yorkshirerocket
Share yorkshirerocket's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
yorkshirerocket's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    04 July 2013
  • Last Review
    04 July 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    07 July 2013
  • Last Question
    07 July 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    04 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    18 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
yorkshirerocket's Reviews
 
These wired tyres are extremely tough, have maximum security, are highly durable, and have the best puncture protection layer system which is made from highly elastic, special rubber (SmartGuard).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hassle free cycling
Posted04 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
yorkshirerocket
fromEast Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have three bikes, this is the latest to be fitted with Marathon tyres. The other bikes are fitted with Marathon +. A road bike on 700 x 25c and a hybrid on 700 x 38c. These have covered in total close on 2000 miles without a puncture, and are still in excellent fettle. I will be cycling coast to coast this summer on mixed road and bridle paths and wanted some tough hassle free tyres suitable for this kind of trip. I opted for the Marathon + tour. My first impresion was how quiet they run on a tarmac road, none of the annoying constant hiss asssociated with the "knobbly" mountain bike tyres. They also roll a lot better, I do keep them up to the maximum recommended pressure. Hopefully they will perform as well as the Marathon + tyres on my other bikes.
There are plenty of tales about how difficult they are to fit, I have found them not too bad to put on provided you stick to a few general rules about fitting any tyre. The well in the centre of the wheel is there for a purpose, it's to allow the tyre bead to sit into and give you the free play needed to get the unfitted section of the bead over the rim. Keep the bead pulled tight into the well when fitting the tyre, the tyre should not need to be stretched into place with tyre levers. #I admit it was a close call with the 700 x25c tyres#. Secondly always fit the sectoin of the tyre adjacent to the valve last and vica versa, remove this section first. The valve impedes the bead from fully sitting at the bottom of the wheel well. Remember this by thinking of the chap getting into a lift, last on, first off.
As to the problem of getting a Marathon tyre off, I have no experience of this, they have been so reliable and puncture free I have as yet never removed one. Lets face it, they may be a bit heavy but who enjoys repairing a puncture on a cold wet night in the dark, or at any time come to that.
"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit, reflective strip very visible in the dark
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
yorkshirerocket's Questions
 
The redesigned Velo 5 includes 5 popular functions with a large easy to read display and single button operation thanks to a choice of simple or custom wheel calibration.
 

can the velo 5 be stem mounted

I prefer to mount a computer on the stem, I also have a subsequent question. on my previous computer I could strap a tie wrap around the body of the computer and its mount so that it was difficult to steal. The computer would not slide out of its mount without removing the tie wrap with a pair of cutters. Could a tie wrap be placed around this unit to stop it being easily stolen.
9 months ago
by
yorkshirerocket
East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
 
yorkshirerocket's Answers
 
The redesigned Velo 5 includes 5 popular functions with a large easy to read display and single button operation thanks to a choice of simple or custom wheel calibration.
 

can the velo 5 be stem mounted

I prefer to mount a computer on the stem, I also have a subsequent question. on my previous computer I could strap a tie wrap around the body of the computer and its mount so that it was difficult to steal. The computer would not slide out of its mount without removing the tie wrap with a pair of cutters. Could a tie wrap be placed around this unit to stop it being easily stolen.
These computers will not fit onto the stem, I was told that they would and purchased one only to return it. You can be as inventive as you like with tie wraps but to little avail. The basic problem is that the mounting bracket is only radiused at the back in one plane, that is, inline with the handlebar, making the unit only suitable for fixing to the handle bar. It will fit on the stem provided you don't mind it being at ninety degrees out to the normal view of a computer.
8 months ago
by
yorkshirerocket
East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
 
These wired tyres are extremely tough, have maximum security, are highly durable, and have the best puncture protection layer system which is made from highly elastic, special rubber (SmartGuard).
 

Sidewall Bulge

Hi, I've had some marathon plus tyres on my mtb and done about 150 miles on them on road. I've ensured pressure is within that specified and there is a bulge of several mm in the side wall on the rear. Is this natural or should I be concerned. Any advice would be appreciated. I've got these on mavic xm719 rims
Did you have difficulty fitting the tyre? Did you resort to tyre levers to fit it? If you have used excessive force with tyre levers to get the tyre on you may have damaged the bead/sidewall. The bulge is a serious issue and the tyre cords sound to be faulty, this could result in a blowout. Return the tyre to your supplier for the suppliers/ manufacturers to inspect, it could be a manufacturing fault in which case it will be replaced FOC. If It was damaged during fitting this will not be covered under a warrenty claim.
9 months ago
by
yorkshirerocket
East Riding of Yorkshire, UK