely love it. After losing a bit of weight since buying it I could use a L now but it still fits snug enough to avoid flapping in most conditions. Based on my recent experience I would say dhb sizing charts are a bit more accurate now from when the Trace was available.
I'm 6'-2", 80kg, chest 38-1/2", waist 34".
I'm a bit disappointed with this AVS jersey. I had to go to a S to get the snug fit I wanted and avoid bagginess when in position but then the zipper started doing funny wavy things. The L was fitted when standing but loose in position and XL was just loose period. The jersey didn't feel patterned for riding position since both the S & L were a bit tight across the shoulders when in position. The arms were stretchy enough for my average build but it seemed like the zipper didn't like the chest material to stretch too much.
Aside from the zipper the other two things that killed this for me were: 1) The flaps that conceal the zipper are just too loose and flappy seeming, they don't provide a nice clean flush fit. 2) The material is thin enough that the white stripe is a bit too nipplely for my taste, if the white and blue stripe traded places it would be a non-issue.
The fabric in some areas is very thin and or perforated and should breath well. Despite this the jersey seems to be good quality.
I almost convinced myself I could live with the size S but my wife I insisted I return it based on the facial expressions I was making while looking in the mirror."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit, poor design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes. Converts a 1" quill stem bike to accept 1-1/8" threadless stems.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Adequate
Posted23 October 2014
BradJK
fromEdmonton, AB Canada
Country : Canada
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The piece is built well and functions as intended. After converting my hybrid to dropped bars this allowed me to transplant the flat bar setup over to an old bike. I wish it had more length to bring the stem up higher but that would only be needed to compensate for my winter bike's frame being a bit small. Quality is good, price is right and it gives new life to old bikes."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: short
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Transit Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Transit Short Sleeve Jersey
The Transit jersey is a discreet, casual fitting jersey with classic lines and the kind of technical fabrics you’ll find throughout the new Spring Summer dhb collection.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good fit, bad smell
Posted02 June 2014
BradJK
fromEdmonton, AB Canada
Country : Canada
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"For reference: My jersey of choice is a Dhb Trace XL. I'm about 185lbs, 6'-2 with a 42" chest. The Trace is a good snug fit.
The Transit in a Medium fits well, not snug like the Trace but doesn't flap around, although enough to skew the HR monitor in heavy wind. I normally do not have odour issues but It does get funky smelling fast.. For the money it's a good value, maybe don't use it if your hanging out with people you want to keep as friends after a ride."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: smelly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Wippermann Connex Chain Link (8-9 Speed)
Wippermann Connex Chain Link (8-9 Speed)
All Connex chains (except the 800 series) are supplied with a Connex link which requires no tools. Chain disassembly couldn't be simpler.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quick and reliable
Posted03 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BradJK
fromEdmonton, AB Canada
Country : Canada
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"My commute serves as my daily training and I've put about 800 km of aggressive road use on the first one with no trouble. Despite being hard on my chain it has never popped open and still comes off easily buy hand. I bought a couple more to have on hand as field replacement links."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BradJK's Questions
 
 dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 

Trace replacement?

I really like the fit of this model line but it looks like it's being discontinued; is there a model line that will replace it or one that has a similar fit?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
BradJK
Edmonton, AB Canada
 
The Deda 2014 RSx 02 Seatpost, Deda design offers an easy twin-bolt adjustment. Made from light alloy, 3D deep forged and with M6 seat clamp bolts.
 

Indexed or infinitely adjustable tilt?

Does the tilt adjustment have indexing/notches or can it be set to any angle? My current post has notches that set my saddle either to high or low and I cannot get in between for the correct tilt.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
BradJK
Edmonton, AB Canada
 
The Sportsta™ filter inside the has an extremely low inhalation resistance compared with other particle filters.
 

Compatible

Are these filters compatible with other Respro masks or only the Sportsta?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
BradJK
Edmonton, AB Canada
 
BradJK's Answers
 
 Shimano RS11 Clincher Wheelset
Shimano RS11 Clincher Wheelset
The Shimano RS11 clincher wheelset, offering all the technology of Shimano high end wheels at an economical price. With 24 mm high profile aluminium rim for improved aero dynamics and elbow-less spokes make for a strong yet compliant wheel.
 

what size of tyres are suitable for these wheels

Shimano documentation states the recommended tire size range is 20c to 25c. http://si.shimano.com/php/download.php?file=pdf/dm/DM-WH0002-02-ENG.pdf
1 year, 1 month ago
by
BradJK
Edmonton, AB Canada
 
 Shimano RS11 Clincher Wheelset
Shimano RS11 Clincher Wheelset
The Shimano RS11 clincher wheelset, offering all the technology of Shimano high end wheels at an economical price. With 24 mm high profile aluminium rim for improved aero dynamics and elbow-less spokes make for a strong yet compliant wheel.
 

Does the rear come with a shimano free hub and are they cup and cone?

Shimano lists them as having "angular contact bearings" which I interpreted to be cup and cone; Swapping the rear 130 mm axle out for a 135 mm verified this, they looked the same as cup and cone bearings in my other wheels.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
BradJK
Edmonton, AB Canada
 
The Sportsta™ filter inside the has an extremely low inhalation resistance compared with other particle filters.
 

Compatible

Are these filters compatible with other Respro masks or only the Sportsta?
A Respro rep let me know that the filters are compatible accross the mask range as long as the filter has exhaust port holes and you use the same size filter & mask.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
BradJK
Edmonton, AB Canada