djesk
Top 1000 Contributor
Share djesk's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
djesk's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    02 May 2013
  • Last Review
    10 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    01 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    10 April 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
djesk's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Truvativ Pedal Washers
Truvativ Pedal Washers
Pedal washers help protect your cranks from the pedal axle when tightening
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
they do exactly as they say
Posted10 April 2014
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"do the job well, but pretty pricey for what they are, would have thought i should have been able to find something cheaper"
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
disturbing low km failure
Posted10 April 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"tyre failed completely with only 200km on it, was on smooth bitumen at the time, I did purchase others before this point so i guess ill have to use them some point, but it makes me very nervous, cos if it happens not during event it could really leave me stranded, cos no booting method could possibly have got me home.
look sexy with the red stripes, so i guess good for a poser who doesnt wanna ride but wants to be seen with a sexy expensive tyre on their bike
"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good honest tube at good price
Posted05 April 2014
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"reliable tubes at a great price point, with removable valve cores if like me you run deep rims, or wish to use sealant."
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This lightweight cage gives the flexibility within its material to absorb general knocks along with daily wear and tear.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
very insecure bottle holder
Posted05 April 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used 2 of these on a seatpost mount for a long distance event, and on a fast descent I hit a bump which dislodged both bottles and lost them"
Pros: cheap
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hard wearing chain
Posted06 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Its a great chain, has the removable link which is handy, It has done a great job on my fixie, has stood up to a lot of aggressive pressures and going strong"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Positioned for minimum wind resistance and easy access these bags are ideal for triathletes or other riders wanting to keep energy food or other small items close at hand.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great for some nutrition on those longer rides
Posted06 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"simple no nonsense top tube bag for gels etc does it all without fuss"
Pros: Lightweight, Versatile, Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
The best selling tyre from the Vredestein range. The Fortezza TriComp is Vredestein most popular competition tyre and is suitable for mixed weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent Tyre
Posted06 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This tyre grips well, its a pretty tight fit onto the rims, but i guess when they are rated to 175psi they need to be pretty tight, I really like this aspect because as a heavier rider I like having my tyre a bit higher pressure"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pedros Trixie Fixed Gear Multi-Tool
Pedros Trixie Fixed Gear Multi-Tool
Specially designed for the fixed gear rider, the Pedro's Trixie is the urban survival tool with all the right pieces to keep that fixie rolling.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
handy little tool
Posted10 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It does everything it says it will, in a pretty compact unit, great for any fixie owner"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
absolutely stoked! :)
Posted12 August 2013
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i had looked at other carbon/alloy wheelsets and they were on a good special here which brought them to my budget, completely blown away by the speed of delivery, also with the new 11 spd shimano hubs, gorgeous sturdy bags, provided with skewers and valve extensions (the valve extensions were a pleasant suprise) look sexy as, tyres fit nice and snug, then out on the road silky smooth and quiet"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Look Keo Classic Pedals
Look Keo Classic Pedals
The Keo Classic pedal that has been produced directly from the Keo and the Keo HM pedals. The Keo Classic has been developed with strength and lightness in mind as well as high performance and durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent pedals
Posted12 August 2013
djesk
fromAdelaide SA 5000, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these pedals feel really nice under my feet clip in easier than my old ones (which were a look keo compatible knock off)"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
djesk's Questions
 
djesk has not submitted any questions.
 
djesk's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 

Tyre options

I'm looking at getting a set of Gatorskin 700 x 25 tyres on these wheels, can you confirm if that is compatible?

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
sure you could fit gatorskins to these
5 months ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 

Campagnolo or Shimano Freehub

This is my first potential purchase of wheels, so still learning all the terminology. I have a Team Carbon Boardman 2013, should I buy the Campagnolo or the Shimano Freehub?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
depends on what brand groupset you run, if it is SRAM or shimano, get the shimano freehub version, if you ride campagnolo get that free hub type
5 months ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 

In the near future, I'm looking at upgrading to the new shimano 11 speed cassette (probably ultegra 6800). Will these wheels be compatible?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yep mine, are 11 speed compatible
5 months ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 

Will disc brakes fit on these?

I ride a Boardman CX Team which has disc brakes on it. Would I be able to transfer these onto the Bullet 50 wheels?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no, they dont have hubs to suit disc brakes
5 months ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 

What sort of tube is suitable with the 50 mm rim?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
80mm presta, or with suitable valve extenders, comes with removable valve core type, which I like very much, just use a little plumbers tape to seal them better, was getting a little leakage on one extender
5 months, 1 week ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 

Can be use for 11 speed?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes, just remove the supplied spacer
5 months, 1 week ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 

Are these wheels for normal Road Cycling? not for Time trial bikes?

I cycle a 25 mile round trip to work everyday and looking for an upgrade. Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
maybe you wouldnt get the full advantage of the aero, but they look trick, I use these on a normal road bike, and dont TT
9 months ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 

Bullet fifty clinchers

are these a good long ride wheel
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yep, I love these wheels on longer rides, I use them on 200+km rides, both hills and flats, roll wonderfully, of course they catch the wind a bit
9 months ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
 
The range of Bullet wheels was created to be a benchmark in its category for being lightweight, aerodynamic, high performance, practical, responsive, as well as for their design.
 

I am using Ultegra 2014 11speed.Are these wheelset compatible?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the ones I received are 11spd compatible shimano/sram with the spacer for the 10 speed cassette, I love these wheels
9 months ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia
 
 Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
The best selling tyre from the Vredestein range. The Fortezza TriComp is Vredestein most popular competition tyre and is suitable for mixed weather conditions.
 

how much pressure can go in these tyres

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the sidewall says they are rated upto 175psi, which im sure most rims aren't rated to that much (the only rims of mine i could see a rating was 145psi) as a heavier rider I pump mine upto 130psi a bit more than the max of most tyres, though a woman i ride with only puts 110psi but she would be much lighter than me
9 months ago
by
djesk
Adelaide SA 5000, Australia