alanr7
Share alanr7's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
alanr7's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    23 July 2013
  • Last Review
    22 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    23 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    23 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
alanr7's Reviews
 
A precision high-pressure floor pump featuring a CNC-machined aluminum barrel and base, a steel piston, and a varnished wood handle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really first-class track pump
Posted22 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
alanr7
fromEdinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After struggling for years to achieve even moderate pressures such as 70 PSI with a hand pump, I decided to buy this beautiful pump. So far, I have I used it only for Presta valves and I find that it can be a bit fiddly to attach it securely to the valve, as it has a screw attachment. However, this is getting a lot easier with practice. Once attached, it is very easy to pump a tyre from totally flat up to 70 PSI, which is the most I have had to do so far. In fact, it only takes about thirty full strokes to do so and these are much easier than with a hand pump because I can lean on the robust and well-made wooden handle to push the pump down. There is a nice long flexible inflation hose which gives you easily enough reach and clips nicely to the pump when not in use. It has a built-in pressure gauge which seems to be accurate (I tested it agains another gauge which I have).
The quality of construction is first-class and I am sure I will be using it for years to come. I would highly recommend this beautiful and labour-saving pump.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Traditional version of the B17 with copper rails and chamfered sides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A seriously comfortable saddle
Posted18 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
alanr7
fromEdinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I had a bike with a saddle which was a bit hard so I didn't ride it as much as I would have liked. I bought this to try and improve the comfort. From day one, it was a better shape than my other saddle, especially as it was a good deal wider. Of course, it was a bit firm at first but regular applications of Brooks Proofide and regular riding, it is now a lot more comfortable. I have had the saddle about two weeks, using it for an hour a day and it is steadily getting more flexible. In fact, I think that it will continue to improve as time goes on. The other thing to say is that, as well as being comfortable, this saddle is a thing of great craftsmanship and beauty which really adds to the look of my bike. Do I like this saddle? Yes, I love it; it is awesome and great value for money."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 ROAM 2 Video Camera
ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
This is a high-quality portable durable product
Posted23 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
alanr7
fromEdinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this as a cycling head camera to gather evidence, if need should arise, in case of problems on my rides. However, it is so good that I can now use it to take HD-quality video footage of my six-year old daughter. It captures both excellent video and good quality sound and is light, waterproof and portable. In use the camera on a helmet-mount is unobtrusive and there is a temptation to forget it's there. The only ways it could be improved would be to include a helmet-mount as standard - this is a separate purchase - and to have a bigger memory card or at least an option for a bigger card, as the included one only has enough space for 30 minutes recording at a time. Other than those two small issues, this is a great product which I am delighted to have bought. I would recommend it to anyone."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
alanr7's Questions
 
alanr7 has not submitted any questions.
 
alanr7's Answers
 
 ROAM 2 Video Camera
ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 

What mounts does this product come with?

Specifically, does it come with a secure helmet-compatible mount, or would I need to buy something extra?
You need to buy a separate mount, called a "vented helmet mount". It comes with two mounts, neither of which will fit on a vented cycle helmet but which look like they're aimed a flat-surface mounting and mounting on a domed surface, like a motorcycle helmet.
1 year ago
by
alanr7
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
 
 ROAM 2 Video Camera
ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 

What are the physical dimensions of this unit, and how much does it weigh?

It's roughly cylinder-shaped, about 10.2 cm long x 5.5cm wide (at the section with the mount shown in the illustration) and 3.8 cm wide. It weighs no more than 100 grams (my guess as it's attached to my helmet and the manual doesn't say). I don't actually notice the weight when helmet-mounted. Hope that's helpful.
1 year ago
by
alanr7
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK