ShaneR
Share ShaneR's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
ShaneR's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    01 August 2013
  • Last Review
    18 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    02 January 2014
  • Last Question
    02 January 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    10 December 2013
  • Last Answer
    18 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
ShaneR's Reviews
 
The new X-King (pronounced cross king) completely covers the gap between Race and Mountain King.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really grippy and can be run at lower pressures
Posted18 July 2014
ShaneR
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are super light, supple and really grippy. I generally run them really low and have had no problems with a pinch flat because they're so big. At times I've noticed I've run them too low because I can feel the tire start to fold under, but have never had a failure. In fact, I've been so hard on them that I bent the lowers on a Rockshox SID XX World Cup fork, but the tire (and tube) still held. Because of their wide profile and lower pressure necessary to run, they tend to roll really fast. Not sure of the rolling resistance compared to other tires, but I'd assume that their characteristics make them some of the best."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value
Posted10 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
ShaneR
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've had this for about 6 months now and I feel comfortable saying that it's well worth the price. It is a bit clammy, but at the price point, anything else is going to be much worse. Rolls up nicely into a jersey pocket when you get too warm. I find that the sleeves are a bit long for the length in the front, but overall, it's pretty close. I have a size small and I'm 5'6" with a 31" waist, a 42" chest and 14" arms. I'm built more like a gymnast than a cyclist. Except for the slightly long arms on me the length fits well. That said, the small should fit really tight in the chest, but it seems to be right on. The arms are a bit tight at the top, but everything else is a comfortable girth. My recommendation would be to go for a size smaller if you're unsure about width. Length should be fine."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not breathable
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Spider Super Roubaix Gloves
Spider Super Roubaix Gloves
The Spider Super Roubaix glove serves either as a lightweight glove on its own, or can be layered underneath other gloves as a liner. The palm features a silicone grip in a spider web print.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good autumn gloves
Posted19 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ShaneR
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these because they were super cheap and needed something for the autumn. I've been pleasantly surprised I haven't needed to switch to my winter Pearl Izumis yet. The white gets dirty fast, but, what would you expect? Though I have to say I like the visibility a white glove gets... Like a traffic cop when I'm signaling."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Another outstanding cyclocross tubular, the Cross Evo XN shares the Evo XG's 320 TPI casing, latex inner tube, and an outstanding tread pattern.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better than Tufos by far
Posted19 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ShaneR
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The ride quality on these compared to my Tufos has convinced me to buy Vittorias from now on. Really supple and with a great range of pressure - from cross race 30 to road riding 80."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
1 - 3 repairs, depending on tyre diametre. A highly effective product for repair of flats of all TUFO tyres. Use only once a puncture has occurred, will deal with slightly bigger holes than the standard sealant.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good sealant
Posted19 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
ShaneR
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used this to plug two slow leaks (just lucky I guess) in my Tufo Flexus Primus cross tires and haven't had any problems yet. The only tough bit is getting it into the valve without removing the tyre in deeper rims with valve extenders (one of my sets are 48s). I was regluing when I did mine. So no bother, but a small funnel for use with valve extenders would be nice."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain - Crossstep
SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain - Crossstep
SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain with PowerChain II technology.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Chain. Super light
Posted01 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ShaneR
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I paired this with a Tiagra front mech and Ultegra 6700 rear, spinning on a SRAM 9sp cassette and force crankset. Works beautifully with no hint of slippage despite being put on an older crankset (everything else is new within the last few months). And SRAM chains are always nice and easy to put on."
Pros: Lightweight, simple to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ShaneR's Questions
 
The lightest and strongest road forks available with RAD (Relief Area Design) steerer to protect against stem clamping damage.
 

What is the real weight?

Easton (http://www.eastoncycling.com/en-us/ec90-x) says this fork weighs 490 g, but wiggle has it listed at 350. Who is right? Why the 150 g disparity?
8 months ago
by
ShaneR
 
ShaneR's Answers
 
Another outstanding cyclocross tubular, the Cross Evo XN shares the Evo XG's 320 TPI casing, latex inner tube, and an outstanding tread pattern.
 

75% Road / 25% broken paths - will these work?

I am looking to replace the Conti CX tyres (700 x 35C) on my Genesis CDF. I am looking for a little less rolling resistence on the road but to retain grip for when I go on cycle paths and broken stone and mud canal tow paths. Will these tyres fit the bill?

I am new to cycling and wanted to check my understanding that these won't require an inner tube as it's integrated to the tyre design - apologies for the stupid question. Are there any restrictions on what type of rim they will fit?

Many thanks
They should do exactly what you're looking to do. They're not the best on wet roads or mud though - when it's wet I prefer my TUFO Flexus Primus.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
ShaneR
 
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

Does the jacket include a hood?

It's not clear in the description if there jacket has a hood too.
no
9 months ago
by
ShaneR
 
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

Can I I re-waterproof this jacket?

I used a detergent wash and think I may have compromised the waterproofing of this jacket. What product can I use to re-waterproof it?
Nikwax TX Direct
9 months ago
by
ShaneR