neithere
Share neithere's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
neithere's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    26 August 2013
  • Last Review
    09 June 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    12 October 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    31 October 2015
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    12 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    30 October 2013
  • Last Answer
    31 May 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
neithere's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set
The Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set is a lightweight mudguard set designed to fit road bikes with tight clearances and without mudguard mounts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Much better than expected
Posted09 June 2016
neithere
fromBrno, Czech Republic
Country : Czech Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I'm very impressed with these.
First of all, read the "instructions" thoroughly and learn the key points about NOT using screwdriver, etc.; then throw the paper away and watch some videos in YouTube. When you have a basic idea about how it should work, try doing it yourself. Remember that simply tightening the screws (with fingers!) and pulling the middle part up fixes 95% of problems (after everything is in place, of course). The mudguards are so light that the stays and the brushes are indeed enough to keep them stable enough. No, the friction at the brushes does not visibly affect the rotation of the wheel: the brushes very lightly touch the rim — and a bit harder for a moment when the mudguard rattles, just to stabilize it. This works pretty well. In general, once set up, the mudguards keep the form even on rough terrain and don't require further adjustments for a long time. It's hard to believe when you see/touch them.
My bike has a ridiculous clearance between the front derailleur mount on the seat tube and the tyre (about 2-3 mm), so there's no way to squeeze anything there. RoadRacer's rear mudguard did not fit either, BUT it's modular, so I just left aside the part aimed to protect the front derailleur. After an especially dirty ride I decided to try something and cut a slot for the derailleur mount; this allowed me to install the remaining part of the mudguard securely and now it offers the best protection I've ever seen (seriously). It's simply amazing.
The only disadvantage is the screeching sound (which obviously isn't just sound) when you collect wet sand with your tyres and squeeze it under the mudguards. But what do you expect on a road bike?"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
High performance road-specific pad inserts designed to fit all Shimano Road Systems. Designed for alloy rims and compatible with Dura-Ace 7900 brakes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very good!
Posted09 June 2016
neithere
fromBrno, Czech Republic
Country : Czech Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Excellent braking power. After my old partially worn out metallized pads (probably Miche) these are about twice as powerful yet completely silent. I didn't notice any signs of wear after ~100 km. Of course they are not as great in the rain but I still feel rather confident with them; in dry weather they are fantastic. Bought them with a significant discount (this affected the decision); would probably buy them again even without the discount."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Deda RSx 01 Seatpost features the same design of twin-bolt adjustment of RSX 02 setapost, but available in 6061 light alloy at very high quality to price ratio.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap and light but hard to adjust
Posted09 June 2016
neithere
fromBrno, Czech Republic
Country : Czech Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"It's a good seatpost but I expected much more from its two screws. Not that I wanted them to replicate e.g. the experience of the RaceFace Turbine seatpost, but at least I was hoping for something better than what single bolt usually offers. In fact, this turned out to be even harder to adjust. Maybe I don't understand something but then there should be some instructions, I guess. Anyway, something as trivial as a seatpost should be also trivial to install. Still, if your use case is "adjust and forget", it should be fine for the price. I won't recommend it *only* if there are alternatives with similar weight etc. for a similar price."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Not Enough Features, Unadjustable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Active Extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted11 November 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
neithere
fromBrno, Czech Republic
Country : Czech Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very comfortable. Sleeves can be easily rolled up if needed. Doesn't stink at all after sweating (which was surprising). Seems to be very warm; when testing it, I expected a colder day so ended up overheating a bit. However, it wicked the sweat very efficiently. Would buy it again."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra fine merino neck tube for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. The dhb Merino M_200 Neck Tube is warm, comfortable and versatile.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted11 November 2015
neithere
fromBrno, Czech Republic
Country : Czech Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought it because I own an excellent dhb Merino Base Layer made of the same material. Intended to use the tube for a wide range of activities from just walking in the city to running and cycling. The tube is of very high quality indeed, just perfect; folds into a pocket easily, etc. However, unfortunately it's too wide for my neck which I had never considered thin. The wool should be next to skin but it just doesn't happen. Will still use it but it could be way better if the cut was a bit tighter. I hate to say it but I really can't recommend this product."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit, Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mono Fluoro Waterproof Jacket
Mono Fluoro Waterproof Jacket
The Mono Fluro Waterproof Jacket is a road riding essential for changeable weather conditions. Offering water and wind resistance and ultra light construction, this packable jacket stows away easily in a jersey pocket or saddle bag.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Posted30 October 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
neithere
fromBrno, Czech Republic
Country : Czech Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a high-quality jacket which unfortunately I cannot recommend. It's not sold anymore but if you see something similar, beware.
It seems to offer good protection from wind. Once or twice it helped me a lot. This is why I give it two stars for performance instead of zero.
The problem is that it is *not* waterproof at all. It's a shame because the only reason to buy it is to have a waterproof jacket in your pocket. When you buy this one, you have a non-waterproof jacket in your pocket. Note the difference.
Maybe it's designed for a special kind of rain, I don't know. Any rain I've seen so far made it through in seconds. I mean, just pour some water on the jacket at home and here it is on the other side of the tissue.
I like the jacket in general: good fit, good hi-viz colour, quality materials and zip, nicely packs into the back pocket of your jersey/jacket. But when there's some water from above, it vigorously collects it and transfers to your skin. It obviously thinks that this is what it was designed for. Probably doesn't understand why I don't wear it more often. Poor thing.
If you see it or anything like it, don't buy it. Totally pointless."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Not Enough Features, not waterproof!, useless in a rain, almost useless when it's not raining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Quick release link for Shimano, KMC, and SRAM chains. Easy to fit and great for emergency use when out on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted29 October 2015
neithere
fromBrno, Czech Republic
Country : Czech Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to install and unlock, no tools ever required, infinitely reusable, works perfectly with any(?) 9 sp. Shimano and KMC chains."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Individual headset cups/bearings to fit the vast majority of modern Alloy/carbon road and mountain bikes. Manufactured in the Hope Barnoldswick Factory, Hope Pick and Mix headsets are the highest quality replacement or new build components.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works pretty well
Posted29 October 2015
neithere
fromBrno, Czech Republic
Country : Czech Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Used this one to couple a tapered Manitou Marvel fork with an old-ish (but still perfectly usable) GT Avalanche frame. Riding the bike in this configuration for 1.5 years, road and forest, in all weather conditions. Of course the geometry of the bike has slightly changed but I can't even tell if it was for good or worse — perhaps changing tyres or tuning saddle etc. has a comparable effect, so it can be safely ignored. Otherwise everything is perfect, I have even forgotten about it a long time ago because it just works. This item also had a better price than all competitors."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Chill protection for sub zero training. The Universal Face Warmer features Windstopper for premium protection against biting winter winds. Pair with a skull cap for balaclava coverage or wear with only your a helmet for ventilation.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Perfect make and design... unless you wear glasses
Posted28 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
neithere
fromYekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
Country : Russia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"If you don't wear glasses or don't use goggles in the winter, I'd recommend this excellent mask as it fits very good, sits snugly (protecting ears and perfectly complementing an skull cap), offers very good protection (tested in temperatures down to -10..15°C; in colder conditions it would be a good idea to use a mask with a special breathing filter).
However, if you do wear glasses and/or use goggles — which is very likely in the winter — then simply don't buy this thing. It *can* be adjusted so that the warm breath goes down, but it's very hard to do and you'll need to be extremely careful; unfortunately this won't help anyway and once you cycle a bit and stop for a moment, the goggles will be instantly fogged whatever anti-fog treatment or device is used (Muc-Off spray, double lens...). It is very important to *completely* cut the upward flux of hot air (both inside and outside) in order to prevent fogging of the lens. This mask cannot do it. If it had a clip on the nose, then maybe. But it has none."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features, induces fogging of the lens
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Winter Hat
Craft Winter Hat
A warm, light and protective cap with a close, low bulk fit for wearing underneath your helmet. A vent X air fabric front panel provides protection from the chill at high speeds.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted30 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
neithere
fromYekaterinburg, Russia
Country : Russia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Unexpectedly thin, fits very easily under the helmet (even if worn on a thin balaclava! No frost can bite through such combination). Being thin, it's still double-layered everywhere except for the back. Windproof outer layer on the front. Excellent protection for ears. A bit too tight around the ears when used with goggles; this effect can be eliminated by using a mask instead of the goggles (or replacing hard earpieces with a strap). Very warm and breathable. Soft stretchable material; sits firmly."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
neithere's Questions
 
