neithere
Share neithere's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
neithere's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    26 August 2013
  • Last Review
    28 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    12 October 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    22 April 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    29 August 2013
  • Last Question
    12 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    30 October 2013
  • Last Answer
    31 May 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
neithere's Reviews
 
 Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Face Warmer
Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Face Warmer
Chill protection sub zero cycle training. The Universal Face Warmer features a Windstopper Softshell construction for protection from the biting winter winds. Pair with a skull cap for balaclava coverage or wear with a helmet for ventilation.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Perfect make and design... unless you wear glasses
Posted28 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
neithere
fromYekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
Country : Russia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"If you don't wear glasses or don't use goggles in the winter, I'd recommend this excellent mask as it fits very good, sits snugly (protecting ears and perfectly complementing an skull cap), offers very good protection (tested in temperatures down to -10..15°C; in colder conditions it would be a good idea to use a mask with a special breathing filter).
However, if you do wear glasses and/or use goggles — which is very likely in the winter — then simply don't buy this thing. It *can* be adjusted so that the warm breath goes down, but it's very hard to do and you'll need to be extremely careful; unfortunately this won't help anyway and once you cycle a bit and stop for a moment, the goggles will be instantly fogged whatever anti-fog treatment or device is used (Muc-Off spray, double lens...). It is very important to *completely* cut the upward flux of hot air (both inside and outside) in order to prevent fogging of the lens. This mask cannot do it. If it had a clip on the nose, then maybe. But it has none."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features, induces fogging of the lens
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Winter Hat
Craft Winter Hat
A warm, light and protective cap with a close, low bulk fit for wearing underneath your helmet. A vent X air fabric front panel provides protection from the chill at high speeds.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted30 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
neithere
fromYekaterinburg, Russia
Country : Russia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Unexpectedly thin, fits very easily under the helmet (even if worn on a thin balaclava! No frost can bite through such combination). Being thin, it's still double-layered everywhere except for the back. Windproof outer layer on the front. Excellent protection for ears. A bit too tight around the ears when used with goggles; this effect can be eliminated by using a mask instead of the goggles (or replacing hard earpieces with a strap). Very warm and breathable. Soft stretchable material; sits firmly."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Bell Muni Hi-Vis Commuter Helmet 2013
Bell Muni Hi-Vis Commuter Helmet 2013
The Muni takes urban helmets to a new level with outstanding functionality, great features, and subtle designs. Featuring smooth, rounded lines, 20 cooling vents and attachment points for lights, the Muni is excels on twilight commutes in urban settings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best helmet I've ever tried
Posted28 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
neithere
fromYekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
Country : Russia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is my second cycling helmet after (or rather along with) BBB BHE-34. The BBB one is OK but this one is fantastic. Just 1) take it on, 2) fasten the buckle by pushing it until it feels right. Voila, the helmet sits perfectly. And you *never* have to adjust the straps that always look skewed on BHE-34. This is because the straps are stitched in places where on my BBB helmet they are fixed with another couple of buckles. Also the rear strap is stretchable which helps a lot. So you don't have to pre-adjust the straps; all you do is push the buckle until it requires some extra force. (Sorry for my English, hard to explain, just look up a video :-)
The tiny integrated blinkers are also easy to use and seem to be useful. I wonder when I'll have to change the batteries. Of course I always use a proper bright blinker combined with hi-viz clothes but these are placed higher and have their own niche; moreover, the rear side of the helmet features a mount point for most "proper" blinkers.
The visor has mount points for a certain (not any!) front blinker and a certain (Bell's) helmet mirror. The reviews suggest that neither is worth trying; however, the visor is designed so that most Take-A-Look-ish mirrors will fit very well without any modifications. (Well, fixing with tape is still a good idea.)
The helmet is not that lightweight (claimed 325g vs 290g of the BBB one); it does feel heavy in the hands but you simply forget about it when wearing.
I would definitely buy it again or at least consider it the gold standard for city/commuting/recreation helmets.
Disclaimer: my Bell helmet is Muni B313; it looks exactly the same as on the picture here (save for the colour) but it may be a bit different."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky, a bit heavy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Discrete safety whichever direction you're looking in, the convex Z Eye mirror attaches to any helmet quickly and easily.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
From useless to indispensable
Posted26 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
neithere
fromYekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
Country : Russia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought one at a LBS with heavy doubts. After initial testing this piece of plastic proved useless: small, shaking, weird and confusing. Having read some blog posts beforehand, I convinced myself to give it another try. The first positive effect was when I missed a car in my large bar-mounted convex mirror but noticed its lights in the Z-Eye. This prompted me to look at it more frequently. After a week or so I finally settled with the optimum angle (to discover a better one after a month) and got more or less accustomed to the technique of slightly turning the head when the mirror was needed. After a couple of months I took a ride without this mirror. I cannot describe how scary it was. It felt like blinders. I had to fully turn my head for a second or more to catch a glimpse of what was going behind. Not the safest thing to do in the traffic on high speed. With Z-Eye I simply turn the head at 5-15° thus maintaining complete awareness of the situation ahead; this also allows for longer checking to better understand the speeds of vehicles, etc. The bar-mounted mirror does not help that much because it sits too low (the line of sight changes too much to keep an eye on the road ahead) and it is always adjusted to match a certain position of the cyclist. When using both mirrors in combination, I mostly set up the bar-mounted one so that it is only usable when I'm leaned far ahead — the position in which the left shoulder comes between the helmet-mounted mirror and the road behind. So, helmet-mounted mirror is THE mirror, and bar-mounted is a backup for marginal cases.
By the way, the mirror looks elegant and fragile but in fact it's very hard to break. I fell once with it; I walked many times into walls with it (you don't easily get used to serious changes in your helmet's dimensions), I dropped the helmet a number of times, and the only problem was the need to re-adjust the mirror (10 seconds, big deal). It's worth noting that ordinary shaking that occurs on the road never makes you re-adjust the mirror.
In short, this thing is overpriced (×2, I'd say), but when you get used to it, you find yourself willing to pay even more. I think I'll buy another one for my winter helmet because now I consider the mirror an integral part of the helmet and never remove it once properly adjusted."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, learning curve
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
neithere's Questions
 
 Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Balaclava
Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Balaclava
Full face chill protection for hardened winter road cyclists. The Universal Balaclava features Windstopper Softshell forehead and ear panels with thermo stretch inserts for complete protection from the biting winter winds.
 

Compatibility with goggles

At around +5°C and below my current balaclava is hardly compatible with glasses/goggles: they get misted over in seconds because the hot air that I breathe out goes upwards (despite there's a special hole for the nose and little holes against the mouth). Does this balaclava offer any protection from such problem? I can see no nose clip or anything of the sort.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 Craft Thermal Split Finger Bike Gloves
Craft Thermal Split Finger Bike Gloves
Wind and waterproof cycling gloves with a split finger construction for maximum warmth. Craft Siberian gloves feature a velcro cuff closure and a weather proof shell to seal out the elements on sub-zero winter training rides.
 

What's the lowest temperature they are designed for?

The reviews I've read so far attribute the temperatures somewhat below zero to the "coldest winter days"; this may not be funny in the UK but it surely is in Russia (in my location winter temperatures would be usually between -10 and -25°C, in other places -50° is not uncommon, though the humidity is mostly much lower than in the UK). Has anybody tried these gloves in temperatures lower than, say, -10°C? Thanks.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
neithere's Answers
 
 Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
The Altura Transformer Windproof Jacket is a versatile windproof jacket that easily transforms between a long sleeve windproof to a short sleeve jersey to match your riding conditions.
 

Temperature and Windstopping

Is the wind stopping material just to the front of the body or is it to the arms and back.?

What temperature range is this recommended for? Down to 2 degrees?
Best answer
I have comfortably used this jacket with a long-sleeved merino base layer, a fleece jersey and a thin dhb balaclava at cca -15°C. The only problem was stopping: if there was wind from the back, I would feel cold. At around -20°C it's a bit too cold in any case, mostly because the back is unprotected.

In the summer it was too hot in this jacket at around +26±3°C, I think. Worn on a short-sleeved jersey with sleeves removed, of course.

So I would rate it for -15..+25 as comfortable and for -25..-15/+25..+30 as, um, tolerable under certain conditions.
6 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 Altura Nevis Jacket
Altura Nevis Jacket
A great value jacket that offers a breathable and waterproof construction.
 

Suitable as a winter riding jacket

Hi there

Is this jacket designed as a winter riding jacket or is it purely a summer jacket with waterproofing??
It depends on your definition of Winter. In places where the temperature never climbs above zero during the season and rarely exceeds, say, -15°C, this jacket, being exposed to the cold breath of Winter, will probably instantly become a pointless rigid and fragile plastic shell that will literally break when you try to move in it. (Didn't test though.) However, a membrane jacket (not necessarily expensive) becomes problematic (stiff, etc.) at around -25..30°C.
9 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 dhb Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_190
dhb Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_190
This ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin.
 

What size for skinny person?

Hi I'm tall (186cm) and skinny: chest 89 and waist 76. Which size is better for me?
I'm thinking about S, but don't know whether it will be too short in length form top to bottom for me
I think XS would be a bit too small. I'm also tall and skinny; chest is cca. 83, XS fits rather well but I'd take an S next time.
10 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 dhb Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_190
dhb Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_190
This ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin.
 

Is this ideal for a winter baselayer?

Currently have a few base layers but nothing really warm and I really struggled this winter (i was, admittedly, only using a thin-ish base layer, a normal summer jersey and then a thin goretex bikewear jacket so nothing thick) and am after something warmer (as well as probably a DHB windslam blade jersey).

Many thanks.
This is the best winter base layer I've tested so far. Combined with an Altura Transformer jacket (2012) it keeps me warm down to about -15°C; I usually add a fleece jersey between them for the -15..-25°C range. I've been using it for several months so far and have never washed it (!) because it doesn't stink at all; one of the reasons is that it keeps you very warm but never sweaty. Highly recommended for winter.
10 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Face Warmer
Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Face Warmer
Chill protection sub zero cycle training. The Universal Face Warmer features a Windstopper Softshell construction for protection from the biting winter winds. Pair with a skull cap for balaclava coverage or wear with a helmet for ventilation.
 

Does it cover/protect the ears?

Yes, it offers good protection for ears. I would suggest also using a skull cap. At least the Craft cap (the one I own) plays nice with this mask: they partially overlap on the ears in a comfortable manner.
11 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Face Warmer
Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Face Warmer
Chill protection sub zero cycle training. The Universal Face Warmer features a Windstopper Softshell construction for protection from the biting winter winds. Pair with a skull cap for balaclava coverage or wear with a helmet for ventilation.
 

How does it work with the glasses and the fogg?

The glasses are fogged very quickly. :(
I don't recommend using this mask with glasses or goggles.
11 months ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia
 
 Craft Winter Hat
Craft Winter Hat
A warm, light and protective cap with a close, low bulk fit for wearing underneath your helmet. A vent X air fabric front panel provides protection from the chill at high speeds.
 

Is the windproof material just on the forehead or the whole front panel

The whole front panel is windproof. It's made of two pieces which together form a triangle, you can see it on the picture (note the slightly different material).
User submitted photo
1 year, 1 month ago
by
neithere
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia