AUNSWRider
Share AUNSWRider's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
AUNSWRider's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    29 October 2013
  • Last Review
    15 January 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    03 January 2014
  • Last Answer
    03 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
AUNSWRider's Reviews
 
 Token Valve Caps
Token Valve Caps
Make your bike blinging with these Alloy CNC Valve Caps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Looks and Cheap
Posted15 January 2014
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought this to pimp up my bike. The colors are just like in the photos. Bright and eye catching.
I've bought Deity Components Presta Valve before and it was not as nice as this. Colors were dull.
Please note, when you purchase this, it comes in pairs even though it's not mentioned here.
I made the mistake of ordering 2 so now I have 1 spare pair. No biggie at $3.50.
Solid caps. Not squishy or soft yet weighs at almost nothing.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano PD-T780 XT MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Shimano PD-T780 XT MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
For a Beginner of Clipless
Posted03 January 2014
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this as my first pedals into clipless.
I want to have the versatility of begin able to try clipless but also with platform on the backup.
Have to say it's harder to use than imagined.
The clipless is due to my lack of skill and experience but the platform side is slippery. There's nothing on the platform to stop your feet from slipping in say a raining wet day. Also it means you have to feel which side you're stepping on which is a 50/50.
On the plus side, this feels very sturdy and can take a beating.
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged
Cons: slippery when wet
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Chainstay Frame Protectors
Lezyne Chainstay Frame Protectors
Heavy duty, puncture-resistant Neoprene protects chainstay and reduces noise
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ugly Which is Surprising Coming from Lezyne
Posted03 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Had a Nukeproof protector and with my second new bike, decided Lezyne would be my choice as they make very pretty air pumps and lights.
Unfortunately, I can not say the same with this product. The Lezyne logo is printed in this blob of paint. The writing looks like someone used a paint brush. The edges of the letters had paint bleed.
The material itself is pretty sturdy. Fabric is thick so I guess it does the job of protecting your frame even at a stack.
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Jossanova Membrane 750ml Water Bottle
Elite Jossanova Membrane 750ml Water Bottle
Elite's flagship bottle. The advanced Jossa valve and sealable bottle top make this bottle absolutely leak-proof.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Great Design Although Average Quality
Posted03 January 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this as I've already got a Camelbak Podium. I wanted to see if this "membrane" tip would be better/ worse than the Podium.
Turns out they are pretty much the same.
There is a rubber piece at the nozzle that's just stiff enough to hold water in even when the bottles full and tipped upside down. When squeezed, there's enough pressure to release fluid inside.
I like this kind of tip better than the traditional pull with your teeth type. Also looks easier to dry after cleaning.
I liked the Podium better as the unlocking mechanism on the Jossanova can also cause the whole cap to become unscrewed, ie. you twist in the same direction.
On the Podium, the unlocking switch is at the top and separate. Twisting on that will have no effect on the cap.
Lastly, the Jossanova and Campagnolo bottle seems identical besides the color.
"
Pros: useful
Cons: Expensive, poor design
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Lizard Skins Carbon Leather Patches
Lizard Skins Carbon Leather Patches
Made from real leather and comes with high performance adhesive. Prevents cable rub.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job but quite ugly
Posted03 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After having tried the Lizard Skin's Clear patches (I'm very careful with my bikes), I decided to try out the faux carbon patches. When it arrived, I was kinda disappointed.
1. The surface isn't smooth. Felt like fabric.
2. The thickness is there making it feel like sponge.
Overall, when fixed on your bike, looks like some cheap homemade job. At least it did protect the frame from rub.
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Garmin Edge 510 GPS Cycle Computer with Cadence and HRM
Garmin Edge 510 GPS Cycle Computer with Cadence and HRM
The touchscreen Edge 510 is designed for the competitive cyclist who seeks the most accurate and comprehensive ride data. It's tough, rugged, waterproof, has a 20-hour battery life and uses a touchscreen. Supplied with a cadence sensor and HRM.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Device
Posted19 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have this on my bike daily now. Tells me all that I need to know. Bought from Wiggles as it was the cheapest I could find. Took less than a week to my door."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hope QR Seat Post Clamp
Hope QR Seat Post Clamp
Quick release seat clamp from Hope and available in various colours and sizes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Quality and Smooth Action
Posted29 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
"The leverage action is smooth and the hold is firm. Putting it next to the stock Giant clamp, you'll see how much bigger this looks. Almost too big. If you get a bright color, this will stand out on your bike."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lizard Skins Clear Patches
Lizard Skins Clear Patches
For those who want to protect their frame but also want to still be able to see their paint jobs, durable in the extreme but stealthy to boot.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does It's Job
Posted29 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
"What can I say, it does it's job. Stays on the bike. The pack comes with 6 pieces.
The only grip I have is the Lizard Skin logo. It's printed in white so if you have a black frame, it looks pretty ugly.
"
Pros: protects
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Selle Italia's MAX FLITE Gel Flow uses a suspension that gives all-over cushioning without any moving mechanical parts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice and Firm
Posted29 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
"Bought this to replace my stock Giant saddle that seems too hard for my buttocks. So far so good. No more pain although I would have preferred a slightly bigger size.
This saddle was the exact same size as the stock Giant saddle just with better padding.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye C1 Belt Clip
Cateye C1 Belt Clip
Belt/ bag clip for use with all Cateye rear lights apart from TL-LD270 and TL-LD 170
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and Useful
Posted29 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
AUNSWRider
fromAustralia
"Does it's job, ie. clips Cateye lights onto your saddlebag. Buy one as it might come in handy."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
AUNSWRider's Questions
 
AUNSWRider has not submitted any questions.
 
AUNSWRider's Answers
 
 Garmin Edge 510 GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 510 GPS Cycle Computer
The touchscreen Edge 510 is designed for the competitive cyclist who seeks the most accurate and comprehensive ride data. It's tough, rugged, waterproof, has a 20-hour battery life and uses a touchscreen.
 

Will the edge 510 be compatable with my Gaint road bike (road sense)

Yes. I'm using it with my TCR Advanced.
11 months ago
by
AUNSWRider
Australia
 
 Garmin Edge 510 GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 510 GPS Cycle Computer
The touchscreen Edge 510 is designed for the competitive cyclist who seeks the most accurate and comprehensive ride data. It's tough, rugged, waterproof, has a 20-hour battery life and uses a touchscreen.
 

Will UK Garmin 510 work fine in Australia

Is there any difference between UK and AUS devices.
Yes you can use it. No difference. I'm from Australia too.
11 months ago
by
AUNSWRider
Australia
 
 Shimano PD-T780 XT MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Shimano PD-T780 XT MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

Do these pedals face a certain side up?

Are the pedals weighted at all to face a certain way up?
No. It's random. There's no heavier side.
11 months ago
by
AUNSWRider
Australia
 
 Hope QR Seat Post Clamp
Hope QR Seat Post Clamp
Quick release seat clamp from Hope and available in various colours and sizes.
 

Is this seat clamp suitable for a carbon seat post?

Unlikely. There's no way to set the torque.
11 months ago
by
AUNSWRider
Australia