Full face chill protection for hardened winter road cyclists. The Universal Balaclava features Windstopper Softshell forehead and ear panels with thermo stretch inserts for complete protection from the biting winter winds.
 

Compatibility with goggles

At around +5°C and below my current balaclava is hardly compatible with glasses/goggles: they get misted over in seconds because the hot air that I breathe out goes upwards (despite there's a special hole for the nose and little holes against the mouth). Does this balaclava offer any protection from such problem? I can see no nose clip or anything of the sort.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 Craft Thermal Split Finger Bike Gloves
Craft Thermal Split Finger Bike Gloves
Wind and waterproof cycling gloves with a split finger construction for maximum warmth. Craft Siberian gloves feature a velcro cuff closure and a weather proof shell to seal out the elements on sub-zero winter training rides.
 

What's the lowest temperature they are designed for?

The reviews I've read so far attribute the temperatures somewhat below zero to the "coldest winter days"; this may not be funny in the UK but it surely is in Russia (in my location winter temperatures would be usually between -10 and -25°C, in other places -50° is not uncommon, though the humidity is mostly much lower than in the UK). Has anybody tried these gloves in temperatures lower than, say, -10°C? Thanks.
3 years ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
neithere's Answers
 
 Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
The Altura Transformer Windproof Jacket is a versatile windproof jacket that easily transforms between a long sleeve windproof to a short sleeve jersey to match your riding conditions.
 

Temperature and Windstopping

Is the wind stopping material just to the front of the body or is it to the arms and back.?

What temperature range is this recommended for? Down to 2 degrees?
Best answer
I have comfortably used this jacket with a long-sleeved merino base layer, a fleece jersey and a thin dhb balaclava at cca -15°C. The only problem was stopping: if there was wind from the back, I would feel cold. At around -20°C it's a bit too cold in any case, mostly because the back is unprotected.

In the summer it was too hot in this jacket at around +26±3°C, I think. Worn on a short-sleeved jersey with sleeves removed, of course.

So I would rate it for -15..+25 as comfortable and for -25..-15/+25..+30 as, um, tolerable under certain conditions.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 Altura Nevis Jacket
Altura Nevis Jacket
A great value jacket that offers a breathable and waterproof construction.
 

Suitable as a winter riding jacket

Hi there

Is this jacket designed as a winter riding jacket or is it purely a summer jacket with waterproofing??
It depends on your definition of Winter. In places where the temperature never climbs above zero during the season and rarely exceeds, say, -15°C, this jacket, being exposed to the cold breath of Winter, will probably instantly become a pointless rigid and fragile plastic shell that will literally break when you try to move in it. (Didn't test though.) However, a membrane jacket (not necessarily expensive) becomes problematic (stiff, etc.) at around -25..30°C.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 dhb Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_190
dhb Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_190
This ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin.
 

What size for skinny person?

Hi I'm tall (186cm) and skinny: chest 89 and waist 76. Which size is better for me?
I'm thinking about S, but don't know whether it will be too short in length form top to bottom for me
I think XS would be a bit too small. I'm also tall and skinny; chest is cca. 83, XS fits rather well but I'd take an S next time.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 dhb Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_190
dhb Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_190
This ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin.
 

Is this ideal for a winter baselayer?

Currently have a few base layers but nothing really warm and I really struggled this winter (i was, admittedly, only using a thin-ish base layer, a normal summer jersey and then a thin goretex bikewear jacket so nothing thick) and am after something warmer (as well as probably a DHB windslam blade jersey).

Many thanks.
This is the best winter base layer I've tested so far. Combined with an Altura Transformer jacket (2012) it keeps me warm down to about -15°C; I usually add a fleece jersey between them for the -15..-25°C range. I've been using it for several months so far and have never washed it (!) because it doesn't stink at all; one of the reasons is that it keeps you very warm but never sweaty. Highly recommended for winter.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
Chill protection for sub zero training. The Universal Face Warmer features Windstopper for premium protection against biting winter winds. Pair with a skull cap for balaclava coverage or wear with only your a helmet for ventilation.
 

Does it cover/protect the ears?

Yes, it offers good protection for ears. I would suggest also using a skull cap. At least the Craft cap (the one I own) plays nice with this mask: they partially overlap on the ears in a comfortable manner.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
Chill protection for sub zero training. The Universal Face Warmer features Windstopper for premium protection against biting winter winds. Pair with a skull cap for balaclava coverage or wear with only your a helmet for ventilation.
 

How does it work with the glasses and the fogg?

The glasses are fogged very quickly. :(
I don't recommend using this mask with glasses or goggles.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 Craft Winter Hat
Craft Winter Hat
A warm, light and protective cap with a close, low bulk fit for wearing underneath your helmet. A vent X air fabric front panel provides protection from the chill at high speeds.
 

Is the windproof material just on the forehead or the whole front panel

The whole front panel is windproof. It's made of two pieces which together form a triangle, you can see it on the picture (note the slightly different material).
User submitted photo
2 years, 10 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia